A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England. Held at the Bodleian Library, this collection spans the years 1672 to 1737 and complements the titles and issues found in 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers. The collection includes over 280 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and about 300 pamphlets and broadsheets.

Trial runs from March 22, 2017 – June 20, 2017.

Please send feedback to Chris Caldwell ccaldwell@utk.edu
New
Key 19th Century UK Periodicals using content from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland,the National Library of Australia, and many other sources.
New
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
New
American Fiction, 1774–1920, contains more than 17,800 titles by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century. The titles to the year 1900 include nearly all of the works found in Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography. Wright’s three-volume set—American Fiction, 1774–1850; American Fiction, 1851–1875; and American Fiction, 1876–1900—is widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
New
Full-text of the The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History’s archive of letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers and ephemera documenting the political, economic and social history of the United States from 1493-1945. The majority of the material is from manuscript collections.
New
Explores primary sources, from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals dating from the earliest contact with European settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
New
Full-text documents on important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health.
New
New
Associated Press is one of the most important international press organizations. The collection includes online versions of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, from the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.
New
Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall streams classical music concert videos to your tablet, smartphone, smartTV or PC. The sound quality is similar to that of a CD, and the picture quality similar to HD television. This database provides access to both archived videos and live streams of Berlin Philharmonic productions, as well as several documentaries. Search this collection by composer, conductor, soloist, and/or genre.
New
Online version of the Oliveiria Lima Library at Catholic University. Lima was a collector who amassed several thousand books and pamphlets documenting Brazilian and Portuguese history and culture.
New
Extensive full-text collection of both national and regional British newspapers. A full list of publications and locations is included with the database.
New
This extensive digital archive includes hundreds of thousands of pages of poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence and other manuscripts from the Middle Ages through the Victorian era.
New
Chatham House Online Archive contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference..
New
Full-text collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911–1949), when China experienced the radical and often traumatic transformation from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.
New
China Geo-Explorer is an intelligence spatial data service offered by the University of Michigan China Data Center, in collaboration with the All China Market Research Co., Ltd and the State Key Laboratory for Information Engineering in Surveying, Mapping and Remote Sensing (LIESMARS) of Wuhan University. It offers China demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in the web-based delivery system. With this spatial intelligence, users are able to make rapid, accurate spatial decisions with greater confidence for regional planning, business investment, population, housing, environmental assessment, public health and many other spatial applications. Data sources in this database includes demographic and business information for all PRC geographies, including 31 Provinces, 345 Prefecture Cities, 2,873 Counties, and over 50,000 Townships.
New
New
The Commercial Pattern Archive database, CoPA, provides a unique tool for researchers and designers to recreate or date clothing from 1868 to 2000. There are several collections from the States, Canada and the UK represented in the database which functions like a Union Catalog of pattern collections
New
Full-text collection of documents, primarily from the US and Britain, on the evolution of crime and punishment. The archive's focus is on the most rapid period of evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems: the long nineteenth century, a period of major social upheaval and technological development.
New
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive is a data set comprised of more than 200 years of annual data from 1815 onwards for over 200 countries.
Trial
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Covers almost 60 years of cultural relations between Revolutionary Cuba and abroad.

Trial runs from March 6, 2017 – June 5, 2017.

Please send feedback to Kenya Flash kflash@utk.edu .
New
Full-text of an important London newspaper.
Trial
The first daily newspaper in Michigan covers the years 1923-1999.

Trial runs from January 9, 2017 to April 9, 2017.

Please send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu.
Trial
This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.


Trial runs from February 8, 2017 to May 10, 2017.

Please send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu.
New
A collection of British theater productions with interviews and detailed text analysis, Digital Theatre Plus captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. By revealing the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, their documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium.
New
The first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.
Trial
EBSCO Audiobook Collection trial offers a sampling of twenty-three titles. The sample is taken from EBSCO’s extensive collection of content including best-selling fiction and non-fiction, award-winning children’s and young adult books, and more.


