Skip to main content

Architecture and Design Subject Guide: Planning and Construction

Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Planning and Construction

Research Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Covers architecture and related disciplines -- archaeology, furniture and decoration, historic preservation, interior design, landscape design and urban planning. Compiled at Columbia University's Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, the database indexes over 2,000 periodicals published worldwide. Coverage is from the 1930's to the present with selective indexing dating back to the 1860's. UT NetID & Password required

BuildingGreen Features current issue of Environmental Building news and complete archives published since 1993. Includes GreenSpec database of over 1,800 green building products and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. Information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. UT NetID & Password required

Design and Applied Arts Index Data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Covers all design fields including furniture, interiors, textile, graphic, multimedia, packaging, and theater. UT NetID & Password required

ASTM Standards The full-text of 11,000 active ASTM standards. To search, select "Subscriber Login" and then select "Specs & Standards 3.0." Under Quick Searches, select "By subscription only." For other standards, request through Interlibrary Loan, which has a deposit account for standards. UT NetID & Password required


General Resources

Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus A comprehensive controlled vocabulary of nearly 125,000 terms for describing objects, textural materials, images, architecture and material culture from antiquity to the present.

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names contains approximately 900,000 records for places, arranged in hierarchies representing all nations of the modern world, and including vernacular and historical names, coordinates, place types, and other relevant information.

Digital Sanborn Maps for Tennessee Provides digital access to 695 large-scale maps of 113 Tennessee towns and cities including Knoxville, dating from 1867 to 1970. UT NetID & Password required

Guide to Standards and Codes in the Hodges Library


ADA Guidelines


Building


Planning


Universal Design


Associations & Schools