Key Resources
Begin your search for journal articles with these databases:
- SciFinder-n
You must register for an account using your utk.edu or utsi.edu email.
Information on chemical substances and its related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, properties, and more. Includes visualization and analysis tools. - Reaxys
Information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties. Contains reaction and property data extracted from core journals and patents in organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry.
- Scopus
This link opens in a new window
Covers the scholarly literature in the sciences, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Complements Web of Science. - Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A major multidisciplinary index covering journal articles and conference proceedings. Complements Scopus.
Other Suggested Databases
- BIOSIS Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
The place to start for finding research in life sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, and zoology. - Engineering Village: Compendex
An engineering bibliographic database covering scientific literature pertaining to engineering materials. The name "Compendex" stands for COMPuterized ENgineering inDEX.
- Engineering Village: Inspec Archive
Indexing database of scientific and technical literature, published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology. Coverage is extensive in the fields of physics, computing, control, and engineering.
Coverage: 1898-1968 - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses in all disciplines from around the world, many with full-text.
Tools
- BrowzineLets you browse and read journals in your field, create a bookshelf of your favorite journals, build reading lists of articles, and syncs with the BrowZine app for iOS and Android.
- Citation LinkerNeed to track down a citation? Use Citation Linker to see if we have access to the article.
- Citation ManagementOrganizes citations and generates bibliographies as you write.
- ChemDrawCreate drawings of chemical compounds, reactions, and more for publishing and searching SciFinder. Available through OIT's Software Distribution.To set up Search SciFinder, enter https://utk.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org in the proxy settings.