OpenStreetMap Resources
- OpenStreetMap HelpOpenStreetMap.org
- OpenStreetMap WikiOpenStreetMap
- Learn OpenStreetMapOpenStreetMap Community
- OpenStreetMap BlogOpenStreetMap.org
- OpenStreetMap US - YoutubeOpenStreetMap
Specific Topics
- Reverse Geocoding with OpenStreetMap DataErich Schubert
- How to get data out of OpenStreetMap and into QGISCartographer's Toolkit
Physical books available through the UT Libraries
Earth Engine and Geemap : Geospatial Data Science with Python by
Get started, quickly, with Google Earth Engine and the powerful geemap Python package. Apply geemap to interactively analyze and visualize big geospatial data in a Jupyter environment.
Google Earth Engine (GEE) is a cloud computing platform that offers access to a vast data catalog of satellite imagery and geospatial datasets. The platform has gained immense popularity in the geospatial community in recent years and has played a significant role in empowering numerous environmental applications at local, regional, and global scales.
This book takes a hands-on approach to help users get started with the GEE Python API and geemap. It begins with the basics of geemap, including creating and customizing interactive maps. Then, users learn to load cloud-based Earth Engine datasets and local geospatial datasets onto the interactive maps.
As readers progress through the chapters, they will explore practical examples of using geemap to visualize and analyze Earth Engine datasets and learn how to export data from Earth Engine. Additionally, the book covers more advanced topics, such as building and deploying interactive web apps with Earth Engine and geemap.
Call Number: Hodges library Stacks G70.217.G46 W8 2023ISBN: 9781738767519Publication Date: 2023
The Book of OSM by
OpenStreetMap is the free and open wiki map of the world made by millions of volunteers who#65533;re just like you. Contributors use paper, pens, GPS devices, phones and laptops to capture the world around them (like a street name and location) and then upload it to OSM. The map data is then given away for free, all just like wikipedia.This book contains 15 interviews conducted by OSM founder Steve Coast with the people who were there as the project began and grew. Starting in 2004, the interviews trace how a rag tag collection of volunteers was able to produce a map which compares in quality to maps produced by multi-billion dollar corporations.Learn how such an ambitious project got started and then succeeded at mapping the world, for free!
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA139 .C63 2015ISBN: 9781514232743Publication Date: 2015-11-03
OpenstreetMap : using and enhancing the free map of the world by
This book is a comprehensive guide to all aspects of OpenStreetMap, the free map of the world. OpenStreetMap (OSM) is a map of the whole world which can be used and edited freely by everyone. In a Wikipedia-like open community process, thousands of contributors world-wide survey the planet and upload their results to the OpenStreetMap database. This book Introduces you to the OpenStreetMap community, the data model, and the software used in the project. Enables you to use the constantly growing OSM data set and maps in your own projects. Explains in detail how you can help collecting and processing data for OpenStreetMap. If you want to become an OSM "Mapper" then this book is the ideal starting point.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA139 .R36 2011ISBN: 9781906860110Publication Date: 2010-09-01
e-Books available through the UT Libraries
Fieldwork Handbook: a Practical Guide on the Go by
Make your work in the field more efficient and productive with the how-to of location intelligence. A biologist in a rain forest making observations on indigenous frogs, an engineer maintaining utility equipment, or a citizen scientist taking water samples from a creek are all doing fieldwork. Their work is anchored by location. No matter what electronic tools they take into the field, they all take a notebook or a guidebook. As you head into the field along with all your equipment, be sure to include this practical fieldwork guide. Fieldwork Handbook gives you tips, best practices, and activities that make your work in the field more productive and successful. No matter how you use location intelligence in the field, you can up your game with this book and improve your experience. Covering preparation, equipment, workflows, and data, this book will teach you how to Organize and reconcile field data Effectively coordinate and dispatch field resources Refine fieldwork workflows Sync the office with the field Author and Esri product engineer Marika Vertzonis learned about geospatial technology in the field, and she knows what you need to know. This handbook is your friend in the field.
ISBN: 9781589487178Publication Date: 2024-03-05
Open Mapping Towards Sustainable Development Goals: Voices of YouthMappers on Community engages Scholarship by
This collection amplifies the experiences of some of the world's young people who are working to address SDGs using geospatial technologies and multi-national collaboration. Authors from every region of the world who have emerged as leaders in the YouthMappers movement share their perspectives and knowledge in an accessible and peer-friendly format. YouthMappers are university students who create and use open mapping for development and humanitarian purposes. Their work leverages digital innovations - both geospatial platforms and communications technologies - to answer the call for leadership to address sustainability challenges. The book conveys a sense of robust knowledge emerging from formal studies or informal academic experiences - in the first-person voices of students and recent graduates who are at the forefront of creating a new map of the world. YouthMappers use OpenStreetMap as the foundational sharing mechanism for creating data together. Authorsimpart the way they are learning about themselves, about each other, about the world. They are developing technology skills, and simultaneously teaching the rest of the world about the potential contributions of a highly connected generation of emerging world leaders for the SDGs. The book is timely, in that it captures a pivotal moment in the trajectory of the YouthMappers movement's ability to share emerging expertise, and one that coincides with a pivotal moment in the geopolitical history of planet earth whose inhabitants need to hear from them. Most volumes that cover the topic of sustainability in terms of youth development are written by non-youth authors. Moreover, most are written by non-majoritarian, entrenched academic scholars. This book instead puts forward the diverse voices of students and recent graduates in countries where YouthMappers works, all over the world. Authors cover topics that range from water, agriculture, food, to waste, education, gender, climate action and disasters from their own eyes in working with data, mapping, and humanitarian action, often working across national boundaries and across continents. To inspire readers with their insights, the chapters are mapped to the United Nations 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in ways that connect a youth agenda to a global agenda. With a preface written by Carrie Stokes, Chief Geographer and GeoCenter Director, United States Agency for International Development (USAID). This is an open access book.
ISBN: 3031051815Publication Date: 2022-11-29
Learning GIS using open source software : an applied guide for geo-spatial analysis by
This book introduces the usage, functionality, and application of data in geographic information systems (GIS) for geo-spatial analysis. It offers knowledge on GIS tools and techniques and explains how they can be applied in real-world project to architects and planners in the Indian and the Greater South Asian context using open-source software. The volume explains concepts on planning and architectural tasks, their data, methods and requirements followed, and includes GIS-related exercises on the same tasks. It takes the reader through the concepts of geo-spatial analysis and its referencing system while quoting examples from India. Further, the content of the book will help the planners involved in preparing GIS-based master planning for cities under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme (see Glossary for details). A practical guidebook providing a step-by-step guide to learn open source GIS, this book will be useful for students, scholars and professionals from the field of architecture and planning, geography and other spatial sciences, instructors of GIS courses on planning and architecture, urban and regional planners, transport planners, urban design, landscape architects, environmental planners, departments of town and country planning, and development authorities. It will also be useful for anyone interested in the geospatial analysis.
ISBN: 9781000478631Publication Date: 2021-12-07
Time for Mapping:Cartographic Temporalities by
This electronic version has been made available under a Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) open access license. Maps take place in time as well as representing space. The Google map on your smartphone appears to fix the world, serving as a practical spatial tool, but in practice is deployed in ways that draw attention to memories, rhythm, synchronicity, sequence and duration. This interdisciplinary collection focuses on how these temporal aspects of mapping might be understood, at a time when mapping technologies have been profoundly changed by digital developments. It contrasts different aspects of this temporality, bringing together experts from critical cartography, media studies and science and technology studies. Together the chapters offer a unique interdisciplinary focus revealing the complex and social ways in which time in wrapped up with digital technologies and revealed in everyday mapping tasks: from navigating across cities, to serving as scientific groundings for news stories; from managing smart cities, to visual art practice. It brings time back into the map!
ISBN: 1526122529Publication Date: 2018-06-29
OpenStreetMap in GIScience : Experiences, Research, and Applications by
This edited volume presents a collection of lessons learned with, and research conducted on, OpenStreetMap, the goal being to promote the projectâeuro;trade;s integration. The respective chapters address a) state-of-the-art and cutting-edge approaches to data quality analysis in OpenStreetMap, b) investigations on understanding OpenStreetMap contributors and the nature of their contributions, c) identifying patterns of contributions and contributors, d) applications of OpenStreetMap in different domains, e) mining value-added knowledge and information from OpenStreetMap, f) limitations in the analysis OpenStreetMap data, and g) integrating OpenStreetMap with commercial and non-commercial datasets. The book offers an ideal opportunity to present and disseminate a number of cutting-edge developments and applications in the field of geography, spatial statistics, GIS, social science, and cartography.
ISBN: 9783319142807Publication Date: 2015-03-03
