Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Tennessee Archives: Faculty

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the University of Tennessee Archives. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and digital collections.

Digital Resources

Manuscript and Archives Collections

sepia photograph of the University of Tennessee Chemistry Faculty. 11 men in formal suits. University of Tennessee Chemistry Faculty

Faculty Women's Club Collection, 1920-2008 (AR.0744)
This collection houses meeting minutes, newsletters, correspondence, calendars, financial documents, officers' materials, club records, and scrapbooks of the Faculty Women's Club between 1920 and the present. The Collection also contains some material from the Newcomer's Club and the Dame's Club.

Luke Ebersole Papers, 1972-1988 (AR.0357)
This collection houses materials that Luke Ebersole collected and created while working as the University of Tennessee's Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (1970-1972), Vice Chancellor for Planning and Administration (1972-1984), and Emeritus Vice Chancellor and Emeritus Professor (1984-).

Milton Klein Papers, 1976-1996 (AR.0690)
This collection houses papers documenting University of Tennessee Professor and Historian Milton Klein's work with the Faculty Club (including budget materials and meeting agendas and minutes), the Phi Kappa Phi honor society (including membership materials and speeches and programs showing induction ceremonies), and proposals to the National Endowment for the Humanities.

N. W. Dougherty Papers, 1922-1972 (MS.1376)
This collection houses personal papers, memorabilia, academic materials, organizational records, and athletic records documenting the life and work of U.T. Professor of Civil Engineering N. W. Dougherty.

Stanley J. Folmsbee Papers, 1934-1964 (AR.0075)
These materials document Stanley J. Folmsbee's work with the History Department (including teaching schedules, enrollment statistics, and meeting minutes), the College of Liberal Arts, the Graduate Council, and the University Senate.

Willis C. Tucker Papers, 1947-1976 (MS.1377)
The Willis C. Tucker papers document Tucker's involvement with the University of Tennessee School of Journalism between 1947 and 1976.

Rare Books

Cleaning house: the U.T. Faculty Firings of 1923. 1996 (Thesis 98.C33)

A Formula for Victory. 1942 (LD5297.2 1942)

Volunteer Moments: Vignettes of the History of the University of Tennessee, 1974-1994. 1996 (LD5293.V65 1996)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website