It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration
Physical books available through the UT Libraries
Introduction to QGIS : open source geographic information system by Scott MadryGet started with QGIS with this introduction covering everything needed to get you going. This tutorial, based on the 3.16 LTR version, introduces you to major concepts and techniques to get you started with viewing data, analysis, and creating maps and reports. With this book you'll learn about: The QGIS interfaceCreating, editing, and analyzing vector dataWorking with raster (image) dataUsing pluginsThe QGIS Processing ToolboxGeoreferencingCreating map and reportsResources for further help and study The book includes a link to all the data you'll need to follow along with each chapter.
QGIS quick start guide : a beginner's guide to getting started with QGIS 3.4 by Andrew CuttsStep through loading GIS data, creating GIS data, styling GIS and making maps with QGIS following a simple narrative that will allow you to build confidence as you progress. Key Features Work with GIS data, a step by step guide from creation to making a map Perform geoprocessing tasks and automate them using model builder Explore a range of features in QGIS 3.4, discover the power behind open source desktop GIS Book Description QGIS is a user friendly, open source geographic information system (GIS). The popularity of open source GIS and QGIS, in particular, has been growing rapidly over the last few years. This book is designed to help beginners learn about all the tools required to use QGIS 3.4. This book will provide you with clear, step-by-step instructions to help you apply your GIS knowledge to QGIS. You begin with an overview of QGIS 3.4 and its installation. You will learn how to load existing spatial data and create vector data from scratch. You will then be creating styles and labels for maps. The final two chapters demonstrate the Processing toolbox and include a brief investigation on how to extend QGIS. Throughout this book, we will be using the GeoPackage format, and we will also discuss how QGIS can support many different types of data. Finally, you will learn where to get help and how to become engaged with the GIS community. What you will learn Use existing data to interact with the canvas via zoom/pan/selection Create vector data and a GeoPackage and build a simple project around it Style data, both vector and raster data, using the Layer Styling Panel Design, label, save, and export maps using the data you have created Analyze spatial queries using the Processing toolbox Expand QGIS with the help of plugins, model builder, and the command line Who this book is for If you know the basic functions and processes of GIS, and want to learn to use QGIS to analyze geospatial data and create rich mapping applications, then this is the book for you.
An Introduction to Integrating QGIS and R for Spatial Analysis by Colin D. MacLeod; Ross MacLeodThis workbook is a companion volume to GIS For Biologists: A Practical Introduction For Undergraduates. It is designed to augment the information on using GIS in biological research provided in that book, as a result, it assumes that the reader already as some level of familiarity with GIS. In addition, it has been specially written based around free-to-access, open source software. Specifically, it uses two such packages, QGIS for the GIS-based components, and R for statistical analyses. Working with both of these packages, rather than just one or other, allows you to make the most of the specialist tools available within each of them. It contains five exercises which demonstrate how to integrate QGIS and R to allow you to conduct high quality spatial analyses by accessing and combining the powerful mapping, data layer creation, editing and processing tools from QGIS and the equally powerful analytical tools from R. These exercises are based around data from a real biological field study and include: creating a GIS project to process your data and create a map suitable for publication; creating environmental raster data layers; linking environmental data to biological data and creating graphs from the resulting data set; and running statistical analyses (GLMs and GAMs) to investigate spatial relationships in this combined data set. Working through these five exercises will help the user obtain experience in integrating QGIS and R for spatial analysis, and provide them with the confidence to apply these skills to their own research. These exercises are presented in the same easy-to-follow flow diagram-based format used in GIS For Biologists: A Practical Introduction For Undergraduates. They are accompanied by images which show the user how their spatial analysis project should look as they progress through the exercises, allowing them to compare their own work to the expected results. The PSLS series of books uses Task-Oriented Learning (TOL) to teach the practical application of research skills to the life sciences. This involves demonstrating how these skills can be used in the specific circumstances in which they are likely to be required rather than concentrating on teaching theoretical frameworks or on teaching skills in a generic or abstract manner. By seeing how the similar processes are used to achieve a variety of different goals within a specific field, it becomes easier for the reader to identify the general rules behind the practical application of these processes and, therefore, to transfer them to novel situations they may encounter in the future.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks QH84 .M29 2015
Publication Date: 2019-10-31
An Introduction to Species Distribution Modelling (SDM) Using QGIS and R by Colin D. MacLeodThis workbook is a companion volume to GIS For Biologists: A Practical Introduction For Undergraduates. It is designed to augment the information on using GIS in biological research provided in that book, as a result, it assumes that the reader already as some level of familiarity with GIS. In addition, it has been specially written based around free-to-access, open source software. Specifically, it uses two such packages, QGIS for the GIS-based components, and R for statistical analyses. Working with both of these packages, rather than just one or other, allows you to make the most of the specialist tools available within each of them. It contains five exercises which will introduce you to the basic spatial processing and analytical techniques required to create a biologically meaningful species distribution model (SDM). Taken together, these exercises allow you to work through an example of an SDM from processing your survey data and making raster data layers of environmental variables to constructing an SDM, visualising its predicted spatial distribution and validating its predictive ability. The exercises are designed to be followed in the order they are presented, and work with a specific data set which can be downloaded from an accompanying webpage. Working through these five exercises will help the user obtain experience in creating SDM using QGIS and R, and provide them with the confidence to apply these skills to their own research. These exercises are presented in the same easy-to-follow flow diagram-based format used in GIS For Biologists: A Practical Introduction For Undergraduates. They are accompanied by images which show the user how their GIS project should look as they progress through the exercises, allowing them to compare their own work to the expected results. The PSLS series of books uses Task-Oriented Learning (TOL) to teach the practical application of research skills to the life sciences. This involves demonstrating how these skills can be used in the specific circumstances in which they are likely to be required rather than concentrating on teaching theoretical frameworks or on teaching skills in a generic or abstract manner. By seeing how the similar processes are used to achieve a variety of different goals within a specific field, it becomes easier for the reader to identify the general rules behind the practical application of these processes and, therefore, to transfer them to novel situations they may encounter in the future.
Exploring the U.S. census : your guide to America's data by Francis P. DonnellyThe United States census provides researchers, students, and the public with some of the richest and broadest information available about the American people. Exploring the U.S. Census by Frank Donnelly gives social science students and researchers alike the tools to understand, extract, process, and analyze data from the decennial census, the American Community Survey, and other data collected by the U.S. Census Bureau. More than just a data collection exercise performed every ten years, the census is a series of datasets updated on an ongoing basis. With all that data comes opportunities and challenges: opportunities to teach students the value of census data for studying communities and answering research questions, and the challenges of navigating and comprehending such a massive data source and transforming it into usable information that students and researchers can analyze with basic skills and software. Just as important as showing what the census can tell social researchers is showing how to ask good questions of census data. Exploring the U.S. Census provides a thorough background on the data collection methods, structures, and potential pitfalls of the census for unfamiliar researchers, collecting information previously available only in widely disparate sources into one handy guide. Hands-on, applied exercises at the end of the chapters help readers dive into the data. The first chapter of the book places the census into context, discussing the history and the role of the census in society as well as in the larger universe of government, open, and big data. The book then moves onto the essentials of the data structure including the variety of sources and searching mechanisms, geography from nation down to zip code, and the fundamental subject categories (social, economic, and geographic) that are used for summarizing data in all of the various datasets. The next section delves into the individual datasets, discussing the purpose and structure of each, with separate chapters devoted to the decennial census, ACS, Population Estimates Program, and business datasets. A final chapter for this section pulls everything together, with a focus on writing and presenting your research on the data. The final section covers advanced topics and applications including mapping, geographic information systems, creating new variables and measures from census data, historical census data, and microdata. Along the way, the author shows how best to analyze census data with open-source software and tools, such as QGIS geographic information system, LibreOffice® Calc, and the DB Browser for SQLite®. Readers can freely evaluate the data on their own computers, in keeping with the free and open data provided by the Census Bureau. By placing the census in the context of the open data movement, this text makes the history and practice of the census relevant so readers can understand what a crucial resource the United States census is for research and knowledge.
QGIS Map Design by Anita Graser; Gretchen Peterson; Gary Sherman (Editor)QGIS Map DesignLearn how to use QGIS 3 to take your cartographic products to the highest level.QGIS 3.4 opens up exciting new possibilities for creating beautiful and compelling maps!Building on the first edition, the authors take you step-by-step through the process of using the latest map design tools and techniques in QGIS 3. With numerous new map designs and completely overhauled workflows, this second edition brings you up to speed with current cartographic technology and trends.See how QGIS continues to surpass the cartographic capabilities of other geoware available today with its data-driven overrides, flexible expression functions, multitudinous color tools, blend modes, and atlasing capabilities. A prior familiarity with basic QGIS capabilities is assumed. All example data and project files are included.Written by two of the leading experts in the realm of open source mapping, Anita and Gretchen are experienced authors who pour their wealth of knowledge into the book.Get ready to launch into the next generation of map design!
Learn QGIS : your step-by-step guide to the fundamental of QGIS 3.4 by Andrew Cutts; Anita GraserLearn to view, edit and analyse geospatial data using QGIS and Python 3 Key Features Leverage the power of QGIS to add professionalism to your maps Explore and work with the newly released features like Python 3, GeoPackage, 3D views, Print layouts in QGIS 3.4 Build your own plugins and customize maps using QT designer Book Description QGIS 3.4 is the first LTR (long term release) of QGIS version 3. This is a giant leap forward for the project with tons of new features and impactful changes. Learn QGIS is fully updated for QGIS 3.4, covering its processing engine update, Python 3 de-facto coding environment, and the GeoPackage format. This book will help you get started on your QGIS journey, guiding you to develop your own processing pathway. You will explore the user interface, loading your data, editing, and then creating data. QGIS often surprises new users with its mapping capabilities; you will discover how easily you can style and create your first map. But that's not all! In the final part of the book, you'll learn about spatial analysis and the powerful tools in QGIS, and conclude by looking at Python processing options. By the end of the book, you will have become proficient in geospatial analysis using QGIS and Python. What you will learn Explore various ways to load data into QGIS Understand how to style data and present it in a map Create maps and explore ways to expand them Get acquainted with the new processing toolbox in QGIS 3.4 Manipulate your geospatial data and gain quality insights Understand how to customize QGIS 3.4 Work with QGIS 3.4 in 3D Who this book is for If you are a developer or consultant familiar with the basic functions and processes of GIS and want to learn how to use QGIS to analyze geospatial data and create rich mapping applications, this book is for you. You'll also find this book useful if you're new to QGIS and wish to grasp its fundamentals
QGIS : becoming a GIS power user : Master data management, visualization, and spatial analysis techniques in QGIS by Anita Graser; Ben Mearns; Alex Mandel; Victor Olaya Ferrero; Alexander BruyMaster data management, visualization, and spatial analysis techniques in QGIS and become a GIS power userAbout This Book- Learn how to work with various types of data and create beautiful maps using this easy-to-follow guide- Give a touch of professionalism to your maps, both for functionality and look and feel, with the help of this practical guide- This progressive, hands-on guide builds on a geo-spatial data and adds more reactive maps using geometry tools.Who This Book Is ForIf you are a user, developer, or consultant and want to know how to use QGIS to achieve the results you are used to from other types of GIS, then this learning path is for you. You are expected to be comfortable with core GIS concepts. This Learning Path will make you an expert with QGIS by showing you how to develop more complex, layered map applications. It will launch you to the next level of GIS users.What You Will Learn- Create your first map by styling both vector and raster layers from different data sources- Use parameters such as precipitation, relative humidity, and temperature to predict the vulnerability of fields and crops to mildew- Re-project vector and raster data and see how to convert between different style formats- Use a mix of web services to provide a collaborative data system- Use raster analysis and a model automation tool to model the physical conditions for hydrological analysis- Get the most out of the cartographic tools to in QGIS to reveal the advanced tips and tricks of cartographyIn DetailThe first module Learning QGIS, Third edition covers the installation and configuration of QGIS. You'll become a master in data creation and editing, and creating great maps. By the end of this module, you'll be able to extend QGIS with Python, getting in-depth with developing custom tools for the Processing Toolbox.The second module QGIS Blueprints gives you an overview of the application types and the technical aspects along with few examples from the digital humanities. After estimating unknown values using interpolation methods and demonstrating visualization and analytical techniques, the module ends by creating an editable and data-rich map for the discovery of community information.The third module QGIS 2 Cookbook covers data input and output with special instructions for trickier formats. Later, we dive into exploring data, data management, and preprocessing steps to cut your data to just the important areas. At the end of this module, you will dive into the methods for analyzing routes and networks, and learn how to take QGIS beyond the out-of-the-box features with plug-ins, customization, and add-on tools.This Learning Path combines some of the best that Packt has to offer in one complete, curated package. It includes content from the following Packt products:? Learning QGIS, Third Edition by Anita Graser? QGIS Blueprints by Ben Mearns? QGIS 2 Cookbook by Alex Mandel, Victor Olaya Ferrero, Anita Graser, Alexander BruyStyle and approachThis Learning Path will get you up and running with QGIS. We start off with an introduction to QGIS and create maps and plugins. Then, we will guide you through Blueprints for geographic web applications, each of which will teach you a different feature by boiling down a complex workflow into steps you can follow. Finally, you'll turn your attention to becoming a QGIS power user and master data management, visualization, and spatial analysis techniques of QGIS.
Practical GIS : learn novice to advanced topics such as QGIS, spatial data analysis, and more by Gábor FarkasLearn the basics of Geographic Information Systems by solving real-world problems with powerful open source toolsAbout This Book* This easy-to-follow guide allows you to manage and analyze geographic data with ease using open source tools* Publish your geographical data online* Learn the basics of geoinformatics in a practical way by solving problemsWho This Book Is ForThe book is for IT professionals who have little or no knowledge of GIS. It's also useful for those who are new to the GIS field who don't want to spend a lot of money buying licenses of commercial tools and training.What You Will Learn* Collect GIS data for your needs* Store the data in a PostGIS database* Exploit the data using the power of the GIS queries* Analyze the data with basic and more advanced GIS tools* Publish your data and share it with others* Build a web map with your published dataIn DetailThe most commonly used GIS tools automate tasks that were historically done manually--compiling new maps by overlaying one on top of the other or physically cutting maps into pieces representing specific study areas, changing their projection, and getting meaningful results from the various layers by applying mathematical functions and operations. This book is an easy-to-follow guide to use the most matured open source GIS tools for these tasks.We'll start by setting up the environment for the tools we use in the book. Then you will learn how to work with QGIS in order to generate useful spatial data. You will get to know the basics of queries, data management, and geoprocessing.After that, you will start to practice your knowledge on real-world examples. We will solve various types of geospatial analyses with various methods. We will start with basic GIS problems by imitating the work of an enthusiastic real estate agent, and continue with more advanced, but typical tasks by solving a decision problem.Finally, you will find out how to publish your data (and results) on the web. We will publish our data with QGIS Server and GeoServer, and create a basic web map with the API of the lightweight Leaflet web mapping library.Style and approachThe book guides you step by step through each of the core concepts of the GIS toolkit, building an overall picture of its capabilities. This guide approaches the topic systematically, allowing you to build upon what you learned in previous chapters. By the end of this book, you'll have an understanding of the aspects of building a GIS system and will be able to take that knowledge with you to whatever project calls for it.
Remote sensing and GIS for ecologists : using open source software by Martin Wegmann (Editor); Benjamin Leutner (Editor); Stefan Dech (Editor)This is a book about how ecologists can integrate remote sensing and GIS in their daily work. It will allow ecologists to get started with the application of remote sensing and to understand its potential and limitations. Using practical examples, the book covers all necessary steps from planning field campaigns to deriving ecologically relevant information through remote sensing and modelling of species distributions. All practical examples in this book rely on OpenSource software and freely available data sets. Quantum GIS (QGIS) is introduced for basic GIS data handling, and in-depth spatial analytics and statistics are conducted with the software packages R and GRASS. Readers will learn how to apply remote sensing within ecological research projects, how to approach spatial data sampling and how to interpret remote sensing derived products. The authors discuss a wide range of statistical analyses with regard to satellite data as well as specialised topics such as time-series analysis. Extended scripts on how to create professional looking maps and graphics are also provided. This book is a valuable resource for students and scientists in the fields of conservation and ecology interested in learning how to get started in applying remote sensing in ecological research and conservation planning.
Mastering QGIS : go beyond the basics and unleash the full power of QGIS with practical step-by-step examples by Kurt Menke; Richard Smith Jr.; Luigi Pirelli; John Van Hoesen; Phillip DavisGo beyond the basics and unleash the full power of QGIS with practical, step-by-step examplesAbout This Book- This book is your one-stop solution to all of your GIS needs using the open source QGIS- Master QGIS by learning about database integration, geoprocessing tools, Python scripts, advanced cartography, and custom plugins- This example-rich, practical guide will help you create sophisticated analyses and mapsWho This Book Is ForIf you are a GIS professional, a consultant, a student, or perhaps a fast learner who wants to go beyond the basics of QGIS, then this book is for you. It will prepare you to realize the full potential of QGIS.What You Will Learn- Create and manage a spatial database- Get to know advanced techniques to style GIS data- Prepare both vector and raster data for processing- Add heat maps, live layer effects, and labels to your maps- Master LAStools and GRASS integration with the Processing Toolbox- Edit and repair topological data errors- Automate workflows with batch processing and the QGIS Graphical Modeler- Integrate Python scripting into your data processing workflows- Develop your own QGIS pluginIn DetailQGIS is an open source solution to GIS. It is widely used by GIS professionals all over the world. It is the leading alternative to the proprietary GIS software. Although QGIS is described as intuitive, it is also by default complex. Knowing which tools to use and how to apply them is essential to producing valuable deliverables on time.Starting with a refresher on the QGIS basics, this book will take you all the way through to creating your first custom QGIS plugin. From the refresher, we will recap how to create, populate, and manage a spatial database. You'll also walk through styling GIS data, from creating custom symbols and color ramps to using blending modes. In the next section, you will discover how to prepare vector, heat maps, and create live layer effects, labeling, and raster data for processing. You'll also discover advanced data creation and editing techniques.The last third of the book covers the more technical aspects of QGIS such as using LAStools and GRASS GIS's integration with the Processing Toolbox, how to automate workflows with batch processing, and how to create graphical models. Finally, you will see how to create and run Python data processing scripts and write your own QGIS plugin with pyqgis.By the end of the book, you will understand how to work with all the aspects of QGIS, and will be ready to use it for any type of GIS work.Style and approachThis step-by-step comprehensive guide will let you dig your teeth into working with spatial databases, creating your own QGIS plugins, and creating your own custom graphical models.
GIS FOR BIOLOGISTS : A PRACTICAL INTRODUCTION FOR UNDERGRADUATES by Colin D. MacLeodThis book provides a user-friendly and practical introduction for undergraduates to the use of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in biological research. Unlike most other books about using GIS, this information is specifically presented in a biological context and it is divided into two sections. The first section provides just enough background information to allow the novice biological GIS user to get started with GIS without getting too bogged down in the theory behind it or making some of the most common mistakes made by beginners. It covers areas such as what GIS is, why GIS is useful in biology, the basics of GIS, common concepts and terms in GIS, how data are contained in a GIS, useful information about what to think about before starting a GIS project and how to break down and translate ecological tasks into the language of GIS. This information is all provided in easy-to-read and non-technical language, with specific reference to its application in biological research. The second section, which constitutes the main body of the book, consists of six practical exercises accompanied by detailed instruction sets. The first four exercises introduce the novice biological GIS user to basic, but important, GIS skills, such as making a map, creating new feature data layers, creating raster data layers and joining together data from different data layers. The final two consist of case studies of how GIS can be used to answer real biological research questions. Each of these exercises represents a stand-alone GIS lesson which can be completed either on its own or as part of a practical session for an undergraduate class. In addition, each exercise focuses on a different area of biology, such as tropical ornithology, epidemiology, marine biology and rainforest ecology, and on a different part of the world, including the Amazon rainforest, a Scottish field station, Mount Mabu in northern Mozambique, the North Atlantic Ocean and the USA. Instructions for each exercise are provided for both the leading commercial GIS package (ESRI's ArcGIS(R) 10.3 software) and the leading freely available open-source GIS software (QGIS 2.8.3, also known as Quantum GIS), meaning that this book can be used to learn, or teach, how to use of GIS in biological research, regardless of the availability of commercial software licences. Taken together, the two sections of this book provide the perfect primer to show undergraduates, and other novice GIS users, how useful GIS can be in biological research, why it is rapidly becoming a key skill in many areas of biology, and how start in using it. The PSLS series of books uses Task-Oriented Learning (TOL) to teach the practical application of research skills to the life sciences. This involves demonstrating how these skills can be used in the specific circumstances in which they are likely to be required, rather than concentrating on teaching theoretical frameworks or on teaching skills in a generic or abstract manner. By seeing how the similar processes are used to achieve a variety of different goals within a specific field, it becomes easier for the reader to identify the general rules behind the practical application of these processes and, therefore, to transfer them to novel situations they may encounter in the future.
Learning GIS using open source software : an applied guide for geo-spatial analysis by Kakoli Saha; Yngve K. øyenThis book introduces the usage, functionality, and application of data in geographic information systems (GIS) for geo-spatial analysis. It offers knowledge on GIS tools and techniques and explains how they can be applied in real-world project to architects and planners in the Indian and the Greater South Asian context using open-source software. The volume explains concepts on planning and architectural tasks, their data, methods and requirements followed, and includes GIS-related exercises on the same tasks. It takes the reader through the concepts of geo-spatial analysis and its referencing system while quoting examples from India. Further, the content of the book will help the planners involved in preparing GIS-based master planning for cities under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme (see Glossary for details). A practical guidebook providing a step-by-step guide to learn open source GIS, this book will be useful for students, scholars and professionals from the field of architecture and planning, geography and other spatial sciences, instructors of GIS courses on planning and architecture, urban and regional planners, transport planners, urban design, landscape architects, environmental planners, departments of town and country planning, and development authorities. It will also be useful for anyone interested in the geospatial analysis.
Publication Date: 2021-12-07
Introduction to spatial data analysis : remote sensing and GIS with open source software by Martin Wegmann (Editor); Jakob Schwalb-Willmann (Editor); Stefan Dech (Editor)This is a book about how ecologists can integrate remote sensing and GIS in their research. It will allow readers to get started with the application of remote sensing and to understand its potential and limitations. Using practical examples, the book covers all necessary steps from planning field campaigns to deriving ecologically relevant information through remote sensing and modelling of species distributions. An Introduction to Spatial Data Analysis introduces spatial data handling using the open source software Quantum GIS (QGIS). In addition, readers will be guided through their first steps in the R programming language. The authors explain the fundamentals of spatial data handling and analysis, empowering the reader to turn data acquired in the field into actual spatial data. Readers will learn to process and analyse spatial data of different types and interpret the data and results. After finishing this book, readers will be able to address questions such as "What is the distance to the border of the protected area?", "Which points are located close to a road?", "Which fraction of land cover types exist in my study area?" using different software and techniques. This book is for novice spatial data users and does not assume any prior knowledge of spatial data itself or practical experience working with such data sets. Readers will likely include student and professional ecologists, geographers and any environmental scientists or practitioners who need to collect, visualize and analyse spatial data. The software used is the widely applied open source scientific programs QGIS and R. All scripts and data sets used in the book will be provided online at book.ecosens.org. This book covers specific methods including: what to consider before collecting in situ data how to work with spatial data collected in situ the difference between raster and vector data how to acquire further vector and raster data how to create relevant environmental information how to combine and analyse in situ and remote sensing data how to create useful maps for field work and presentations how to use QGIS and R for spatial analysis how to develop analysis scripts
Publication Date: 2020-09-14
Epidemiology and Geography : Principles, Methods and Tools of Spatial Analysis. by Marc SourisLocalization is involved everywhere in epidemiology: health phenomena often involve spatial relationships among individuals and risk factors related to geography and environment. Therefore, the use of localization in the analysis and comprehension of health phenomena is essential. This book describes the objectives, principles, methods and tools of spatial analysis and geographic information systems applied to the field of health, and more specifically to the study of the spatial distribution of disease and health-environment relationships. It is a practical introduction to spatial and spatio-temporal analysis for epidemiology and health geography, and takes an educational approach illustrated with real-world examples. Epidemiology and Geography presents a complete and straightforward overview of the use of spatial analysis in epidemiology for students, public health professionals, epidemiologists, health geographers and specialists in health-environment studies.
