Spatial Analysis
Physical books available through the UT Libraries
Geographical data science and spatial data analysis : an introduction in R by
We are in an age of big data where all of our everyday interactions and transactions generate data. Much of this data is spatial - it is collected some-where - and identifying analytical insight from trends and patterns in these increasing rich digital footprints presents a number of challenges.Whilst other books describe different flavours of Data Analytics in R and other programming languages, there are none that consider Spatial Data (i.e. the location attached to data), or that consider issues of inference, linking Big Data, Geography, GIS, Mapping and Spatial Analytics. This is a 'learning by doing' textbook, building on the previous book by the same authors, An Introduction to R for Spatial Analysis and Mapping. It details the theoretical issues in analyses of Big Spatial Data and developing practical skills in the reader for addressing these with confidence.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks QA276.45.R3 C65 2021ISBN: 9781526449368Publication Date: 2021-02-04
Statistical methods for geography : a student's guide by
Statistical Methods for Geography is the essential introduction for geography students looking to fully understand and apply key statistical concepts and techniques. Now in its fifth edition, this text is an accessible statistics '101' focused on student learning, and includes definitions, examples, and exercises throughout. Fully integrated with online self-assessment exercises and video overviews, it explains everything required to get full credits for any undergraduate statistics module. The fifth edition of this bestselling text includes: · Coverage of descriptive statistics, probability, inferential statistics, hypothesis testing and sampling, variance, correlation, regression analysis, spatial patterns, spatial data reduction using factor analysis and cluster analysis. · New examples from physical geography and additional real-world examples. · Updated in-text and online exercises along with downloadable datasets. This is the only text you'll need for undergraduate courses in statistical analysis, statistical methods, and quantitative geography.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .R64 2020ISBN: 9781526498816Publication Date: 2020-01-02
Spatial analysis methods and practice : describe - explore - explain through GIS by
This is an introductory textbook on spatial analysis and spatial statistics through GIS. Each chapter presents methods and metrics, explains how to interpret results, and provides worked examples. Topics include: describing and mapping data through exploratory spatial data analysis; analyzing geographic distributions and point patterns; spatial autocorrelation; spatial clustering; geographically weighted regression and OLS regression; and spatial econometrics. The worked examples link theory to practice through a single real-world case study, with software and illustrated guidance. Exercises are solved twice: first through ArcGIS, and then GeoDa. Through a simple methodological framework the book describes the dataset, explores spatial relations and associations, and builds models. Results are critically interpreted, and the advantages and pitfalls of using various spatial analysis methods are discussed. This is a valuable resource for graduate students and researchers analyzing geospatial data through a spatial analysis lens, including those using GIS in the environmental sciences, geography, and social sciences.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks QA278.2 .G737 2020ISBN: 9781108498982Publication Date: 2020-06-11
An Introduction to R for Spatial Analysis and Mapping by
This is a new edition of the accessible and student-friendly ′how to′ for anyone using R for the first time, for use in spatial statistical analysis, geocomputation and digital mapping. The authors, once again, take readers from 'zero to hero', updating the now standard text to further enable practical R applications in GIS, spatial analyses, spatial statistics, web-scraping and more. Revised and updated, each chapter includes: example data and commands to explore hands-on; scripts and coding to exemplify specific functionality; self-contained exercises for students to work through; embedded code within the descriptive text. The new edition includes detailed discussion of new and emerging packages within R like sf, ggplot, tmap, making it the go to introduction for all researchers collecting and using data with location attached. This is the introduction to the use of R for spatial statistical analysis, geocomputation, and GIS for all researchers - regardless of discipline - collecting and using data with location attached.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks QA276.45.R3 B78 2019ISBN: 9781526428509Publication Date: 2019-01-10
GIS for planning and the built environment : an introduction to spatial analysis by
This engaging and practical guide is a much-needed new textbook that illustrates the power of geographic information systems (GIS) and spatial analysis. Today's planner has a wealth of data available to them, much of which is increasingly linked to a specific location. From football clubs to Twitter conversations, government spending to the spread of diseases - data can be mapped. Once mapped, the data begins to tell stories, patterns are revealed, and effective planning decisions can be made. When used effectively, GIS allows students, planners, residents and policymakers to solve wicked problems in the environment, society and the economy. Geospatial data is now more freely available than it ever has been, as is much of the necessary software to analyse it. This contemporary text offers a practical guide to spatial analysis and what it can show us. In addition to explaining what GIS is and why it is such a powerful tool, the authors cover such topics as geovisualization, mapping principles, network analysis and decision making. Offering more than just theoretical or technical principles and concepts, the book applies GIS techniques to the real world, draws on global examples and provides practical advice on mapping the built environment.This accessible text is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students taking planning modules on GIS, data analysis and mapping, as well as for all planners, urbanists and geographers with an interest in how GIS can help us better understand the built environment from a socio-economic perspective.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217.G46 F47 2019ISBN: 9781137307156Publication Date: 2019-05-27
GIS for science : applying mapping and spatial analytics by
GIS for Science presents a collection of real-world stories about modern science and a cadre of scientists who use mapping and spatial analytics to expand their understanding of the world. The accounts in this book are written for a broad audience including professional scientists, the swelling ranks of citizen scientists, and people generally interested in science and geography. Scientific data are brought to life with GIS technology to study a range of issues relevant to the functioning of planet Earth in a natural sense as well as the impacts of human activity. In a race against the clock, the scientists profiled in this volume are using remote sensing, web maps within a geospatial cloud, Esri StoryMaps, and spatial analysis to document and solve an array of issues with a geographic dimension, ranging from climate change, natural disasters, and loss of biodiversity, to homelessness, loss of green infrastructure, and resource shortages. These stories present geospatial ideas and inspiration that readers can apply across many disciplines, making this volume relevant to a diverse scientific audience. See how scientists working on the world's most pressing problems apply geographic information systems--GIS.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks Q175 .G57 2019ISBN: 1589485300Publication Date: 2019-07-29
Gis-Based Studies in the Humanities and Social Sciences by
Studies in the humanities and the social sciences can be enhanced through the use of geographic information systems (GIS). However, this computer-aided method of analysis is worthless unless researchers can devote the time necessary to learn what it is, what it can do, and how to use it. Resulting from a six-year project entitled Spatial Information Science for the Humanities and Social Sciences (SIS for HSS), GIS-Based Studies in the Humanities and Social Sciences details the tools and processes for deploying GIS in economic and social analyses. Through the use of this book, readers can understand how GIS technology can be utilized in advancing studies. This volume will also encourage professionals in humanities and the social sciences to employ new GIS-based methods in their own research.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks H62 .S7962 2019ISBN: 9780367391959Publication Date: 2019-10-23
Thinking big data in geography : new regimes, new research by
Thinking Big Data in Geography offers a practical state-of-the-field overview of big data as both a means and an object of research, with essays from prominent and emerging scholars such as Rob Kitchin, Renee Sieber, and Mark Graham. Part 1 explores how the advent of geoweb technologies and big data sets has influenced some of geography's major subdisciplines: urban politics and political economy, human-environment interactions, and geographic information sciences. Part 2 addresses how the geographic study of big data has implications for other disciplinary fields, notably the digital humanities and the study of social justice. The volume concludes with theoretical applications of the geoweb and big data as they pertain to society as a whole, examining the ways in which user-generated data come into the world and are complicit in its unfolding. The contributors raise caution regarding the use of spatial big data, citing issues of accuracy, surveillance, and privacy.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.2 .T45 2018ISBN: 9780803278820Publication Date: 2018-04-01
Geospatial analysis : a comprehensive guide to principles, techniques and software tools by
Geospatial Analysis (6th edition) provides a compehensive guide to concepts, methods and tools, with many examples being provided using a variety of software tools such as ArcGIS, Idrisi, Grass, Surfer and many others to clarify the concepts discussed. Topics covered in detail include: Geospatial analysis concepts Analytical methodologies and model building Core components of geospatial analysis, including distance and directional analysis, geometrical processing, map algebra, and grid models Exploratory Spatial and Spatio-temporal Data Analysis (ESDA, ESTDA) and spatial statistics, including spatial autocorrelation and spatial regression Surface analysis, including surface form and flow analysis, gridding and interpolation methods, and visibility analysis Network and locational analysis, including shortest path calculation, travelling salesman problems, facility location and arc routing Geocomputational methods, including agent-based modelling, artifical neural networks and evolutionary computing Big Data - lessons for researchers
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.23 .D4 2018ISBN: 9781912556038Publication Date: 2018-06-11
GIS and the social sciences : theory and applications by
GIS and the Social Sciences offers a uniquely social science approach on the theory and application of GIS with a range of modern examples. It explores how human geography can engage with a variety of important policy issues through linking together GIS and spatial analysis, and demonstrates the importance of applied GIS and spatial analysis for solving real-world problems in both the public and private sector. The book introduces basic theoretical material from a social science perspective and discusses how data are handled in GIS, what the standard commands within GIS packages are, and what they can offer in terms of spatial analysis. It covers the range of applications for which GIS has been primarily used in the social sciences, offering a global perspective of examples at a range of spatial scales. The book explores the use of GIS in crime, health, education, retail location, urban planning, transport, geodemographics, emergency planning and poverty/income inequalities. It is supplemented with practical activities and datasets that are linked to the content of each chapter and provided on an eResource page. The examples are written using ArcMap to show how the user can access data and put the theory in the textbook to applied use using proprietary GIS software. This book serves as a useful guide to a social science approach to GIS techniques and applications. It provides a range of modern applications of GIS with associated practicals to work through, and demonstrates how researcher and policy makers alike can use GIS to plan services more effectively. It will prove to be of great interest to geographers, as well as the broader social sciences, such as sociology, crime science, health, business and marketing.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B35 2018ISBN: 9781138785137Publication Date: 2017-09-21
Geospatial Data Science Techniques and Applications by
Data science has recently gained much attention for a number of reasons, and among them is Big Data. Scientists (from almost all disciplines including physics, chemistry, biology, sociology, among others) and engineers (from all fields including civil, environmental, chemical, mechanical, among others) are faced with challenges posed by data volume, variety, and velocity, or Big Data. This book is designed to highlight the unique characteristics of geospatial data, demonstrate the need to different approaches and techniques for obtaining new knowledge from raw geospatial data, and present select state-of-the-art geospatial data science techniques and how they are applied to various geoscience problems.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217.G46 K34 2018ISBN: 9781138626447Publication Date: 2017-10-18
Simple Statistical Tests for Geography by
This book is aimed directly at students of geography, particularly those who lack confidence in manipulating numbers. The aim is not to teach the mathematics behind statistical tests, but to focus on the logic, so that students can choose the most appropriate tests, apply them in the most convenient way and make sense of the results. Introductory chapters explain how to use statistical methods and then the tests are arranged according to the type of data that they require. Diagrams are used to guide students toward the most appropriate tests. The focus is on nonparametric methods that make very few assumptions and are appropriate for the kinds of data that many students will collect. Parametric methods, including Student¿s t-tests, correlation and regression are also covered. Although aimed directly at geography students at senior undergraduate and graduate level, this book provides an accessible introduction to a wide range of statistical methods and will be of value to students and researchers in allied disciplines including Earth and environmental science, and the social sciences.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .M39 2017ISBN: 9781498758819Publication Date: 2016-10-11
Using Geodata and Geolocation in the Social Sciences by
"Abernathy provides a truly accessible and interdisciplinary introduction to geodata and geolocation covering both the conceptual and the practical. It is a must read for students or researchers looking to make the most of the spatial elements of their data" - Luke Sloan, Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Methods, Cardiff University Using Geodata and Geolocation in the Social Sciences: Mapping our Connected World provides an engaging and accessible introduction to the Geoweb with clear, step-by-step guides for: Capturing Geodata from sources including GPS, sensor networks and Twitter Visualizing Geodata using programmes including QGIS, GRASS and R Featuring colour images, practical exercises walking you through using data sources, and a companion website packed with resources, this book is the perfect guide for students and teachers looking to incorporate location-based data into their social science research.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .A24 2017ISBN: 9781473908185Publication Date: 2016-12-14
Quantitative geography : the basics by
Numerical data are everywhere. Charts and statistics appear not just in geography journals but also in the media, in public policy, and in business and commerce too. To engage with quantitative geography, we must engage with the quantitative methods used to collect, analyse, present and interpret these data.Quantitative Geography: The Basics is the perfect introduction for undergraduates beginning any quantitative methods course. Written in short, user-friendly chapters with full-colour diagrams, the book guides the reader through a wide range of topics from the basic to the more advanced, including: Statistics Maths Graphics Models Mapping and GIS R Closely aligned with the Q-Step quantitative social science programme, Quantitative Geography: The Basics is the ideal starting point for understanding and exploring this fundamental area of Geography.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70 .H275 2016ISBN: 1446296539Publication Date: 2016-12-19
Spatial analysis : statistics, visualization, and computational methods by
An introductory text for the next generation of geospatial analysts and data scientists, Spatial Analysis: Statistics, Visualization, and Computational Methods focuses on the fundamentals of spatial analysis using traditional, contemporary, and computational methods. Outlining both non-spatial and spatial statistical concepts, the authors present practical applications of geospatial data tools, techniques, and strategies in geographic studies. They offer a problem-based learning (PBL) approach to spatial analysis¿containing hands-on problem-sets that can be worked out in MS Excel or ArcGIS¿as well as detailed illustrations and numerous case studies. The book enables readers to: Identify types and characterize non-spatial and spatial data Demonstrate their competence to explore, visualize, summarize, analyze, optimize, and clearly present statistical data and results Construct testable hypotheses that require inferential statistical analysis Process spatial data, extract explanatory variables, conduct statistical tests, and explain results Understand and interpret spatial data summaries and statistical tests Spatial Analysis: Statistics, Visualization, and Computational Methods incorporates traditional statistical methods, spatial statistics, visualization, and computational methods and algorithms to provide a concept-based problem-solving learning approach to mastering practical spatial analysis. Topics covered include: spatial descriptive methods, hypothesis testing, spatial regression, hot spot analysis, geostatistics, spatial modeling, and data science.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .O98 2016ISBN: 9781498707633Publication Date: 2015-08-11
GIS research methods : incorporating spatial perspectives by
GIS Research Methods: Incorporating Spatial Perspectives shows researchers how to incorporate spatial thinking and geographic information system (GIS) technology into research design and analysis. Topics include research design, digital data sources, volunteered geographic information, analysis using GIS, and how to link research results to policy and action. The concepts presented in GIS Research Methods can be applied to projects in a range of social and physical sciences by researchers using GIS for the first time and experienced practitioners looking for new and innovative research techniques.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .S74 2015ISBN: 9781589483781Publication Date: 2015-05-01
PostGIS in Action by
DESCRIPTION PostGIS is an open source spatial database extender for PostgreSQL. It equals or surpasses proprietary alternatives, allowing the creations of location-aware queries with just a few lines of SQL code, and provides a back-end for mapping, raster analysis, and routing applications with minimal effort. PostGIS in Action, Second Edition teaches readers of all levels to write spatial queries that solve real-world problems. After covering the background in vector, raster and topology based GIS, it quickly moves into analyzing, viewing, and mapping data. The book shows how to optimize queries for maximum speed, simplify geometries for greater efficiency, analyze rasters, vectorize rasters, better manage data utilizing topologies, and create custom functions for applications. It covers PostGIS 2.0 and 2.1 series, PostgreSQL 9.1- 9.3 features and shows how to integrate with other GIS tools. 　 RETAIL SELLING POINTS Comprehensive coverage of PostGIS Applies PostGIS to real-world problems Significant updates to the first edition AUDIENCE Familiarity with relational database concepts is helpful but not required. This book is for programmers, GIS and DB practitioners, scientists, researchers, educators, and engineers. ABOUT THE TECHNOLOGY PostGIS (pronounced post-jis) is a spatial database extender for the PostgreSQL open source relational database management system. It's the most powerful open source spatial database engine. It also adds to PostgreSQL several spatial data types and over 300 functions for working with these spatial types.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .O23 2015ISBN: 9781617291395Publication Date: 2015-05-03
Big data : techniques and technologies in geoinformatics by
Big data has always been a major challenge in geoinformatics as geospatial data come in various types and formats, new geospatial data are acquired very fast, and geospatial databases are inherently very large. And while there have been advances in hardware and software for handling big data, they often fall short of handling geospatial big data efficiently and effectively. Big Data: Techniques and Technologies in Geoinformatics tackles these challenges head on, integrating coverage of techniques and technologies for storing, managing, and computing geospatial big data. Providing a perspective based on analysis of time, applications, and resources, this book familiarizes readers with geospatial applications that fall under the category of big data. It explores new trends in geospatial data collection, such as geo-crowdsourcing and advanced data collection technologies such as LiDAR point clouds. The book features a range of topics on big data techniques and technologies in geoinformatics including distributed computing, geospatial data analytics, social media, and volunteered geographic information. With chapters contributed by experts in geoinformatics and in domains such as computing and engineering, the book provides an understanding of the challenges and issues of big data in geoinformatics applications. The book is a single collection of current and emerging techniques, technologies, and tools that are needed to collect, analyze, manage, process, and visualize geospatial big data.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.2 .B54 2014ISBN: 9781466586512Publication Date: 2014-02-18
An Introduction to Statistical Problem Solving in Geography by
Basic Statistical Concepts in Geography -- Introduction: The Context of Statistical Techniques -- Geographic Data: Characteristics and Preparation -- Descriptive Problem Solving in Geography -- Descriptive Statistics and Graphics -- Descriptive Spatial Statistics -- The Transiton to Inferential Problem Solving -- Basics of Probabilities and Discrete Probability Distributions -- Continuous Probability Distributions and Probability Mapping -- Basic Elements of Sampling -- Estimation in Sampling -- Inferential Problem Solving in Geography -- Elements of Inferential Statistics -- Two-Sample and Dependent-Sample (Matched-Pairs) Difference Tests -- Three-or-More-Sample Difference Tests: Analysis of Variance Methods -- Categorical Difference Tests -- Inferential Spatial Statistics -- General Issues in Inferential Spatial Statistics -- Point Pattern Analysis -- Area Pattern Analysis -- Statistical Relationships Between Variables -- Correlation -- Simple Linear Regression -- Examples of Multivariate Problem-Solving in Geography -- Epilogue: Problem Solving and Policy Determination in Practical Geographic Situations -- Appendix: Statistical Tables.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .M4 2014ISBN: 9781478611196Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Workbook for Statistical Problem Solving in Geography by
This book contains hands-on exercises for a full semester course in statistics for undergraduate geographers. The workbook follows the chapters in An Introduction to Statistical Problem Solving for Geographers, published by Waveland Press, although it will work well in any course focused on statistics and geography.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .M42 2014ISBN: 9781502982292Publication Date: 2014-10-24
Learning R for geospatial analysis : leverage the power of R to elegantly manage crucial geospatial analysis tasks by
This book is intended for anyone who wants to learn how to efficiently analyze geospatial data with R, including GIS analysts, researchers, educators, and students who work with spatial data and who are interested in expanding their capabilities through programming. The book assumes familiarity with the basic geographic information concepts (such as spatial coordinates), but no prior experience with R and/or programming is required. By focusing on R exclusively, you will not need to depend on any external software-a working installation of R is all that is necessary to begin.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks QA76.73.R3 D67 2014ISBN: 9781783984367Publication Date: 2014-12-26
Spatial mathematics : theory and practice through mapping by
In terms of statistics, GIS offers many connections. With GIS, data are gathered, displayed, summarized, examined, and interpreted to discover patterns. Spatial Mathematics: Theory and Practice through Mappinguses GIS as a platform to teach mathematical concepts and skills through visualization of numbers. It examines theory and practice from disparate academic disciplines such as geography, mathematics, physics, and general social science. This approach allows students to grapple with biodiversity, crime, natural hazards, climate, energy, water, and other relevant real-world issues of the twenty-first century. Includes QR Codes Linked to Animated Maps, a Mapping Activity Site, or to an Interactive Webpage, Creating an Interactive Resource That Stays Relevant The book integrates competing philosophical views of the world: synthesis and analysis. These two approaches yield different results and employ different tools. This book considers both approaches to looking at real-world issues that have mathematics as a critical, but often unseen, component. This approach shows readers how to use mathematics to consider the broad problem at hand and to explore diverse realms in the worlds of geography and mathematics and in their interface. A truly interdisciplinary text, the book bridges the worlds of mathematics and geography and demonstrates how they are inextricably linked. It takes advantage of the convergence in citizen science, STEM education, and mapping that help readers become critical consumers of data--understanding its content, quality, limitations, and benefits. It provides thorough grounding in the analytical, statistical, and computational skills required for working in any field that uses geospatial technologies--not just surveyors and remote sensing analysts. rent results and employ different tools. This book considers both approaches to looking at real-world issues that have mathematics as a critical, but often unseen, component. This approach shows readers how to use mathematics to consider the broad problem at hand and to explore diverse realms in the worlds of geography and mathematics and in their interface. A truly interdisciplinary text, the book bridges the worlds of mathematics and geography and demonstrates how they are inextricably linked. It takes advantage of the convergence in citizen science, STEM education, and mapping that help readers become critical consumers of data--understanding its content, quality, limitations, and benefits. It provides thorough grounding in the analytical, statistical, and computational skills required for working in any field that uses geospatial technologies--not just surveyors and remote sensing analysts.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.23 .A77 2014ISBN: 9781466505322Publication Date: 2013-06-26
Practical Statistics for Geographers and Earth Scientists by
Practical Statistics for Geographers and Earth Scientistsprovides an introductory guide to the principles and application ofstatistical analysis in context. This book helps students to gainthe level of competence in statistical procedures necessary forindependent investigations, field-work and other projects. The aimis to explain statistical techniques using data relating torelevant geographical, geospatial, earth and environmental scienceexamples, employing graphics as well as mathematical notation formaximum clarity. Advice is given on asking the appropriatepreliminary research questions to ensure that the correct data iscollected for the chosen statistical analysis method. The bookoffers a practical guide to making the transition fromunderstanding principles of spatial and non-spatial statisticaltechniques to planning a series analyses and generating resultsusing statistical and spreadsheet computer software. Learning outcomes included in each chapter International focus Explains the underlying mathematical basis of spatial andnon-spatial statistics Provides an geographical, geospatial, earth and environmentalscience context for the use of statistical methods Written in an accessible, user-friendly style Datasets available on accompanying website at www.wiley.com/go/Walford
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .W36 2011ISBN: 9780470849149Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Spatial statistics : geospatial information modeling and thematic mapping by
Geospatial information modeling and mapping has become an important tool for the investigation and management of natural resources at the landscape scale. Spatial Statistics: GeoSpatial Information Modeling and Thematic Mapping reviews the types and applications of geospatial information data, such as remote sensing, geographic information systems (GIS), and GPS as well as their integration into landscape-scale geospatial statistical models and maps. The book explores how to extract information from remotely sensed imagery, GIS, and GPS, and how to combine this with field data¿vegetation, soil, and environmental¿to produce a spatial model that can be reconstructed and displayed using GIS software. Readers learn the requirements and limitations of each geospatial modeling and mapping tool. Case studies with real-life examples illustrate important applications of the models. Topics covered in this book include: An overview of the geospatial information sciences and technology and spatial statistics Sampling methods and applications, including probability sampling and nonrandom sampling, and issues to consider in sampling and plot design Fine and coarse scale variability Spatial sampling schemes and spatial pattern Linear and spatial correlation statistics, including Moran¿s I, Geary¿s C, cross-correlation statistics, and inverse distance weighting Geospatial statistics analysis using stepwise regression, ordinary least squares (OLS), variogram, kriging, spatial auto-regression, binary classification trees, cokriging, and geospatial models for presence and absence data How to use R statistical software to work on statistical analyses and case studies, and to develop a geospatial statistical model The book includes practical examples and laboratory exercises using ArcInfo, ArcView, ArcGIS, and other popular software for geospatial modeling. It is accessible to readers from various fields, without requiring advanced knowledge of geospatial information sciences or quantitative methods.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .K35 2011ISBN: 9781420069761Publication Date: 2011-05-09
Spatial data analysis : an introduction for GIS users by
What is the shortest route between one point and another in a road network? Where is the incidence of disease the highest? How does rainfall correlate with altitude? How does the concentration of a pollutant vary in space, and where do high concentrations correlate with densely populatedareas?Geographical or spatial data play a vital role in many parts of daily life. We are dependent on information about where things are located and about the attributes of those things, either directly, as in the use of a map for navigating around a city, or indirectly, where we use resources like wateror gas.Making use of spatial data requires a whole set of approaches to extract information from those data and make them useful. Underpinning these approaches is the analysis of data.Spatial Data Analysis introduces key principles about spatial data and provides guidance on methods for their exploration; it provides a set of key ideas or frameworks that will give the reader knowledge of the kinds of problems that can be tackled using the tools that are widely available for theanalysis of spatial data.The approach is gradual and systematic; the initial focus is on themes that follow through the rest of the book. These key ideas are introduced, illustrated, and restated to ensure that readers develop a clear understanding of them.Beyond careful explanations, a clear understanding is fostered still further by numerous worked examples and case studies. In short, the stress is on first principles and reinforcement of key ideas throughout - on education rather than simply training, based on the conviction that users of spatialdata analysis tools should know something about how the approaches work rather than simply how to apply them.The Online Resource Centre to accompany Spatial Data Analysis features:For registered adopters of the book:* Figures from the book, available to download.For students:* Synthetic data and worked examples to enable readers to experiment with the methods described in the book.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .L56 2010ISBN: 9780199554324Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Elementary Statistics for Geographers by
Widely adopted, this uniquely comprehensive text introduces the techniques and concepts of statistics in human and physical geography. Unlike other texts that gloss over the conceptual foundations and focus solely on method, the book explains not only how to apply quantitative tools but also why and how they work. Students gain important skills for utilizing both conventional and spatial statistics in their own research, as well as for critically evaluating the work of others. Most chapters are self-contained in order to provide maximum flexibility in course design. Requiring no math beyond algebra, the book is well suited for undergraduate and beginning graduate-level courses. Helpful features include chapter summaries, suggestions for further reading, and practice problems at the end of each chapter. New to This Edition *Restructured and updated to reflect current developments in the field. *Five entirely new chapters cover graphical methods, spatial relationships, analysis of variance, extending regression analysis, and spatial analysis. *Features even more worked examples, many with accompanying graphics. *The companion website offers datasets and solutions to selected end-of-chapter exercises.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .B37 2009ISBN: 9781572304840Publication Date: 2009-03-19
Statistical Methods for Geography by
′The first edition of Statistical Methods for Geography provided an excellent introduction to the statistical analysis of spatial data. The second edition is even better - providing more material on probability and on descriptive statistics as well as more exercises. I would recommend this strongly as a text for introductory statistics courses in geography. It is currently the best on the market by far′ - A. Stewart Fotheringham, National University of Ireland, Maynooth The Second Edition of this bestselling text has been completely revised and updated. It provides a systematic introduction to the principal methods and techniques that students must understand to complete a module on statistics. Features new to this edition include: - more introductory material especially in a new chapter on descriptive statistics, and much-expanded introductory chapters; - more exercises and illustrative examples within the chapters; downloadable datasets with British and North American examples; - SPSS for Windows and EXCEL used to illustrate the applied use of the methods.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .R64 2006ISBN: 1412907950Publication Date: 2006-01-27
Statistical Techniques in Geographical Analysis by
Applying statistical techniques for geogrphical data collection and analysis can be a difficult and challenging process, especially for students who have not studied formal mathematics for many years. Assumning no more knowledge than basic GCSE maths, this book provides a gentle introduction on how to confidently approach a wide range of methids and apply them in either one or both of the leading software statistical packages, SPSS and MINITAB. Statistical Techniques in Geographic Analysis provides a significant number of practical examples tht ensure understanding and promote further development. The book covers the four key areas of univariate, bivariate, multivariate and spatial techniques. Statistical Techniques in Geographic Analysis also includes a CDROM that offers students the chance to practice their application of each method in either MINITAB or SPSS.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .W54 2004xISBN: 184312176XPublication Date: 2006-01-20
e-Books available through the UT Libraries
GIS for science : maps for saving the planet by
GIS for Science: Maps for Saving the Planet, Volume 3, highlights real-world examples of scientists creating maps about saving life on Earth and preserving biodiversity. With Earth and the natural world at risk from various forces, geographic information system (GIS) mapping is essential for driving scientifically conscious decision-making about how to protect life on Earth. In volume 3 of GIS for Science, explore a collection of maps from scientists working to save the planet through documenting and protecting its biodiversity. In this volume, learn how GIS and data mapping are used in tandem with global satellite observation forestry marine policy artificial intelligence conservation biology, and environmental education to help preserve and chronicle life on Earth. This volume also spotlights important global action initiatives incorporating conservation, including Half-Earth, 30 x 30, AI for Earth, the Blue Nature Alliance, and the Sustainable Development Solutions Network. The stories presented in this third volume are ideal for the professional scientist and conservationist and anyone interested in the intersection of technology and the conservation of nature. The book's contributors include scientists who are applying geographic data gathered from the full spectrum of remote sensing and on-site technologies. The maps and data are brought to life using ArcGIS® software and other spatial data science tools that support research, collaboration, spatial analysis, and science communication across many locations and within diverse communities. The stories shared in this book and its companion website present inspirational ideas so that GIS users and scientists can work toward preserving biodiversity and saving planet Earth before time runs out.
ISBN: 9781589486713Publication Date: 2021-11-23
Fundamentals of Spatial Analysis and Modelling by
This textbook provides comprehensive and in-depth explanations of all topics related to spatial analysis and spatiotemporal simulation, including how spatial data are acquired, represented digitally, and spatially aggregated. Also features the nature of space and how it is measured. Descriptive, explanatory, and inferential analyses are covered for point, line, and area data. It captures the latest developments in spatiotemporal simulation with cellular automata and agent-based modelling, and through practical examples discusses how spatial analysis and modelling can be implemented in different computing platforms. A much-needed textbook for a course at upper undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
ISBN: 9781003220527Publication Date: 2021-12-21
Modelling spatial and spatial-temporal data : a Bayesian approach by
Modelling Spatial and Spatial-Temporal Data: A Bayesian Approach is aimed at statisticians and quantitative social, economic and public health students and researchers who work with spatial and spatial-temporal data. It assumes a grounding in statistical theory up to the standard linear regression model. The book compares both hierarchical and spatial econometric modelling, providing both a reference and a teaching text with exercises in each chapter. The book provides a fully Bayesian, self-contained, treatment of the underlying statistical theory, with chapters dedicated to substantive applications. The book includes WinBUGS code and R code and all datasets are available online. Part I covers fundamental issues arising when modelling spatial and spatial-temporal data. Part II focuses on modelling cross-sectional spatial data and begins by describing exploratory methods that help guide the modelling process. There are then two theoretical chapters on Bayesian models and a chapter of applications. Two chapters follow on spatial econometric modelling, one describing different models, the other substantive applications. Part III discusses modelling spatial-temporal data, first introducing models for time series data. Exploratory methods for detecting different types of space-time interaction are presented followed by two chapters on the theory of space-time separable (without space-time interaction) and inseparable (with space-time interaction) models. An applications chapter includes: the evaluation of a policy intervention; analysing the temporal dynamics of crime hotspots; chronic disease surveillance; and testing for evidence of spatial spillovers in the spread of an infectious disease. A final chapter suggests some future directions and challenges.
