Carson and Alberta Brewer Papers, Bulk 1960-1970, MS.2825
This collection contains the research materials and drafts for Valley So Wild: A Folk History by Alberta and Carson Brewer
Carson Brewer Articles Collection, 1949-1991, MS.2048 & Carson Brewer Articles, MS.2435
Carson Brewer wrote these columns for the Knoxville News-Sentinel on such subjects as Knoxville, the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the people and communities of the Smoky Mountains region, and the Tennessee Valley Authority between the 1940s and the 1980s.
Smoky Mountain Railroad Collection, 1909-1963, (MS.0424)
The Smoky Mountain Railroad Collection includes correspondence, financial records, bank statements, payroll reports, agents' reports and profit and loss statements. There are also two ledgers for 1909-1912 and 1925; a record book for 1926; and a cash book for 1944-1945.
Ijams Family Papers, 1840-1993 MS.3668
The photos and documents in this collection provide insight into the private lives and conservation interests of the Ijams family, primarily from the 1920s to the 1960s. In addition to many family photos, there are several images of the Ijams house, photographs of local animals and birds, and newsletters that Josephine Ijams published weekly.
Lucinda Ogle Collection, ca. 1885-2003 MS.3524
This collection consists of photographs, manuscripts, speeches, correspondence, cards, and newspaper and magazine articles related to the Ogle family and their heritage in the Smoky Mountains. The majority of the collection focuses on photographs from the late 1880-2003.
Oakley Family Memories of the Smoky Mountains, 1974-1984 MS.3828
This collection includes articles, images, videos, and personal writings pertaining to the Oakley family and the Smoky Mountains. Included is a 58-page document by Harvey Oakley that is a collection of songs and ballads gathered over 80 years, personal writing by Wiley Oakley about personal memories and experiences, especially of Gatlinburg, Tennessee, Images with handwritten descriptions, and two VHS tapes.
Peter H. Prince Papers, 1770-2006 MS.2921
The bulk of this collection is composed of photographs, newspaper clippings, computer printouts, xerox copies, floppy disks, correspondence, and reference publications documenting Peter Hayden Pete Prince's research into the history of his family and of the Great Smoky Mountains both before and after the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was formed.
Wolf Creek Papers, [Bulk 1880-1912] MS.3858
This collection documents the Allen family and, to a lesser degree, the Peck family of Wolf Creek, Cocke County, Tennessee. Materials consist primarily of correspondence in the form of personal letters, envelopes, telegraphs, and postcards. In addition, there are wills, legal and business papers, newspaper clippings, photocopies, photographs, negatives, a glass negative, a book, an herb/wildflower journal, several periodicals, land deeds, and surveys.
 |
| View of Miller's Cove. Photograph from the William Cox Cochran Photograph Collection. |
Appalachia; the mountains, the place, and the people. 1972 (F106.T57)
Better I Stay. 1975 (F442.1.C45)
The rugged southern Appalachia: early settlement, early feuds, strikes, drugs, poverty, schools, beauty, 1700-present. 1997 (F217.A65 M69 1997)
The Southern Appalachians: a history of the landscape. 1999 (F217.A65 Y37 1999)
