Music (Special Collections): Tennessee Related

Yee-Haw Poster. From the Yee-Haw Industries Poster Collection MS.3714.

Yee-haw, 2002-2013 (Yee-Haw Industries Poster Collection, MS.3714)

Yee-haw Industries was a letter-press print shop in Knoxville, TN founded by Julie Belcher and Kevin Bradley. This collection includes event posters from in and around the Knoxville area from the early 2000s. 

Marion Greenwood, 1954-1955 (Marion Greenwood Sketches, MS.3750)

Marion Greenwood was an artist who created the 30ft mural entitled, The History of Tennessee.

M. McKay Bonner, 1922-1970 (M. McKay Bonner Papers, MS.1642)

M. McKay Bonner was heavily involved in the musical and artistic community in Memphis, TN. He was associated with the Palace and Venus Theaters on Beale Street and also tried his hand as a playwright, composer, performer, and critic. This collection includes materials such as correspondence, programs, scripts, and reviews. 

Marion Greenwood, The History of Tennessee. From the Marion Greenwood Sketches, MS.3750

Cumberland Trio, 2000-2014 (Cumberland Trio Collection, (MS.3749)

The Cumberland Trio began at the University of Tennessee in 1962. The group signed with RIC records but disbanded in 1963. The group reunited in the early 2000s. This collection includes various materials and recordings relating to the group's music.

WUOT Collection, 1986-2001 (AR.0799)

WUOT is the University of Tennessee's public radio station. This collection includes program publications that feature the monthly lineup for WUOT programming, advertisements for UT sponsored events and local music, and illustrations that pertain to featured radio programs. 

The Bijou Theatre, Robert A. Ellis Jr., 1976 (MS.0894)

In his master's thesis, Robert A. Ellis Jr. explores the Bijou Theatre's historical significance to Knoxville and East Tennessee.