Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management by ISBN: 9781444313246Publication Date: 2009-07-15
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology by
In today's world, knowledge about the environment and our relationship with it is extremely crucial. Academic Press proudly presents the Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology, a much-needed reference with detailed information on the environmental issues affecting you. Written for law offices, environmental groups, city planners, and government officials, these three volumes contain 150 expressly prepared articles exploring the impact of global change on plants, animals, and habitats. The Encyclopedia examines the causes and the cures of environmental degradation in an easy-to-use, comprehensive format. Key Features * A three-volume set including a complete subject index with more than 10,000 entries and a directory of contributors * 154 articles written by the world's leading scientists and approved by an independent review procedure * 150 halftones, 600 line drawings, and 100 tables complement the text * Easy-to-use and meticulously organized * Bibliographies at the end of each article allow easy access to the primary literature * 2114 pages in a large (8 1/2"x 11") double-column format for clarity and accessibility * Tailored to suit an international audience * Extensive cross-referencing system links related articles * 170 contributors from 16 countries * An eminent editorial board
Call Number: QH540.4 .E52 1995ISBN: 0122267303Publication Date: 1995-05-22
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
Where does the environment leave off and society begin? When expanding production and consumption drives greenhouse gas emissions that warm the planet, which in turn influence the conditions of economic expansion, it is unclear where the climate ends and the economy begins. This fact is not new to our era, however, our social and natural sciences have only recently come to grips with the incredible complexity of the world described by understanding the environment and society as being of a piece. As a result, in the last decade there has been an unprecedented explosion of new concepts, theories, facts, and techniques that follow from such an understanding. The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. The four volumes of this Encyclopedia represent more than a catalogue of terms. Rather they capture the spirit of the moment, a fascinating time when global warming and genetic engineering represent only two of the most obvious examples of socio-environmental issues. Key Features - Examines many new ideas about how the world works, what creates the daunting problems of our time, and how such issues might be addressed, whether by regulation, markets, or new ethics - Demonstrates how theories of environmental management based on market efficiency may not be easily reconciled with those that focus on population, and both may certainly diverge from those centering on ethics, justice, or labor - Offers contributions from experts in their fields of specialty including geographers, political scientists, chemists, anthropologists, medical practitioners, development experts, and sociologists, among many others - Explores the emerging socio-environmental problems that we face in the next century as well as the shifting and expanding theoretical tools available for tackling these problems - Covers regions of North America in greater detail but also provides a comprehensive picture that approaches, as effectively as possible, a cohesive global vision Key Themes - Agriculture - Animals - Biology and Chemistry - Climate - Conservation and Ecology - Countries - Geography - History - Movements and Regulations - Organizations - People - Politics - Pollution - Society Packed with essential and up-to-date information on the state of the global socio-environment, the Encyclopedia of Environment and Society is a time capsule of its historic moment, and a record of where we stand at the start of the 21st century, making it a must-have resource for any library. These inspiring volumes provide an opportunity for more new ways of thinking, behaving, and living in a more-than-human world.
ISBN: 9781412927611Publication Date: 2007-08-27
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Second Edition by
The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. This edition was well received, with notable reviews. Since its publication, the debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change. Thus, a new, Second Edition updates more than half of the original entries and adds new perspectives and content to keep students and researchers up-to-date in a field that has proven provocatively lively.
ISBN: 9781412992619Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Government and the Environment by
A timely, new resource on the history of the U.S. government's approach to environmental policy. * 200 alphabetically organized entries on all aspects of the development of U.S. environmental policy—the events, issues, people, and politics * 100 expert contributors—scholars from a wide range of disciplines—draw on the latest research * A timeline of major laws, events, and governmental agencies related to environmental policy * A bibliography of important books and essays on U.S. government environmental policy in print and on online
ISBN: 1598842374Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History by
While the relationship between man and nature has been a constant feature of the human situation, the human impact on the environment has only recently become a topic of general interest to students, as well as to scholars and professionals in disciplines across the board. This three-volume set, written by a team of international experts, provides not only broad historical coverage on how human beliefs and actions have altered the natural world, but also covers the latest developments in the field. An analysis of natural phenomena and events and their impact on human societies is also included. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of World Environmental History website. Also includes 20 maps.
Call Number: GF10 .E63 2004ISBN: 0415937329Publication Date: 2003-10-31
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by
Why care about the environment? Is the earth's climate really changing for the worse? What are CFCs exactly? And who or what is the WTO? What are the causes of environmental problems? Who are the main actors, and what are the main ideas and issues in international environmental politics? Which countries have the best/worst environmental record and policies? The International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics is the essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment - particularly students and academics working within political science - to answer these questions, and to explore many other related topics in international environmental politics. It will be welcomed as an essential teaching resource and a trusty companion to independent study. Written by a team of international experts, the Encyclopedia is vital for fact-checking, provides authoritative initial orientation to a particular topic or issue and will serve as a solid starting point for wider explanation. With over 300 fully cross-referenced entries, many of which are followed with suggestions for further reading, the Encyclopedia includes: * Country and regional entries, with country entries giving a concise overview of the history, main actors, issues and policies related to its environmental politics * Normative and ethical dimensions of environmental politics, from animal rights, social and global justice to deep ecology * Environmental movements, organizations, struggles and actors from local to international levels * Issues in international environmental politics such as global warming, biodiversity, trade and the environment * Prominent individuals (historical and current) who have inspired or been actively involved in international environmental politics - such as Mahatma Gandhi, Petra Kelly, Vandana Shiva and Aldo Leopold * Central topics and issues in environmental politics - such as global warming, globalization, wildlife preservation, eco-taxes, energy production and consumption, sustainable development and the World Trade Organisation
ISBN: 9781135554033Publication Date: 2014-02-25
The International Handbook of Environmental Sociology by
This thoroughly revised Handbook provides an assessment of the scope and content of environmental sociology, and sets out the intellectual and practical challenges posed by the urgent need for policy and action to address accelerating environmental change
ISBN: 1849805520Publication Date: 2010-04-30
- World Book OnlineA general encyclopedia covering a wide range of topics. It is part of the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
Dictionaries
- Oxford Reference Online
Multi-disciplinary reference collection including dictionaries, timelines, quotations, and other reference resources.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)OED is the pre-eminent historical dictionary of the English language. Select "Enter OED Online" to begin searching.
Additional Reference Resources
- Credo Reference (Academic Core)A collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics.
- Sage Reference OnlineA collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks useful for finding background information on a wide variety of topics in the social sciences.