Music (Special Collections): University Related

Sketches and Pencil Score, Concerto for Viola, David Van Vactor, 1972. From the David Van Vactor Music Collection.

David Van Vactor, 1890-1994 (MS.1942, David Van Vactor Collection)

David Van Vactor was a composer, conductor, professor, and flutist from Knoxville, TN. Van Vactor served as head of the Department of Fine Arts at the University of Tennessee and conductor of the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra.This collection, in three series, includes materials such as Van Vactor's compositions (from sketches to published works), audio tapes of rehearsals and concerts, correspondence, and other papers.

Also see: David Van Vactor  (MS.2106, David Van Vactor Papers; MS.3328, David Van Vactor Passacaglia and Fugue in D minor; MS.2710, David Van Vactor Collection (addition to MS.1942))

George F. DeVine, 1966-1999 (MS.3663, George F. DeVine Collection)

George F. DeVine was a professional bassoonist who played with the Chicago Civic Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra. Together with David Van Vactor, the men founded the University of Tennessee School of Music. This collection includes DeVine's compositions, professional materials, and correspondence.  

Alfred L. Schmied, 1926-1974 (AR.0440, Alfred L. Schmied Papers)

Alfred L. Schmied studied with renowned teacher and composer Nadia Boulanger. He became a piano professor at the University of Tennessee in the late 1940s and later served as director of the School of Music. This collection includes his office and personal materials.

University of Tennessee Theatre Collection, 1901-2011 (AR.0235)

This collection include playbills, production materials, photographs, and press clippings from the UTK Theatre Department. 

Also see: Theater Research Guide, The UT Theatre Playbills Digital Collection, 1935-2013 

Power "T," Halftime Performance, 1973. From the University of Tennessee Marching Band Collection.

Malcolm Miller, 1920-1963 (MS.0308, Malcolm Miller Papers)

Malcolm Miller was a lumber worker from Knoxville, TN who had a passion for theater. He directed the University of Tennessee's Tennessee Players, acted in a number of productions, and managed theaters such as the Bijou, the Park, and the Tennessee Theatre. This collection includes materials such as correspondence, photographs, and programs.

Playbills and Programs, 1890-1969 (MS.2804)

This collection includes playbills and programs from various performance venues such as Broadway, the Royal Opera House, and Carnegie Hall. The collection also includes programs from the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra. 

Also see: James R. Cox Auditorium Programs (AR.0212); Broadway Playbills Collection (MS.3059) 

UT Marching Band Collection, 1901-2016 (AR.0785)

The University of Tennessee's Pride of the Southland Band is recognized as one of the oldest and most prestigious US collegiate marching band programs. This collection includes materials such as photographs, audio and visual recordings, drill charts, and other memorabilia. 

Also see: University of Tennessee Marching Band Collection