GIS Training
- LinkedIn Learning (requires UTK netid and password)LinkedIn Corporation
- ESRI MOOCsESRI
- Learn GIS for FreeGIS Lounge
- Coursera GIS CoursesCoursera.org
- TrainingU.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
- Census AcademyU.S. Census Bureau
GIS Forums, Newsgroups, Blogs, and FAQs
- ArcGIS BlogESRI
- Education BlogESRI
- ESRI VideoESRI
- ESRI - YoutubeESRI
- GIS and Cartography QuotesGIS Lounge
- Stack Exchange: Geographic Information SystemsStack Exchange
- USGS Maps and Mapping - Frequently Asked QuestionsU.S. Geological Survey
- USGS NewsU.S. Geological Survey
- USGS - YoutubeU.S. Geological Survey
Publications
- ArcNewsESRI
- ArcUserESRI
- ArcWatchESRI
- Base LineAmerican Library Association Map and Geospatial Information Round Table
- Directions MagazineDirections Magazine
- ESRI GlobeESRI
- ESRI PressESRI
- GIS BibliographyESRI
- GPS WorldGPS World
Physical books available through the UT Libraries
Mastering ArcGis Pro by
Although the concepts of GIS have remained fairly constant over time, the software is continuallyevolving. With the release of ArcGIS Pro, the latest software in the Esri GIS family, a new generationof GIS has arrived. ArcGIS Pro has a 64-bit, multithreaded architecture, uses ribbon-stylemenus, integrates 2D and 3D applications, and is closely tied to ArcGIS Online.This text constitutes a major rewrite of Mastering ArcGIS, a book that covered GIS conceptsand skills using the ArcGIS Desktop programs of ArcMap and ArcCatalog. Although the GISconcepts largely remain the same in both texts, the implementation, and in some cases theterminology, has changed.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .P743 2020ISBN: 9781260587371Publication Date: 2019-01-28
GIS fundamentals : a first text on geographic information systems by
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are computer-based tools for the entry, maintenance, and analysis of spatial data. GIS are critical for effective resource management, and have been applied across a wide range of science, business, and government endeavours.
This book provides an introduction to the theory and application of GIS. It is written for use in a first-year GIS class and as a reference for the GIS practitioner. This sixth edition balances theoretical and practical material, so that students may apply knowledge of GIS in the solution of real-world problems.
Improvements over the previous editions are included in each chapter. Topics treated include an introduction to GIS, spatial data models, map projections, data entry, image data, GPS, digital data, database systems in GIS, general spatial analysis, raster analysis, terrain modeling, metadata, standards, and accuracy assessments. The bestselling GIS textbook by Paul Bolstad is now even better!
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B64 2019ISBN: 1593995520Publication Date: 2019
Mapping the nation : GIS making a difference now - locally, nationally, globally by
Mapping the Nation for 2019 is the annual federal map book containing examples of federal agencies using GIS. The book is divided into various government sectors (health, public safety, environment, etc.) to show how GIS can be applied to a multitude of tasks and missions.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .M367 2019ISBN: 9781589485525Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Introduction to Geographic Information Systems by
Introduction to Geographic Information Systems 9th edition is designed to provide students in a first or second GIS course with a solid foundation in both GIS concepts and the use of GIS. Introduction to GIS strikes a careful balance between GIS concepts and hands-on applications. The main portion of the chapter presents GIS terms and concepts and helps students learn how each one fits into a complete GIS system.At the end of each chapter an application section with 2-7 tasks presents students with actual GIS exercises and the necessary data to solve the problem.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .C4735 2018ISBN: 9781260092585Publication Date: 2018-01-01
The GIS 20 : essential skills by
GIS is your tool, not your career. How can you quickly begin applying GIS in your work? The GIS 20: Essential Skills, third edition, presents step-by-step instructions, illustrations, and practical tips on how to perform the top 20 skills needed to successfully use a geographic information system (GIS). These skills include finding and editing data, querying GIS maps, creating reports, and sharing and publishing maps. The e-book of The GIS 20: Essential Skills, 9781589485136, $49.99, is available at most online book retailers.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .C58 2018ISBN: 9781589485129Publication Date: 2018-01-22
Cartography : a compendium of design thinking for mapmakers by
A lavishly illustrated reference guide, Cartography. by Kenneth Field is an inspiring and creative companion along the nonlinear journey toward making a great map. This sage compendium for contemporary mapmakers distills the essence of cartography into useful topics, organized for convenience in finding the specific idea or method you need. Unlike books targeted to deep scholarly discourse of cartographic theory, this book provides sound, visually compelling information that translates into practical and useful tools for modern mapmaking. At the intersection of science and art, this book serves as a guidepost for designing an accurate and effective map.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA105.3 .F535 2018ISBN: 9781589485020Publication Date: 2018-06-28
Lining up data in ArcGIS : a guide to map projections by
Lining Up Data in ArcGIS: A Guide to Map Projections is an easy-to-navigate, troubleshooting reference for any GIS user with the common problem of data misalignment. Completely updated with full-color maps and diagrams from ArcGIS Desktop 10.6 but still compatible with ArcGIS Desktop 10.1 and higher, this book presents practical techniques for identifying data projections and creating custom projections to align data. Formatted for practical use, each chapter can stand alone to address specific issues related to working with coordinate systems. With an added chapter on vertical coordinate systems, plus a newly available data download, the third edition of Lining Up Data will benefit new and experienced users alike.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .M275 2018ISBN: 9781589485204Publication Date: 2018-06-28
Getting to Know Web GIS by
Getting to Know Web GIS, third edition, pairs fundamental principles with step-by-step exercises to teach readers how to share resources online and build Web GIS apps easily and quickly. Start now building Web apps without a single line of programming, and then move on to developing more advanced skills using a variety of Web GIS technology. Instead of focusing on individual products, this book teaches Web GIS technologies as a holistic platform. In each chapter, readers complete an application project using multiple products from the browser/client side to the server side. This edition includes new chapters and sections on big data analysis, image services, raster analysis, virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), Arcade, vector tiling, Survey123, ArcGIS API for Python, Internet of Things (IoT), artificial intelligence (AI), Operations Dashboard, and portal collaboration. A practical manual for classroom lab and on-the-job training, Getting to Know Web GIS includes downloadable teaching slides and exercise data.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .F79 2018ISBN: 9781589485211Publication Date: 2018-07-02
GIS and the social sciences : theory and applications by
GIS and the Social Sciences offers a uniquely social science approach on the theory and application of GIS with a range of modern examples. It explores how human geography can engage with a variety of important policy issues through linking together GIS and spatial analysis, and demonstrates the importance of applied GIS and spatial analysis for solving real-world problems in both the public and private sector. The book introduces basic theoretical material from a social science perspective and discusses how data are handled in GIS, what the standard commands within GIS packages are, and what they can offer in terms of spatial analysis. It covers the range of applications for which GIS has been primarily used in the social sciences, offering a global perspective of examples at a range of spatial scales. The book explores the use of GIS in crime, health, education, retail location, urban planning, transport, geodemographics, emergency planning and poverty/income inequalities. It is supplemented with practical activities and datasets that are linked to the content of each chapter and provided on an eResource page. The examples are written using ArcMap to show how the user can access data and put the theory in the textbook to applied use using proprietary GIS software. This book serves as a useful guide to a social science approach to GIS techniques and applications. It provides a range of modern applications of GIS with associated practicals to work through, and demonstrates how researcher and policy makers alike can use GIS to plan services more effectively. It will prove to be of great interest to geographers, as well as the broader social sciences, such as sociology, crime science, health, business and marketing.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B35 2018ISBN: 9781138785137Publication Date: 2017-09-21
Understanding Spatial Media by
Over the past decade, a new set of interactive, open, participatory, and networked spatial media have become widespread. These include mapping platforms, virtual globes, user-generated spatial databases, geodesign and architectural and planning tools, urban dashboards and citizen reporting geosystems, augmented reality media, and locative media. Collectively, these produce and mediate spatial big data and are reshaping spatial knowledge, spatial behavior, and spatial politics. Understanding Spatial Media brings together leading scholars from around the globe to examine these new spatial media, their attendant technologies, spatial data, and their social, economic, and political effects. The 22 chapters are divided into the following sections: Spatial media technologies Spatial data and spatial media The consequences of spatial media Understanding Spatial Media is the perfect introduction to this fast emerging phenomena for students and practitioners of geography, urban studies, data science, and media and communications.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217.G46 U54 2017ISBN: 9781473949676Publication Date: 2017-03-21
Mastering PostGIS by
Write efficient GIS applications using PostGIS - from data creation to data consumptionAbout This Book* Learn how you can use PostGIS for spatial data analysis and manipulation* Optimize your queries and build custom functionalities for your GIS application* A comprehensive guide with hands-on examples to help you master PostGIS with easeWho This Book Is ForIf you are a GIS developer or analyst who wants to master PostGIS to build efficient, scalable GIS applications, this book is for you. If you want to conduct advanced analysis of spatial data, this book will also help you. The book assumes that you have a working installation of PostGIS in place, and have working experience with PostgreSQL.What You Will Learn* Refresh your knowledge of the PostGIS concepts and spatial databases* Solve spatial problems with the use of SQL in real-world scenarios* Practical walkthroughs of application development examples using Postgis, GeoServer and OpenLayers.* Extract, transform and load your spatial data* Expose data directly or through web services.* Consume your data in both desktop and web clientsIn DetailPostGIS is open source extension onf PostgreSQL object-relational database system that allows GIS objects to be stored and allows querying for information and location services. The aim of this book is to help you master the functionalities offered by PostGIS- from data creation, analysis and output, to ETL and live edits.The book begins with an overview of the key concepts related to spatial database systems and how it applies to Spatial RMDS. You will learn to load different formats into your Postgres instance, investigate the spatial nature of your raster data, and finally export it using built-in functionalities or 3th party tools for backup or representational purposes.Through the course of this book, you will be presented with many examples on how to interact with the database using JavaScript and Node.js. Sample web-based applications interacting with backend PostGIS will also be presented throughout the book, so you can get comfortable with the modern ways of consuming and modifying your spatial data.Style and approachThis book is a comprehensive guide covering all the concepts you need to master PostGIS. Packed with hands-on examples, tips and tricks, even the most advanced concepts are explained in a very easy-to-follow manner. Every chapter in the book does not only focus on how each task is performed, but also why.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .M55 2017ISBN: 9781784391645Publication Date: 2017-05-31
Basic GIS Coordinates, Third Edition by
Coordinates are integral building tools for GIS, cartography, surveying and are vital to the many applications we use today such as smart phones, car navigation systems and driverless cars. Basic GIS Coordinates, Third Edition grants readers with a solid understanding of coordinates and coordinate systems and how they operate as well as valuable insight into what causes them to malfunction. This practical and comprehensive guide lays out the foundation of a coordinate system and the implications behind building it as it elaborates on heights, two coordinate systems, and the rectangular system.The previous editions described horizontal and vertical datums such as the North American Datum 1983 (NAD 83) and the North American Vertical Datum 1988 (NAVD 88). Both will be replaced in 2022 or thereabouts. The National Geodetic Survey (NGS) plans to replace NAD83 with a new semi-dynamic terrestrial reference frame for North America and a new vertical datum will replace NAVD88. The foundation of the new vertical datum will be a temporally tracked gravimetric geoid. The interim period is intended to smooth the transition to the new paradigm and this new edition explores the changes and provides assistance in understanding them.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA116 .V36 2017ISBN: 9781498774628Publication Date: 2017-06-12
Practical GIS : learn novice to advanced topics such as QGIS, spatial data analysis, and more by
Learn the basics of Geographic Information Systems by solving real-world problems with powerful open source toolsAbout This Book* This easy-to-follow guide allows you to manage and analyze geographic data with ease using open source tools* Publish your geographical data online* Learn the basics of geoinformatics in a practical way by solving problemsWho This Book Is ForThe book is for IT professionals who have little or no knowledge of GIS. It's also useful for those who are new to the GIS field who don't want to spend a lot of money buying licenses of commercial tools and training.What You Will Learn* Collect GIS data for your needs* Store the data in a PostGIS database* Exploit the data using the power of the GIS queries* Analyze the data with basic and more advanced GIS tools* Publish your data and share it with others* Build a web map with your published dataIn DetailThe most commonly used GIS tools automate tasks that were historically done manually--compiling new maps by overlaying one on top of the other or physically cutting maps into pieces representing specific study areas, changing their projection, and getting meaningful results from the various layers by applying mathematical functions and operations. This book is an easy-to-follow guide to use the most matured open source GIS tools for these tasks.We'll start by setting up the environment for the tools we use in the book. Then you will learn how to work with QGIS in order to generate useful spatial data. You will get to know the basics of queries, data management, and geoprocessing.After that, you will start to practice your knowledge on real-world examples. We will solve various types of geospatial analyses with various methods. We will start with basic GIS problems by imitating the work of an enthusiastic real estate agent, and continue with more advanced, but typical tasks by solving a decision problem.Finally, you will find out how to publish your data (and results) on the web. We will publish our data with QGIS Server and GeoServer, and create a basic web map with the API of the lightweight Leaflet web mapping library.Style and approachThe book guides you step by step through each of the core concepts of the GIS toolkit, building an overall picture of its capabilities. This guide approaches the topic systematically, allowing you to build upon what you learned in previous chapters. By the end of this book, you'll have an understanding of the aspects of building a GIS system and will be able to take that knowledge with you to whatever project calls for it.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .F374 2017ISBN: 9781787123328Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Imagery and GIS : best practices for extracting information from imagery by
Imagery and GIS, working together, expand our perspective so that we can better perceive and understand The Science of Where(tm). Today, most maps include imagery in the form of aerial photos, satellite images, thermal images, digital elevation models, and scanned maps. Imagery and GIS: Best Practices for Extracting Information from Imagery shows how imagery can be integrated successfully into GIS maps and analysis. In this essential reference, discover how imagery brings value to GIS and how GIS can be used to derive value from imagery. Learn from case studies and in-depth explanations about selecting the 'right' imagery, image analysis, how to efficiently manage and serve imagery datasets, and how to accurately extract information from imagery. The authors' experience working together on numerous research, teaching, and operational remote sensing and GIS applications bestow the book with both the newest innovations, as well as proven advice. Apply the best practices found in Imagery and GIS to obtain the most value from imagery in your own GIS projects.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.4 .G743 2017ISBN: 9781589484542Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Geoprocessing with Python by
Summary Geoprocessing with Python teaches you how to use the Python programming language, along with free and open source tools, to read, write, and process geospatial data. Purchase of the print book includes a free eBook in PDF, Kindle, and ePub formats from Manning Publications. About the Technology This book is about the science of reading, analyzing, and presenting geospatial data programmatically, using Python. Thanks to dozens of open source Python libraries and tools, you can take on professional geoprocessing tasks without investing in expensive proprietary packages like ArcGIS and MapInfo. The book shows you how. About the Book Geoprocessing with Python teaches you how to access available datasets to make maps or perform your own analyses using free tools like the GDAL, NumPy, and matplotlib Python modules. Through lots of hands-on examples, you'll master core practices like handling multiple vector file formats, editing geometries, applying spatial and attribute filters, working with projections, and performing basic analyses on vector data. The book also covers how to manipulate, resample, and analyze raster data, such as aerial photographs and digital elevation models. What's Inside Geoprocessing from the ground up Read, write, process, and analyze raster data Visualize data with matplotlib Write custom geoprocessing tools Three additional appendixes available online About the Reader To read this book all you need is a basic knowledge of Python or a similar programming language. About the Author Chris Garrard works as a developer for Utah State University and teaches a graduate course on Python programming for GIS. Table of Contents Introduction Python basics Reading and writing vector data Working with different vector file formats Filtering data with OGR Manipulating geometries with OGR Vector analysis with OGR Using spatial reference systems Reading and writing raster data Working with raster data Map algebra with NumPy and SciPy Map classification Visualizing data Appendixes A - Installation B - References C - OGR - online only D - OSR - online only E - GDAL - online only
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA102.4.E4 G37 2016ISBN: 9781617292149Publication Date: 2016-05-23
Python Geospatial Development by
Develop sophisticated mapping applications from scratch using Python 3 tools for geospatial developmentAbout This Book- Build web applications based around maps and geospatial data using Python 3.x- Install and use various toolkits and obtain geospatial data for use in your programs- This practical, hands-on book will teach you all about geospatial development in PythonWho This Book Is ForThis book is for experienced Python developers who want to learn about geospatial concepts, obtain and work with geospatial data, solve spatial problems, and build sophisticated map-based applications using Python.What You Will Learn- Access, manipulate, and display geospatial data from within your Python programs- Master the core geospatial concepts of location, distance, units, projections, and datums- Read and write geospatial data in both vector and raster format- Perform complex, real-world geospatial calculations using Python- Store and access geospatial information in a database- Use points, lines, and polygons within your Python programs- Convert geospatial data into attractive maps using Python-based tools- Build complete web-based mapping applications using PythonIn DetailGeospatial development links your data to locations on the surface of the Earth. Writing geospatial programs involves tasks such as grouping data by location, storing and analyzing large amounts of spatial information, performing complex geospatial calculations, and drawing colorful interactive maps. In order to do this well, you'll need appropriate tools and techniques, as well as a thorough understanding of geospatial concepts such as map projections, datums, and coordinate systems.This book provides an overview of the major geospatial concepts, data sources, and toolkits. It starts by showing you how to store and access spatial data using Python, how to perform a range of spatial calculations, and how to store spatial data in a database. Further on, the book teaches you how to build your own slippy map interface within a web application, and finishes with the detailed construction of a geospatial data editor using the GeoDjango framework.By the end of this book, you will be able to confidently use Python to write your own geospatial applications ranging from quick, one-off utilities to sophisticated web-based applications using maps and other geospatial data.Style and approach This book is a comprehensive course in geospatial development. The concepts you need to know are presented in a hands-on fashion with example code to help you to solve real-world problems right away. Larger programs are built up step by step while guiding you through the process of building your own sophisticated mapping applications.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .W47 2016ISBN: 9781785288937Publication Date: 2016-05-23
Key Methods in Geography by
"Practical, accessible, careful and interesting, this...revised volume brings the subject up-to-date and explains, in bite sized chunks, the ′how′s′ and ′why′s′ of modern day geographical study...[It] brings together physical and human approaches again in a new synthesis." --Danny Dorling, Professor of Geography, University of OxfordKey Methods in Geography is the perfect introductory companion, providing an overview of qualitative and quantitative methods for human and physical geography. This Third Edition Features: 12 new chapters representing emerging themes including online, virtual and digital geographical methods Real-life case study examples Summaries and exercises for each chapter Free online access to full text of Progress in Human Geography and Progress in Physical Geography Progress Reports The teaching of research methods is integral to all geography courses: Key Methods in Geography, Third Edition explains all of the key methods with which geography undergraduates must be conversant.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G74 .K439 2016ISBN: 9781446298602Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Map use : reading, analysis, interpretation by
Map Use: Reading, Analysis, Interpretation, seventh edition, is a comprehensive, foundational textbook designed for the college curriculum. Now updated with a new section on map interpretation, Map Use provides students with the knowledge and skills to read and understand maps, and offers professional cartographers a thorough reference resource. Nearly 600 full-color maps, photographs, and graphs illustrate the concepts behind communicating with maps, while an extensive glossary and resource DVD for instructors (lecture slides, lab exercises, and answer keys) further support use of the text in the classroom. The book renders basic cartographic principles accessible to all, from students of cartography and map design to those without a formal education in geography. Accommodating new developments in GPS and geographic information system technology, this newest edition could serve as an introductory GIS text as well.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA105.3 .M83 2016ISBN: 9781589484429Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Geographic information : organization, access, and use by
The history and future of geographic information (GI) in the context of big data creates new avenues of concern over its organization, access and use. In this book the authors explore both the background and present challenges facing the preservation of GI, focusing on the roles of librarians, archivists, data scientists, and other information professionals in the creation of GI records for its organization, access, and use.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B57 2016ISBN: 9783319227887Publication Date: 2016-11-08
Mastering ArcGIS by
Price: Mastering ArcGIS is an introductory GIS text that is designed to offer everything you need to master the basic elements of GIS. The author's step-by-step approach helps students negotiate the challenging tasks involved in learning sophisticated GIS software. An innovative and unique feature of Mastering ArcGIS is its accompanying narrated video clips that show students exactly how to perform chapter tutorials before attempting an exercise on their own.
Call Number: Hodges Library Studio G70.212 .P74 2016ISBN: 9780078095146Publication Date: 2015-01-22
A primer of GIS : fundamental geographic and cartographic concepts by
This accessible text prepares students to understand and work with geographic information systems (GIS), offering a detailed introduction to essential theories, concepts, and skills. The book is organized in four modular parts that can be used in any sequence in entry-level and more specialized courses. Basic cartographic principles are integrated with up-to-date discussions of GIS technologies and applications. Coverage includes everything from what geographic information is to its many uses and societal implications. Practical examples and exercises invite readers to explore the choices involved in producing reliable maps and other forms of geographic information. Illustrations include 170 figures (with 15 in color). The companion website provides links to Web resources for each chapter, plus downloadable PowerPoint slides of most of the figures. New to This Edition *Chapter on online mapping and Big Data. *New and updated discussions of remote sensing, vector and raster data models, location privacy, uses of geocoding, and other timely topics. *Chapter on the many uses of GIS, such as in market analyses, emergency responding, and tracking of epidemics. *Section overviews and an end-of-book glossary. Pedagogical Features *Modules and individual chapters can be used sequentially or in any order. *End-of-chapter review questions with answers, exercises, and extended exercises for applying theories and concepts. *"In-Depth" sidebars offering a closer look at key concepts and applications. *End-of-chapter links to relevant Web resources.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .H38 2016ISBN: 9781462522170Publication Date: 2015-10-29
Geographical information systems : questions and answers by
If you have a question about Geographical Information Systems this is the book with the answers. Geographical Information Systems: Questions and Answers takes some of the best questions and answers asked on the gis.stackexchange.com website.You can use this book to look up commonly asked questions, browse questions on a particular topic, compare answers to common topics, check out the original source and much more. This book has been designed to be very easy to use, with many internal references set up that makes browsing in many different ways possible.Topics covered include: QIGIS, PostGIS, ArcGIS, raster, open source, projection, cartography, OpenLayers, GDAL, OpenStreetMap and many more.
Call Number: Hodges Library Studio G70.212 .D83 2016ISBN: 9781522859086Publication Date: 2015-12-23
Designing better maps : a guide for GIS users by
Designing Better Maps: A Guide for GIS Users, second edition, is a comprehensive guide to creating maps that communicate effectively. In Designing Better Maps, renowned cartographer Cynthia A. Brewer guides readers through the basics of good cartography, including layout design, scales, projections, color selection, font choices, and symbol placement. Designing Better Maps also describes the author's ColorBrewer application, an online color selection tool. The second edition includes a new chapter on map publishing.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA105.3 .B74 2016ISBN: 9781589484405Publication Date: 2015-12-28
GIS research methods : incorporating spatial perspectives by
GIS Research Methods: Incorporating Spatial Perspectives shows researchers how to incorporate spatial thinking and geographic information system (GIS) technology into research design and analysis. Topics include research design, digital data sources, volunteered geographic information, analysis using GIS, and how to link research results to policy and action. The concepts presented in GIS Research Methods can be applied to projects in a range of social and physical sciences by researchers using GIS for the first time and experienced practitioners looking for new and innovative research techniques.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .S74 2015ISBN: 9781589483781Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Creating maps, charts, and infographics with Adobe Illustrator by
Learn how to create infographics, maps, and charts in this 12-hour, video based course to teach anyone who can hold a mouse how to use Adobe Illustrator to tell stories with data. Acclaimed data visualization instructor and journalist Alberto Cairo provides you with a brief introduction to Adobe Illustrator’s tools and basic drawing techniques before diving into more advanced instructions specific to creating infographics. For example, if you’re already familiar with Illustrator, you can skip ahead to lessons that teach you how to use Illustrator’s Graph tool to design charts and greatly improve the look of your graphics. You’ll also learn how to trace maps; create complex, explanatory vector illustrations; use advanced coloring techniques; simulate 3D effects to create infographics in perspective; and use Illustrator’s Pen tool to draw just about anything.
Call Number: Pendergrass AgVetMed Library DVD in stacks P93.53.A36 C74 2014ISBN: 9780321962041Publication Date: 2014
Mapping in the Cloud by
This engaging text provides a solid introduction to mapmaking in the era of cloud computing. It takes students through both the concepts and technology of modern cartography, geographic information systems (GIS), and Web-based mapping. Conceptual chapters delve into the meaning of maps and how they are developed, covering such topics as map layers, GIS tools, mobile mapping, and map animation. Methods chapters take a learn-by-doing approach to help students master application programming interfaces and build other technical skills for creating maps and making them available on the Internet. The companion website offers invaluable supplementary materials for instructors and students. Pedagogical Features *End-of-chapter summaries, review questions, and exercises. *Extensive graphics illustrating the concepts and procedures. *Downloadable PowerPoints for each chapter. *Downloadable code files (where applicable) for the exercises.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA102.4.E4 P49 2014ISBN: 9781462514038Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Thinking about GIS : geographic information system planning for managers by
Thinking About GIS: Geographic Information System Planning for Managers presents a planning model for designing data and technology systems that will meet any organization's specific needs. Designed for two primary audiences, senior managers who oversee information technologies and technical specialists responsible for system design, this book provides a common platform on which to conduct GIS planning. The fifth edition reflects the latest trends in geospatial technology and includes updated case studies. Exercises from Roger Tomlinson's course Planning for a GIS and a video of the "Planning and Managing a GIS" seminar from the 2012 Esri International User Conference are included on the accompanying DVD.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .T66 2013ISBN: 9781589483484Publication Date: 2013-09-26
Introductory Geographic Information Systems by
Geospatial technologies in general - and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in particular - are becoming increasingly important in our society. GIS technology is used to identify the optimal routes for emergency vehicles, to determine the best locations for various businesses, schools, and facilities, to monitor the growth and expansion of urban areas as a way to manage natural resources, and much more.Introductory of Geographic Information Systems by John Jensen and Ryan Jensen is an ideal introduction for those who know very little about geographic information systems and spatial analysis. Relatively complex GIS principles are introduced in basic terms, often using graphics to communicate principles rather than complex mathematical equations. Content is not geared toward any single commercial GIS software program, and the book's timely, practical examples and extensive visual format appeal to today's students. This text can be used at the undergraduate or graduate level in one or two semester courses in Introductory and Intermediate GIS, yet can also be useful for professionals looking to increase their knowledge in this subject area.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.2 .J63 2013ISBN: 9780136147763Publication Date: 2012-02-16
Introduction to Geospatial Technologies by
Combining both theoretical coverage and hands-on lab work, and accessible to majors and non-majors alike, Bradley Shellito's Introduction to Geospatial Technologies has become a new favorite for the digital Earth course.
The new edition reflects the latest developments in the field, including how scientists are using GIS data with cloud technology. With lab activities that utilize both widely available freeware and ArcGIS, instructors can tailor the course to their students.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .S535 2012ISBN: 9781429255288Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Building a GIS : system architecture design strategies for managers by
Building a GIS, second edition, describes and updates a time-tested approach to system architecture design. Using the Capacity Planning Tool (on the book's DVD), GIS managers and technical architects can try out various system configurations in theory before committing their resources. The book promotes successful GIS operations and is intended for IT experts adopting the technology, GIS professionals new to system design, and executives who need to manage change. This second edition has been thoroughly revised and restructured. Graphics have been updated and numerous illustrations added. Exercises and video presentations on the DVD are designed to help students of system architecture design focus on the most important concepts and hone their expertise.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .P48 2012ISBN: 9781589483071Publication Date: 2012-01-13
The GIS Guide to Public Domain Data by
The GIS Guide to Public Domain Data gives users of geographic information systems (GIS) relevant information about the sources and quality of available public domain spatial data. Readers will understand how to find, evaluate, and analyze data to solve location-based problems. This guide covers practical issues such as copyrights, cloud computing, online data portals, volunteered geographic information, and international data. Supplementary exercises are available online to help put the concepts into practice. Students, researchers, and professionals will find The GIS Guide to Public Domain Data a useful desk companion to help them navigate the world of spatial data in the public domain.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217 .G46 K47 2012ISBN: 9781589482449Publication Date: 2012-06-04
Cartographer's toolkit : colors, typography, patterns by
Cartographer's Toolkit is like a big cheat-sheet for cartography. Its three chapters: Colors, Typography, and Composition Patterns build from individual map components to cohesive cartographic constructions. Each chapter begins with a brief introduction explaining relevant theory, key definitions, and usage suggestions. The pages that follow each introduction provide an abundance of visual demonstrations that are the basis for the tools in the toolkit. The book contains: Colors: 30 color palettes of 10 colors each, in 3 categories: coordinated palettes, color ramps, and differentiated; Typography: 50 typefaces showcased in 3 categories: standard, free, and for-fee; and Composition Patterns: 28 patterns, illustrated with 36 maps by many of today's leading cartographers. Here you will find design tools for the advanced cartographer-and those who wish to become advanced cartographers-for producing the high-level static and interactive maps required in our current innovative environment. The information presented in this book, along with the more fundamental cartography theory in the author's first book, GIS Cartography: A Guide to Effective Map Design, equips cartographers with the tools they need to perform at the top of the map making field, producing maps that are informative, inspired, and original. "Cartographer's Toolkit is an excellent new book. It focuses on real-world solutions rather than cartographic theory, and is full of ideas that will inspire new approaches and creative solutions for cartographers. I love the book's clean, accessible, no-nonsense approach." -Allen Carroll, Former Chief Cartographer at National Geographic, Esri "For any geo technology professional, would-be cartographer, and mapping aficionado, Cartographer's Toolkit is a must-have. You'll get hooked on the amazing examples, sample maps, and images that are used throughout." -Glenn Letham, Editor, GISuser.com "A book full of little cartographic nuggets." -Clint Brown, Director of Software Products, Esri Gretchen N. Peterson is the owner of the geospatial analysis firm PetersonGIS, which creates custom solutions for clients in the natural resources field and produces cartography products. Peterson is also the author of "GIS Cartography: A Guide to Effective Map Design," CRC Press, April 2009. Peterson writes a cartography blog at www.gretchenpeterson.com/blog, is on the application review committee for the GIS Certification Institute, is a co-founder of Ignite Spatial Northern Colorado, and publishes technical articles in leading geo media outlets and on www.petersongis.com. Peterson lives in Fort Collins, Colorado.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA102.3 .P47 2012ISBN: 9780615467948Publication Date: 2012-06-12
Web GIS : principles and applications by
The Web has revealed the immense value and broad applicability of GIS, set the bar for today's user expectations, and introduced flexible architectures for use with modern IT infrastructure. From basic architecture to new frontiers, Web GIS: Principles and Applications presents a thorough overview of the origins and developments in this emerging platform. New Web technologies addressed include: ArcGIS Server, REST services, JavaScript API/Flex API, and ArcGIS Mobile. This book offers a balance of principles, concepts, and techniques to provide you with an understanding of how Web GIS can revolutionize the way your GIS functions.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .F8 2011ISBN: 9781589482456Publication Date: 2010-10-15
GIS cartography : a guide to effective map design by
