Encyclopedia Collections (search thousands of reference books at once)
- Credo Reference
A collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics to start your research.
- SAGE Knowledge
A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
- Oxford Reference Online
Multi-disciplinary reference collection including dictionaries, timelines, quotations, and other reference resources.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users
Protocols
- Current Protocols in Molecular Biology OnlineCurrent Protocols in Molecular Biology (CPMB), the first in the Current Protocols family of laboratory manuals, is the international standard by which all other laboratory manuals are judged.
- Current Protocols in Cell Biology OnlineCurrent Protocols in Cell Biology provides methods for basic culture and fractionation of cells; microscopic localization and tracking; and analysis of biosynthesis, modification, and transport of specific molecules.
- Current Protocols in BioinformaticsCurrent Protocols in Bioinformatics covers Using Biological Databases, Recognizing Functional Domains, Finding Similarities and Inferring Homologies, Annotating Genes, Modeling Structure from Sequence, Inferring Evolutionary Relationships, Analyzing Expression Patterns, Analyzing Molecular Interactions, Comparing Genomes, Assembling and Mapping Large Sequence Sets, Analyzing RNA Sequence and Structure, Using Proteomics Techniques, Cheminformatics and Metabolomics, Understanding Genome Variation Pathway Analysis
- Current Protocols in Cytometry OnlineCurrent Protocols in Cytometry (CPC), published in affiliation with the International Society for Analytical Cytology, features carefully edited flow and image cytometry methods provided by leading laboratories from around the world.
- Current Protocols in Immunology OnlineCurrent Protocols in Immunology provides comprehensive coverage of immunological methods, including antibody detection and preparation, assays for functional activities of mouse and human cells involved in immune responses, assays for cytokines and their receptors, isolation and analysis of proteins and peptides, biochemistry of cell activation, molecular immunology, and animal models of autoimmune and inflammatory diseases.
- Current Protocols in Protein Science OnlineCurrent Protocols in Protein Science covers both basic and advanced methods used in protein purification, characterization, and analysis as well as post-translational modification and structural analysis. More than 800 basic, support and alternate protocols have been carefully chosen for maximum applicability.
- Current Protocols in MicrobiologyCurrent Protocols in Microbiology Provides clear methodologies for research in priority areas such as biodefense, emerging and neglected infectious diseases, microbe-host interactions, and host defense.
- Current Protocols in NeuroscienceCurrent Protocols in Neuroscience draws from techniques in molecular neurobiology, neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, neuropharmacology, and behavioral neuroscience to meet the specific needs of researchers in the full range of disciplines that is involved in studying the brain, nervous system, and corresponding behaviors.
- Methods in EnzymologyMethods in Enzymology is a series of scientific publications focused primarily on research methods in biochemistry.
- Nature ProtocolsNature Protocols is an online journal of laboratory protocols for bench researchers. Protocols are presented in a 'recipe' style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures, which users can take to the lab and immediately apply in their own research.
- Nature MethodsNature Methods is a monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal covering new scientific techniques.
Free and Open Source Protocol Sites
Plant Methods is an open access, peer-reviewed, online journal for the plant research community that encompasses all aspects of technological innovation in the plant sciences.
Bio-protocol was founded by Stanford researchers in 2010, seeks to promote free and open communication within the life sciences community. To this end, all protocols are associated with a moderated Q&A panel. These Q&A panels help readers successfully reproduce protocols by letting them easily ask authors clarifying questions.
Protocol exchange The Protocol Exchange is an open resource where the community of scientists pool their experimental know-how to help accelerate research.
Cold Harbor Springs Access to CHS's free protocols. We do not have a subscription to the entire CHSP.
Springer Protocols Access to SP's free protocols. We do not have a subscription to the entire SP.
Taxonomy Books & Websites
A source-book of biological names and terms
Hodges QH83 .J3 l959
Describing species : practical taxonomic procedure for biologists
Hodges QH83 .W55 1999
Latin names explained : a guide to the scientific classification of reptiles, birds & mammals
Hodges QL9 .G67 1996
Classification, evolution, and the nature of biology
Hodges QH83 .P35 1992
Synopsis and classification of living organisms
Hodges QH83 .S89
Describing species : practical taxonomic procedure for biologists
Hodges QH83 .W55 1999
Naming nature : the clash between instinct and science
Hodges QH83 .Y66 2009
Do species exist? : principles of taxonomic classification
Hodges QH83 .K787 2012
Index to Organism Names
ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record®
The Tree of Life
The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists from around the world.
How to read an evolutionary tree
Explanation of how scientists construct an evolutionary tree
Tennessee Guides
The fishes of Tennessee
Hodges QL628 .T2 E74 1993 and online
A bibliography of the zoology of Tennessee and the Tennessee Valley region
Hodges QL206 .S3 1974
An annotated checklist of the birds of Tennessee
Hodges QL684.T2 R63 1990
Great Smoky Mountains Wildflowers
Hodges QK125 .C22 1977
General Biology Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Try this first. More than 3000 articles on all areas of biology.
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics
This encyclopedia covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, and patents.
The Encyclopedia of Cell Technology, 2 Volume Set
Covers scientific, historical, and ethical aspects of biotechnology. Synthesizes a wealth of information in a valuable one-stop resource. Invaluable to researchers working animal or plant cell technology.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
The 7-volume Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Second Edition brings together the dimensions of biodiversity and examines both the services it provides and the measures to protect it. Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.
Encyclopedia of Evolutionary Biology
Broad topics include the history of evolutionary biology, population genetics, quantitative genetics; speciation, life history evolution, evolution of sex and mating systems, evolutionary biogeography, evolutionary developmental biology, molecular and genome evolution, coevolution, phylogenetic methods, microbial evolution, diversification of plants and fungi, diversification of animals, and applied evolution.
New Encyclopedia of Birds
The New Encyclopedia of Birds is the definitive New Encyclopedia of Birdse birds of the world.
Encyclopedia of Insects
Covering all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
The Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior has engaged with great success the efforts of many of the best behavioral biologists of the 21st century.
Encyclopedia of Ecology
The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied.
Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions
Written by leading scientists from around the world, Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level--including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria--in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles.
Encyclopedia of Systems Biology
Systems biology refers to the quantitative analysis of the dynamic interactions among several components of a biological system and aims to understand the behavior of the system as a whole. Systems biology involves the development and application of systems theory concepts for the study of complex biological systems through iteration over mathematical modeling, computational simulation and biological experimentation.
Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology
This four volume encyclopedia covers the diversity of fish physiology in over 300 articles and provides entry level information for students and summary overviews for researchers alike. Broadly organised into four themes, articles cover Functional, Thematic, and Phylogenetic Physiology, and Fish Genomics Functional articles address the traditional aspects of fish physiology that are common to all areas of vertebrate physiology including: Reproduction, Respiration, Neural (Sensory, Central, Effector), Endocrinology, Renal, Cardiovascular, Acid-base Balance, Osmoregulation, Ionoregulation, Digestion, Metabolism, Locomotion, and so on.
The Encyclopedia of Cell Technology, 2 Volume Set
Covers scientific, historical, and ethical aspects of biotechnology. Synthesizes a wealth of information in a valuable one-stop resource. Invaluable to researchers working animal or plant cell technology.