Research Guides: Biology: Protocols

Book Series

Methods in Enzymology
The critically acclaimed laboratory standard since 1955, Methods in Enzymology is one of the most highly respected publications in the field of biochemistry. Each volume is eagerly awaited, frequently consulted, and praised by researchers and reviewers alike.
Methods and Protocols
Methods and Protocols (ISSN 2409-9279) is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed scientific journal that provides an advanced forum for the publication of novel approaches to tackle questions in the fields of Life Sciences, Chemistry, and Biomedical Sciences as well as in other relevant scientific fields
Methods in Cell Biology
For over fifty years, Methods in Cell Biology has helped researchers answer the question "What method should I use to study this cell biology problem?". Edited by leaders in the field, each thematic volume provides proven, state-of-art techniques, along with relevant historical background and theory, to aid researchers in efficient design and effective implementation of experimental methodologies. Over its many years of publication, Methods in Cell Biology has built up a deep library of biological methods to study model developmental organisms, organelles and cell systems, as well as comprehensive coverage of microscopy and other analytical approaches.

Journals

Biology Methods & Protocols
Biology Methods & Protocols is a fully open access, peer-reviewed journal on new or improved methods in biological sciences, biomedicine, pre-clinical and translational research.

Cold Springs Harbor Protocols
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. All protocols are up-to-date and presented in a consistent, easy-to-follow format.

Journal of Biological Protocols
The Journal of Biological Methods (JBM) is a multidisciplinary and open-access journal committed to publishing peer-reviewed papers on cutting-edge and innovative biological techniques, methods and protocols.

Methods
Methods publishes original review and research articles that cover emerging methodology in many areas of life and health sciences.

Gene Biotechnology
overing state-of-the-art technologies and a broad range of practical applications, the Third Edition of Gene Biotechnology presents tools that researchers and students need to understand and apply today's biotechnology techniques. Many of the currently available books in molecular biology contain only protocol recipes, failing to explain the principles and concepts behind the methods outlined or to inform the reader of possible pitfalls in the methods described

Methods in Microbiology
The Journal of Microbiological Methods publishes Research, Review and Short Communication articles on novel, state-of-the-art, and significantly improved methodologies in microbiology

Databases

Current Protocols
"Best practices" collections that distill and organize the latest techniques for bioinformatics, microbiology, protein science, neuroscience, molecular biology, immunology, cytometry, and cell biology.

If the content of a Wiley database is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu for assistance.
Users of keyboard or swipe/gesture navigation may require assistance with this resource and should avoid MacOS or iOS devices. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for further assistance.

Free Websites

Protocols i.o
Now part of SpringerNature, this site is free to search for protocols from those who have chosen to publish theirs.

Bio Protocol
Bio-protocol, launched in 2011 by a group of Stanford postdoctoral researchers, aims to solve this issue with the Bio-protocol journal, an online peer-reviewed protocol journal curating and hosting high quality, free access, step-by-step protocols across the life sciences.

Protocols Online
Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains protocols contributed by worldwide researchers as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites.