Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music (Special Collections): Home

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials in Special Collections regarding various forms of music.

What's in this Guide?

Black and white photograph of L-R: Band Director, S.C. Cobb; unidentified; Principal Leonard A. Jackson; music teacher, Arnetta G. Wallace, and a student.This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials in Special Collections regarding various forms of music.

The Vine Junior High School band room in Knoxville, Tennessee. The individuals are identified on the back of the photograph as follows. L-R: Band Director, S.C. Cobb; unidentified; Principal Leonard A. Jackson; music teacher, Arnetta G. Wallace, and a student. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection

Special Collections: Searching

Use the following terms to locate general information and resources related to music in Special Collections. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

  • music
  • sheet music
  • composer
  • sacred music
  • shape-note singing
  • marching band
  • popular band
  • popular music
  • religious music
  • choral music
  • hymns
  • marching band
  • music scores
  • sheet music
 

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website