Research Tools
| Search this to find books, journals, articles, videos and other items that the library owns. There may be some resources in OneSearch that we do not own but can get for you. | |
| Databases | Search these to find peer reviewed articles in a particular discipline. Databases can contain non-peer reviewed articles as well. |
| Subject Guides | These are resources that librarians have created to help you get started with your research. They pull together all of the essential resources. |
| Your Librarian | I'm your librarian. I can help you save time, get you started in the right direction, and help when you're stuck. |
| LibKey Nomad | A free browser extension that allows you to get easy access to UT Library resources even when off campus. |
| Browzine | Find e-journals by discipline and download and read articles. |
| EndNote | Software that allows you to store your references and format them when you're writing a paper. EndNote is a free download from OIT. There is also an open source browser extension called Zotero that some people find easier to use than EndNote. |
| Test Prep | Practice tests for GRE, MCAT, LSAT, GMAT, TOEFLL, Praxis, and more. |
| SAGE Research Methods | A collection of articles, books, case studies, practice datasets, and instructional videos to help you learn how to conduct qualitative and quantitative research. |
| SAGE Campus | SAGE Campus provides online learning courses for skills and research methods. The courses are self-paced. The courses cover critical skills and research methods across all stages of academic study, split into 5 categories: navigating information, data literacy, data science skills, research skills, and getting published. |
| Video Collections | Collections of streaming video that can be used in class assignments, courses, or just for general viewing. |
| Primary Sources | Databases of archival materials and newspaper databases. |
| Reference Sources | Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and databases where you can search multiple reference sources at once. |
| Citation Style Guides | Resources on style guides like MLA, APA, Chicago, AMA. |
Library Services
| UT Library Books | You can go into the book stacks yourself or you can put in a request for library staff to pull your books and have them ready for you at the main desk. The request usually takes a day. To put in a request, find the book in the catalog and sign in to your account. Click the title of the book and click Physical Item under the Availability & Request section. If you are faculty, staff or a graduate student, you can have books sent to your office by choosing Work Address. |
| Course Reserves | Course Reserves are books or videos that an instructor places at the main desk that can be checked out for a short period of time. This allows everyone in the course to use an item. Instructors, you can place items on Reserve using this form. |
| Resources from other Libraries | If our library doesn't own a book, journal article, DVD, or newspaper article, we can usually get a copy from another library. The turnaround time for PDFs of articles is usually a day or two. Turnaround time for books or other physical items can take up to a week depending on mail service. This service is sometimes called Interlibrary Loan or Resource Sharing. You'll get an email to pick up your book at the main desk or to log in to your account to get the PDF. |
| Scans of UT Book Chapters or Journal Articles | If there is a book chapter or section of a print book or article in a print journal that the UT Library has that you'd like a copy of, find the item in the OneSearch catalog and log in. Click the title of the book/journal and click PDF Scan under the Availability & Request section and fill in the form. You'll get an email in a day or two with the PDF attached. |
| Equipment | The equipment check-out desk is located in Commons South. The following items are available for check-out: mice, cords, audio recorders, cameras, video cameras, tripods, calculators, keyboards, monitors, laptops, adapters, external DVD drives, and more. |
| Poster Printing | Poster printing is available for a low cost. Please allow about 48 hours for turnaround. |
| Suggest a Purchase | Purchase requests will be forwarded to your librarian. If purchase is not possible, borrowing from another library might be an option. |
| 3D Printing | At Pendergrass Library, UT affiliates may create or download a model and submit the request in STL format via our 3D printing page. Contact Richard Sexton at jsexton@utk.edu with questions, or schedule a virtual consultation using Microsoft Bookings. |
| Disability Services | Services for people with disabilities as well as software and hardware available. |
Library Spaces
| Maps and Floors |
