Nell Thompson Miller Collection, circa 1920-1982, MS.0957
Miller’s papers consist of manuscripts (both prose and poetry), correspondence, clippings and other materials documenting the life and works of the East Tennessee author.
May Justus Collection, 1966-1972 MS.0671
This collection contains correspondence, pictures, interviews, and manuscripts documenting several of May Justus' literary works.
Laura Thornburgh Collection, 1926-1946, undated, MS.0195
This collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, articles, clippings, pamphlets and books related to Thornburgh and her book The Great Smoky Mountains.
Henry Faulkner Collection, 1940-1981, MS.1398
This collection of Appalachian poet Faulkner’s poetry, correspondence, interviews, and other materials had been collected by Charles House in order to write a biography on Faulkner.
Fink Mountain Days Manuscript, 1960 MS.3853
The collection consists of a typed manuscript, written by mountaineer and Tennessee historian Paul Fink, entitled “Mountain Days. A Journal of Camping Experiences in the Mountains of Tennessee and North Carolina. 1914-1938.” An early draft of his 1975 book that details his experiences exploring the Smoky Mountains and includes accounts of how he helped developed the Appalachian Trail there.
Eleanor Dickinson Collection, 1970-1999, MS.2068
This collection contains materials related to Knoxville native and artist Dickinson’s book and exhibit on Southern Appalachian revival meetings, titled Revival.
Their names are myth, legend and dust: the southern mountaineer in twentieth-century novels. 1974 (PS173.P7 K50 1974a)
Mountain ways: southern Appalachian Mountains. 1985 (PS554.M68 1985)
Angel on the mountain: homestead heroism in Appalachian fiction. 2005 (Thesis 2005.D74)
Yarns and tales from the Great Smokies: some narratives from the southern Appalachians. Hall, Joseph S. (Joseph Sargent). 1978 (GR108 .Y37)
Highland Homeland: The people of the Great Smokies.Dykeman, Wilma and Stokely, Jim.1978 (F443.G7 D9)
My memories of my mountains which are now yours: treat them kindly. Maples, Alie Newman. 1981 (F443 .G7 M37 1981)
Great tales from the Great Smokies. Dennis, Delmar. 1988 (F443.G7 G84 1988)