After downloading the EBSCO Audiobooks app from iTunes or Google Play, the audiobooks can be downloaded on any of the following devices. The audiobooks cannot be downloaded to PC or Mac.
• Apple iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch running iOS 8 or higher.
• Android phone or tablet running Android version 5 or higher.



For additional information, see Audiobook Collection help



Trial runs from March 1, 2017 – May 29, 2017. Please send feedback to Chris Caldwell ccaldwell@utk.edu.
New
Features the John Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library – a unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, as well as hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.
New
New
Personalized recommendations of the best research articles in biology and medicine by the world’s largest group of leading scientists and clinicians – the F1000Prime Faculty.
New
Trial
Gale Researcher connects Gale resources, like Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) articles and journals available through Academic OneFile, to library collections, enhancing the accessibility and value of library holdings.

We have access for one year (September 7,2016 - September 6, 2017). Please send feedback to Corey Halaychik (chalaych@utk.edu)
Trial
Geofacets is designed to search for, and extract, maps, sections and other geographically referenced geoscientific data from a very large and growing volume of published content. The interface is both interactive and intuitive, using a combination of a GoogleEarth map-based browser and a text-based search tool to capture georeferenced data and images that can then be collated into an interpretation. Search results are presented as thumbnail images with links to their corresponding read-only PDFs, full text (for subscribers) and pay-per-view (e.g. via Science Direct), and selected maps can be gathered for use in GIS software.

Trial runs from January 9, 2017 – April 8, 2017.

Please send feedback to Greg March gmarch@utk.edu.
New
Full-text collection documenting the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
New
The Institute for Aegean Prehistory (INSTAP) was founded in 1982 to support projects relevant to the history of the Aegean world from the Paleolithic to the 8th century B.C. In 2001, the INSTAP Academic Press was started to help publish projects dealing with the subject of Aegean Prehistory. The Press is a scholarly publisher specializing in the publication of the primary source material from archaeological excavations as well as individual studies dealing with material from the prehistoric periods. All publications are in English.
New
ISS (formerly RiskMetrics) offers proprietary analytics, and expertise to help uncover risks and understand the key issues in the areas of board, audit, compensation and shareholder rights.
Access provided by the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS).
New
The International African Bibliography (IAB) is an essential resource for all those working in the field of African studies, providing a current awareness service of the latest books, articles and papers published internationally on Africa.
New
Full-text of an influential popular magazine published by two prominent US publishers, Joseph Patterson, the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, the Chicago Tribune.
New
Online authoritative reference work about literary and cultural history with rapid publication and frequent updating of articles.
New
A historical collection of corporate and industry documents. Includes Moody's Manuals, company annual reports, industry reports, D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, Million Dollar Directory, and Hoover's handbooks. More current information is available in Mergent Intellect.
New
Provides information on private and public companies in the U.S., international companies, executives, demographics, and industries. Includes data from Million Dollar Directory and Key Business Ratios.
New
Full-text of popular British photo-journalism magazine, published from 1938 to 1957.
New
Called "Bills and Laws" on ProQuest interface.

Law Library title
New
A companion to ProQuest Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders by compiling pertinent Federal Register articles into a research-friendly work space similar to the that provided in Legislative Insight.

Law Library title
New
Full-text of popular British humor magazine.
New
R2 Digital Library provides access 5000+ ebooks, videos and downloadable images primarily for the areas of Nursing, Medicine, and Allied Health. R2 also contains content for Psychology, Pharmacy and Veterinary Medicine.
Trial
Race Relations in America is a collection of primary source material focusing on race relations across three pivotal decades in the struggle for civil rights in the United States. Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department was a forum enabling leading figures within the Civil Rights Movement to engage in a national discussion with community leaders on the challenges of overcoming prejudice and segregation. Its aim was to identify problem areas in race relations and develop courses of constructive action, under the leadership of the eminent sociologist Charles S. Johnson.
Correspondence and administrative material accompany photographs, sound recordings and transcripts of speeches delivered at the Annual Race Relations Institutes. Excellent survey material, featuring interviews, field worker reports, statistics and analyses, allows topics such as housing, employment in industry, the labor movement, school desegregation and church integration to be explored.
This resource enables the exploration of the struggle for civil rights in America through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students and housewives, while showcasing the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.


*Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.


Trial runs from February 9, 2017 to May 9, 2017.

Please send feedback to Steven Milewski smilewsk@utk.edu.
New
Learn or practice another language. Interactive, immersive cloud-based program. Apps available in your app store. First-time users will need to create an account using their UT email address.
Trial
SAGE Video is a series of online collections developed in partnership with leading academics, societies and practitioners, including many of SAGE’s own authors and academic partners, to deliver cutting-edge pedagogical collections mapped to disciplinary curricular needs within the social sciences.

This trial allows the user access to the Criminology & Criminal Justice and Sociology video collections.

Trial runs from March 1, 2017 - April 27, 2017.

Please send feedback to Steven Milewski smilewsk@utk.edu.
New
The resource features prompt books from the world-famous collection at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
New
Full-text of documents and published material of topics including history of flight, industrial development, and world's fairs. Includes Air & Space and Smithsonian magazine archives.
Trial
Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. The digitized film covers all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba.

Trial runs from March 8, 2017 – June 8, 2017 .

Please send feedback to Steven Milewski smilewsk@utk.edu.

*Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.
New
South Carolina newspapers from the Colonial Period. Titles include: The South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1775; The South Carolina & American General Gazette, 1764-1775; The South Carolina Gazette & Country Journal, 1765-1775; and The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina, 1777-1780.
New
State Papers Online offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concern, from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Britain from the Tudors to George III.
New
Full-text of important business and political magazine. Covers science and technology as well as cultural topics.
New
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
New
Full-text of first pictorial weekly newspaper.
New
Full-text of British newspaper started in 1986.
New
Text version of BBC broadcasts. Also includes 10% original content such as book reviews.
New
Full-text of over 62,000 books, serials, pamphlets, essays sourced from leading collections at major libraries around the world published from 1450 to 1914. Collection tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Titles are in English as well as many other languages.
New
Full-text of important British newspaper.
New
Full-text of one of the oldest British newspapers.
New
Thieme's comprehensive communication science resource online features: more than 14,000 pages of Thieme e-book content; more than 7,000 images and videos; collected cases in Audiology and Speech Language Pathology; and simultaneous search across Seminars in Hearing, Seminars in Speech and Language, and PubMed.
New
Full-text of well-respected British literary publication.
New
Multi-volume set of translated texts from the early medieval period, 300 to 800 AD. Volumes include scholarly analysis from leading academics.
New
U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database. The search and discovery interface for the collection allows researchers to locate the full text of documents and quickly filter their search results by document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, and date declassified as well as other document characteristics.
New
Scholarly, primary-source database focused on over 2,500 adult comic books and graphic novels.
New
An evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Trial
The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996. Also being added to the Archive are collections of Holocaust testimonies recorded and owned by other organizations, such as Jewish Family and Children's Services (JFCS) Holocaust Center, and a consortium of nine Canadian archives, which represent the Canadian Jewish experience across Canada.

Information to get started:
- Although, it works best on Internet Explorer, VHA is compatible with the Firefox browser on a PC and with the Safari browser on a Mac; however, you will need to install some extra software for Firefox and Mac compatibility. Please see Systems Requirements on the Login screen.
- First time users must register to create a Username and Password. You will use this Username and Password each time you login. For more information on how to search on this database, click the “User Guide” under the Help tab at top of page.

Trial runs from January 13, 2017 to April 13, 2017.

Please send feedback to Ken Wise kwise@utk.edu.
New
Full-text of primary source material from hundreds of fairs, including London’s Great Exhibition of 1851, American fairs of the 19th and 20th centuries and 21st century EXPOs. Of local interest, the collection has documents from the 1982 Knoxville World’s Fair and the much older Knoxville National Conservation Exposition in 1913.
Loading...
Loading...

About E-Resources