ISBN: 9780429088933Publication Date: 2020-01-27
Spatial analysis with R : statistics, visualization, and computational methods by
In the five years since the publication of the first edition of Spatial Analysis: Statistics, Visualization, and Computational Methods, many new developments have taken shape regarding the implementation of new tools and methods for spatial analysis with R. The use and growth of artificial intelligence, machine learning and deep learning algorithms with a spatial perspective, and the interdisciplinary use of spatial analysis are all covered in this second edition along with traditional statistical methods and algorithms to provide a concept-based problem-solving learning approach to mastering practical spatial analysis. Spatial Analysis with R: Statistics, Visualization, and Computational Methods, Second Edition provides a balance between concepts and practicums of spatial statistics with a comprehensive coverage of the most important approaches to understand spatial data, analyze spatial relationships and patterns, and predict spatial processes. New in the Second Edition: Includes new practical exercises and worked-out examples using R Presents a wide range of hands-on spatial analysis worktables and lab exercises All chapters are revised and include new illustrations of different concepts using data from environmental and social sciences Expanded material on spatiotemporal methods, visual analytics methods, data science, and computational methods Explains big data, data management, and data mining This second edition of an established textbook, with new datasets, insights, excellent illustrations, and numerous examples with R, is perfect for senior undergraduate and first-year graduate students in geography and the geosciences.
ISBN: 9781000173451Publication Date: 2020-08-31
Introduction to spatial data analysis : remote sensing and GIS with open source software by
This is a book about how ecologists can integrate remote sensing and GIS in their research. It will allow readers to get started with the application of remote sensing and to understand its potential and limitations. Using practical examples, the book covers all necessary steps from planning field campaigns to deriving ecologically relevant information through remote sensing and modelling of species distributions. An Introduction to Spatial Data Analysis introduces spatial data handling using the open source software Quantum GIS (QGIS). In addition, readers will be guided through their first steps in the R programming language. The authors explain the fundamentals of spatial data handling and analysis, empowering the reader to turn data acquired in the field into actual spatial data. Readers will learn to process and analyse spatial data of different types and interpret the data and results. After finishing this book, readers will be able to address questions such as "What is the distance to the border of the protected area?", "Which points are located close to a road?", "Which fraction of land cover types exist in my study area?" using different software and techniques. This book is for novice spatial data users and does not assume any prior knowledge of spatial data itself or practical experience working with such data sets. Readers will likely include student and professional ecologists, geographers and any environmental scientists or practitioners who need to collect, visualize and analyse spatial data. The software used is the widely applied open source scientific programs QGIS and R. All scripts and data sets used in the book will be provided online at book.ecosens.org. This book covers specific methods including: what to consider before collecting in situ data how to work with spatial data collected in situ the difference between raster and vector data how to acquire further vector and raster data how to create relevant environmental information how to combine and analyse in situ and remote sensing data how to create useful maps for field work and presentations how to use QGIS and R for spatial analysis how to develop analysis scripts
ISBN: 9781784272142Publication Date: 2020-09-14
GIS : research methods by
This book provides a non-technical overview of the science and tools behind geographic information systems and geographic information science for researchers, students and academics who do not have a GIS or Geography background. The book covers the history of GIS, from John Snow's Cholera map (1854) right up to today's software and data and cutting-edge analysis techniques. Bearman goes on to cover how to find, use and evaluate the latest data sets to critiquing existing maps, highlighting limitations and common mistakes. A variety of different GIS methods including Google Maps, GPS, big data, context and choropleth maps are discussed and the pros and cons of each are highlighted allowing you to choose the appropriate method or piece of software for your own research. This is the ideal book for anyone thinking about using GIS in their own research.
ISBN: 9781350129566Publication Date: 2020-12-10
GIS for science : applying mapping and spatial analytics. Volume 2 by
Merging the rigor of the scientific method with the technologies of GIS GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 brings to life a continuing collection of current, real-world examples of scientists using geographic information systems (GIS) and spatial data science to expand our understand of the world. Co-edited by Esri Chief Scientist Dawn Wright and Esri Technology Writer and Information Designer Christian Harder and with a foreword by Pulitzer Prize winner Jared Diamond, these case studies are part of a global effort to find ways to sustain a livable environment for all life on this planet. The contributors of GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 represent a cross section of scientists who employ data gathered from satellites, aircraft, ships, drones, and myriad other remote-sensing and on-site technologies. This collected data is brought to life with GIS and the broader realm of spatial data science to study a range of issues relevant to our understanding of planet Earth--including epidemiology in light of the COVID-19 pandemic; sustainable precision agriculture; predicting geological processes below the surface of the earth; leveraging GIS near-realtime disaster response, recovery, resilience and reporting; the latest innovations in monitoring air quality; and more. Their stories also show in very practical terms how ArcGIS software and the ArcGIS Online cloud-based system work as a comprehensive geospatial platform to support research, collaboration, spatial analysis, and science communication across many settings and communities. A rich supplementary web site--gisforscience.com--includes actual data along with additional maps, videos, web apps, story maps, workflows and snippets of computer code, including Python notebooks, for readers curious to learn more. Written for professional scientists, the swelling ranks of citizen scientists, and anyone interested in science and geography, GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 offers wonderful examples of our impulse to dream, discover, and understand, as coupled with the rigor and discipline of the scientific method and the foundation of geography. See how scientists from a variety of disciplines are solving some of the world's most pressing problems using geographic information systems--GIS.
ISBN: 9781589485877Publication Date: 2020-12-22
Learning geospatial analysis with Python : perform GIS processing tasks and remote sensing data analysis using Python 3.7 by
Geospatial analysis is used in almost every domain you can think of, including defense, farming, and even medicine. With this systematic guide, you'll get started with geographic information system (GIS) and remote sensing analysis using the latest features in Python.
This book will take you through GIS techniques, geodatabases, geospatial raster data, and much more using the latest built-in tools and libraries in Python 3.7. You'll learn everything you need to know about using software packages or APIs and generic algorithms that can be used for different situations. Furthermore, you'll learn how to apply simple Python GIS geospatial processes to a variety of problems, and work with remote sensing data.
By the end of the book, you'll be able to build a generic corporate system, which can be implemented in any organization to manage customer support requests and field support personnel.
ISBN: 1789957931Publication Date: 2019
Spatio-temporal statistics with R by
The world is becoming increasingly complex, with larger quantities of data available to be analyzed. It so happens that much of these "big data" that are available are spatio-temporal in nature, meaning that they can be indexed by their spatial locations and time stamps. Spatio-Temporal Statistics with R provides an accessible introduction to statistical analysis of spatio-temporal data, with hands-on applications of the statistical methods using R Labs found at the end of each chapter. The book: Gives a step-by-step approach to analyzing spatio-temporal data, starting with visualization, then statistical modelling, with an emphasis on hierarchical statistical models and basis function expansions, and finishing with model evaluation Provides a gradual entry to the methodological aspects of spatio-temporal statistics Provides broad coverage of using R as well as "R Tips" throughout. Features detailed examples and applications in end-of-chapter Labs Features "Technical Notes" throughout to provide additional technical detail where relevant Supplemented by a website featuring the associated R package, data, reviews, errata, a discussion forum, and more The book fills a void in the literature and available software, providing a bridge for students and researchers alike who wish to learn the basics of spatio-temporal statistics. It is written in an informal style and functions as a down-to-earth introduction to the subject. Any reader familiar with calculus-based probability and statistics, and who is comfortable with basic matrix-algebra representations of statistical models, would find this book easy to follow. The goal is to give as many people as possible the tools and confidence to analyze spatio-temporal data.
ISBN: 9781138711136Publication Date: 2019-02-18
Geospatial Data Science Quick Start Guide : Effective Techniques for Performing Smarter Geospatial Analysis Using Location Intelligence. by
Discover the power of location data to build effective, intelligent data models with Geospatial ecosystems Key Features Manipulate location-based data and create intelligent geospatial data models Build effective location recommendation systems used by popular companies such as Uber A hands-on guide to help you consume spatial data and parallelize GIS operations effectively Book Description Data scientists, who have access to vast data streams, are a bit myopic when it comes to intrinsic and extrinsic location-based data and are missing out on the intelligence it can provide to their models. This book demonstrates effective techniques for using the power of data science and geospatial intelligence to build effective, intelligent data models that make use of location-based data to give useful predictions and analyses. This book begins with a quick overview of the fundamentals of location-based data and how techniques such as Exploratory Data Analysis can be applied to it. We then delve into spatial operations such as computing distances, areas, extents, centroids, buffer polygons, intersecting geometries, geocoding, and more, which adds additional context to location data. Moving ahead, you will learn how to quickly build and deploy a geo-fencing system using Python. Lastly, you will learn how to leverage geospatial analysis techniques in popular recommendation systems such as collaborative filtering and location-based recommendations, and more. By the end of the book, you will be a rockstar when it comes to performing geospatial analysis with ease. What you will learn Learn how companies now use location data Set up your Python environment and install Python geospatial packages Visualize spatial data as graphs Extract geometry from spatial data Perform spatial regression from scratch Build web applications which dynamically references geospatial data Who this book is for Data Scientists who would like to leverage location-based data and want to use location-based intelligence in their data models will find this book useful. This book is also for GIS developers who wish to incorporate data analysis in their projects. Knowledge of Python programming and some basic understanding of data analysis are all you need to get the most out of this book.
ISBN: 9781789809411Publication Date: 2019-05-31
Spatial analysis using big data : methods and urban applications by
Spatial Analysis Using Big Data: Methods and Urban Applications helps readers understand the most powerful, state-of-the-art spatial econometric methods, focusing particularly on urban research problems. The methods represent a cluster of potentially transformational socio-economic modeling tools that allow researchers to capture real-time and high-resolution information to potentially reveal new socioeconomic dynamics within urban populations. Each method, written by leading exponents of the discipline, uses real-time urban big data to solve research problems in spatial science. Urban applications of these methods are provided in unsurpassed depth, with chapters on surface temperature mapping, view value analysis, community clustering and spatial-social networks, among many others. Reviews some of the most powerful and challenging modern methods to study big data problems in spatial science Provides computer codes written in R, MATLAB and Python to help implement methods Applies these methods to common problems observed in urban and regional economics
ISBN: 9780128131329Publication Date: 2019-11-03
Manual of Digital Earth by
This open access book offers a summary of the development of Digital Earth over the past twenty years. By reviewing the initial vision of Digital Earth, the evolution of that vision, the relevant key technologies, and the role of Digital Earth in helping people respond to global challenges, this publication reveals how and why Digital Earth is becoming vital for acquiring, processing, analysing and mining the rapidly growing volume of global data sets about the Earth. The main aspects of Digital Earth covered here include: Digital Earth platforms, remote sensing and navigation satellites, processing and visualizing geospatial information, geospatial information infrastructures, big data and cloud computing, transformation and zooming, artificial intelligence, Internet of Things, and social media. Moreover, the book covers in detail the multi-layered/multi-faceted roles of Digital Earth in response to sustainable development goals, climate changes, and mitigating disasters, the applications of Digital Earth (such as digital city and digital heritage), the citizen science in support of Digital Earth, the economic value of Digital Earth, and so on. This book also reviews the regional and national development of Digital Earth around the world, and discusses the role and effect of education and ethics. Lastly, it concludes with a summary of the challenges and forecasts the future trends of Digital Earth. By sharing case studies and a broad range of general and scientific insights into the science and technology of Digital Earth, this book offers an essential introduction for an ever-growing international audience.
ISBN: 9789813299146Publication Date: 2019-11-28- Geospatial Analysis: A Comprehensive Guide to Principles, Techniques and Software Tools by
Geospatial Analysis (6th edition) provides a compehensive guide to concepts, methods and tools, with many examples being provided using a variety of software tools such as ArcGIS, Idrisi, Grass, Surfer and many others to clarify the concepts discussed. Topics covered in detail include: Geospatial analysis concepts Analytical methodologies and model building Core components of geospatial analysis, including distance and directional analysis, geometrical processing, map algebra, and grid models Exploratory Spatial and Spatio-temporal Data Analysis (ESDA, ESTDA) and spatial statistics, including spatial autocorrelation and spatial regression Surface analysis, including surface form and flow analysis, gridding and interpolation methods, and visibility analysis Network and locational analysis, including shortest path calculation, travelling salesman problems, facility location and arc routing Geocomputational methods, including agent-based modelling, artifical neural networks and evolutionary computing Big Data - lessons for researchers
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.23 .D4 2018ISBN: 9781912556038Publication Date: 2018-06-11
Data Science for Dummies by
Discover how data science can help you gain in-depth insight into your business - the easy way! Jobs in data science abound, but few people have the data science skills needed to fill these increasingly important roles. Data Science For Dummies is the perfect starting point for IT professionals and students who want a quick primer on all areas of the expansive data science space. With a focus on business cases, the book explores topics in big data, data science, and data engineering, and how these three areas are combined to produce tremendous value. If you want to pick-up the skills you need to begin a new career or initiate a new project, reading this book will help you understand what technologies, programming languages, and mathematical methods on which to focus. While this book serves as a wildly fantastic guide through the broad, sometimes intimidating field of big data and data science, it is not an instruction manual for hands-on implementation. Here's what to expect: Provides a background in big data and data engineering before moving on to data science and how it's applied to generate value Includes coverage of big data frameworks like Hadoop, MapReduce, Spark, MPP platforms, and NoSQL Explains machine learning and many of its algorithms as well as artificial intelligence and the evolution of the Internet of Things Details data visualization techniques that can be used to showcase, summarize, and communicate the data insights you generate It's a big, big data world out there--let Data Science For Dummies help you harness its power and gain a competitive edge for your organization.
ISBN: 9781119327646Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Statistical Analysis of Geographical Data : An Introduction by
Statistics Analysis of Geographical Data: An Introduction provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the theory and practice of statistical analysis in geography. It covers a wide range of topics including graphical and numerical description of datasets, probability, calculation of confidence intervals, hypothesis testing, collection and analysis of data using analysis of variance and linear regression. Taking a clear and logical approach, this book examines real problems with real data from the geographical literature in order to illustrate the important role that statistics play in geographical investigations. Presented in a clear and accessible manner the book includes recent, relevant examples, designed to enhance the reader's understanding.
ISBN: 9781118525142Publication Date: 2017-03-08
Adjustment computations : spatial data analysis by
The definitive guide to bringing accuracy to measurement, updated and supplemented Adjustment Computations is the classic textbook for spatial information analysis and adjustment computations, providing clear, easy-to-understand instruction backed by real-world practicality. From the basic terms and fundamentals of errors to specific adjustment computations and spatial information analysis, this book covers the methodologies and tools that bring accuracy to surveying, GNSS, GIS, and other spatial technologies. Broad in scope yet rich in detail, the discussion avoids overly-complex theory in favor of practical techniques for students and professionals. This new sixth edition has been updated to align with the latest developments in this rapidly expanding field, and includes new video lessons and updated problems, including worked problems in STATS, MATRIX, ADJUST, and MathCAD. All measurement produces some amount of error; whether from human mistakes, instrumentation inaccuracy, or environmental features, these errors must be accounted and adjusted for when accuracy is critical. This book describes how errors are identified, analyzed, measured, and corrected, with a focus on least squares adjustment--the most rigorous methodology available. Apply industry-standard methodologies to error analysis and adjustment Translate your skills to the real-world with instruction focused on the practical Master the fundamentals as well as specific computations and analysis Strengthen your understanding of critical topics on the Fundamentals in Surveying Licensing Exam As spatial technologies expand in both use and capability, so does our need for professionals who understand how to check and adjust for errors in spatial data. Conceptual knowledge is one thing, but practical skills are what counts when accuracy is at stake; Adjustment Computations provides the real-world training you need to identify, analyze, and correct for potentially crucial errors.
ISBN: 9781119390312Publication Date: 2017-09-29
Geospatial Data Science Techniques and Applications by
Data science has recently gained much attention for a number of reasons, and among them is Big Data. Scientists (from almost all disciplines including physics, chemistry, biology, sociology, among others) and engineers (from all fields including civil, environmental, chemical, mechanical, among others) are faced with challenges posed by data volume, variety, and velocity, or Big Data. This book is designed to highlight the unique characteristics of geospatial data, demonstrate the need to different approaches and techniques for obtaining new knowledge from raw geospatial data, and present select state-of-the-art geospatial data science techniques and how they are applied to various geoscience problems.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217.G46 K34 2018ISBN: 9781351855983Publication Date: 2017-10-24
Risk terrain modeling : crime prediction and risk reduction by
Imagine using an evidence-based risk management model that enables researchers and practitioners alike to analyze the spatial dynamics of crime, allocate resources, and implement custom crime and risk reduction strategies that are transparent, measurable, and effective. Risk Terrain Modeling (RTM) diagnoses the spatial attractors of criminal behavior and makes accurate forecasts of where crime will occur at the microlevel. RTM informs decisions about how the combined factors that contribute to criminal behavior can be targeted, connections to crime can be monitored, spatial vulnerabilities can be assessed, and actions can be taken to reduce worst effects. As a diagnostic method, RTM offers a statistically valid way to identify vulnerable places. To learn more, visit http://www.riskterrainmodeling.com and begin using RTM with the many free tutorials and resources.
ISBN: 9780520958807Publication Date: 2016-06-28
Statistics for Spatial Data by
The Wiley Classics Library consists of selected books that have been made more accessible to consumers in an effort to increase global appeal and general circulation. With these new unabridged softcover volumes, Wiley hopes to extend the lives of these works by making them available to future generations of statisticians, mathematicians, and scientists. Spatial statistics -- analyzing spatial data through statistical models -- has proven exceptionally versatile, encompassing problems ranging from the microscopic to the astronomic. However, for the scientist and engineer faced only with scattered and uneven treatments of the subject in the scientific literature, learning how to make practical use of spatial statistics in day-to-day analytical work is very difficult. Designed exclusively for scientists eager to tap into the enormous potential of this analytical tool and upgrade their range of technical skills, Statistics for Spatial Data is a comprehensive, single-source guide to both the theory and applied aspects of spatial statistical methods. The hard-cover edition was hailed by Mathematical Reviews as an "excellent book which will become a basic reference." This paper-back edition of the 1993 edition, is designed to meet the many technological challenges facing the scientist and engineer. Concentrating on the three areas of geostatistical data, lattice data, and point patterns, the book sheds light on the link between data and model, revealing how design, inference, and diagnostics are an outgrowth of that link. It then explores new methods to reveal just how spatial statistical models can be used to solve important problems in a host of areas in science and engineering. Discussion includes: Exploratory spatial data analysis Spectral theory for stationary processes Spatial scale Simulation methods for spatial processes Spatial bootstrapping Statistical image analysis and remote sensing Computational aspects of model fitting Application of models to disease mapping Designed to accommodate the practical needs of the professional, it features a unified and common notation for its subject as well as many detailed examples woven into the text, numerous illustrations (including graphs that illuminate the theory discussed) and over 1,000 references. Fully balancing theory with applications, Statistics for Spatial Data, Revised Edition is an exceptionally clear guide on making optimal use of one of the ascendant analytical tools of the decade, one that has begun to capture the imagination of professionals in biology, earth science, civil, electrical, and agricultural engineering, geography, epidemiology, and ecology.
ISBN: 9781119115175Publication Date: 2015-03-23
GIS research methods : incorporating spatial perspectives by
Few if any books have been written about social science research methods and GIS in an ArcGIS environment. This books claims that niche.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .S74 2015ISBN: 9781589484047Publication Date: 2015-03-30
BIG DATA : techniques and technologies in geoinformatics. by
Big data has always been a major challenge in geoinformatics as geospatial data come in various types and formats, new geospatial data are acquired very fast, and geospatial databases are inherently very large. And while there have been advances in hardware and software for handling big data, they often fall short of handling geospatial big data ef
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.2 .B54 2014ISBN: 9780429168741Publication Date: 2014-02-18
Scale in Spatial Information and Analysis by
Now ubiquitous in modern life, spatial data present great opportunities to transform many of the processes on which we base our everyday lives. However, not only do these data depend on the scale of measurement, but also handling these data (e.g., to make suitable maps) requires that we account for the scale of measurement explicitly. Scale in Spatial Information and Analysis describes the scales of measurement and scales of spatial variation that exist in the measured data. It provides you with a series of tools for handling spatial data while accounting for scale. The authors detail a systematic strategy for handling scale issues from geographic reality, through measurements, to resultant spatial data and their analyses. They also explore a process-pattern paradigm in approaching scale issues. This is well reflected, for example, in chapters dealing with terrain analysis, in which scale in terrain derivatives is described in relation to the processing involved in the derivation of specific terrain variables from elevation data, and area classes, which are viewed as driven by class-forming covariates. Lastly, this book provides coverage of some of the issues related to scale that are relatively under-represented in the literature, such as the effects of scale on information content in remotely sensed images, and the interaction between scale and uncertainty that is increasingly important for spatial information and analysis. By taking a rigorous, scientific approach to scale and its various meanings in relation to the geographic world, the book alleviates some of the frustration caused by dealing with issues of scale. While past research has led to an increasing number of journal articles and a few books dedicated to scale modeling and change of scale, this book helps you to develop coherent strategies for scale modeling, highlighting applicability for a variety of fields, from geomatic engineering and geoinformatics to environmental modeling.
