Skip to Main Content

Digital Teaching Collections (Special Collections)

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials in Special Collections for English 102 students.

Overview

The following selected materials are multiple full digital collections in the University of Tennessee Special Collections repository and are intended to serve as jumping off points for further, more in depth research. For information on searching within these collections, please see the section on Navigating Digital Teaching Collections. 

Theatre and Performance Digital Collections

The UT Theatre Playbills Digital Collection, 1935-2013

Showcases the history of theatre at the University of Tennessee, beginning with the UT Faculty Players to the current incarnation of the Clarence Brown Theatre Company, an affiliate of the League of Resident Theatres (LORT). Materials date from 1935 to present day.

University of Tennessee Marching Band Collection

Ranging from 1939 until the 21st century, this collection features selected material depicting the band’s show performances and practices.

Playbills and Pride of the Southland

Dracula A Musical Nightmare

Playbill, April 10-25, 1981, The Carousel Theatre, Directed by Marian Hampton. From the University of Tennessee Theatre Playbills Collection. 

Majorettes

Photograph of four majorettes with band in background. Ca. 1950. From the University of Tennessee Marching Band Collection.

To Kill a Mockingbird

Playbill, April 16-May 1, 2004, The Clarence Brown Theatre, Directed by Ted Shaffner. From the University of Tennessee Theatre Playbills Collection. 

Floral Formation, Halftime Performance

Photograph taken in 1971 of a floral formation from a halftime performance. From the University of Tennessee Marching Band Collection.

Primary Source Databases