How to Use This Guide
This guide brings together resources to support research in the four areas of One Health: animal, environmental, human, and plant health. In addition, it shares resources that investigate the relationship of the arts and humanities to health, healthcare, medicine, and medical education. Use the tabs on the side to navigate to pages with resources that focus on these areas. Some resources cover multiple areas so you may see them on more than one page.
If you would like in-depth, personalized help, or just want to talk through your research or assignment with someone, email the One Health Librarians for assistance.
Contact a Librarian
The expertise of the librarians at UTK are here to help you in your research endeavors. You can reach out with One Health related questions to the team at: ut_onehealthlibs@live.utk.edu
The team of librarians prepared to assist you include the following members:
Jeanine Fletcher: Veterinary Medicine
Melanie Dixson: Health Sciences
Niki Cobb: Health Sciences
Donna Braquet: Biology
Brianne Dosch: Psychology
Steven Milewski: Social Work
Molly Royse: Humanities
Databases to Get You Started
Here are a few databases to begin searching for issues related to One Health. You may need to use subject-specific databases as your search focus narrows, but these selections may be an effective starting point. Feel free to reach out to librarians to help you in your research! Clicking on the database link will open a new tab.
- PubMed
This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information. - Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering peer-reviewed literature in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences (including some arts & humanities). Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Complements Web of Science. - Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
Research Tools
- Libkey NomadLibkey Nomad is an extension for Google Chrome. It will make accessing article pdfs easier. Link opens in a new tab.
- ZoteroBibQuickly generates reference lists. Link opens in a new tab.
- Endnote/Zotero Citation ManagersCitation managers help you organize your research and create citations and reference lists. Endnote and Zotero are two that the Libraries support. Link opens in a new tab.