ISBN: 9781439829370Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Mathematical Techniques in GIS by
The second edition of a bestseller, Mathematical Techniques in GIS demystifies the mathematics used in the manipulation of spatially related data. The author takes a step-by-step approach through the basics of arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry and calculus that underpin the management of such data. He then explores the use of matrices, de
ISBN: 9781466595552Publication Date: 2014-05-15
Computing in Geographic Information Systems by
Capable of acquiring large volumes of data through sensors deployed in air, land, and sea, and making this information readily available in a continuous time frame, the science of geographical information system (GIS) is rapidly evolving. This popular information system is emerging as a platform for scientific visualization, simulation, and computa
ISBN: 9781482223163Publication Date: 2014-07-10
Quantitative Methods and Socio-Economic Applications in GIS by
The second edition of a bestseller, Quantitative Methods and Socio-Economic Applications in GIS (previously titled Quantitative Methods and Applications in GIS) details applications of quantitative methods in social science, planning, and public policy with a focus on spatial perspectives. The book integrates GIS and quantitative (computational) me
ISBN: 9780429190261Publication Date: 2014-12-19
Learning R for geospatial analysis : leverage the power of R to elegantly manage crucial geospatial analysis tasks by
This book is intended for anyone who wants to learn how to efficiently analyze geospatial data with R, including GIS analysts, researchers, educators, and students who work with spatial data and who are interested in expanding their capabilities through programming. The book assumes familiarity with the basic geographic information concepts (such as spatial coordinates), but no prior experience with R and/or programming is required. By focusing on R exclusively, you will not need to depend on any external software-a working installation of R is all that is necessary to begin.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks QA76.73.R3 D67 2014ISBN: 9781783984374Publication Date: 2014-12-26
Spatial mathematics : theory and practice through mapping by
In terms of statistics, GIS offers many connections. With GIS, data are gathered, displayed, summarized, examined, and interpreted to discover patterns. Spatial Mathematics: Theory and Practice through Mapping uses GIS as a platform to teach mathematical concepts and skills through visualization of numbers. It examines theory and practice from disp
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.23 .A77 2014ISBN: 9781466505339Publication Date: 2013-06-26
Progress in Geospatial Analysis by
This book examines current trends and developments in the methods and applications of geospatial analysis and highlights future development prospects. It provides a comprehensive discussion of remote sensing- and geographical information system (GIS)-based data processing techniques, current practices, theories, models, and applications of geospatial analysis. Data acquisition and processing techniques such as remote sensing image selections, classifications, accuracy assessments, models of GIS data, and spatial modeling processes are the focus of the first part of the book. In the second part, theories and methods related to fuzzy sets, spatial weights and prominence, geographically weighted regression, weight of evidence, Markov-cellular automata, artificial neural network, agent-based simulation, multi-criteria evaluation, analytic hierarchy process, and a GIS network model are included. Part three presents selected best practices in geospatial analysis. The chapters, all by expert authors, are arranged so that readers who are new to the field will gain an overview and important insights. Those readers who are already practitioners will gain from the advanced and updated materials and state-of-the-art developments in geospatial analysis.
ISBN: 9784431540007Publication Date: 2012-07-06- Spatial Statistics : GeoSpatial Information Modeling and Thematic Mapping. by
Geospatial information modeling and mapping has become an important tool for the investigation and management of natural resources at the landscape scale. Spatial Statistics: GeoSpatial Information Modeling and Thematic Mapping reviews the types and applications of geospatial information data, such as remote sensing, geographic information systems (GIS), and GPS as well as their integration into landscape-scale geospatial statistical models and maps. The book explores how to extract information from remotely sensed imagery, GIS, and GPS, and how to combine this with field data¿vegetation, soil, and environmental¿to produce a spatial model that can be reconstructed and displayed using GIS software. Readers learn the requirements and limitations of each geospatial modeling and mapping tool. Case studies with real-life examples illustrate important applications of the models. Topics covered in this book include: An overview of the geospatial information sciences and technology and spatial statistics Sampling methods and applications, including probability sampling and nonrandom sampling, and issues to consider in sampling and plot design Fine and coarse scale variability Spatial sampling schemes and spatial pattern Linear and spatial correlation statistics, including Moran¿s I, Geary¿s C, cross-correlation statistics, and inverse distance weighting Geospatial statistics analysis using stepwise regression, ordinary least squares (OLS), variogram, kriging, spatial auto-regression, binary classification trees, cokriging, and geospatial models for presence and absence data How to use R statistical software to work on statistical analyses and case studies, and to develop a geospatial statistical model The book includes practical examples and laboratory exercises using ArcInfo, ArcView, ArcGIS, and other popular software for geospatial modeling. It is accessible to readers from various fields, without requiring advanced knowledge of geospatial information sciences or quantitative methods.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .K35 2011ISBN: 9781420069761Publication Date: 2011-05-09
Spatial Data Analysis : Models, Methods and Techniques by
The availability of spatial databases and widespread use of geographic information systems has stimulated increasing interest in the analysis and modelling of spatial data. Spatial data analysis focuses on detecting patterns, and on exploring and modelling relationships between them in order to understand the processes responsible for their emergence. In this way, the role of space is emphasised , and our understanding of the working and representation of space, spatial patterns, and processes is enhanced. In applied research, the recognition of the spatial dimension often yields different and more meaningful results and helps to avoid erroneous conclusions. This book aims to provide an introduction into spatial data analysis to graduates interested in applied statistical research. The text has been structured from a data-driven rather than a theory-based perspective, and focuses on those models, methods and techniques which are both accessible and of practical use for graduate students. Exploratory techniques as well as more formal model-based approaches are presented, and both area data and origin-destination flow data are considered.
ISBN: 9783642217203Publication Date: 2011-08-05- Spatial data analysis : an introduction for GIS users by
What is the shortest route between one point and another in a road network? Where is the incidence of disease the highest? How does rainfall correlate with altitude? How does the concentration of a pollutant vary in space, and where do high concentrations correlate with densely populatedareas?Geographical or spatial data play a vital role in many parts of daily life. We are dependent on information about where things are located and about the attributes of those things, either directly, as in the use of a map for navigating around a city, or indirectly, where we use resources like wateror gas.Making use of spatial data requires a whole set of approaches to extract information from those data and make them useful. Underpinning these approaches is the analysis of data.Spatial Data Analysis introduces key principles about spatial data and provides guidance on methods for their exploration; it provides a set of key ideas or frameworks that will give the reader knowledge of the kinds of problems that can be tackled using the tools that are widely available for theanalysis of spatial data.The approach is gradual and systematic; the initial focus is on themes that follow through the rest of the book. These key ideas are introduced, illustrated, and restated to ensure that readers develop a clear understanding of them.Beyond careful explanations, a clear understanding is fostered still further by numerous worked examples and case studies. In short, the stress is on first principles and reinforcement of key ideas throughout - on education rather than simply training, based on the conviction that users of spatialdata analysis tools should know something about how the approaches work rather than simply how to apply them.The Online Resource Centre to accompany Spatial Data Analysis features:For registered adopters of the book:* Figures from the book, available to download.For students:* Synthetic data and worked examples to enable readers to experiment with the methods described in the book.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.3 .L56 2010ISBN: 9780199554324Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Handbook of Spatial Statistics by
Assembling a collection of very prominent researchers in the field, the Handbook of Spatial Statistics presents a comprehensive treatment of both classical and state-of-the-art aspects of this maturing area. It takes a unified, integrated approach to the material, providing cross-references among chapters.The handbook begins with a historical intro
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks QA278.2 .H374 2010ISBN: 9781420072884Publication Date: 2010-03-19
Local Models for Spatial Analysis by
Written in recognition of developments in spatial data analysis that focused on differences between places, the first edition of Local Models for Spatial Analysis broke new ground with its focus on local modelling methods. Reflecting the continued growth and increased interest in this area, the second edition describes a wide range of methods which
ISBN: 9781439829233Publication Date: 2010-10-13
Principles of Modeling Uncertainties in Spatial Data and Spatial Analyses by
When compared to classical sciences such as math, with roots in prehistory, and physics, with roots in antiquity, geographical information science (GISci) is the new kid on the block. Its theoretical foundations are therefore still developing and data quality and uncertainty modeling for spatial data and spatial analysis is an important branch of t
ISBN: 9781420059281Publication Date: 2009-09-30
The Sage Handbook of Spatial Analysis by
The widespread use of Geographical Information Systems (GIS) has significantly increased the demand for knowledge about spatial analytical techniques across a range of disciplines. As growing numbers of researchers realise they are dealing with spatial data, the demand for specialised statistical and mathematical methods designed to deal with spatial data is undergoing a rapid increase. Responding to this demand, The Handbook of Spatial Analysis is a comprehensive and authoritative discussion of issues and techniques in the field of Spatial Data Analysis. Its principal focus is on: why the analysis of spatial data needs separate treatment the main areas of spatial analysis the key debates within spatial analysis examples of the application of various spatial analytical techniques problems in spatial analysis areas for future research Aimed at an international audience of academics, The Handbook of Spatial Analysis will also prove essential to graduate level students and researchers in government agencies and the private sector."
ISBN: 1283880032Publication Date: 2008-01-01
