Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies

A bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Coverage from 1881 to current.

From zines, newspapers and ephemera, to oral histories, films and photographs, 1980s Culture and Society compiles materials from archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Capturing diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.

 

Full-text primary source documents on important aspects of LGBTQ life. Documents span from 1940-2014, with the bulk from 1950-1990. 

UTK Library only has access to LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1.

Primary source material for the study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture from 1450 to 1910. Key topics: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility and The Body.

Primary source material addressing 19th and early 20th century issues including politics, social and gender issues, religion, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, pastimes, and more.

Includes reference books, journals, encyclopedia, teaching cases, and proceedings.

Supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.

A large collection of public opinion poll data. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and more. When available, results charts and full datasets are available for download.

A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.

A collection of articles, books, case studies, practice datasets, and instructional videos to help you learn how to conduct qualitative and quantitative research.

Peer-reviewed case studies that examine the research process.

A collection of practice datasets and instructional guides.

From the first modern Olympic Games in 1896 to the 1992 Barcelona Summer Olympics and Paralympics, the Olympic Movement provides a record of the origins, expansion and growth of the Olympic Games and the global history of sport. Includes correspondence, official reports, newsletters and film footage that chart the history of sport and its relationships with culture, society, business, media and politics between the 1890s and 1990s. 

Provides a visual and searchable archive illustrating how American day- to-day life, attitudes, mores, and behaviors changed over time.

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes projects and archives with reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

UTK Libraries has access to the basic edition and content added through 2019.

A finding aid to women's studies resources in the National Archives at Kew and original documents on women's suffrage in the early 20th century in Britain and colonial territories.