Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Tennessee Archives: Administration

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the University of Tennessee Archives. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and digital collections.

Digital Resources

Manuscript & Archives Collections

black and white group portrait of Brown Ayres and his faculty, 36 people are pictured, 2 are women, and all are white. Brown Ayres and his faculty

Brown Ayres Diplomas and Other Materials, 1872 June 27-circa 1939 (AR.0741)
This collection consists primarily of earned and honorary diplomas awarded to Brown Ayres by such institutions as Tulane University, Washington and Lee College, Stevens Institute of Technology, and the University of the South. Also included are biographical sketches of Brown Ayres, resolutions passed by the University of Tennessee's Board of Trustees to honor Ayres after his death, a sketch of Katie (Anderson) Ayres' life, and other materials (including an undated family portrait) documenting the Ayres family.

Joseph E. Johnson Papers, 1963-1978 (AR.0354)
This collection consists primarily of materials created and acquired by Joseph E. Johnson while he was serving as Executive Assistant to the President of the University of Tennessee.

Thomas W. Humes and Charles W. Dabney Papers, 1872-1904 (AR.0144)
This collection houses materials created by the Office of the President during the presidencies of Thomas W.
Humes (1865-1883) and Charles W. Dabney (1887-1904).

Rare Books

The University of Tennessee Builds for the Twentieth Century. A History of the University of Tennessee During the Administration of President Brown Ayres. 1940-1919 (LD5293.M6)

The University of Tennessee during the administration of President Brown Ayres, 1904-1919. 1956 (Thesis 56.M65)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website