Mapping Databases
- Data Axle Reference Solutions
Directory information and data on millions of U.S. businesses and consumers.
- LandScan Population Data Explorer
Developed at ORNL, LandScan offers the most accurate (one-kilometer resolution over an average 24 hour period) and reliable, geographically based, population distribution model from 2000 to current. This dataset has moved from the East View platform to open access on the ORNL platform.
- PolicyMap
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, heath, jobs and more in communities across the U.S. Use for research, market studies, business planning, grant application, and impact analysis.
- Social Explorer
Current and historical census data and demographic information. Users can create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users
Map Databases
- Digital Library of Tennessee: Mapsvia Digital Public Library of America
- Digital Public Library of America
Primary sources provided by libraries, archives, museums, and cultural heritage institutions from around the United States.
- Digital Sanborn Maps of Tennessee, 1867-1970Digitized versions of Sanborn fire insurance maps for Tennessee from 1867 to 1970. .
- HathiTrust Digital Library
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsLarge collections of digital resources including images, maps, manuscripts, web archives, and more.
Bibliographic Search Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- AGRICOLACovers publications in agriculture and other related fields from 1970 to present. Also available as a free database from USDA.
- BrowZineBrowse UT Libraries' journal subscriptions by title, subject, or ISSN.
- Engineering Village: GeoRef
Indexes scientific literature in the geosciences, including geology and earth science research publications.
- FirstSearch
Search millions of bibliographic records from worldwide library collections.
- GeoScienceWorld
Collection of full-text journals and books in the geological sciences. Includes GeoRef, a geosciences bibliographic database and OpenGeoSci a free, public map-based toolset that allows users to search for cross sections, tables, figures, and data from GeoScienceWorld publications.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Search across scholarly publications. Review the linked tutorial to personalize your Google Scholar and connect with our University of Tennessee subscriptions. - Oxford Bibliographies
Multi-disciplinary authoritative research guides and bibliographies. Browse by subject. A great place to start your research!
- ScienceDirect
A multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters published by Elsevier.
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
- WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
A free interface to the WorldCat database, WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Browse e-Book and Full-text Journal Collections
- BrowZineBrowse UT Libraries' journal subscriptions by title, subject, or ISSN.
- EBSCO Ebook Collection
A collection of e-books covering a wide range of subjects.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Gale Presents : National Geographic Virtual Library (1888-present)A complete archive from 1888 to the present that includes every page and every photograph of National Geographic Magazine.
- ProQuest Ebook Central
A multidisciplinary collection of academic e-books from a wide variety of publishers. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
- SAGE Knowledge
A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
- SpringerLink
Full-text journals and e-books on the Springer platform.
- Taylor & Francis E-Book Collection
Multidisciplinary e-books on the Taylor & Francis platform.
- Taylor & Francis OnlineMultidisciplinary peer-reviewed journals and articles.
- Tennessee Electronic Library
Collection of full-text and indexing databases covering a variety of academic, business, health, and general interest topics free to Tennessee residents.
- USGS Publications WarehousePublications written by United States Geological Survey scientists plus, history of the bureau.
- Wiley Online LibraryMultidisciplinary selection of full-text journals and ebooks published by Wiley.
Place Names and Gazetteers
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World OnlineA geographic encyclopedia. Names, descriptions, and characteristics of thousands of places in the world.
- Getty VocabulariesProvides structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, visual surrogates, conservation, and bibliographic materials.