Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.
World Wars
 |
| Americans Over the Top. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection |
This is a small poster that is the cover of History of Americans Over the Top, Victory Edition. An advertisement on the back of the poster describes a volume that will be an "authentic narrative" of World War I, including real military maps and other illustrations. Ca. 1919. (Font cover pictured to the left). From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
A recipe book from the Royal Baking Powder Company that offers recipes designed to work with the food shortages and rationing of WWI. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Tennessee farm prices in War I and War II periods
Special circular comparing the price trends of World War I and World War II. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
United States War-Savings certificate
WWI war-savings certificate that was to be used for recording $5 stamps. There is a chart showing the increase in value of the stamps from month to month until they became due in 1923. Ca. 1918. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
This is a pamphlet on how woman can contribute during to the war effort by taking part in a YWCA sponsored "Hostess House". From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Postcards of Liberty Bond Sales
Two postcards of Liberty Bond sales in downtown Kingsport, Tennessee. Ca. 1910. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
 |
|
Liberty. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection. |
Italian ambulance seaplane used during World War II
This is a photograph of an Italian ambulance seaplane. The photo is from the William Beverly Price photo collection. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Workers at the cotton mill in Bemis, Tennessee, pose with their WWII war bonds. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
This is a manual for local civilian defense councils on holding "Town Meetings For War". From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Civilian Defense in Tennessee 1940-45
A report compiled to document the history and activities of the Civilian Defense Program in Tennessee during World War II. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Notes on the Invasion of Normandy
A dairy by Sgt. Bill Freeman, of Weakley County, Tennessee, detailing his experience of the Battle of Normandy. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
A corporate sponsored informational folder on coping with "blackouts" during WWII. On the inside is an interview with James M. Landis, the then Director of Civilian Defense. The outside was printed in color while the inside was printed in black and white. (Photograph of front cover above. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Rations and Food Production
 |
| Postcard, "Wonderful Night War Photo," from Arthur Calahan to Miss Gertie Calahan in Asheville, N.C., undated. From the Calahan Family Postcards Digital Collection. |
A United States ration book from World War II that was issued to 25 year old Mamie Sue Marshall of Englewood, Tennessee by issuing officer Mrs. J. Buckner. During World War II, many food items and other goods were rationed in the U.S. Citizens were issued ration books to ensure equal and regulated distribution of rationed items. In the book there are stamps labeled: coffee, sugar, and spare. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
One type of war ration book distributed during WWII. This one was issued to Annette Elaine Church. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
This is a United States ration book from World War II. In World War II, many food items and other goods were rationed in the United States. Citizens were issued ration books to ensure equal distribution of food and other rationed items and materials. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
 |
|
Military camp in World War II. A photograph of tents in a military camp. The verso reads "Where We Live." From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection. |
One type of war ration book issued during WWII. This one was issued to Robert R. Church. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Instructions on Rationed Items
This set of instructions was issued to United States citizens during World War II to explain why some food items were rationed and how to use your ration stamps to purchase these items.From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
War Production Program 1943 Farm Plan
This document shows a list of products needed/used for the war through the war production program. The reverse side gives the year`s quota. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Tennessee farm prices in War I and War II periods
Special circular comparing the price trends of World War I and World War II. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Tennessee Home Food Supply Program Certificate of Recognition
This is a certificate of recognition from the Tennessee Home Food Supply Program--A World War II program that encourages raising food--for growing 75% of crop needed in Tennessee. On the back side of the certificate are handwritten notes about the Tri-State Growers, especially in Johnson County, Tennessee; with crops and dates from 1925-1942. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.
Digital Collections
World War I
The Vocational Voice (World War I)
The Vocational Voice departmental newspaper was dedicated to the interests of the Vocational Department of the University of Tennessee in the mid-1920s. Its mission was to publish campus and national news of particular interest to vocational students, which the publication recognized as a student population comprised of primarily older war veterans who received career training year-round and whose information needs differed from the rest of the university’s student population at the time.
Calahan Family Postcards (World War I and II)
This collection consists of postcards written between the Calahan family of Asheville, North Carolina: Cornelius and Mary “Mollie” Justice Calahan and several of their children including Arthur, Gertrude, Joe, and Ralph. The postcards are addressed to various members of the family, and most are authored by Arthur Calahan (1896-1976). Arthur served with the 30th Infantry Division, 113th Field Artillery Regiment of the U.S. Army National Guard during World War I. In his notes to his siblings and parents, Arthur documents his movements between stateside camps during that war.
Volunteer Voices provides access to digitized primary sources, such as photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, and other artifacts, documenting the history and culture of Tennessee. The collection includes materials from archives, historical societies, libraries, and museums from across the state.
World War II
Air Scoop (World War II)
The Air Scoop weekly newsletter informed and entertained members of the 63rd College Training Detachment based at the University of Tennessee during World War II. The detachment’s goal was to run a publication for and by aviation students in the detachment in order to unify the organization and to share news related to military training and social events occurring on and around the Knoxville campus.
Calahan Family Postcards (World War I and II)
This collection consists of postcards written between the Calahan family of Asheville, North Carolina: Cornelius and Mary “Mollie” Justice Calahan and several of their children including Arthur, Gertrude, Joe, and Ralph. The postcards are addressed to various members of the family, and most are authored by Arthur Calahan (1896-1976). Arthur served with the 30th Infantry Division, 113th Field Artillery Regiment of the U.S. Army National Guard during World War I. In his notes to his siblings and parents, Arthur documents his movements between stateside camps during that war.
Volunteer Voices provides access to digitized primary sources, such as photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, and other artifacts, documenting the history and culture of Tennessee. The collection includes materials from archives, historical societies, libraries, and museums from across the state.
Captured by the Center for the Study of War and Society (CSWS) at the University of Tennessee, these WWII oral history interviews uniquely capture the experiences and memories of veterans, beginning with their lives before combat, motivations to enlist, personal experiences during the war, and their experiences readjusting to civilian life afterwards.
Primary Source Databases
- Over Here, Over There: Tennesseans in the First World WarA Tennessee State Library & Archives project to digitize, preserve and present the World War I memorabilia of Tennessee families.
- The First World War
A collection of primary source material documenting the First World War. In four parts, Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, Visual Perspectives and Narratives, and A Global Conflict.
- National WWII Museum Digital CollectionsThe National World War II Museum is home to thousands of oral histories and hundreds of thousands of photographs.
- United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumThe Museum’s Collections document the fate of Holocaust victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators, and others through artifacts, documents, photos, films, books, personal stories, and more.