First: Graduate Commons, Reading Room, Special Collections, Auditorium, Quiet Floor Second: Commons, Main Desk, Starbucks, VR Room, Studio, MakerSpace, Third: Call Numbers AC – GF, Children's and Young Adult Collection, Oversize Fourth: Call Numbers GN – PR, Quiet Floor Fifth: Call Numbers PS – SK, Quiet Floor Sixth: Call Numbers T – ZA |
| Graduate Commons | The Graduate Commons is furnished with nine adjustable-height desks, workstations with powerful processors and dual monitors, specialized software, small-group rooms, and a large presentation room that can host a dissertation defense. Located to the right of the galleria on the first floor in room 131 with VolCard access. |
| The Studio | Specialized computers and software for graphic design and media production. Also includes recording studios and a whisper room. Located in Commons South. |
| OIT Helpdesk | Get help with your laptop or computer. Located in Commons North. |
|
Practice Presentation Room |
Practice Presentation Room 220-E has a podium, projector, Cynap wireless presentation system, and Zoom videoconferencing. Reservations on 25Live and located in North Commons. |
| Writing Center | Get help with writing and citing papers in Commons North, 220-F. |
| Exercise & Study | Outfitted with standing height desks, pedal resistance laptop workstations, and zynergy balance chairs, the space provides students with an alternative to sitting for long periods of time while studying or completing assignments. Located facing the galleria in Commons South. |
| eXperience Point Lab |
The eXperience Point Lab supports curricular initiatives involving gaming design and graphics-intensive projects. UT Faculty, Lecturers, or Graduate Teaching Assistants may reserve this room to support curricular initiatives involving gaming design and graphics-intensive projects. Located in Hodges 253 and reservable on AdAstra. |
| Lactation Room | A quiet room where people can feed or pump milk located behind Starbucks in Hodges 255B. |
| Silent Room | A room for silent meditation or rest. It's located behind the women's restroom on the 5th floor, Hodges 541. |
| Study Rooms | Reservable study rooms are located in Commons South and in the first floor Reading Room. |
| Leisure Reading | Non-academic collection of books available for check out. First floor Reading Room. |
Cool Resources
| Ancestry | Census records, birth, marriage and death records and immigration records dating back to 1500 for personal ancestry research or data. |
| Flipster | Flipster is a digital magazine distribution service where users can access magazines via a web browser or custom apps made specifically for the iPad or iPad mini, Android devices, or the Kindle Fire table, and download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere. |
| LinkedIn Learning | An online learning platform that provides video courses and tutorials created by industry experts and cover a wide range of technology and software. |
| Factiva | A collection of thousands of newspapers in full-text. |
| ICPSR | Archive of political and social research data. Includes leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community |
| Ground News | A platform that enables the reader to compare how a story is being covered by thousands of sources from across the political spectrum and from around the world. |
| CQ Researcher | Contains reports about current and controversial issues. Excellent for finding overviews, pros/cons and lists of key resources |
| Mango Languages | An online language learning resource that covers over 70 languages. Courses are accessible from a web browser or app. |
| New York Times website | Unlimited access to the New York Times database and issues from 1851 to Current. First time users must create an account using their UT email address see Create Account page. |
| PolicyMap | Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, heath, jobs and more in communities across the U.S. Use for research, market studies, business planning, grant application, and impact analysis. |
| Historical Newspapers | A collection of selected U.S. historical newspapers. Most titles date back to the 1800s. |
| Roper iPoll | A large collection of public opinion poll data. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and more. When available, results charts and full datasets are available for download. |
| Chronicle of Higher Education | Online access to CHE from 1996 to present. |
How To...
Get Access off Campus
How to: One Pager | Slides | Video
Get an overview of how to get Library Resources
How to: One Pager | Still not sure? Don't waste too much time; ask us for help.
Get materials we don't own (Resource Sharing/Interlibrary Loan)
How to: One Pager | Slides | Video
Save time with Scan on Demand, Hold for Pick-Up, and Delivery
How to: One Pager | Slides | Video for Scan on Demand | Video for Hold for Pick-Up | Video for Delivery (for faculty, staff, and grad students)
Reserves for Instructors
How to: One Pager | Slides | Video
Reserves for Students
How to: One Pager | Slides | Video
