Architecture & Design Subject Guide: Architects & Buildings

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Covers architecture and related disciplines -- archaeology, furniture and decoration, historic preservation, interior design, landscape design and urban planning. Compiled at Columbia University's Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, the database indexes over 2,000 periodicals published worldwide. Coverage is from the 1930's to the present with selective indexing dating back to the 1860's. UT NetID & Password required

Building Types Online This resource offers detailed access to the contents of the Birkhauser program on building types. All content is written and selected by renowned authors in architectural design.

DETAIL Inspiration DETAIL Inspiration is an online image and reference database for architects in English and German with photos, drawings and technical information sourced from DETAIL print magazine. More than 3,300 DETAIL projects/references from 30 years of DETAIL magazine are available for download as PDF. 

BuildingGreen Features current issue of Environmental Building news and complete archives published since 1993. Includes GreenSpec database of over 1,800 green building products and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. Information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. UT NetID & Password required

Design and Applied Arts Index (1973+) Indexes design and craft journals and newspapers. Includes news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Covers all design fields including furniture, interiors, textile, graphic, multimedia, packaging, and theater. UT NetID & Password required

RIBA Library Catalogue, British Architectural Library, Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes Architectural Publications Index.

ArchINFORM International 20th Century Architecture

Art Fulltext (1984+) International periodical coverage includes journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. UT NetID & Password required

Cities & Buildings Database University of Washington

Great Buildings Collection

International Medieval Bibliography Contains articles on medieval subjects and history, with an index containing reference to personal names, medieval and modern place names, subjects, texts and manuscripts. UT NetID & Password required

Skyscraper Page Includes drawings & diagrams

Sources for Building History: a guide to researching historic buildings in the British Isles

Smithsonian Institute Architectural History & Historic Preservation Division

Vitruvio Includes detailed drawings & diagrams

• Architects USA Directory of over 20,000 architectural firms.
• Brief Biographies of American Architects (who died between 1897-1947)
• Death by Architecture Links to architecture firms.
• Directory of African American Architects
• Frank Lloyd Wright Designs for an American Landscape, 1922-1932
• International Archive of Women in Architecture
• Pritzker Architecture Prize
• Union List of Artist Names Contains around 220,000 names and other information about artists from antiquity to present, and the scope is global.
• Famous Architects.org Provides detailed biographies of over one hundred famous architects.

• Architecture Web Resources University of Nevada, Las Vegas
• ArchNet Online Community for Architects, Planners & Designers
• ArtSource Resources & bibliographies
• Entablature A Gathering Place for the Architecture Community
• Library of Congress Guide: Selected listings of research guides, archival resources, and scholarly articles & dissertations

• National Center for Preservation, Technology and Training