Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Tennessee Archives: Athletics

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the University of Tennessee Archives. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and digital collections.

Digital Resources

Manuscript & Archives Collections

Baseball Yearbook Illustration by Anna Catherine Wiley. Tennessee written in orange calligraphy, illustration is black and white with orange details. Baseball Yearbook Illustration by Anna Catherine Wiley

General Robert Neyland Papers, 1802-1963 (MS.1890) 
The collection consists of Neyland's personal files, photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, an autobiographical manuscript of his college days, service records, scrapbooks, and yearbooks. Possibly most interesting are 2 ledgers containing Neyland's handwritten notes on various teams, hand-diagrammed plays, notes on player progress and other fascinating insights into his coaching style.

Johnny Majors Collection, 1983-1993 (MS.2019)
The Johnny Majors Collection contains material relating to his tenure as football coach at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Spanning the time period 1983-1993, the collection includes correspondence, playbooks, and assorted athletic files.

Office of the University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR.0015)
This collection houses a wealth of papers, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee system, including the campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.

Paul Parker Papers, 1909-1933 (MS.2779)
This collection contains writings, playbooks, notes, and clippings relating to Paul Parker, assistant Tennessee football coach under Robert Neyland. The majority of the work consists of plays, primarily from 1909-1910, with playbooks from the 1926 and 1927 seasons of Tennessee football. The collection also contains of a photograph of Neyland with assistant coaches Parker and Britton, a form letter from Neyland to returning players at the beginning of the breakout 1928 season, and several papers by Parke H. Davis, a noted college football historian.

Traditions and Football Slide Collection, 1987-1988 (AR.0577)
This collection contains slides depicting homecoming, Carnicus, intramural games, and UT football games in 1987 and 1988.

University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection, circa 1820s-circa 1990 (AR.0018)
This collection houses photographs and slides documenting the University of Tennessee from its beginnings as Blount College in 1794 through the 1990s.

Rare Books

Neyland: The Gridiron General. 1990 (GV939.N43 G55 1990)

Ray Mears' Big Orange Memories: How Ray Mears Transformed Tennessee Sports Traditions. 2007 (GV884.M43 B55 2007)

Stadium Stories: Tennessee Volunteers: Colorful Tales of the Orange and White. 2004 (GV958.U586 M66 2004)

University of Tennessee Basketball Vault: The History of the Lady Vols. 2008 (GV885.43 U58 J46 2008)

University of Tennessee Football Vault: A Tennessee Football Saturday. 2006 (GV958.T4 M37 2006)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website