Digital Teaching Collections (Special Collections)

Civil Rights from the 19th Century through the Early 20th Century

The Emancipator, Volume 1, Number 1. 

The Gem Theatre, at Vine and Central in Knoxville, TN was one of two African American theatres in Knoxville during the segregationist period of 20th century. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Published in Jonesborough, Tennessee, by Elihu Embree, the Emancipator was the first newspaper in the United States “to advocate the abolition of slavery, and to be a repository of tracts on that interesting and important subject” (Vol.1, No.1). The first issue appeared on April 30, 1820. The previous year, as a member of the Manumission Society of Tennessee, Embree published the weekly, Manumission Intelligencer, which printed local news as well as news about the Society. The Emancipator was distributed widely outside of Tennessee, and when publication ceased upon Embree’s death in October 1820, circulation had surpassed 2,000. From the Emancipator Digital Collection. 

Summary of Students at the University of Tennessee Campus 1900-1901 up to February 13

A faceted summary of student enrollment during the 1900-1901 academic year at University of Tennessee (especially noting that of women and African-Americans), and also of other related administrative aspects. From the Charles W. Dabney Jr., Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Colored Department of the University at Knoxville College

Document detailing all the factors related to the existence of the University of Tennessee "Colored Department", or "Industrial Department", at Knoxville College, and the management of that department. From the Charles W. Dabney Jr., Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

How the National Advancement for the Advancements of Colored People Began

A pamphlet describing the formation of the NAACP. It contains a reprint of an article written by Mary White Ovington in 1914. There is no publication date on the pamphlet. To find more materials from and about the NAACP, please click this link. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

A Woman's Lie and Reckless Journalism

This flyer is "A Woman`s Lie and Reckless Journalism," and subtitled, "This Combination Has Killed How Many Innocent Negroes In the Last Thirty-five Years?" It includes newspaper clippings surrounding an investigation into an alleged break-in and assault by a black man, which was later proved to be a made up story. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Defense Of The Negro or A Review of the "Commercial's Appeal's" attack on the Negro. 

A pamphlet written in response to a racist editorial in the Memphis Commercial Appeal. The editorial claimed that "negro suffrage was a failure." This pamphlet contains the original article, as well as the rebuttal to the original article. Rev. J.H. Grant was pastor of Avery Chapel A.M.E. Church in Memphis, TN. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Civil Rights from the Middle to Late 20th Century

History of Segregation at U.T., to Roy H. Beeler, October 17, 1942

Letter discussing the effect of Missouri ex rel. Gaines v. Canada for admission to the University of Tennessee's law school for African Americans. From the C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Correspondence with the Attorney General's Office, to Dr. C. E. Brehm, July 1, 1948

Letter stating that admission to the University of Tennessee Law school cannot be given to African Americans. From the C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Black civil rights activists march while segregationists protest, on Main Street in Memphis, Tennessee. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Meeting in Governor Browning's Office, June 5, 1950

Meeting discussing conversation between E. A. Waters and Jean Gray on the University of Tennessee's policy on admitting students of color. From the C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Statements re. Segregation, to Dr. C. E. Brehm, March 19, 1952

Inflammatory letter on the University of Tennessee's decision to accept African American students. From the C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Special Committee of U.T. Board in Segregation and Negro Case, A. L. Jackson, April 9, 1953

Letter outlining the admission requirements for African Americans. From the C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Committee Report on Admission of Blacks, April 24, 1956

Press release outlining plans for the gradual admission of African American students to the University of Tennessee. From the C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Requests of Negroes for Rooms in Residence Halls, to Gretchen L. Bundy, June 5, 1956

Response letter informing African American student that she will need to find private housing. From the C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Gov. Frank Clement on Integration, January 9, 1957

Speech on racial integration. From the C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records Digital Collection. 

Black civil rights activists march while segregationists protest

Black civil rights activists march while segregationists protest, on Main Street in Memphis, Tennessee. Ca. 1960. From the Memphis Civil Rights Photograph Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Where does your money go?

This is a flyer attacking the Urban League as anti-White. It shows what the Urban League is doing with tax-payers` money, and supports `race-mixing` in jobs, schools, etc. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Clinton High School

After the 1954 U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Brown v. Board of Education, Clinton High School was ordered to desegregate with deliberate speed in the Fall of 1956, the first among all of Tennessee's public schools. The desegregation of Clinton High School was marked by (rightful) fears of violent protests, spurred on by white supremacists, causing the National Guard to be called in for two months. The 12 black students who attended Clinton High School became known as the Clinton 12. In 1958, an estimated number of 75-100 sticks of dynamite were placed throughout the high school, severely damaging the school building, yet somehow managing not to physically harm anyone. 

