Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audience: UTK Veterinary College

Lists of books for courses years 1-4, + other teaching and research support

Contact Pendergrass

Welcome to Center of Excellence (COE) Summer Research Experience Guide

Data vizualization, data management, data services, data sets and GIS plus more from the UT Libraries Scholars Collaborative

Information literacy training "Beyond Google" and "the Web vs Databases" Elsa Loftis on LinkedInLearning

Click on either module below and you will be asked to sign into LinkedInLearning from OIT.

Or go to LinkedInLearning directly:  https://oit.utk.edu/training/online-training/lil/ 

"Information literacy is the ability to discover and use various types of information. It's an essential skill for navigating the information age. Watch this course to learn about strategies for finding information—from a library, archive, database, or the Internet—and the ethics of using it. Librarian Elsa Loftis discusses different types of resources and explains how to evaluate their usefulness and trustworthiness. She also shows how to avoid plagiarism and copyright infringement, and accurately cite sources."

Overview of Searching the Biomedical Literature

Images source and more info go to:  http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/STAR

List of databases for veterinary topics from Grindlay et al:

Grindlay DJ, Brennan ML, Dean RS. Searching the veterinary literature: a
comparison of the coverage of veterinary journals by nine bibliographic
databases. J Vet Med Educ. 2012 Winter;39(4):404-12. doi: 10.3138/jvme.1111.109R.
PubMed PMID: 23187034.

COMPARISON OF RESULTS IN CAB ABSTRACTS vs other databases for veterinary topics    Source: Robert Taylor, CABI 5/2018

Cited Reference Searching with Google Scholar--USE ON CAMPUS or with VPN (Virtual Private Network from OIT)

Research communication tips and tools

ORCID, Open Researcher and Contributor ID

Look under Cambridgesoft on the OIT Software Distribution Server for ChembioDraw:

undefined

Books: planning research, ethics, and writing

Role Models in Veterinary Research and Publishing

Selected Summer Research Experience Participants' articles:

Tim McCarthy, Researcher/Veterinarian in Practice

Don't pay for access OR spend a lot of time trying to get access, AskUs!

Jeanine Williamson jwilliamson@utk.edu  |   Veterinary Librarian (interim)

Jeffrey Hines         |      jhines@utk.edu  |  Evening Supervisor

Primary contacts for veterinary medicine @ Pendergrass Library

by

 

Was this guide helpful?
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Don't know: 0 votes (0%)
See UT Libraries FAQ pages for more help: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0