Research Guides: Engineering: Find Scholarly Literature

News and Important Links

Locating Materials at UT and outside UT

Resource Sharing
for materials not owned by UT. Free to students, faculty and staff at UT.
Scan on Demand Service
free service for UT students, faculty and staff to obtain scans of articles and book chapters owned by UT.
Google Scholar Preferences
if you edit your Google Scholar preferences, you will be able to check holdings at UTK. Go to the settings icon in Google Scholar, click on Library Links, and select "University of Tennessee-FullText at UT Libraries."
FindText
FindText is the button that allows you to link to journals holdings in many databases.
LibKey Nomad
A Chrome extension that allows you to get PDFs at publisher's sites.

Solving Off-Campus Access Problems

Occasionally there are temporary problems accessing databases off-campus. UT Libraries recommends accessing our online resources by searching for the resource through OneSearch. Access to UT Libraries online subscriptions and purchases is restricted to current active Faculty, Staff, and Students. For more information, please review the Electronic Resource Use Policy.

Use Databases with Similar Content
Many databases overlap with other ones that UT subscribes to. For example, Compendex and Scopus share a great deal of content. Contact Mikayla Wood, the Engineering Librarian, if you want to know what other resources to use when a database is unavailable.
Submit a chat question on the library site
The staff who receive chat questions can connect your question with the library's eproblems unit,

Resources Used by All Engineering Disciplines

One Search Library Catalog

AccessEngineering
If AccessEngineering content is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format. Screen reader users or users of keyboard navigation may require assistance. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Engineering Village: Compendex
Users of screen readers should avoid using iPads and also the Firefox browser.
Knovel
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Knovel. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link
If the content of a Springer Link article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format."
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

What database should I use to find scholarly literature? (Knoxville and UTSI programs)

Aviation Systems

AIAA Meeting Papers
If the content of an AIAA article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format. Users of keyboard navigation may also require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
Engineering Village: Compendex
Users of screen readers should avoid using iPads and also the Firefox browser.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Earth and Planetary Science Databases

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n
Visit our SciFinder guide for search tips.

If the content in SciFinder is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help. Users of keyboard navigation or screen readers may also require assistance with this resource.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Chemistry Databases

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Engineering Village: Compendex
Users of screen readers should avoid using iPads and also the Firefox browser.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Transport Research International Documentation
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

ACM Digital Library
IEEE Xplore
If the content of an IEEE article or ebook is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format. Users of keyboard navigation may require assistance with this resource.
Synthesis Collection of Technology
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Industrial and Systems Engineering/Engineering Management

Business Source Complete
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Engineering Village: Compendex
Users of screen readers should avoid using iPads and also the Firefox browser.
APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Materials Science Engineering

Alloy Phase Diagram Database
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database
IEEE Xplore
If the content of an IEEE article or ebook is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format. Users of keyboard navigation may require assistance with this resource.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n
Visit our SciFinder guide for search tips.

If the content in SciFinder is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help. Users of keyboard navigation or screen readers may also require assistance with this resource.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering

Engineering Village: Compendex
Users of screen readers should avoid using iPads and also the Firefox browser.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Nuclear Engineering

Engineering Village: Compendex
Users of screen readers should avoid using iPads and also the Firefox browser.
International Nuclear Information System (INIS)
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Physics

Physics and Astronomy Databases

Search Operators

Most databases require that you combine words in your search with AND or OR. AND retrieves records with all words. OR retrieves records with any of the words.

mercury pollution AND coal

mercury pollution OR mercury accumulation

nuclear AND computer* AND (reliability OR dependability)

The asterisk (*) truncates a word so that for this example, either computer or computers has to be in the records.

Research Librarian

Mikayla Wood

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Engineering

Suggest a Book

Please send book selections to

mikayla@utk.edu