Chemical and Biomolecular EngineeringCivil and Environmental EngineeringElectrical Engineering and Computer ScienceIndustrial and Information EngineeringMaterials Science and EngineeringMechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical EngineeringNuclear Engineering
This is the "Find Scholarly Literature" page of the "Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


Engineering   Tags: engineering, engineering handbooks, patents, standards  

This guide will help you to find resources about all disciplines of engineering, including scholarly literature, standards, and handbooks.
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/engineering Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Scholarly Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 

News and Important Links

The UT Libraries website has changed. Here are some of the links.

Solving Off-Campus Access Problems

Occasionally there are temporary problems accessing databases off-campus. If it happens again, there are several options to solve this problem:

  • Off-campus Access Page
    Follow the instructions on this page to resolve most access issues. You can also contact Jeanine Williamson, the Engineering Librarian, at jwilliamson@utk.edu.
  • Use Databases with Similar Content
    Many databases overlap with other ones that UT subscribes too. For example, Compendex and Scopus share a great deal of content. Contact Jeanine Williamson, the Engineering Librarian, if you want to know what other resources to use when a database is unavailable.
  • Virtual Private Network
    Use the VPN feature through OIT if you prefer.

Locating Materials at UT and outside UT

  • Interlibrary Loan
    for materials not owned by UT. Free to students, faculty and staff at UT.
  • FindText
    FindText is the button that allows you to link to journals holdings in many databases. Watch this video to see how.
  • Requesting an item that is checked out
    In the library catalog, click on the Item tab. Select "Item Pick-up or Delivery." The other patron has 10 days to return the item. You may request it through interlibrary loan if that is too long.
  • Article/Chapter Scan
    free service for UT students, faculty and staff to obtain scans of articles and book chapters owned by UT.
  • Proxy Bookmarklet
    if you do research off-campus, this bookmarklet will save you from having to type in your netid and password all the time.
  • Google Scholar Preferences
    if you edit your Google Scholar preferences, you will be able to check holdings at UTK. Go to the settings icon in Google Scholar, click on Library Links, and select "University of Tennessee-FullText at UT Libraries."

What database should I use to find scholarly literature? (Knoxville and UTSI programs)

Databases Used by All Engineering Disciplines

Databases are generally located at UT Engineering and Technology Databases. Use databases to find peer-reviewed articles and other information.

BooksPlus, the Library Catalog

The BooksPlus box on the library home page searches the library's catalog to find out what books or journals are owned.  Keep in mind that individual articles are not listed in the catalog.

 

Search Operators

Most databases require that you combine words in your search with AND or OR. AND retrieves records with all words.  OR retrieves records with any of the words.

mercury pollution AND coal

mercury pollution OR mercury accumulation

nuclear AND computer* AND (reliability OR dependability)

The asterisk (*)  truncates a word so that for this example, either computer or computers has to be in the records.

 

Research Librarian

Profile Image
Jeanine Williamson
Contact Info
152 Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-9164
jwilliamson@utk.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Engineering, UTSI
 

Suggest a Book

Please send book selections to

jwilliamson@utk.edu


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip