A
Title: Creator: James Cutbush, John Bidwell, Henry Morris, and Bird & Bull Press
Date: 1990
Publisher/Press: New Castle, DE : Oak Knoll Books
Call Number: TS1095.U6 C84 1990
Subject: Papermaking in America, handmade paper
Description: Of 180 copies, 10, numbered A-J, include original specimens of Gilpin and Robeson handmade papers; 35 copies, numbered 1-35 include a specimen of Robeson handmade paper. This copy is No. 30.
Bound in grey paper boards printed in red; red cloth shelfback with grey leather label stamped in gold. In large (34 x 22 cm.) red cloth-covered box with specimen in pocket.
Title: A Gil Blas in California.
Creator: Alexandre Dumas, Marguerite Eyer Wilbur
Date: 1933
Publisher/Press: Los Angeles : The Primavera Press
Call Number: F865 .D882
Subject: California gold discovery
Description: small engravings at chapter heads
Title: Animal Mineral Vegetable VII
Creator: Alicia Bailey
Date: 2019
Publisher/Press: Aurora, Colorado : Alicia Bailey
Call Number: N7433.4.B25 A557 2019
Subject: flowers, butterflies, moths, specimens
Description: "The mica pages in this six-page book use mica that has been mined far below the surface. It has naturally occurring black marks that mimic gestural ink marks. Aside from the black markings it is exceptionally clear. The pages are round, trimmed at one edge to form a straight edge for binding with inclusions of snake shed, feathers, seeds, butterfly and moth specimens from an inherited archive, plant matter (leaves/needles/seeds) gathered during my outdoor adventures. Different from other books in the series, these pages are wrapped with Moriki paper instead of copper foil. The pages are bound across the spine with shaped basswood covers. The covers are adorned with stitched on ceramic beads over mica washers. Presented in a custom box with a cast acrylic platform, under which 12 shell are housed."
Title: A Quarterly Farming Journal for Alabamians
Creator: Annie Herlocker
Date: 2009
Publisher/Press: Tuscaloosa : Paper Revival Press
Call Number: TX715.2.S68 H47 2009
Subject: Alabama, cooking, family farms, south
Description: "The purpose of printing this journal is to provide a tool for anyone on the hunt for local foods--or local recipes."--Prelim. " ... printed and bound by Annie Stalling ... The text is Optima and was letterpress printed from photopolymer plates on French construction paper."
Title: Atlanta 1945+50
Creator: Ohtake, Shinro and Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games
Date: 1996
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .O415 A8 1996
Subject: People, Abstract Concepts, Collage, Photography
Description: A bound collection of printed-out multimedia collages, overlayed with facsimiles of photographs, and an extra special small book hidden inside the pages.
B
Title: Beautiful Bookbindings : a Thousand Years of the Bookbinder's Art
Creator: Marks, P. J. M.
Date: 2011
Publisher/Press: London : British Library ; New Castle, DE : Oak Knoll Press
Call Number: Z269 .M368 201
Subject: bookbinding, books on binding art, hardcover
Description: "Visual overview of 100 bookbindings designed in the last thousand years, examining the history and technique of the craft. Includes work by binders Mearne, Padeloup, Payne, Simier, and others. Illustrated with color photographs from The British Library"--Provided by publisher.
Title: Between the Sheets
Creator: Spector, Buzz
Date Published: 2003
Publisher: Ink Shop Printmaking Center : Olive Branch Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .S741 B56 2003
Subject: folded paper
Description: "The Japanese fold makes for pages sewn together at their edges, each enclosing an interior space which is almost, but not quite, inaccessible to readers"--Page [3]. Published in an edition of 40, plus 12 hors commerce, lettered A-L. This is 38/40.5
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date Published: 1992
Publisher: Santa Cruz, California : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: TS1095.S89 T56 1992
Subject: Papermaking, Sweden, Typefaces
Description: "One hundred nineteen copies of this book were printed on paper handmade by Peter Thomas in 1983, using white and black rags with blue pigment. The sample papers were all made at the Lessebo hand paper mill, the first was made in 1990 & the rest were made sometime in the middle of the twentieth century, exactly when unknown. The printing was done on a Vandercook press using Centaur and Arrighi types. The book was hand-bound by Peter and Donna Thomas. This is copy number 96."--Colophon.
Title: Bird & Diz
Creator: Golio, Gary and Young, Ed
Date: 2015
Publisher/Press: Somerville, Massachusetts : Candlewick Press
Call Number: ML3929 .G59 2015
Subject: Music, African Americans, Biography, Juvenile Works
Description: Presents a rhythmic tribute to Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie, and their creation of bebop.
Title: Blinky: the Friendly Hen
Creator: Vallance, Jeffrey
Date: 1996
Publisher/Press: Santa Monica, CA : Smart Art Press
Call Number: N6537.V26 B55 1996
Subject: Dead animals, Chickens, pet cemetery
Description: In his tribute to the "billions of hens sacrificed each year for our consumption," Vallance documents the purchase of a frozen chicken from Ralph's Supermarket, a fryer he named Blinky, and its subsequent burial in the Los Angeles S.P.C.A. Pet Memorial Park. Printed in an edition of 2000.
Title: Boom!: A Summary of the Paper Landmine Print Project
Creator: Risseeuw, John
Date: 2011
Publisher/Press: Tempe, Ariz. : The Cabbagehead Press
Call Number: UG490 .R577 2011
Subject: Land Mines, Arizona
Description: "Boom! was printed on paper made by the artist from landmine victims' clothing, leftovers from previous landmine prints, and other fibers appropriate or useful. All papers contain shredded currency from the nations that produced or used landmines. Handset letterpress with various typefaces (largely Neuland, Beton Open, Alternate Gothic, Kabel, and Stymie), polymer relief plates, and other relief sufaces were printed on a Vandercook proof press. All the facts and information herein are those available at the time of production, mostly from the ICBL's Landmine Monitor"--Colophon. Of an edition of thirty this is 23. Signed by the artist. Accordion fold book, attached to front and end boards, printed on both sides.
Title: Building Stories
Creator: Ware, Chris
Date: 2012
Publisher/Press: New York : Pantheon Books
Call Number: Oversize PN 6727.W285 B85 2012
Subject: Graphic novels
Description: Presents an illustrated tale, told in various books and folded sheets, about the residents in a three-story Chicago apartment building, including a lonely single woman, a couple who are growing to despise each other, and an elderly landlady.
C
Title: Capital Arch
Creator: Tatiana Potts
Date: 2018
Publisher/Press: Maryville, Tennessee : Tatiana Potts
Call Number: N7433.4 .P68 C37 2018
Subject: folding book, screen printing
Description: "For the structural base of Capital Arch I used the Booklet fold then altered it and added different folds. Images were printed with silkscreen process. They are derivative from your another pieces that I use for the continuous development of my paper folded installation. They relate to space, architecture, sense of place, belonging, experiencing, and languages"--Artist's statement Special Collections copy is no. 1/10. Signed by author.
Title: Choice Histories, Framing Abortion : an Artists Book
Creator: RepoHistory
Date: 1992
Publisher/Press: New York, N.Y. : b RepoHistory
Call Number: N7433.4 .R48 C47 1992
Subject: Abortion, Reproductive Rights
Description: Bears bookplate of the Natalie Leach & James A. Haslam III Library Endowment. "This book has been produced in conjunction with the exhibition 'A New World Order: part one' guest curated by Connie Butler at Artists Space, June 11-July 11, 1992."
Title: Coloring Book: Celebrate Knoxville! Bicentennial ’91, 1791-1991
Creator: Knoxville Artist Group
Date: 1991
Publisher/Press: Knoxville, TN : Knoxville Artist Group : Goodwill Industries, Inc.
Call Number: F444.K7 C65 1991
Subject: ephemera, coloring book, Knoxville bicentennial
Description: "Drawings by Knoxville Artist Group to benefit Goodwill Industries-Knoxville, Inc."
Title: Cortona Clothesline
Creator: Katie Gonzalez
Date: 2008
Publisher/Press: Nashville, Tennessee : Linen Laid & Felt
Call Number: N7433.4 .G6475 C67 2008
Subject: Clothes, Artists' Books
Description: Artist's statement: "While studying the art of bookbinding in Cortona, Italy, I began to love the daily sight of hanging laundry on lines strung from Tuscan mountainside homes. When I returned stateside, I channeled the imagery into my artwork. To create this book, I layered ink on both sides of the pages using a monoprint technique to create an expressive blend of rich blues and greens. Then I illustrated a clothesline full of women's garments, which I carved into a large block of wood. Using this block, I layered a woodblock print on top of one side of the monoprint background. After the printing process, I hand-stitched yellow embroidery thread through the paper to represent the clothesline before folding the pages into an accordion. To create the covers, I cut out the shape of a dress from blue fabric and appliquéd it onto green fabric. I stitched clothespins and the line on the cover as well"--Email from artist, received February 9, 2016. "Cortona Clothesline was printed and bound in the spring of 2008 using monoprint and relief techniques. You are holding book 3 of 3. Katie garner 2008."
Title: Cosmology
Creator: Helen Heibert Carl Adamshick, Diane Jacobs
Date: 2012
Publisher/Press: Portland, Oregon : Helen Hiebert Studio
Call Number: N7433.4 .H533 C67 2012
Subject: Japanese inspired, Artists' Books, Memory, Silence
Description: The book structure was inspired by an interest in Japanese architecture. The artist-made paper is 100% cotton, featuring a pigmented pulp lamination. The poem, Cosmology, was written specifically for the book by Carl Adamshick. Letterpress printing: Diane Jacobs; laser cutting: Joe Freedman. Issued in a paper wrapper with circular cut-out to reveal title. Accordion-folded book slips out of cover and opens to reveal six pages, with two illustrated pages behind a laser-cut design inspired by Japanese architecture and two pages letterpress printed with poetry. Special Collections copy is 29/50.
D
Title: Daimyodochū.
Creator: Akiyoshi, Zentarō
Date: 1918
Publisher/Press: Tokyo : Tōkōen
Call Number: ND1053.5 .A4
Subject: Japanese storytelling, Japanese art
Description: This book describes the journey of the daimyôs between their mansion in Edo where their wife was staying (as a political hostage) and their domain each other year. This exercise kept the daimyôs from becoming too powerful as they had to maintain several mansions, one in Edo and one in their domain plus the costs of the journeys. Cover held with little ivory pegs: accordion-folded, bright illustrations mimic original Woodcut prints, tiny Japanese calligraphy.
Title: Deeply Honored
Creator: Fred Hagstrom
Date: 2010
Publisher/Press: St. Paul, Minn. : Strong Silent Type Press
Call Number: Oversize N7433.4 .H2 D3 2010
Subject: Japanese-Americans
Description: enlarged photos and letters about a Japanese-American soldier. After being interned with his parents at the Minikoda Internment Camp in Idaho, Frank Masao Shigemura was released to attend Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota, with the help of the newly formed National Japanese American Student Relocation Council, headed by John W. Nason. Although Shigemura described his year at Carleton as the best of his life, he enlisted in the U.S. Army. He was killed in battle in France on October 20, 1944. When Carleton published a memorial "Gold Star" booklet which honored the Carleton men who had been killed in the war, Mr. and Mrs. Shigemura responded with the first of many donations to the college. From their correspondence, Carleton President Laurence M. Gould developed a friendship with the Shigemuras, and as their contributions continued, helped establish the Frank Shigemura Scholarship at Carleton. The alumni felt Frank's loyalty should be made public and asked George Grimm, a columnist, to write about it. Grimm wrote a series of articles on the Shigemuras's generosity; the articles were collected and reprinted elsewhere.
Title: Desire and the Importance of Failure: lo Spirit Della Storia Naturale
Creator: Shelagh Keeley
Date: 1996
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .K436 D4 1996
Subject: Atlanta, Olympic Games, poems
Description: Illustrations of transitions and containers, accompanied by a poem by Debra Esch. Produced alongside the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games.
Title: De-coll/age-Happenings
Creator: Wolf Vostell
Date: 1966
Publisher/Press: New York, Something Else Press
Call Number: PN3205 .V613
Subject: color illustrations, boxed art
Description: a collection of folded posters, a package of antacid on Mylar, and a piece of matzo in a wooden box.
Title: Displacement
Creator: Kathy T. Hettinga
Date: 2018
Publisher/Press: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania : Kathy T. Hettinga
Call Number: N7433.4.H485 D57 2018
Subject: nature, humans effect, environmental degradation,
Description: "Displacement is the removal from the normal location or position. We are living in times of immense displacement and relocation of peoples from their homes, and natural resources from the earth. My book begins with looking at the bleak mid-winter trees in central Pennsylvania. Driving through the hilly farmlands, old houses are perched precariously near highways, and dense woods overtaken by high-voltage transmission towers and power plants. Inspired by Heidi Kyle's The Art of the Fold, Displacement riffs off of her One-Sheet structure, the Eight-Section Offset Cut. The offset cuts, reminiscent of an Advent calendar, conceal and reveal, small creatures hidden within: a brilliant, orange-headed, female Western Oriole, and house mouse take their dislocated places beneath the eastern woods and farmhouse respectively. The branches of sycamores create white lines out of the dense woods, tiny pathways of hope in a bleak time"--Artist's statement
Title: Doom to Bloom.
Creator: Robert Frost, Ann & Joseph Blumenthal
Date: 1950
Publisher/Press: New York : Spiral Press
Call Number: PS3511 .R94 D6 1950
Subject: holiday greeting cards, wood engraving
Description: wood engravings by Fritz Eichenberg. Issued as holiday greetings from Ann & Joseph Blumenthal, December 1950
Title: Double Readings
Creator: Buzz Spector
Date: 1987
Publisher/Press: S.l. : B. Spector
Call Number: N7433.4 .S741 A63 1987
Subject: portrait photos, autobiography, artist project
Description: Bears bookplate of Richard Beale Davis Humanities Library Endowment.
"Double readings was an installation constructed as an Individual Artist Project concurrent with the exhibit of the same name at Randolph Street Gallery, Chicago, April 10-May 12, 1987."--P. [4] of cover.
E
Title: Eco Songs, a Song Cycle
Creator: Dimitrije Bužarovski
Date: 1998
Publisher/Press: Tempe : Pyracantha Press, Arizona State University, School of Art
Call Number: N7433.3 .B89 1998
Subject: Artists' Books, Environment
Description: 1-90 copies on handmade papers, 91-205 copies on recycled acid-free Speckletone papers, handmade paper from fibers sent from around the world. In paper clasp band, in publisher's slip case.
Title: Ehon Tekagami
Creator: Ōoka Shunboku
Date: 1720
Publisher/Press: Naniwa Osaka : Kōkidō
Call Number: Rare Books Reserve N7350 .N67
Subject: Japanese painting, chinese painting
Description: Japanese woodblock images, six volumes, an illustrated Book of Model Paintings
Title: Enduring Ephemeral
Creator: Nguyễn Đức Diễm Quỳnh (Quynh Lam)
Date: 2016, 2006
Publisher/Press: Nguyen Duc Diem Quynh
Call Number: N7433.4.Q89 E63 2016
Subject: collective memory, vietnam
Description: "In this project, by revisiting the locations where the photographs were originally taken, and remarkably in some cases, speaking and recording testemonial from aging relatives who were in the images as children. The artist has attempted to match the photograph both in scale and perspective in effect placing her in the exact position of the photographer many years before. One can see the black & white original super imposed upon the current environment, and witness the transformation of landscape and time, and in many cases, importantly that which has not changed"
Title: Everything Bagel
Creator: Rare Book School, Printmaking Workshop
Date: 2019
Publisher/Press: New York, N.Y. : Blackburn Printmaking Workshop
Call Number: F128.35 .E84 2019
Subject: zines, new york, artists books
Description: Zine created by the members of Rare Book School "History of Artists' Books Since 1950" class, at the Blackburn Printmaking Workshop, June 27, 2019. Contributors: Keelin Burrows, Annie Thompson, Katie Garth, Christine DeZelar-Tiedman, Marsha Taichman, Elizabeth Cruces, Stefanie Hilles, Szilvia Szmuk-Tanenbaum, Kristine Greive, John Shoesmith, Emily Hernandez, Allison McKittrick, Heeva Kadivar. Course instructor: Tony White.
F
Title: Flag Book: interaction towards a better world
Creator: Fernando Lopes
Date: 1996
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .L65 F45 1996
Subject: Olympics, flags, countries
Description: diagonally folded, origami-like pages with flags from the countries represented at the 1996 Olympics. The text consists in accordion style of 96 triangular pieces of flags from countries represented at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta, Georgia. Back cover containing the term, "INTERACTION" and its equivalent in 7 additional languages.
Title: Flatland : A Romance of Many Dimensions
Creator: Edwin Abbott Abbott (author), Andrew Hoyem (artist, printer, publisher)
Date: 1980
Publisher/Press: San Francisco : Arion Press
Call Number: QA699 .A13 1980
Subject: visual literature, geometry and physics in literature and art
Description: "A satire about a two-dimensional world vexed by single- and multi-dimensionality that has been continuously in print since first published in 1884, enjoyed by young students of geometry and sophisticated physicists alike, and hailed as a precursor of science fiction"
Title: Poems. Selections; Float
Creator: Anne Carson
Date: 2016
Publisher/Press: New York : Alfred A. Knopf
Call Number: PS3553.A7667 A6 2016
Subject: Poetry, chapbooks
Description: By chance the cycladic people -- Candor -- Cassandra float can -- Contempts: a study of profit and nonprofit in Homer, Moravia and Godard -- The designated mourner by Wally Shawn, final production, NYC, June 2013 -- Eras of Yves Klein -- Good dog I, II, and III -- How to like "If I told him: a completed portrait of Picasso" by Gertrude Stein -- L.A. -- Maintenance -- Merry Christmas from Hegel -- Nelligan: some poems translated from the French -- 108 (flotage) -- Performance notes -- Pinplay: a version of Euripides' Bacchae -- Possessive used as drink (me): a lecture on pronouns in the form of 15 sonnets -- Powerless structures fig. 11 (Sanne) -- Pronoun envy -- Stacks -- Uncle falling: a pair of lyric lectures with shared chorus -- Variations on the right to remain silent -- Wildly constant -- Zeusbits.
Title: Flosculi Sententiarum: Printers, flowers moralised
Creator: Leonard Baskin
Date: 1967
Publisher/Press: Northampton, Massachusetts : Gehenna Press
Call Number: Z276 .F55
Subject: Book ornamentation, Printing
Description: Copy 182 of 250. mottos in various languages decorated with type ornaments designed by Bruce Rogers, on paper handmade in
Title: Free the little bird
Creator: Maya Angelou, Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2019
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz : Peter & Donna Thomas
Call Number: N7433.4.T45 F74 2019
Subject: Birds, Folk Songs, Appalachia, United States
Description: Accordion Fold
G
Title: Genetics Lesson
Creator: Ann Fessler
Date: 1992
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .F47 A4 1992
Subject: Science in art, adoption
Description: Colorful folding pages bound in hardcover depict a short story of familiar faces with a theme in genetics.
H
Title: Homage to Humanity
Creator: Jimmy Nelson, Donna Karan, Mundiya Kepanga
Date: 2018
Publisher/Press: New York : Rizzoli
Call Number: Oversize GN380 .N456 2018
Subject: Indigenous peoples
Description: Acclaimed British photographer Jimmy Nelson presents his latest collection of 400 evocative photographs revealing an inclusive look at the people and cultures of over thirty iconic tribes from around the world. This new assemblage of voyages is accompanied by insightful, engaging interviews with tribe leaders, infographics on the locations and cultures of each destination. Before They Pass Away II celebrates each tribe's distinct aesthetic cultural heritage and is a visual document, perhaps even the last record, that reminds us and future generations of the beauty and harmony of these tribes and the purity of their way of life. Comes with supplemental VR glasses and companion phone application that allow pages to become interactive with videos corresponding to the book's photographs.
Title: Half Dome: A Climbing of History
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2000
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, California : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: F868 .Y6T56 2000
Subject: Environment
Description: balsa covers, no spine. Library has no. 112 of 150 copies printed, with linocut illustrations by Donna Thomas. Minature book.
Title: Hetch Hetchy Flora: a collection of wildflowers painted on may 22, 2013
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2013
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, California : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: QK149.T45 2013
Subject: Environment, wildflowers
Description: "Nine watercolor paintings of wildflowers, one watercolor painting of Hetch Hetchy Reservoir from O'Shaughnessy Dam, one watercolor painted map, five ornamental pages of handwritten and rubricated text. Donna's original art work was reproduced by digital printing processes onto Peter's handmade paper. Those pages were then sewn onto larger sheets of loft dried granite-like paper Peter made for the book. The book is bound between blue Moroccan leather boards. Both front and back covers have wooden replicas of a plant press used in the early twentieth century by botanist Willis Jepson"--Peter & Donna Thomas' website (viewed April 25, 2018). Copy 25. "[T]hree months after Donna made her paintings there was a wildfire in Hetch Hetchy Valley, known as the Rim Fire, which scorched the area she had painted in, burning all the vegetation to the ground"--Publisher's Web site.
I
Title: Innovative Printmaking on Handmade Paper
Creator: Eric Denker, Durgin Micheal, Field Dorthy
Date: 2003
Publisher/Press: Washington, D.C. : Hand Papermaking
Call Number: TS1124.5 .D46 2003
Subject: papermaking
Description: 20 specimens of handmade paper in folders that include information about the artists. Contains a text volume (55 p.; 28 cm.) plus 20 specimens of handmade paper, averaging 24 x 20 cm., mounted in white paper folders with letterpress identifying each artist. Text volume contains artists' statements and biographical data.
Title: *[isosceles romance]
Creator: Katie Gonzalez
Date: 2012
Publisher/Press: Nashville, Tennessee : Linen Laid & Felt
Call Number: N7433.4 .G6475 I76 2012
Subject: Math, Love
Description: Artist's statement: "The inspiration stems from a high school geometry class where I first met my future husband. The first time we talked, he asked me a question about isosceles trapezoids (from our geometry homework). Somehow that lead to our first date, and - nine years later - marriage. We always give credit to geometry for the start of our relationship. An artists' book, bound in a delicate accordion that incorporates collagraph prints, drypoint prints, and a collection of mixed papers, including pages salvaged from a vintage geometry textbook. In an edition of 12." --Email from artist, received February 9, 2016.
Title: I want to spend the rest of my life everywhere…
Creator: Damien Hirst
Date: 1997
Publisher/Press: New York : Monacelli Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .H57 A4 1997
Subject: Surrealism, Toy and moveable books
Description: illustrations of Damien Hirst's controversial work. In publisher's dust jacket. Includes pop-ups and movable parts; die-cut components; some illustrations are tipped in; and essays by Gordon Burn and Stuart Morgan.
Title: I'm Fairly Sorry, Says Peter Reel
Creator: Peter Reel
Date: 1932
Publisher/Press: Beverly Hills, Shoestring Press
Call Number: PS3535 .E33812 1932
Subject: colored plates, nature in art
Description: poems and woodblock prints by Bobrick
Title: Individualocracy: the personal decisions that govern sprawl
Creator: Matthew Salenger
Date: 2014
Publisher/Press: Tempe, Ariz. : The Pyracantha Press, Arizona State University
Call Number: HT393.A6 S35 2014
Subject: Cities and Towns
Description: selections of foldable maps as art depicting poems and graphics of Arizona cities
Title: Inthevisible
Creator: Jered Sprecher
Date: 2001
Publisher/Press: Iowa City, Iowa : Jered Sprecher
Call Number: N7433.4.S743 I68 2001
Subject: pencil drawing, letterpress
Description: The book is a combination of hand set lead type and photoplates printed by letterpress, it also includes hand drawn elements in graphite."
J
Title: Japanese Hand-made paper
Creator: Seikichiro Goto
Date: 1953
Publisher/Press: Tokyo : Bijutsu
Call Number: TS1095 .J3 G6
Subject: Papermaking
Description: on Japanese handmade paper, with colorful woodblock prints and captions describing the process, with 47 samples of paper by Seikichiro Goto tipped in at the back
Title: Jered Sprecher : memory device : selected paintings: 2012-2014
Creator: Jered Sprecher, Michael Wilson
Date: 2015
Publisher/Press: Boston : OSP Catalogs
Call Number: ND237.S6445 A4 2015
Subject: 21st century painting
Description: collection of pictures and illustrations of selected paintings from 2012-2014
K
Title: Knowledge of the World
Creator: Frédéric Bruly Bouabré
Date: 1998
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .B78 K6 1998
Subject: Olympics
Description: box with postcard-type picture cards about the Atlanta Olympic Games. Published in collaboration with the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games.
L
Title: Lupus viator
Creator: Darya von Berner
Date: 1997
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7533.4.B465 L8 1997
Subject: wolves in art, olympics
Description: "Published in collaboration with The Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games (ACOG), Cultural Olympiad."
"Lupus viator, Latin for "wolf walking", is a series of monumental painted installations by noted artist Darya von Berner from Madrid, Spain. Von Berner's American gray wolf travels on a mythical pilgrimage throughout the galleries and museums of the world"--Card received with the book
"Von Berner is the fourth of five international artists chosen for unique book projects to be exhibited at Nexus Press during the Olympic Games. Lupus Viator is an ephermal painting on wood, a 14 x 60 foot installation on the interior walls of Nexus Press"--Nexus publicity statement
Title: La prose du transsibérien et de la petite jehanne de France
Creator: Blaise Cendrars, Miriam Cendrars, Sonia Delaunay
Date: 2011
Publisher/Press: Paris : PUF : Fondation Martin Bodmer
Call Number: PQ2605.455 P76 2011
Subject: Artists' Books facsimile
Description: Poem by Cendrars about a journey through Russia on the Trans-Siberian Express in 1905, during the first Russian Revolution, with print by Delaunay. Text printed in several colors & typefaces, with stenciled cubist illustrations & water-color washes. Accompanying booklet is a facsim. reprint of original limited ed. of 150 copies (Paris : Editions des Hommes Nouveaux, 1913). Based on No. 11.
Title: Ladies’ Diary: being a repository for daily musings and observations on the domestic life
Creator: Gilded Leaf
Date: 2016
Publisher/Press: Maryville, Tennessee : The Gilded Leaf
Call Number: Z269.3.F55 L33 2016
Subject: bookbinding, papermaking
Description: "The paper is a 60" cream white, an excellent match with the machine-made paper of the period. ... Patterned after common bindings of the day, the spine is black morocco leather, with sides of heavily embossed cloth. Endsheets are a plain yellow, replicating a very common 19th century endpaper" Binder's blank model.
Title: Learning to Fly
Creator: Bryan Kring
Date: 2017
Publisher/Press: Oakland, California : Bryan Kring
Call Number: N7433.4.K76 L43 2017
Subject: movable books, flight in art
Description: The box includes a viewing window, through which can be seen a color drawing of birds, the sky, the sun, and a woman. A wheel protrudes from the right-side of the box, which allows the scene to move like a movie. Learning to Fly is a moveable book. It is based loosly on my dreams of flying. When the wheel is turned a "little movie" plays inside the diorama. It has a plexiglass front window and back. When held up to the light the interior scene has beautiful backlighting that adds to the movement. On the front of the box is a statement, "once she understood how to fly, it was simple."
M
Title: Messenger Boat
Creator: Wade Brickhouse
Date: 2015
Publisher/Press: Chattanooga, Tennessee : Wade Brickhouse
Call Number: N7433.4 .B7513 M47 2015
Subject: Boats, water, Artists' Books
Description: About this piece: Messenger Boat is exploration of an unbound book form. The pages/messages are hanging in order on cross members and are bound by the confines of the vessel much like a conventional book being bound by thread and covers. All construction and concepts by the artist. Materials: wood, paper, varnish. The messages written in black ink on paper hanging in order on cross members of the boat are quotes from literary works written by various authors with the sea-related theme.
Title: Medieval Binding: The Girdle Book
Creator: Karen Hanmer
Date: 2015
Publisher/Press: Glenview, IL : Karen Hanmer
Call Number: Z269.3 .M44 H36 2015
Subject: Book Binding
Description: The girdle book is a medieval binding structure featuring a long extension of leather which could be attached to a traveler's belt. This leather extends from the tail of the book, so the text can be read while the book is still attached to the reader's belt. The extension often terminates in a decorative knot or hook." -- Introduction. Medieval Girdle book: Text block sewn on double supports. Wooden boards shaped all around, with special attention given to the inside spine edge to match the text block's shoulder. Spine linings extend beyond the text block and attach to the inside of the boards. Text block laced onto boards and cords pegged in. Sewn headbands also laced into the boards. The girdle book model also includes : Full covering in vividly-colored leather, strap and pin closure, corner bosses, vellum foredge markers, turk's head knot to finish leather extension at the binding's tail. -- From artist's website.
Title: Migrant
Creator: Jose Manual Mateo (Author) and Javier Martinez Pedro (Illustrator)
Date: 2014
Publisher/Press: New York, NY : Abrams Books for Young Readers
Call Number: PQ7298.423.A85 M5413 2014
Subject: Juvenile works, fiction, emigration and immigration, bilingual books
Description: Originally published in Spanish: Mexico : Ediciones Tecolote, 2011, under the title Migrar. A continuous image by Javier Martínez Pedro is offset printed on both sides of two attached sheets, accompanied by a narrative by José Manuel Mateo in the original Spanish on one side, and translated into English by Emmy Smith Ready on the other. The attached sheets are gathered into an accordion fold, and attached to black cloth over boards on either side. A paper label is attached to the front board. Black ribbon closure. Issued with a printed sheet with publication information, blurb, and advertising information. "On a small plot of land in Mexico, a young boy and his sister run and play in the fields while their mother and father farm. All this changes, though, when the men of the village, including the boy's father, are forced to seek work north of the border, in the United States. Left alone with no way to make a living, the boy's mother decides that the family must make the dangerous journey across the border in search of both work and the boy's father"
Title: Meditations at the edge: paper and spirit
Creator: Dorothy Field, Donna and Peter Thomas
Date: 1996
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, California : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: TS1094.F54 1996
Subject: Asia, Papermaking, Artists' Books
Description: text on paper from hemp fiber, illustrations on paper from Kim Yeong Yon's kozo fiber; paper, letterpress, and binding by Donna & Peter Thomas Peter made the text paper from hemp fiber. Dorothy made the paper used for the illustrations from the last of Kim Yeong Yon's kozo fiber. There are eighty-six regular copies and fourteen special copies. The special copies are bound as prayer flags and held in a wooden temple made by Kathy Frandeen. This is copy number 15.
Title: Memento mori
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2018
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, California : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: N7433.4.T45 M45 2018
Subject: Death, Memento Mori
Description: Limited edition of 20 copies. Special Collections copy is 9 of 20. Woodcuts handprinted on handmade paper. Bound vertically in box. Carving of a female figure (deceased) on a thin sheet of tin or aluminium is pasted on verso of front cover. "The text combines Latin phrases exploring a theme first found in Euripides's tragedy Alcestis, "No one can say for certain they will still be living tomorrow." Woodcut illustrations in the style of Southwest Day of the Dead milagros. Letterpress printed on Peter's handmade paper (ochre with black fiber flecks) using handset 18 pt Anglo and various fonts of wood type printed with split fountain inking. 3 illustrations by Peter Thomas. The binding is a variation of our flap page structure: ebony wood supports hold a dowel that the pages are sewn to. Full bound in black Moroccan leather with Peter's woodcut on a panel on the front cover.
N
Title: Notions
Creator: Bonnie Bernstein (Curator) Kevin McFadden (Editor)
Date: 2014
Publisher/Press: Charlottesville, Virginia : Virginia Arts of the Book Center
Call Number: N7433.3 .N678 2014
Subject: group work, sewing, clothing, workers, exploitation
Description: In creating the contents of this box, we decided we would create a story to convey some of our own notions about greed and the value of a human life, about women's changing roles at home and in the workplace and about the increasing distance between consumers and producers. ... We named our primary character Rosie ... Rosie, her sister Kate, niece Rose, grandniece Rachel, and great-grandniece Katya, and other associated with them are composites of other historical and invented characters. Notions is best read through the objects and the stories we've imagined that gather around them. It is framed like a quilt--an assemblage of many small pieces that stitched together tell a human story about workers here and elsewhere, now and in the past, who sew the clothes we wear. It is also an artists' book that expresses some of our own notions about how and why we make art, and how and why we use art to explore our humanity and comment on the human condition"
Title: Normative trope of polymorphous perversity
Creator: I. Rose and Judith Butler
Date: 1992
Publisher/Press: New York : IRD Production
Call Number: N7433.4.R67 N67 1992
Subject: gender identity, feminism
Description: Text excerpted from Gender trouble, feminism and the subversion of identity
Title: Nox
Creator: Anne Carson
Date: 2010
Publisher/Press: New York : New Directions
Call Number: PS3553 .A7667 N69 2010
Subject: loss, epitaphs, family
Description: facsimile of a book the author created in response to her brother's death, incorporating an elegy by Catullus Presents a facsimile of a book the author created after the death of her brother, and includes poetry, family photographs, letters, and sketches that deal with coming to terms with the loss.
O
Title: On the Edge of the Storm
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2018
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, CA : Donna & Peter Thomas
Call Number: Oversize PS3620.H62727 O6 2018
Subject: Kaiser Wilderness, Sierra Nevada, Nature
Description: "This poem was written over the course of one day spent in a summer rainstorm, under a red fir tree, in the Kaiser Wilderness in the Sierra Nevada. Most of the paintings are from that solo backpacking trip. The dark-to-light sky paper was handmade by Peter. I chose the accompanying authors' quotes for their way of seeing that the beauty and events of the natural world richly illustrate the human condition"
P
Title: Pancha Tantra
Creator: Walton Ford, Bill Buford, Benedikt Taschen
Date: 2007
Publisher/Press: Hong Kong : Taschen
Call Number: Folio ND237 .F4915 P36 2007
Subject: animals, painting
Description: a bound collection of Walton Ford's watercolors
Title: Prose works
Creator: Rainer Maria Rilke
Date: 1947
Publisher/Press: Cummington, Mass. : Cummington Press
Call Number: PT2635.I65 A2526 1947
Subject: woodcuttings, translate prose works
Description: "Translated by Carl Niemeyer from volume four of the Gesammelte Werke of Rainer Maria Rilke ... With woodcuts by Wightman Williams"--Page [1]. "Four of these translations appeared initially as Primal sound & other prose pieces, illustrated with wood-engravings by Paul Wieghardt and printed in 1943"--Preliminary p. [1]. "From the woodblocks cut by Wightman Williams and types composed by Harry Duncan, two hundred seventy one copies are by them printed and numbered as follows: I through VI, each with an original drawing tipped in, on Curfew paper and vii through xxxvii on Tunbridge paper being colored by hand, 1 through 203 on Van Gelder Oxhead paper, and 204 through 234, in wrappers, on various papers. This copy is 117"
Title: Paper from Plants
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 1999
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz Calif. : Peter & Donna Thomas
Call Number: TS1124.5 .T56 1999
Subject: papermaking, fiber, plants
Description: a paper sample book with 20 examples alternating with pages explaining them "The book was designed, letterpress printed and handbound by Peter and Donna Thomas. The type was both hand and machine set, using Centaur and Neuland. Peter wrote the introduction. Donna drew the illustrations. There are one hundred fifty copies of which thirty have been reserved for the participants. Donna has hand colored the illustrations in copies one through fifteen. This is copy number 55"
Title: Peter and Donna Thomas: the work of 40 years
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2017
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, California : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: Z232.P446 P48 2017
Subject: artists books, bibliography, exhibition catalog
Description: Introduction by Max Yela, Head of Special Collections, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries. "This publication is designed to accompany multiple exhibits, serving as a catalog for the institutions around the country that are holding exhibitions between 2017 and 2018 to commemorate Peter and Donna Thomas's forty years of work."
Title: Piute Creek
Creator: Gary Snyder and Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2017
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, California : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: PS3569.N88 P54 2017
Subject: poetry on scroll, nature, environment
Description: "We chose Snyder's poem for the project both because the author's association with Japan--where the scroll is a common way to present literature (Snyder lived for a short time in Japan, and his early work was translating Zen poetry)--and because his later work, as a poet writing about man's relation to the environment and nature, was influential on everyone in our generation who ever thought of moving back to the land or taking a backpack trip in the Sierra."
S
Title: S. (Ship of Theseus)
Creator: J.J. Abrams & Doug Dorst
Date: 2013
Publisher/Press: New York, N.Y. : Mulholland Books/Little, Brown and Company, Hachette Book Group
Call Number: PS3601.B7367 S47 2013
Subject: marginalia, libraries, sea stories
Description: Alternate title: Ship of Theseus. A story told through marginalia and associated items held throughout the book. "A young woman picks up a book left behind by a stranger. Inside it are his margin notes, which reveal a reader entranced by the story and by its mysterious author. She responds with notes of her own, leaving the book for the stranger, and so begins an unlikely conversation that plunges them both into the unknown. The book: Ship of Theseus, the final novel by a prolific but enigmatic writer named V.M. Straka, in which a man with no past is shanghaied onto a strange ship with a monstrous crew and launched onto a disorienting and perilous journey. The writer: Straka, the incendiary and secretive subject of one of the world's greatest mysteries, a revolutionary about whom the world knows nothing apart from the words he wrote and the rumors that swirl around him. The readers: Jennifer and Eric, a college senior and a disgraced grad student, both facing crucial decisions about who they are, who they might become, and how much they're willing to trust another person with their passions, hurts, and fears."
Title: Selections from Elegy for Ira H.: [Exit from Appalachia]
Creator: Forrest B. Johnson, Frank Brannon
Date: 2014
Publisher/Press: Dillsboro, North Carolina : SpeakEasy Press
Call Number: PS3610 .O35 S45 2014
Subject: Southern Appalachia, poetry
Description: "Forrest Johnson will present 'An Elegy for Ira H./ [Exit from Appalachia]' a letterpress printed sculpture that is a collaboration between the poet and book artist, Frank Brannon, both of whom, although a generation apart, grew up along the eastern border of Tennessee and Kentucky. While recognizable as a 'book,' this piece does not follow the normal conventions of book format. Rather, it could be interpreted that the form evolved from intimacy with the text, the subject of the text, and knowledge of each other as artists. The shape reflects both the poem's invocation of water and also each artist's departures from ideas about the Appalachian region, those held by people within and those held by people outside it. The poems, selected from an unpublished manuscript 'Elegy for Ira H./[Exit from Appalachia],' explore ideas of regional memory, landscape, ancestry and problems of representation.
Title: Spirit Land
Creator: Paul Nabhan, Kim Robert Stafford, Margaret Prentice, John Risseau
Date: 1996
Publisher/Press: Tempe, Ariz. : Cabbagehead Press ; Eugene, Or. : Margaret Prentice Studio
Call Number: Oversize N7433.3 .S64 1996
Subject: environment, endangered plants, western USA
Description: Tall and narrow, handmade paper, poems about Oregon and Arizona "[C]ollaboratively created and produced during the summer of 1996 ... for the Dieu Donné Papermill-sponsored 'Art of the Matter' paper collaboration symposium in October of 1996."--Colophon. Item consists of two sections. One section titled Spirit land : Arizona has the poem "Sonoran desert unfolding" by Gary Paul Nabhan with a partial list of endangered, threatened, and protected plants in Arizona. The other section titled: Spirit land : Oregon has the poem "Oregon reunion of the rare" by Kim Stafford with a list of endangered, threatened, and protected plants in Oregon. Made of four folded handmade sheets sewn together. Two sheets made by Margaret Prentice create the Oregon section. That paper contains fibers from various plants grown in Oregon. The other two sheets of paper made by John Risseeuw create the Arizona section. That paper contains fibers from various plants grown in Arizona. John Risseeuw made the portfolio-style paper wrapper from a mixture of Arizona and Oregon fibers plus soil and crushed shells.
T
Title: The Barracuda Fact And Cookbook
Creator: Andree, Serey
Date: 2015
Publisher/Press: Serey B. Andree
Call Number: N7433.3 .A63 B77 2015
Subject: Fish, Artists' Books, Cookbooks
Material, Process, & Structure: Paper, acrylic, pencil, crayon, glue, binder's board; Fishbone folding
Description: "The Barracuda Fact And Cookbook began with the structure I found on-line by Lily Hoy called "fish bone folding technique". It seemed an obvious choice to make the book an actual fish. After surfing the web for images of fish & historic layouts, the barracuda emerged as the fish of choice. A short description of barracudas helped me create the poem, but I still had to contend with the narrative. The idea of recipes from a cookbook layout completed two more of the requirements. The barracuda book is a plethora of mixed media techniques beginning with pre-treating the paper by crumpling, adding acrylic washes, crayon rubbing and resist, and ending with collage. Color just fell into place as I worked the paper into shape. For the adjectives monotonous and intuitive, I feel the hand-cut fish scales create monotony and the structure requires some intuition to realize the fish."
Title: The Telephone Book: (with pearls)
Creator: John Baldessari
Date: 1988
Publisher/Press: Belgium : Imschoot, Uitgevers For IC
Call Number: N7433.4.B27 T4 1988
Subject: film stills, photography
Description: Collection of photographs with overlaying text
Title: The Jolly Beggars: A Cantata
Creator: Robert Burns
Date: 1963
Publisher/Press: Northampton : Gehenna Press
Call Number: PR4311 .A1 1963
Subject: music, handmade paper
Description: handmade paper, red print headings and colophon, music tucked into back pocket "Three hundred copies of this book have been printed at the Gehenna Press in Northampton. Harold McGrath was the pressman. The text has been set in Monotype Bembo and is printed on Amalfi, a hand-made Italian paper. The wood-engraved portrait by Gillian Lewis has been printed from the block. The work finished during the month of June 1963 This is copy "
Title: The Buddha Scroll
Creator: Ding, Guanpeng
Date: 1999 (18th-century facsimile)
Publisher/Press: Boston : Shambhala ; New York : Distributed in the U.S. by Random House
Call Number: ND1049 .T556 A66
Subject: Buddhist painting, religion, Chinese painting
Description: Accordion-folded scroll with sketches and some Chinese calligraphy
Title: The art of the fold : how to make innovative books and paper structures
Creator: Kyle, Hedi; Warchol, Ulla
Date: 2019
Publisher/Press: London : Laurence King Publishing Ltd
Call Number: TT870 .K95 2019
Subject: Paper folding, paperwork, book binding, book design, artists' books.
Description: "The renowned and influential book artist Hedi Kyle shows you step-by-step how to create her unique designs, using folding techniques. Projects include flag books, blizzard books, the fishbone fold and nesting boxes. This is a wonderful insight into the work of a truly skilled artist."
Title: The Well wherein a Deer’s head bleeds: a play for winter solstice
Creator: Robert Kelly, Ron Loewinsohn, Diane Wakoski
Date: 1968
Publisher/Press: Los Angeles : Black Sparrow Press
Call Number: PS3521 .E4322 W44
Subject: Drama, poetry, theater
Description: Annual Christmas greeting booklets On cover: A play and two poems. "A Christmas greeting from the Black Sparrow Press."
Title: Tale of Genji Scroll
Creator: Ivan I Morris, Murasaki Shikibu
Date: 1971
Publisher/Press: Tokyo, Palo Alto, Calif. Kodansha International
Call Number: Folio ND1059.6.G4 G413
Subject: scroll facsimile, Japanese translation
Description: Facsimile of a 12th century scroll, paper has embedded flowers, silver highlights, and other luxury features. Translation of Genji monogatari emaki. Facsimile reproduction of the existing fragments of the scroll. "The tale of Genji scroll is a free visual re-creation in which a number of isolated scenes from Murasaki's novel are represented."
Title: Tale of Two Bottles: One is Half empty, One is Half Full
Creator: Dolph Smith
Date: 2017
Publisher/Press: Ripley, Tennessee : Dolph Smith
Call Number: N7433.4.S65 T35 2017
Subject: pages as art, scrapbooks
Description: "From Dolph's ongoing series of Scrapbooks, Tale of Two Bottles, features a cover with two glass bottles inset into the front cover, resting on a ledge and protected by an overhang. The text block of blank pages features sections of alternating colored pages. The title page has a small, origami plane. This plane is one of Dolph's repeating motifs, one that he refers to as a guiding mantra."
Title: That Other Alone
Creator: William Stafford
Date: 1972
Publisher/Press: Mt. Horeb Wisc., Perishable Press
Call Number: PR3537 .T143 T48 1973
Subject: poems, botanical paper
Description: poems, by William Stafford, illustrated by Ann Mikolowski. [22] pp.; 28 cm; Sabon Antiqua; 120 signed and numbered copies on "Tawny Absorbent botanical drying paper"; handbound in pictorial boards by Mary Ellen Chapdu. Beige paper over boards; brown design on front and back covers; fern leaves on front cover.
Title: The Concertina Book
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2013
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, California : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: 7433.3 .T45 C66 2014
Subject: instruments as art, vintage photographs
Description: "This book was made by slicing the bellows of a no longer functioning vintage concertina to create an accordion book structure. The images and text panels were then inserted into the bellows to create the pages. The text is a series of limericks, each making reference to the concertina. The text was digitally set and printed on Peter's handmade paper. The rubrication around the text was hand drawn by Donna. The images are vintage photographs of concertina players. The images have been digitally printed on Peter's handmade paper and then hand colored by Donna."
Title: Tarantella Rose: six poems
Creator: William Everson, Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 1995
Publisher/Press: Anchor & Acorn Press, Santa Cruz, Calif. : Peter and Donna Thomas
Call Number: PS3509 .V65 T37 1995
Subject: poems, handmade paper
Description: paper by Peter Thomas, illustrations cut and paper hand-bound by Donna Thomas. "Seventy-five copies have been letterpress printed and hand-bound by Peter and Donna Thomas at 260 Fifteenth Avenue, Santa Cruz, California. The illustrations were cut by Donna and the paper was handmade by Peter. The text was set at Anchor & Acorn Press using Intertype Weiss and the titles were handset by the printer using Weiss Titling, Series II. Seven copies, lettered A - G, have been hand-colored and specially bound by Donna Thomas.
Title: The Book Beautiful and the Binding as Art
Creator: Wick, Peter A., Garvey, Eleanor M., & Sexton, Mark.
Date: 1983
Publisher/Press: New York : John F. Fleming, Inc. ; Boston ; Priscilla Juvelis, Inc.