Maps, either printed or digital, can create effective communication with bosses, clients, other scientists, and the public. However, entry level GISers often find that map design was given short shrift in their pre-professional life. It is time for the GIS field, which is maturing in other ways, to improve its skills in this area. Based on the author's more than ten years of research and practice in map design, GIS Cartography:nbsp;A Guide to Effective Map Designnbsp;provides the tools to create truly sophisticated maps. Packed full of in-depth information and advice, this book covers all facets of map creation. It covers classic cartographic standards such as colors, fonts, data specific mapping techniques; cultivation of creative skills, and supplies recommendations for novel design approaches. Featuring a down-to-earth writing style, the book includes a layout element checklist, font size charts, geologic color standards, file format pros and cons, and examples of layout designs. A companion Web site, hosted by the author, provides more learning materials, a free downloadable poster covering key content from this book, and links to other helpful Web sites. The book does not focus on any particular software platform, therefore does not contain the traditional screen shot format with "click on this" and "use this menu" type of instructions. This format allows the guide to be used with any map making software. The author draws on classic map-design concepts, the latest design theory, and other disciplines, demonstrating how to create end results that exemplify what map ought to be: clear, informative, and uniquely suited to their purpose.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA105.3 .P47 2009ISBN: 9781420082135Publication Date: 2009-04-06
The Handbook of Geographic Information Science by
This Handbook is an essential reference and a guide to therapidly expanding field of Geographic Information Science. Designed for students and researchers who want an in-depthtreatment of the subject, including background information Comprises around 40 substantial essays, each written by arecognized expert in a particular area Covers the full spectrum of research in GIS Surveys the increasing number of applications of GIS Predicts how GIS is likely to evolve in the near future
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.2 .H356 2008ISBN: 9781405107952Publication Date: 2007-08-06
Encyclopedia of GIS by
The Encyclopedia of GIS provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide, contributed by experts and peer-reviewed for accuracy, and alphabetically arranged for convenient access. The entries explain key software and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Major overviews are provided for nearly 200 topics: Geoinformatics, Spatial Cognition, and Location-Based Services and more. Shorter entries define specific terms and concepts. The reference will be published as a print volume with abundant black and white art, and simultaneously as an XML online reference with hyperlinked citations, cross-references, four-color art, links to web-based maps, and other interactive features.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .E63 2008ISBN: 9780387359755Publication Date: 2007-12-12
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science by
Geographic information science (GIS) is an emerging field that combines aspects of many different disciplines. As a result, GIS literature is spread widely across the academic spectrum and the vocabulary is an amalgam of all of these fields. Often, given the specialized disciplinary orientations of authors, some expectation of foundational knowledge is assumed in much of the literature, making it difficult for readers from different disciplines to understand the full context of what they are reading. The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field. It also provides details about the key foundations of GIS, no matter what their disciplinary origins, and is, therefore, an important resource for both academic and corporate libraries. Key Themes: - Conceptual Foundations - Cartography and visualisation - Design aspects - Data modeling - Data manipulation - Geocomputation - Geospatial data - Societorial Issues - Spatial analysis - Organizational and institutional aspects
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .E53 2008ISBN: 9781412913133Publication Date: 2007-12-26
Charting the unknown : how computer mapping at Harvard became GIS by
Charting the Unknown takes readers back more than four decades to the Harvard Laboratory for Computer Graphics and Spatial Analysis where a variety if professionals converged to rethink thematic mapping, spatial analysis, and what we now call GIS. The book includes a CD that contains interviews with important figures at the Harvard Laboratory, three movies showing animated, visualization, and scanned copies of Context publications (from 1968 to 1983) describing research-related activities at the Lab.
Call Number: Hodges Library Studio G70.212 .C47385 2006ISBN: 9781589481183Publication Date: 2006
A to Z GIS : an illustrated dictionary of geographic information systems by
As GIS technology has evolved and grown, so has the language of this powerful tool. Written, developed, and reviewed by more than 150 subject-matter experts, A to Z GIS is packed with more than 1,800 terms, nearly 400 full-color illustrations, and seven encyclopedia-style appendix articles about annotation and labels, features, geometry, layers in ArcGIS, map projections and coordinate systems, remote sensing, and topology. A to Z GIS is a must-have resource for managers, programmers, users, writers, editors, and students discovering the interdisciplinary nature of GIS.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .A86 2006ISBN: 9781589481404Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Elsevier's dictionary of geographical information systems in English, German, French and Russian by
Elsevier's Dictionary of Geographical Information Systems contains 4,040 terms with about 1,700 cross-references that are commonly used in the theory and practice of geographical information systems. The terms were selected according to their significance or frequency of use. The terminology covers the areas of geoinformatics, geostatistics, computer cartography, geospatial databases, computer graphics, geodesy, photogrammetry, remote sensing, hardware and software for introduction, processing and visualization of geospatial data, etc. Geographical information systems are modern, widely distributed and strategic tools in many human activities (land survey and regulation, ecology, forestry, agronomy, demography, hydrology, urban planning, transport, etc.). Elsevier's Dictionary of Geographical Information Systems will be a valuable tool for specialists, scientists and students and for everyone who is interested in this area.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .D454 2002ISBN: 0444509917Publication Date: 2002-06-26
Colour Basics for GIS Users by
This reference book is aimed at any student enrolled on a GIS or Cartography course, either at undergraduate or postgraduate level. It provides a step-by-step guide to the use of colour for GIS users and cartographers.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B76 2003ISBN: 0130333433Publication Date: 2002-09-01
The ESRI Press Dictionary of GIS Terminology by
Useful for technicians and novices alike, this authoritative reference encompasses terms from GIS-related fields such as geography, cartography, GPS, remote sensing, and computing.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .E87 2001ISBN: 1879102781Publication Date: 2000-01-01
e-books available through the UT Libraries
Women and GIS, Volume 3, Champions of a sustainable world by
Impressive stories of women using geospatial technology to create sustainable solutions for problems the world faces. The third volume in the Women and GIS series shows how 31 diverse women in various STEAM fields discovered their passion, broke down barriers, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to advance their fields and improve the world. Sharing their experiences from childhood and throughout their careers, each woman reveals her journey in an inspiring recollection of the obstacles she has overcome, the knowledge she has gained along the way, and how tenacity and determination have helped her succeed. Each woman shares tips and words of wisdom that she's gained along the way, including: Priscilla Mbama Abasi: "Think big! Think about going to space, think about building things no one has seen before." Arianna Armelli: "If you are like me and crave the freedom to explore a path of the unknown, aka entrepreneurship, a career in STEM will foster the technical foundation to achieve those goals." Gabi Fleury: "The best advice I was given starting out was 'forge your own path.' Conservation isn't a structured, straight-line career, you can get into it in many ways. This is exciting, but it also can be really challenging, because you have to be flexible, innovative, and always on the lookout for the next opportunity." Healy Hamilton: "Success, to me, is a daily feeling that you are living true to your values, that you are meaningfully contributing to the world you want to create." Katharine Hayhoe: "While it's important to have people you respect and trust give you feedback at key points in your career, when it all comes down to it, you have to make the decisions that feel right for you, not the ones that necessarily look best on paper. You're the one who has to live with them." Featuring strong, persevering women from around the globe, the stories found in Women and GIS, Volume 3: Champions of a Sustainable World will inspire readers who are developing their own life stories to strive for success and achieve amazing accomplishments.
ISBN: 9781589486379Publication Date: 2021-06-22
GIS for science : maps for saving the planet by
GIS for Science: Maps for Saving the Planet, Volume 3, highlights real-world examples of scientists creating maps about saving life on Earth and preserving biodiversity. With Earth and the natural world at risk from various forces, geographic information system (GIS) mapping is essential for driving scientifically conscious decision-making about how to protect life on Earth. In volume 3 of GIS for Science, explore a collection of maps from scientists working to save the planet through documenting and protecting its biodiversity. In this volume, learn how GIS and data mapping are used in tandem with global satellite observation forestry marine policy artificial intelligence conservation biology, and environmental education to help preserve and chronicle life on Earth. This volume also spotlights important global action initiatives incorporating conservation, including Half-Earth, 30 x 30, AI for Earth, the Blue Nature Alliance, and the Sustainable Development Solutions Network. The stories presented in this third volume are ideal for the professional scientist and conservationist and anyone interested in the intersection of technology and the conservation of nature. The book's contributors include scientists who are applying geographic data gathered from the full spectrum of remote sensing and on-site technologies. The maps and data are brought to life using ArcGIS® software and other spatial data science tools that support research, collaboration, spatial analysis, and science communication across many locations and within diverse communities. The stories shared in this book and its companion website present inspirational ideas so that GIS users and scientists can work toward preserving biodiversity and saving planet Earth before time runs out.
ISBN: 9781589486713Publication Date: 2021-11-23
Spatial Computing by
An accessible guide to the ideas and technologies underlying such applications as GPS, Google Maps, Pokémon Go, ride-sharing, driverless cars, and drone surveillance. Billions of people around the globe use various applications of spatial computing daily--by using a ride-sharing app, GPS, the e911 system, social media check-ins, even Pokémon Go. Scientists and researchers use spatial computing to track diseases, map the bottom of the oceans, chart the behavior of endangered species, and create election maps in real time. Drones and driverless cars use a variety of spatial computing technologies. Spatial computing works by understanding the physical world, knowing and communicating our relation to places in that world, and navigating through those places. It has changed our lives and infrastructures profoundly, marking a significant shift in how we make our way in the world. This volume in the MIT Essential Knowledge series explains the technologies and ideas behind spatial computing. The book offers accessible descriptions of GPS and location-based services, including the use of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and RFID for position determination out of satellite range; remote sensing, which uses satellite and aerial platforms to monitor such varied phenomena as global food production, the effects of climate change, and subsurface natural resources on other planets; geographic information systems (GIS), which store, analyze, and visualize spatial data; spatial databases, which store multiple forms of spatial data; and spatial statistics and spatial data science, used to analyze location-related data.
ISBN: 9780262356800Publication Date: 2020-01-24
Introduction to Web Mapping by
A web map is an interactive display of geographic information, in the form of a web page, that you can use to tell stories and answer questions. Web maps have numerous advantages over traditional mapping techniques, such as the ability to display up-to-date or even real-time information, easy distribution to end users, and highly customized interactive content. Introduction to Web Mapping teaches you how to develop online interactive web maps and web mapping applications, using standard web technologies: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. The core technologies are introduced in Chapters 1-5, focusing on the specific aspects which are most relevant to web mapping. Chapters 6-13 then implement the material and demonstrate key concepts for building and publishing interactive web maps. The book: Gives an introduction to fundamental web technologies: HTML, CSS and JavaScript Covers Leaflet, the popular open-source JavaScript library for building web maps Describes the GeoJSON vector layer format and the Ajax technique for loading data Shows how spatial database APIs, such as the CARTO platform, can be combined with a web map to query and display large amounts of data Introduces client-side geoprocessing with the Turf.js JavaScript library, for applying spatial operators in the browser Demonstrates a complex web mapping application for collecting crowdsourced data, combining Leaflet, CARTO and the Leaflet.draw plugin Goes over 69 complete code examples and includes 9 solved exercises for building web maps and web pages (downloadable code is provided in the online supplement) The book is intended for beginners with no background in web technologies or programming. Nevertheless, some prior experience with computers and programming is beneficial. The book can be used for self-study, or as a textbook in a standard undergraduate "Web mapping" course in a Geography department, intended for students specializing in Geographic Information Systems (GIS).
ISBN: 9781000768848Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Women and GIS. Vol. 2, Stars of spatial science by
Foreword by Jane Goodall Thirty inspiring stories of diverse women using geospatial technology to advance science and help resolve important issues facing the world. Like the first volume, Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science tells how 30 women in many different STEM fields applied themselves, overcame obstacles, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique life path and of the perseverance, dedication, and hard work it takes to achieve success. This book includes multicultural women at various points in their careers such as: Barbara Ryan -- Dedicated to open spatial data for everyone Cecille Blake -- Growing GIS capacity in Jamaica and for North and South American countries Rhiannan Price -- Advocating to make a difference for vulnerable populations Verónica Vélez -- Fighting for social and racial justice in education Tanya Harrison -- Bringing Mars to the masses From planetary scientists to civil engineers, entrepreneurs to urban planners, the strong, passionate women in Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science serve as guiding stars to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and to inspire their potential to meaningful achievements.
ISBN: 1589485947Publication Date: 2020-04-21
GIS : research methods by
This book provides a non-technical overview of the science and tools behind geographic information systems and geographic information science for researchers, students and academics who do not have a GIS or Geography background. The book covers the history of GIS, from John Snow's Cholera map (1854) right up to today's software and data and cutting-edge analysis techniques. Bearman goes on to cover how to find, use and evaluate the latest data sets to critiquing existing maps, highlighting limitations and common mistakes. A variety of different GIS methods including Google Maps, GPS, big data, context and choropleth maps are discussed and the pros and cons of each are highlighted allowing you to choose the appropriate method or piece of software for your own research. This is the ideal book for anyone thinking about using GIS in their own research.
ISBN: 9781350129566Publication Date: 2020-12-10
GIS for science : applying mapping and spatial analytics. Volume 2 by
Merging the rigor of the scientific method with the technologies of GIS GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 brings to life a continuing collection of current, real-world examples of scientists using geographic information systems (GIS) and spatial data science to expand our understand of the world. Co-edited by Esri Chief Scientist Dawn Wright and Esri Technology Writer and Information Designer Christian Harder and with a foreword by Pulitzer Prize winner Jared Diamond, these case studies are part of a global effort to find ways to sustain a livable environment for all life on this planet. The contributors of GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 represent a cross section of scientists who employ data gathered from satellites, aircraft, ships, drones, and myriad other remote-sensing and on-site technologies. This collected data is brought to life with GIS and the broader realm of spatial data science to study a range of issues relevant to our understanding of planet Earth--including epidemiology in light of the COVID-19 pandemic; sustainable precision agriculture; predicting geological processes below the surface of the earth; leveraging GIS near-realtime disaster response, recovery, resilience and reporting; the latest innovations in monitoring air quality; and more. Their stories also show in very practical terms how ArcGIS software and the ArcGIS Online cloud-based system work as a comprehensive geospatial platform to support research, collaboration, spatial analysis, and science communication across many settings and communities. A rich supplementary web site--gisforscience.com--includes actual data along with additional maps, videos, web apps, story maps, workflows and snippets of computer code, including Python notebooks, for readers curious to learn more. Written for professional scientists, the swelling ranks of citizen scientists, and anyone interested in science and geography, GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 offers wonderful examples of our impulse to dream, discover, and understand, as coupled with the rigor and discipline of the scientific method and the foundation of geography. See how scientists from a variety of disciplines are solving some of the world's most pressing problems using geographic information systems--GIS.
ISBN: 9781589485877Publication Date: 2020-12-22
Women and GIS : mapping their stories by
Now available in a special hardcover edition with a dust jacket Twenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership, and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.
ISBN: 9781589485280Publication Date: 2019-06-04
GIS for surface water : using the national hydrography dataset by
GIS for Surface Water: Using the National Hydrography Dataset enables scientists, managers, and students to understand the complexities of the vital surface waters of the United States. It triggers exploration and analysis by combining the ready-to-use powers of a comprehensive database of the nation's waters and the ArcGIS® platform for geographic data analysis and mapping. This book explains how the water that exists on the landscape has been translated into a computer database, and how data about the water, such as chemistry and fish habitat, is linked to this database. Elevation data is also incorporated to produce watersheds at the micro and macro levels. This information, along with climatic data, leads to the creation of water flow and velocity estimates for every segment in the 7.5-million-mile drainage network in the United States. With the development of this complete water information system, the reader is poised to generate new knowledge of the behavior of surface water systems. Application of the ArcGIS suite of geographic and network analysis tools makes the science of surface water come to life. GIS for Surface Water vividly demonstrates how the vast capabilities of ArcGIS can be easily applied to the National Hydrography Dataset and companion Watershed Boundary Dataset to reveal the intricate properties of complex water networks. A variety of GIS operations are made simpler through the use of ArcGIS. You will be able to input the National Hydrography Dataset in your GIS and trace the path of water within minutes. With just a little more effort, you will be able to create enlightening flow-volume maps showing how much water flows through any given river system. By following basic principles outlined in the book, you will discover that these methods also apply to the science of surface-water systems for any nation. User stories by experienced water analysts arte also included to help buoy your knowledge of GIS for surface water.
Call Number: Hodges LIbrary Stacks G70.215.U6 S56 2018ISBN: 9781589484795Publication Date: 2018-06-22
GIS: an Introduction to Mapping Technologies by
Over the past few decades the world has been organized through the growth and integration of geographic information systems (GIS) across public and private sector industries, agencies, and organizations. This has happened in a technological context that includes the widespread deployment of multiple digital mobile technologies, digital wireless communication networks, positioning, navigation and mapping services, and cloud-based computing, spawning new ways of imagining, creating, and consuming geospatial information and analytics. GIS: An Introduction to Mapping Technologies is written with the detached voices of practitioner scholars who draw on a diverse set of experiences and education, with a shared view of GIS that is grounded in the analysis of scale-diverse contexts emphasizing cities and their social and environmental geographies. GIS is presented as a critical toolset that allows analysts to focus on urban social and environmental sustainability. The book opens with chapters that explore foundational techniques of mapping, data acquisition and field data collection using GNSS, georeferencing, spatial analysis, thematic mapping, and data models. It explores web GIS and open source GIS making geospatial technology available to many who would not be able to access it otherwise. Also, the book covers in depth the integration of remote sensing into GIS, Health GIS, Digital Humanities GIS, and the increased use of GIS in diverse types of organizations. Active learning is emphasized with ArcGIS Desktop lab activities integrated into most of the chapters. Written by experienced authors from the Department of Geography at DePaul University in Chicago, this textbook is a great introduction to GIS for a diverse range of undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals who are concerned with urbanization, economic justice, and environmental sustainability.
ISBN: 1498740235Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Basic GIS Coordinates by
Coordinates are integral building tools for GIS, cartography, surveying and are vital to the many applications we use today such as smart phones, car navigation systems and driverless cars. Basic GIS Coordinates, Third Edition grants readers with a solid understanding of coordinates and coordinate systems and how they operate as well as valuable insight into what causes them to malfunction. This practical and comprehensive guide lays out the foundation of a coordinate system and the implications behind building it as it elaborates on heights, two coordinate systems, and the rectangular system.The previous editions described horizontal and vertical datums such as the North American Datum 1983 (NAD 83) and the North American Vertical Datum 1988 (NAVD 88). Both will be replaced in 2022 or thereabouts. The National Geodetic Survey (NGS) plans to replace NAD83 with a new semi-dynamic terrestrial reference frame for North America and a new vertical datum will replace NAVD88. The foundation of the new vertical datum will be a temporally tracked gravimetric geoid. The interim period is intended to smooth the transition to the new paradigm and this new edition explores the changes and provides assistance in understanding them.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA116 .V36 2017ISBN: 9781498774635Publication Date: 2017-07-06
Geographic Information : Organization, Access, and Use by
The history and future of geographic information (GI) in the context of big data creates new avenues of concern over its organization, access and use. In this book the authors explore both the background and present challenges facing the preservation of GI, focusing on the roles of librarians, archivists, data scientists, and other information professionals in the creation of GI records for its organization, access, and use.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B57 2016ISBN: 9783319227894Publication Date: 2016-11-02- Map use : reading, analysis, interpretation by
Map Use: Reading, Analysis, Interpretation, eigth edition is a comprehensive, foundational textbook designed for the college curriculum. Now updated with a new section on map interpretation, Map Use provides students with the knowledge and skills to read and understand maps, and offers professional cartographers a thorough reference resource. Nearly 600 full-color maps, photographs, and graphs illustrate the concepts behind communicating with maps, while Powerpoint slides (available through the book resource page at esripress.esri.com/bookresources) further support use of the text in the classroom. The book renders basic cartographic principles accessible to all, from students of cartography and map design to those without a formal education in geography. Accommodating new developments in GPS and geographic information system technology, this newest edition could serve as an introductory GIS text as well.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA105.3 .M83 2016ISBN: 9781589484429Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Geographic Information Science and Systems by
Effective use of today?s powerful GIS technology requiresan understanding of the science of problem-solving that underpinsit. Since the first edition published over a decade ago, this bookhas led the way, with its focus on the scientific principles thatsupport GIS usage. It has also provided thorough, upto- datecoverage of GIS procedures, techniques and public policyapplications. This unique combination of science, technology andpractical problem solving has made this book a best-seller across abroad spectrum of disciplines. This fully updated 4th editioncontinues to deliver on these strengths.
ISBN: 9781118676950Publication Date: 2015-03-09
GIS research methods : incorporating spatial perspectives by
Few if any books have been written about social science research methods and GIS in an ArcGIS environment. This books claims that niche.
ISBN: 9781589484047Publication Date: 2015-03-30
GIS Dictionary by Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Geography and geographers : Anglo-American human geography since 1945 by
Geography and Geographers continues to be the most comprehensive and up-to-date overview of human geography available. It provides a survey of the major debates, key thinkers and schools of thought in the English-speaking world, setting them within the context of economic, social, cultural, political and intellectual changes. It is essential reading for all undergraduate geography students. It draws on a wide reading of the geographical literature and addresses the ways geography and its history are understood and the debates among geographers regarding what the discipline should study and how. This extensively updated seventh edition offers a thoroughly contemporary perspective on human geography for new and more experienced students alike.
ISBN: 9781134065875Publication Date: 2015-12-22- Designing better maps : a guide for GIS users by
Designing Better Maps: A Guide for GIS Users, second edition, is a comprehensive guide to creating maps that communicate effectively. In Designing Better Maps, renowned cartographer Cynthia A. Brewer guides readers through the basics of good cartography, including layout design, scales, projections, color selection, font choices, and symbol placement. Designing Better Maps also describes the author's ColorBrewer application, an online color selection tool. The second edition includes a new chapter on map publishing.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA105.3 .B74 2016ISBN: 9781589484405Publication Date: 2015-12-28
Geodesy : Introduction to Geodetic Datum and Geodetic Systems by
Geodetic datum (including coordinate datum, height datum, depth datum, gravimetry datum) and geodetic systems (including geodetic coordinate system, plane coordinate system, height system, gravimetry system) are the common foundations for every aspect of geomatics. This course book focuses on geodetic datum and geodetic systems, and describes the basic theories, techniques, methods of geodesy. The main themes include: the various techniques of geodetic data acquisition, geodetic datum and geodetic control networks, geoid and height systems, reference ellipsoid and geodetic coordinate systems, Gaussian projection and Gaussian plan coordinates and the establishment of geodetic coordinate systems. The framework of this book is based on several decades of lecture noted and the contents are developed systematically for a complete introduction to the geodetic foundations of geomatics.
