Skip to main content

Appalachia (Special Collections): Culture & Folklore

This guide will direct you to resources in Special Collections on topics related to the Appalachian region.

Manuscript Resources

Norbert F. Riedl Collection, 1965-1975 (MS.0954, MS.1075, and MS.1168)
Riedl’s collections contain the University of Tennessee anthropology professor’s research materials on Southern Appalachian folk culture.

Michael Lofaro Class Papers Regarding Folklore, 1978-2007 (MS.1257, MS.1336, MS.1545, MS.1973, MS.2021, MS.2641, MS.3202, and MS.3337)
These collections include student papers written for University of Tennessee professor Michael Lofaro’s folklore class, including papers on Southern Appalachian and Great Smoky Mountains folklore.

Tracey Cline Research Report, 2005 December 1 (MS.3355)

Tracey Cline wrote this research paper, entitled Mom's Medicine Cabinet, for an Anthropology 412 class taught by Dr. Benita Howell at the University of Tennessee in the fall of 2005. In it, Cline discusses alcohol-based home remedies found in the Appalachian region using a series of local interviews to support her thesis. She briefly explains how the ingredients of these remedies, particularly those of the Hot Toddy, are scientifically effective. A pamphlet of recipes for the remedies discussed is also included

Rare Books and Facsimiles

Peculiarities of the Appalachian mountaineers; a summary of legends, traditions, signs and superstitions that are almost forgotten. 1967 (GR108.J65)

People’s cultural heritage in Appalachia. 1970 (F217.A65.W48)

Glimpses of Southern Appalachian folk culture: papers in memory of Norbert F. Riedl. 1978 (GN1.T454 no. 3)

Tales along the Appalachian Plateau. 1995 (F106.F96 1995)

The southern highlander & his homeland. 2003 (F210.C2 2003)

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website