Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.
Selected Letters from the American Civil War Digital Collection
The American Civil War Collection brings together a variety of documents including diaries and correspondence that chronicle the evolution of the American Civil War and Reconstruction, particularly across Tennessee. The following letters are geographically specific to Knoxville and East Tennessee.
Letter, Edward Lynn in Blains Cross Roads, Tenn. to his sister, 1863 December 25-27
 |
|
This illustrated sheet music cover of a minstrel song about inexperienced black soldiers features highly radicalized and stereotypical image of the African American musician. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection. |
This letter was written on December 25-27, 1863, in Blains Cross Roads, Tenn., by Assistant Surgeon Edward Lynn of the 65th Illinois Volunteer Infantry, to his sister. In the letter, Lynn relates the movements of his regiment during the Siege of Knoxville and the events of the Battle of Fort Sanders. From the American Civil War Digital Collection.
Letter, Robert A. Ragan to Emeline Ragan, 1863 December 4 (part of MS.0743)
In this letter, Robert A. Ragan (a Union officer from east Tennessee) describes the fighting during the Siege of Knoxville in the winter of 1863. He writes of the unsuccessful Confederate charges on Knoxville, the battering taken by the left wing of the Union army stationed in Knoxville, and his hopes and fears of when he might return home. From the American Civil War Digital Collection.
In this letter, dated December 15, 1863, from John Watkins in Knoxville, Tenn., to Sarah Probert in Pittsfield, Ohio, Watkins writes about general news from Knoxville and thanks Ms. Probert for her letters. He closes the letter with a description of the Battle of Fort Sanders, explaining that Burnside had named the fort after General Sanders, who had been killed in the fighting during the siege of Knoxville. From the American Civil War Digital Collection.
By clicking on the following link, you can find additional letters that describe the battle of Fort Sanders and/or Knoxville during the Civil War.
Images
To search through images in our digital collections regarding the American Civil War, you can click on the following link or simply type your keyword in the search bar while searching in "All Collections."
Primary Source Databases
- Civil War Collection at the Library of Congress (1800-2012)Collection of various types of materials pertaining to the events of the American Civil War. To search this collection use the search bar at the top of the screen. To browse, click the "collection items" button beneath the collection title.
- Civil War Primary Source Documents
An archive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War. It covers all aspects of the war, providing both Northern and Southern perspectives. Coverage from 1861 to 1865.