Agriculture & Natural Resources Librarian
2407 River Drive, A113D5
Knoxville, TN 37996
Contact Pendergrass Library
- Email: agvetlib@utk.edu
- Text: 865-320-9885
Best Bet Databases
These databases are your "best bets" for finding articles related to various topics within Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries.
- Birds of the WorldComprehensive life histories for all bird species and families with updates from leading ornithologists.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts
This link opens in a new window
Provides research information on agriculture, environment, leisure/tourism, and related applied life sciences. Search using CABI indexes including CAB Thesaurus, CABICODES, and subject descriptors. Coverage from 1910 to present.
- CABI Compendium Invasive SpeciesPeer-reviewed scientific information on all aspects of invasive species, both plant and animal. Includes: datasheets, maps, article abstracts and some full text articles.
- ScienceDirect
A multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters published by Elsevier.
- NIFA Data Gateway
The Data Gateway enables users to find funding data, metrics, and information about research, education, and extension projects that have received grant awards from NIFA. In October 2024 will house all the project information formerly to be found on the Current Research Information System (CRIS) site.
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
- Zoological RecordTaxonomic references dating from 1864 to current. Scope covers biodiversity and the environment and taxonomy and veterinary sciences.
Other Useful Databases
Here are a few databases to begin searching for forestry, wildlife, and fisheries research. You may have to search different databases depending on your topic. These are a good starting point. Don't hesitate to reach out with questions about your research and using databases. Clicking the links will open new tabs.
- AGRICOLACovers publications in agriculture and other related fields from 1970 to present. Also available as a free database from USDA.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionCovers articles, proceedings, and reports in agriculture, environmental science, and pollution management from 1960 to present, as well as Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
- Credo Reference
A collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics to start your research.
- Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
Index to literature on fisheries, aquaculture, and related topics from 1971 to present. Companion database to Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide.
Online Access - 1 simultaneous user
- TreesearchTreesearch is an online system for sharing free, full text publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Included in Treesearch are scholarly works published by the agency as well as those published by others, including papers appearing in journals, conference proceedings, or books. All publications appearing in Treesearch are based on peer reviewed research to make sure they provide the best scientific information possible.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies WorldwideAn index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. It covers many wildlife subjects including individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, ecotourism and zoology. Coverage dating back to 1892.
Finding Theses and Dissertations
- UTK Dissertations & Theses, TRACE
The digitized collection of dissertations and theses completed at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ University of Tennessee - KnoxvilleIncludes many UTK dissertations and theses from 1938 through 2006. Abstracts are available from 1980, full-text for most beginning in 1995. See Trace for more.