Skip to Main Content

Digital Teaching Collections (Special Collections)

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials in Special Collections for English 102 students.
The following selected materials are multiple full digital collections in the University of Tennessee Special Collections repository and are intended to serve as jumping off points for further, more in depth research. For information on searching within these collections, please see the section on Navigating Digital Teaching Collections. 

Student Life/Archives Digital Collections

undefined

Handbook published annually by the Associated Women Students (AWS) providing guidance to women students on the University of Tennessee campus. Ca. 1967. From the Tennessee Girl Student Handbook. 

The Independent Truth

The Independent Truth newspaper served as an anonymous platform for its editors and writers to report, from their perspective, the truth on how the University of Tennessee, Knoxville leadership handled issues occurring on campus in 1935. They covered topics such as the dynamics between campus administrators, faculty, and staff; student freedom of expression; and complaints unique to particular colleges and departments on campus.

Tennessee Girl Student Handbook

This publication is the female student handbook published originally by Women's Student Government Association (Associated Women Students) from 1930 to 1970, when it was then incorporated into a single handbook for all students of University of Tennessee Knoxville.

The Tennessean

This student-led literary magazine ran as a non-university funded publication under the direction of its own executive board.  It served as a vehicle for students’ creative expression through fiction writing, poetry, book reviews, art criticism, photographs, and illustrations. 

Volunteer Yearbooks

The Volunteer yearbook was published annually from 1897, except in 1918 when the events of World War I interrupted school activities. Until the last volume was published in 2009. Its mission was document the academic year through pictures, articles, and reportage.

For information about desegregation and civil rights at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville College, and the broader area of Tennessee, please see the Civil Rights page in the Social Reform Digital Teaching Collection.