ISBN: 9783642412455Publication Date: 2014-05-23
Map Projections : Cartographic Information Systems by
In the context of Geographical Information Systems (GIS) the book offers a timely review of Map Projections. The first chapters are of foundational type. We introduce the mapping from a left Riemann manifold to a right one specified as conformal, equiaerial and equidistant, perspective and geodetic. In particular, the mapping from a Riemann manifold to a Euclidean manifold ("plane") and the design of various coordinate systems are reviewed . A speciality is the treatment of surfaces of Gaussian curvature zero. The largest part is devoted to the mapping the sphere and the ellipsoid-of-revolution to tangential plane, cylinder and cone (pseudo-cone) using the polar aspect, transverse as well as oblique aspect. Various Geodetic Mappings as well as the Datum Problem are reviewed. In the first extension we introduce optimal map projections by variational calculus for the sphere, respectively the ellipsoid generating harmonic maps. The second extension reviews alternative maps for structures , namely torus (pneu), hyperboloid (cooling tower), paraboloid (parabolic mirror), onion shape (church tower) as well as clothoid (Hight Speed Railways) used in Project Surveying. Third, we present the Datum Transformation described by the Conformal Group C10 (3) in a threedimensional Euclidean space , a ten parameter conformal transformation. It leaves infinitesimal angles and distance ratios equivariant. Numerical examples from classical and new map projections as well as twelve appendices document the Wonderful World of Map Projections.
ISBN: 9783642364945Publication Date: 2014-09-11
Thinking about GIS : geographic information system planning for managers by
Thinking About GIS: Geographic Information System Planning for Managers presents a planning model for designing data and technology systems that will meet any organization's specific needs. Designed for two primary audiences, senior managers who oversee information technologies and technical specialists responsible for system design, this book provides a common platform on which to conduct GIS planning. The fifth edition reflects the latest trends in geospatial technology and includes updated case studies.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .T66 2013ISBN: 9781589483521Publication Date: 2013
Introducing geographic information systems with ArcGIS: a workbook approach to learning GIS by
An integrated approach that combines essential GIS background with a practical workbook on applying the principles in ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGISintegrates a broad introduction to GIS with a software-specific workbook for Esri's ArcGIS. Where most courses make do using two separate texts, one covering GIS and another the software, this book enables students and instructors to use a single text with an integrated approach covering both in one volume with a common vocabulary and instructional style. This revised edition focuses on the latest software updates--ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1. In addition to its already successful coverage, the book allows students to experience publishing maps on the Internet through new exercises, and introduces the idea of programming in the language Esri has chosen for applications (i.e., Python). A DVD is packaged with the book, as in prior editions, containing data for working out all of the exercises. This complete, user-friendly coursebook: Is updated for the latest ArcGIS releases--ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Introduces the central concepts of GIS and topics needed to understand spatial information analysis Provides a considerable ability to operate important tools in ArcGIS Demonstrates new capabilities of ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Provides a basis for the advanced study of GIS and the study of the newly emerging field of GIScience Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS, Third Edition is the ideal guide for undergraduate students taking courses such as Introduction to GIS, Fundamentals of GIS, and Introduction to ArcGIS Desktop. It is also an important guide for professionals looking to update their skills for ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1.
ISBN: 9781118159804Publication Date: 2013-04-15
The GIS guide to public domain data by
The GIS Guide to Public Domain Data gives users of geographic information systems (GIS) relevant information about the sources and quality of available public domain spatial data. Readers will understand how to find, evaluate, and analyze data to solve location-based problems. This guide covers practical issues such as copyrights, cloud computing, online data portals, volunteered geographic information, and international data. Supplementary exercises are available online to help put the concepts into practice. Students, researchers, and professionals will find The GIS Guide to Public Domain Data a useful desk companion to help them navigate the world of spatial data in the public domain.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217 .G46 K47 2012ISBN: 9781589483170Publication Date: 2012
What is GIS? by Publication Date: 2012
Human Geography : The Basics by
Human Geography: The Basics is a concise introduction to the study of the role that humankind plays in shaping the world around us. Whether it's environmental concerns, the cities we live in or the globalization of the economy, these are issues which affect us all. This book introduces these topics and more including: global environment issues and development cities, firms and regions migration, immigration and asylum landscape, culture and identity travel, mobility and tourism agriculture and food. Featuring an overview of theory, end of chapter summaries, case study boxes, further reading lists and a glossary, this book is the ideal introduction for anybody new to the study of human geography.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GF41 .J65 2012ISBN: 9781136307195Publication Date: 2012-08-21
Mapping : A Critical Introduction to Cartography and GIS by
Mapping: A Critical Introduction to Cartography and GIS is an introduction to the critical issues surrounding mapping and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) across a wide range of disciplines for the non-specialist reader. Examines the key influences Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and cartography have on the study of geography and other related disciplines Represents the first in-depth summary of the "new cartography" that has appeared since the early 1990s Provides an explanation of what this new critical cartography is, why it is important, and how it is relevant to a broad, interdisciplinary set of readers Presents theoretical discussion supplemented with real-world case studies Brings together both a technical understanding of GIS and mapping as well as sensitivity to the importance of theory
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA102.4.E4 C73 2010ISBN: 9781444356731Publication Date: 2011-09-09
Encyclopedia of Geography Terms, Themes, and Concepts by
This text provides an essential reference handbook for students of geography and related social sciences. * Contains more than 30 illustrations, comprising images, maps, charts and graphs * Features sidebars that highlight and explain specific topics or provide biographical sketches of key figures in the history of geographic thought * Detailed entries cover the most essential concepts of geography as an academic discipline
ISBN: 9781598842951Publication Date: 2011-10-17
21st Century Geography: a Reference Handbook by
Via approximately 80 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on geography will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail, or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.Features & Benefits:Curricular-driven to provide students with initial footholds on topics of interest in writing research term papers, in preparing for GREs, in consulting to determine directions to take in pursuing a senior thesis, graduate degree, etc.Comprehensive to offer full coverage of major subthemes and subfields within the discipline of geography, including regional geography, physical geography, global change, human and cultural geography, economic geography and locational analysis, political geography, geospatial technology, cartography, spatial thinking, research methodology, geographical education, and more.Uniform in chapter structure to make it easy for students to locate key information, with a more-or-less common chapter format of Introduction, Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, Bibliography & Suggestions for Further Reading, and Cross References.Available in print and electronic formats to provide students with convenient, easy access.
ISBN: 9781412974646Publication Date: 2011-10-20
Manual of Geospatial Science and Technology by
Following in the tradition of its popular predecessor, the Manual of Geospatial Science and Technology, Second Edition continues to be the authoritative volume that covers all aspects of the field, both basic and applied, and includes a focus on initiating, planning, and managing GIS projects. This comprehensive resource, which contains contributio
ISBN: 9781420087345Publication Date: 2010-03-05
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS by
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS is a concise overview of the fundamental ideas that inform geographic information science. It provides detailed descriptions of the concepts and techniques that anyone using GIS software must fully understand to analyse spatial data. Short and clearly focussed chapters provide explanations of: spatial relationships and spatial data the creation of digital data, the use and access of existing data, the combination of data the use of modelling techniques and the essential functions of map algebra spatial statistics and spatial analysis geocomputation - including discussion of neural networks, cellular automata, and agent-based modelling Illustrated throughout with explanatory figures, the text also includes a glossary, cross referenced to discussion in the text. Written very much from a user's perspective, Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS is highly readable refresher course for intermediate level students and practitioners of GIS in the social and the natural sciences.
ISBN: 1849206511Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Datums and map projections for remote sensing, GIS, and surveying by
A practical guide to coordinate reference systems, Datums and Map Projections: For Remote Sensing, GIS and Surveying has become a key book for many students and professionals around the world. While retaining the benefits of the first edition - clear presentation assuming no prior knowledge, a problem-solving approach, practical examples and the combination of GPS-derived data from other sources - the rewritten and expanded second edition includes a revised structure that better groups common themes, greater scope and coverage of all possible types of coordinate reference systems, more examples and case studies from around the world, terminology of the ISO 1911, and color illustrations.
ISBN: 9781420070415Publication Date: 2008-05-14
GIS Specialist
Eric Arnold
Contact:
Room 236
John C. Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37996
John C. Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37996
Subjects: Geographic Information Systems (GIS)