Your Librarian
865-974-0016 (leave voicemail)
Librarian for:
--Biology, EEB, BCMB, Microbiology, NIMBioS, GST
--Child & Family Studies
--Women, Gender & Sexuality
--Sociology
For library news, tips, and help, Twitter: twitter.com/donnathelibrarian
Selecting the Most Relevant Databases
Due to Biology's multidisciplinary nature, there are several databases that you will need to search depending on your specific research topic. Below are the most appropriate databases for biology overall. There are several specialized databases that focus on niche fields located in the More Bio Databases tab in the left menu.
If you are unsure which database to use or are not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact me. I'm your librarian. -Donna Braquet
- Web of Science
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors.
- Biological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed journal coverage of the life sciences with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. Includes BIOSIS indexing and MeSH terms. Coverage from 1926 to present. - PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present.
What are databases anyway?
This image shows that journals are made up of articles. Then the contents of journals are included in databases. You search Databases in order to find journal articles.
