Skip to Main Content

Appalachia (Special Collections): Home

This guide will direct you to resources in Special Collections on topics related to the Appalachian region.

What's in this Research Guide?

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the history and culture of the Appalachian region.

Three African American men are standing holding instruments - a tuba, guitar, and fiddle with a bow.

 

Three man band. Taken by William Orland Garland in c. 1890-1903, somewhere in the Appalachian Region. From the W. O. Garland Photograph Collection. 

Special Collections: Searching

Use the following to locate general information and resources related to the Appalachian region and its history.  Although some of the below keywords may be offensive, outdated, and no longer used in archival practice, the unfortunate historic usage of specific terms can help researchers to identify contemporaneous materials from that era. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

  • Appalachia
  • Appalachian
  • Culture
  • Customs
  • Handicraft
  • Mountain Life
  • Mountain People
  • Southern Appalachia
  

 

 

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

General Special Collections Resources about Appalachia

Appalachia: a reference book. 1979 (HC107.A13 A889 1979)
Encyclopedia of Appalachia. 2006 (Hodges Reference F106.E53 2006)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
121 Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996

Go to Special Collections for more information.
Website