Street scene of a group of African-American students walking to the newly integrated Clinton High School in Anderson County, Tennessee.

National Guardsmen at Clinton High School

National Guardsmen march down the street past Clinton High School. Ca. 1956. From the Clinton High School Desegregation from the Knoxville Journal Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

National Guardsmen outside Clinton High School

National Guardsmen standing across the street from Clinton High School to protect the community against any violence. On verso side is written: "No Rioting Here Zone." From the Clinton High School Desegregation from the Knoxville Journal Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Students walking to Clinton High School

Street scene of a group of African-American students walking to the newly integrated Clinton High School in Anderson County, Tennessee. Reporters and photographers are on the scene. Ca. 1956. From the Clinton High School Desegregation from the Knoxville Journal Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Clinton High School after bombing

An estimated 75 to 100 sticks of dynamite exploded throughout Clinton High School in the early morning of Sunday, October 5, 1958, over two years after the integration of the high school. Despite the establishment of an FBI office in Clinton and a thorough investigation, no arrests were ever made in the case. Ca. 1958. From the Clinton High School Desegregation from the Knoxville Journal Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Sanitation Worker's Strike

The Memphis Sanitation Worker's Strike of 1968 resulted out of the terrible working conditions (in addition to the minuscule wages) that resulted in the deaths of many, but most notably Echol Cole and Robert Walker, whose deaths were caused by the city's refusal to replace defective working equipment. The strike lasted nearly two months, from about mid-February through Mid-April, and is most notably remembered for the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr. after he traveling to Memphis to support the sanitation workers and their strike. Additional strikes had to be threatened in order to force the City of Memphis to stand by their 1968 settlement. 

Curfew Violators

"Arrested curfew violators wait for paddy wagon." Ca. 1968. From the 1968 Sanitation Workers Strike Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection. 

Workers peacefully protesting with "I am a Man" sign during the 1968 Memphis Sanitation Strike. National Guard on streets. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Rioting

Photograph of cops in gas masks appearing to beat a black man (possibly a protester) with a baton. Ca. 1968. From the 1968 Sanitation Workers Strike Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Police in Riot Gear

Police in gas masks and riot gear grabbing a black man (possibly a protestor). Ca. 1968. From the 1968 Sanitation Workers Strike Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Strikers and Scabs*

Sanitation Strikers confront scabs.* Ca. 1968. *Scab is sometimes used as a derogatory term for someone who is a strikebreaker, usually an individual who was not previously employed by a company, but instead hired after or during an ongoing strike to keep the organization running. From the 1968 Sanitation Workers Strike Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection. 

Strikers

Strikers marching down a street boasting signs about boycotting, jobs, and justice for sanitation workers. Ca. 1968. From the 1968 Sanitation Workers Strike Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Protestors

Protestors with picket signs. Photograph of the same protestors from below but from a different angle. Ca. 1968. From the 1968 Sanitation Workers Strike Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Protestors (2)

Looking east on Beale street. Photograph of the same protestors from above but from a different angle. Ca. 1968. From the 1968 Sanitation Workers Strike Collection in the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Additional Images from the 1968 Sanitation Workers Strike Collection.

Civil Rights in the turn of the Century (1990s-2000s)

I think I Klan

Political cartoon about the Klu Klux Klan bringing racial discrimination and hate that dominated 20th century social ideologies into the 21st century. From the Charlie Daniel Editorial Cartoon Collection.

Elementary and Secondary School Civil Rights Survey: An Analysis

An 1977 analysis by the Children's Defense Fund of the Elementary and Secondary School Civil Rights Survey conducted by the federal government in 1966. From the Children's Defense Fund Digital Collection. 

Grace To Lead Our Children Home: The Crisis Facing Black Children

This document explores the challenges faced by black youth in today's society and how those challenges have resulted in a rise in the number of minority youth caught up in the justice system of our country. From the Children's Defense Fund Digital Collection. 

Facing the Facts: A Progress Report on Ohio's Black Children

This report provides information and data on the status of black children in Ohio. It offers recommendations for public policy and private action on behalf of Ohio's black children and families. From the Children's Defense Fund Digital Collection. 

Progress and Peril: Black Children in America

This book gives facts on the conditions of African American children in America. From the Children's Defense Fund Digital Collection.