Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TRACE Submission Guide

Information for authors and campus units adding research and creative work to TRACE, UT's open repository of scholarship.

About TRACE

Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange (TRACE) is UT's institutional open-access repository. It is a publicly-accessible archive of research and creative work done by the UT Knoxville research communities.

Created and maintained by the University of Tennessee (UT) Libraries, TRACE gives UT researchers a legal means to make their work openly available to the public, in keeping with the terms of their publication agreements with journal publishers. TRACE is also much more than that.

TRACE contains scholarly works by UT faculty, staff, and graduate students, as well as documents from the University Archives. Content includes journal articles, technical reports, data sets, theses and dissertations, conference papers and presentations, book chapters, and other works. Scholarly outputs, creative work from faculty and graduate students, and materials that are of historical value to the university are included in the scope of the collection. In addition, undergraduate student work that is sponsored or approved by a faculty member, academic department, or campus unit may be added.


How do I deposit in TRACE?

To deposit a thesis or dissertation, visit the "Graduate Students" page for next steps.

To deposit any work other than a thesis or dissertation, visit the "Individual Authors" page. 

If you manage an existing collection in TRACE, visit the "Collection Managers" page for a complete Collection Manager Guide.

If you are interested setting up an e-journal within TRACE, contact Rachel Caldwell, Scholarly Communication and Publishing Librarian.