Publication Date: 2019-03-04
Hands-on geospatial analysis with R and QGIS : a beginner's guide to manipulating, managing, and analyzing spatial data using R and QGIS 3.2.2 by Shammunul IslamPractical examples with real-world projects in GIS, Remote sensing, Geospatial data management and Analysis using the R programming language Key Features Understand the basics of R and QGIS to work with GIS and remote sensing data Learn to manage, manipulate, and analyze spatial data using R and QGIS Apply machine learning algorithms to geospatial data using R and QGIS Book Description Managing spatial data has always been challenging and it's getting more complex as the size of data increases. Spatial data is actually big data and you need different tools and techniques to work your way around to model and create different workflows. R and QGIS have powerful features that can make this job easier. This book is your companion for applying machine learning algorithms on GIS and remote sensing data. You'll start by gaining an understanding of the nature of spatial data and installing R and QGIS. Then, you'll learn how to use different R packages to import, export, and visualize data, before doing the same in QGIS. Screenshots are included to ease your understanding. Moving on, you'll learn about different aspects of managing and analyzing spatial data, before diving into advanced topics. You'll create powerful data visualizations using ggplot2, ggmap, raster, and other packages of R. You'll learn how to use QGIS 3.2.2 to visualize and manage (create, edit, and format) spatial data. Different types of spatial analysis are also covered using R. Finally, you'll work with landslide data from Bangladesh to create a landslide susceptibility map using different machine learning algorithms. By reading this book, you'll transition from being a beginner to an intermediate user of GIS and remote sensing data in no time. What you will learn Install R and QGIS Get familiar with the basics of R programming and QGIS Visualize quantitative and qualitative data to create maps Find out the basics of raster data and how to use them in R and QGIS Perform geoprocessing tasks and automate them using the graphical modeler of QGIS Apply different machine learning algorithms on satellite data for landslide susceptibility mapping and prediction Who this book is for This book is great for geographers, environmental scientists, statisticians, and every professional who deals with spatial data. If you want to learn how to handle GIS and remote sensing data, then this book is for you. Basic knowledge of R and QGIS would be helpful but is not necessary.
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management by Martin van Maarseveen (Editor); Javier Martinez (Editor); Johannes Flacke (Editor)The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.tandfebooks.com/doi/view/10.1201/9781315146638, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 3.0 license. GIS is used today to better understand and solve urban problems. GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management: A Global Perspective, explores and illustrates the capacity that geo-information and GIS have to inform practitioners and other participants in the processes of the planning and management of urban regions. The first part of the book addresses the concept of sustainable urban development, its different frameworks, the many ways of measuring sustainability, and its value in the urban policy arena. The second part discusses how urban planning can shape our cities, examines various spatial configurations of cities, the spread of activities, and the demands placed on different functions to achieve strategic objective. It further focuses on the recognition that urban dwellers are increasingly under threat from natural hazards and climate change. Written by authors with expertise on the applications of geo-information in urban management, this book showcases the importance of GIS in better understanding current urban challenges and provides new insights on how to apply GIS in urban planning. It illustrates through real world cases the use of GIS in analyzing and evaluating the position of disadvantaged groups and areas in cities and provides clear examples of applied GIS in urban sustainability and urban resilience. The idea of sustainable development is still very much central in the new development agenda of the United Nations, and in that sense, it is of particular importance for students from both the Global South and Global North. Professionals, researchers, and students alike will find this book to be an invaluable resource for understanding and solving problems relating to sustainable urban planning and management.
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Data Science for Dummies by Lillian Pierson; Jake Porway (Foreword by)Discover how data science can help you gain in-depth insight into your business - the easy way! Jobs in data science abound, but few people have the data science skills needed to fill these increasingly important roles. Data Science For Dummies is the perfect starting point for IT professionals and students who want a quick primer on all areas of the expansive data science space. With a focus on business cases, the book explores topics in big data, data science, and data engineering, and how these three areas are combined to produce tremendous value. If you want to pick-up the skills you need to begin a new career or initiate a new project, reading this book will help you understand what technologies, programming languages, and mathematical methods on which to focus. While this book serves as a wildly fantastic guide through the broad, sometimes intimidating field of big data and data science, it is not an instruction manual for hands-on implementation. Here's what to expect: Provides a background in big data and data engineering before moving on to data science and how it's applied to generate value Includes coverage of big data frameworks like Hadoop, MapReduce, Spark, MPP platforms, and NoSQL Explains machine learning and many of its algorithms as well as artificial intelligence and the evolution of the Internet of Things Details data visualization techniques that can be used to showcase, summarize, and communicate the data insights you generate It's a big, big data world out there--let Data Science For Dummies help you harness its power and gain a competitive edge for your organization.