Call Number: N7433.3 .B66
Subject: art of book bindings, book history
Description: collection of photographs on various books and their unique bindings
Title: The New Colossus
Creator: Lucy Childs (artist) Emma Lazarus
Date: 2019
Publisher/Press: Lucy Childs
Call Number: N7433.4.C45 E66 2019
Subject: poems, migration
Description: Accordion book with wool cover, enclosed in a clamshell box. Cover, wool embroidered with cotton threads; interior, linen sewn with cotton threads. Open, 11 x 58 cm; folded to 11 x 17 cm. Clamshell box measures 14 cm long x by 20 cm wide by 5 cm deep with an embroidered cross on a 4 x 11 cm piece of cloth on the front.
Title: The Wonderful Mallet
Creator: Mrs. T. H. James
Date: Meiji 32 19--?
Publisher/Press: Tokyo : T. Hasegawa
Call Number: PN989 .J3 W6
Subject: fairy tales, folklore
Description: creped paper pages, pen and ink drawings have been colored in
Title: This House of Havoc
Creator: Carl Purington Rollins, American Institute of Graphic Arts
Date: 1941
Publisher/Press: New York : Institute Headquarters, American Institute of Graphic Arts
Call Number: BJ1595 .R64
Subject: philosophy, handmade paper
Description: printed on handmade paper and bound with a tied cord by the Press of the Wooly Whale on the occasion of C.P. Rollins receiving the Medal of the American Institute of Graphic Arts in 1941.
Title: TM
Creator: John Risseeuw
Date: 1999
Publisher/Press: Cabbagehead Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .R596 T62 1999
Subject: paper as art, lithography
Description: To honor Thelonius Monk, uncut pages show how folded sheets correspond to pages. signed by John Risseau
Title: Tree by John Muir
Creator: Peter and Donna Thomas
Date: 2012
Publisher/Press: Santa Cruz, California : Peter & Donna Thomas
Call Number: QK475.6 .M85 2012
Subject: trees, environment, nature, miniature
Description: "Original watercolor paintings and calligraphy by Donna reproduced on Peter's handmade paper, then attached to a pleated spine made from Peter's handmade paper that is green with images of trees made by spraying paper pulp through stencils. Bound in a leather wrapper with wood panels on the front and back covers. A stick slides through slits at the foredge to hold the book closed"
Title: The Artists of the Yellow Book and the Circle of Oscar Wilde: 5 October to 4 November 1983
Creator: Clarendon and Parkin galleries
Date: 1983
Publisher/Press: London : Clarendon Gallery : Parkin Gallery
Call Number: N6767 .A78 1983
Subject: British modern art, Oscar Wilde, the Yellow Book
Description: Limited edition run of 300 copies, the book describes the exhibit put on by two galleries in 1983 London.
V
Title: Valhalla in the Smokies
Creator: Phillip Herbert Maxwell, and Edouard Evartt Exline
Date: 1938
Publisher/Press: Cleveland, O., G. A. Exline
Call Number: F443.G7 M3
Subject: smoky mountains, nature
Description: "This, the first edition ... is the result of the collaboration of Phillip Herbert Maxwell and Edouard Evartt Exline ... The edition is limited to 1000 numbered copies, the first 100 of which are autographed and bound in hand woven mountain cloth. Special Collections Rare Books copy 1 is no.8; Special Collections Rare Books copy 2 is no.70;
Title: View, We dream the answers before we ask the questions
Creator: Julie Chen
Date: 2006
Publisher/Press: Berkeley : Flying Fish Press
Call Number: N7433.4.C436 V54 2006
Subject: dreams, moveable books
Description: Includes two volumes, 16 x 9 cm., in a cloth-covered box. Vol. I is in an accordion-fold format with eleven openings, each of which opens to letterpress text on strips of gray paper over translucent blue paper. Vol. II is printed on double leaves, the text is read through cut-outs in the illustrated pages. When turned on its side, the box opens to reveal a three-dimensional scene of a tree-filled island. Issued in a cloth-covered box with a magnetic clasp.
W
Title: When I First Arrived in Baghdad
Creator: Stan Honda, Fred Hagstrom
Date: 2011
Publisher/Press: Northfield, Minn. : Strong Silent Type Press
Call Number: DS79.762 .H65 2011
Subject: War documentary, war photography
Description: metal cover, silk screened, half-tone photos and brief captions Photographs and text by Stan Honda; with permission from Agence France Presse. Printed in silk-screen, wire edge binding, Futura font.
Title: Wrongly bodied : documenting transition from female to male
Creator: Clarissa T. Sligh
Date: 2009
Publisher/Press: Philadelphia, PA : Leeway Foundation
Call Number: N7433.4.S427 W76 2009
Subject: gender identity, passing (identity), LGBTQIA
Description: Introduction -- Jake in transition from female to male -- Ellen and William Craft's escpae from slavery -- Jake's transition time line -- Jake's support group (March 28, 1999) -- Essays. Jake in transition form female to male series or, through the mirror and what Clarissa found there / by Carla Williams -- Women in transitition (from female to male) (translated from Italian) / by Silvia Roncucci -- Afterword: How I met Jake / by Clarissa Sligh
Title: 1492: What is it like to be discovered
Creator: Small, Deborah; Jaffee, Maggie
Date Published: 1991
Publisher: New York: Monthly Review Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .S43 A4 1991
Subject: United States History, Colonialism, Imperialism
Description: "1492 What Is It Like to Be Discovered?" is not just a book but a piece of art. It is subversive literature disguised as a coffee table book. Deborah Small and Maggie Jaffe have wrapped their politically explosive poetry and prose in brown paper like cheap vodka from a package store destined to be a Molotov Cocktail. The brown pages are printed chiefly with the sixteenth-century engravings of Theodore de Bry whose book with Girolamo Benzoni, "Great Voyages", and Bartolome de Las Casa's "Narratio Regionum" illustrate and graphically detail the atrocities of the European invasion of America. Other historical images are pulled from Amerigo Vespucci's "New World" and various pop-culture sources from films to Columbus Day advertisements. Bridging these prints and montages are the poetry of Jaffe and the imagery and text from three of Small's NEA fellowships: "1492", "New World [Women], and "Empire/Elan/Ecstasy". Amazon Review- Gregory Alan Wingo
Y
Title: You cannot put a fire out
Creator: Lowdermilk, Susan and Emily Dickinson
Date: 2019
Publisher/Press: Eugene, Oregon : Susan Lowdermilk
Call Number: N7433.4.L69 Y68 2019
Subject: popup books, fire in art, nature
Description: Created as a response to our current and increasing climate instability, due to increased levels of atmospheric carbon dioxide produced by our use of fossil fuels, and that we are ultimately defenseless against powerful natural forces. 2018 was the deadliest and most destructive wildfire season in California history. The "Camp Fire" destroyed the city of Paradise in northern California on November 8, 2018. The 2018 Atlantic hurrican season was the third in a consecutive series of above average and damaging Atlantic hurricane seasons featuring 15 named storms, 8 hurricanes, and 2 major hurricanes. On September 5, Florence became the first major hurricane of the season. Woodcut images are modeled after the wildfire in Paradise and Hurricane Florence.