Agriculture & Natural Resources Librarian
2407 River Drive, A113D5
Knoxville, TN 37996
Contact Pendergrass Library
- Email: agvetlib@utk.edu
- Text: 865-320-9885
Accessing Databases
Listed below are databases with specific subject coverage that you should search depending on your topic. Clicking the links will open new tabs.
Please visit this FAQ for instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
If you have questions about access to the databases you can use this link to chat with a librarian or to view FAQs about the library.
If you run into a problem accessing any of the databases you can use this form to submit feedback, or contact via email, eproblems@utk.edu.
Getting Started
Here are a few databases to begin searching for food science research. You may have to search different databases depending on your topic. These are a good starting point. Don't hesitate to reach out with questions about your research and using databases. Clicking the links will open new tabs.
- Credo Reference
A collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics to start your research.
- Food Science and Technology AbstractsWorldwide coverage of scientific and technological literature relating to food and health. Alongside peer-reviewed journal articles, FSTA includes trade publications, books, reviews, conference proceedings, reports, patents, and International Standards (ISO).
Tutorials - Scopus
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
- Gale In Context. Opposing Viewpoints
Provides overviews and pro/con essays on social issues.
Subject Databases
Here are databases with specific subject coverage that you should search depending on your topic. Clicking the links will open new tabs.
- Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC INTERNATIONALAnalytical methods for both agricultural and food products. Full-text searchable database of thousands of collaboratively tested methods. This resource does not currently work on Firefox.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Provides research information on agriculture, environment, leisure/tourism, and related applied life sciences. Search using CABI indexes including CAB Thesaurus, CABICODES, and subject descriptors. Coverage from 1910 to present.
- BIOSIS Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
An index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Coverage from 1926 to present.
- SciFinder-n
You must register for an account using your utk.edu or utsi.edu email.
Information on chemical substances and its related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, properties, and more. Includes visualization and analysis tools. - ScienceDirect
A multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters published by Elsevier.
- AGRIS
Free agricultural database with an international focus produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) from 1975 to present.
- AGRICOLACovers publications in agriculture and other related fields from 1970 to present. Also available as a free database from USDA.
- NIFA Data Gateway
The Data Gateway enables users to find funding data, metrics, and information about research, education, and extension projects that have received grant awards from NIFA. In October 2024 will house all the project information formerly to be found on the Current Research Information System (CRIS) site.
- Food Safety Research Projects DatabaseThe Food Safety Research Information Office (FSRIO) operates the Research Projects Database RPD). The RPD tracks food safety research that is funded by FSRIO-partner agencies (identified as Funding Sources below). The funding agencies are listed in the order of funded projects. The RPD is also searchable by the Category of the funded projects and the primary Commodity group of the funded project.