Digital Teaching Collections (Special Collections)

“Teenage Delinquency”

Draft of a statement advocating for better resources for juvenile delinquents, and for tougher punishments for young people who create criminal acts. This is likely not the writing of Estes Kefauver. Ca. 1955. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver  Digital Collection.

"Problem Area - Organized Crime and Juvenile Delinquency"

A document summarizing Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency findings on organized crime and juvenile delinquency. Ca. 1955. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection. 

Snippet from a short comic book featuring Senator Estes Kefauver explaining the dangers of sports betting to college athletes titled "Senator Investigates!". Ca. 1951. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

"Problem Area - Narcotics and Juvenile Delinquency" 

A document summarizing Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency findings on juvenile delinquency and narcotics. Ca. 1955. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

"Problem Area - Crime and Horror Comics"

A document summarizing Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency findings on crime and horror comics. Ca. 1955. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

Comic Books and Juvenile Delinquency

Digest of Interim Report of the Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency. Among other issues related to comic books and juvenile delinquency, discusses the comic book industry, violence and crime in comic books, and regulation. Ca. 1955. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

Obscene and Pornographic Literature and Juvenile Delinquency

Digest of Senate Report No. 2831 made by Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency. Gives scope of subcommittee's inquiry, information on the impact and interstate traffic of obscene literature, and offers recommendations. Ca. 1959. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

Press release on bill strengthening laws against pornography in Washington D.C.

Press release on a bill strengthening the law against manufacture and sale of pornography in D.C. The bill would allow police to confiscate equipment used in the production of pornography. Ca. 1959. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

Final Report of Committee on Juvenile Crime to the Council of Law Enforcement of the District of Columbia

Final Report of the Committee on Juvenile Crime to The Council on Law Enforcement of the District of Columbia. Gives observations and recommendations on cooperation and fundings for juvenile courts and law enforcement, among other issues. Ca. 1954. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

“Senator Investigates!”

Short comic book featuring Senator Estes Kefauver explaining the dangers of sports betting to college athletes. Ca. 1951. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

Statement on the Senate Crime Committee’s limited exploration of sports betting

Reflection on insights of sports betting witness in previous crime committee hearings. Ca. 1954. From the Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Digital Collection.

Crime Documents from the Estes Kefaver Collection

Press releases, speeches, article drafts, and government publications penned by politician Estes Kefauver and colleagues on the organized crime and juvenile delinquency commissions are included in this collection.