A
Title: The Barracuda Fact And Cookbook
Creator: Andree, Serey
Date: 2015
Publisher/Press: Serey B. Andree
Call Number: N7433.3 .A63 B77 2015
Subject: Fish, Artists' Books, Cookbooks
Material, Process, & Structure: Paper, acrylic, pencil, crayon, glue, binder's board; Fishbone folding
Description: "The Barracuda Fact And Cookbook began with the structure I found on-line by Lily Hoy called "fish bone folding technique". It seemed an obvious choice to make the book an actual fish. After surfing the web for images of fish & historic layouts, the barracuda emerged as the fish of choice. A short description of barracudas helped me create the poem, but I still had to contend with the narrative. The idea of recipes from a cookbook layout completed two more of the requirements. The barracuda book is a plethora of mixed media techniques beginning with pre-treating the paper by crumpling, adding acrylic washes, crayon rubbing and resist, and ending with collage. Color just fell into place as I worked the paper into shape. For the adjectives monotonous and intuitive, I feel the hand-cut fish scales create monotony and the structure requires some intuition to realize the fish."
Title: S. (Ship of Theseus)
Creator: J.J. Abrams & Doug Dorst
Date: 2013
Publisher/Press: New York, N.Y. : Mulholland Books/Little, Brown and Company, Hachette Book Group
Call Number: PS3601.B7367 S47 2013
Subject: marginalia, libraries, sea stories
Description: Alternate title: Ship of Theseus. A story told through marginalia and associated items held throughout the book. "A young woman picks up a book left behind by a stranger. Inside it are his margin notes, which reveal a reader entranced by the story and by its mysterious author. She responds with notes of her own, leaving the book for the stranger, and so begins an unlikely conversation that plunges them both into the unknown. The book: Ship of Theseus, the final novel by a prolific but enigmatic writer named V.M. Straka, in which a man with no past is shanghaied onto a strange ship with a monstrous crew and launched onto a disorienting and perilous journey. The writer: Straka, the incendiary and secretive subject of one of the world's greatest mysteries, a revolutionary about whom the world knows nothing apart from the words he wrote and the rumors that swirl around him. The readers: Jennifer and Eric, a college senior and a disgraced grad student, both facing crucial decisions about who they are, who they might become, and how much they're willing to trust another person with their passions, hurts, and fears."
Title: Flatland : a romance of many dimensions
Creator: Edwin Abbott Abbott (author), Andrew Hoyem (artist, printer, publisher)
Date: 1980
Publisher/Press: San Francisco : Arion Press
Call Number: QA699 .A13 1980
Subject: visual literature, geometry and physics in literature and art
Description: "A satire about a two-dimensional world vexed by single- and multi-dimensionality that has been continuously in print since first published in 1884, enjoyed by young students of geometry and sophisticated physicists alike, and hailed as a precursor of science fiction"
Title: Daimyodochū.
Creator: Akiyoshi, Zentarō
Date: 1918
Publisher/Press: Tokyo : Tōkōen
Call Number: ND1053.5 .A4
Subject: Japanese storytelling, Japanese art
Description: This book describes the journey of the daimyôs between their mansion in Edo where their wife was staying (as a political hostage) and their domain each other year. This exercise kept the daimyôs from becoming too powerful as they had to maintain several mansions, one in Edo and one in their domain plus the costs of the journeys. Cover held with little ivory pegs: accordion-folded, bright illustrations mimic original Woodcut prints, tiny Japanese calligraphy.
Title: Cosmology
Creator: Helen Heibert Carl Adamshick, Diane Jacobs
Date: 2012
Publisher/Press: Portland, Oregon : Helen Hiebert Studio
Call Number: N7433.4 .H533 C67 2012
Subject: Japanese inspired, Artists' Books, Memory, Silence
Description: The book structure was inspired by an interest in Japanese architecture. The artist-made paper is 100% cotton, featuring a pigmented pulp lamination. The poem, Cosmology, was written specifically for the book by Carl Adamshick. Letterpress printing: Diane Jacobs; laser cutting: Joe Freedman. Issued in a paper wrapper with circular cut-out to reveal title. Accordion-folded book slips out of cover and opens to reveal six pages, with two illustrated pages behind a laser-cut design inspired by Japanese architecture and two pages letterpress printed with poetry. Special Collections copy is 29/50.
Title: This House of Havoc
Creator: Carl Purington Rollins, American Institute of Graphic Arts
Date: 1941
Publisher/Press: New York : Institute Headquarters, American Institute of Graphic Arts
Call Number: BJ1595 .R64
Subject: philosophy, handmade paper
Description: printed on handmade paper and bound with a tied cord by the Press of the Wooly Whale on the occasion of C.P. Rollins receiving the Medal of the American Institute of Graphic Arts in 1941.
Title: Atlanta 1945+50
Creator: Ohtake, Shinro and Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games
Date: 1996
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .O415 A8 1996
Subject: People, Abstract Concepts, Collage, Photography
Description: A bound collection of printed-out multimedia collages, overlayed with facsimiles of photographs, and an extra special small book hidden inside the pages.
B
Title: Eco Songs, a song cycle
Creator: Dimitrije Bužarovski
Date: 1998
Publisher/Press: Tempe : Pyracantha Press, Arizona State University, School of Art
Call Number: N7433.3 .B89 1998
Subject: Artists' Books, Environment
Description: 1-90 copies on handmade papers, 91-205 copies on recycled acid-free Speckletone papers, handmade paper from fibers sent from around the world. In paper clasp band, in publisher's slip case.
Title: Flosculi Sententiarum: Printers, flowers moralised
Creator: Leonard Baskin
Date: 1967
Publisher/Press: Northampton, Massachusetts : Gehenna Press
Call Number: Z276 .F55
Subject: Book ornamentation, Printing
Description: Copy 182 of 250. mottos in various languages decorated with type ornaments designed by Bruce Rogers, on paper handmade in
Title: Knowledge of the World
Creator: Frédéric Bruly Bouabré
Date: 1998
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .B78 K6 1998
Subject: Olympics
Description: box with postcard-type picture cards about the Atlanta Olympic Games. Published in collaboration with the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games.
Title: Lupus viator
Creator: Darya von Berner
Date: 1997
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7533.4.B465 L8 1997
Subject: "Published in collaboration with The Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games (ACOG), Cultural Olympiad."
Description: wolves in art, olympics
"Lupus viator, Latin for "wolf walking", is a series of monumental painted installations by noted artist Darya von Berner from Madrid, Spain. Von Berner's American gray wolf travels on a mythical pilgrimage throughout the galleries and museums of the world"--Card received with the book
"Von Berner is the fourth of five international artists chosen for unique book projects to be exhibited at Nexus Press during the Olympic Games. Lupus Viator is an ephermal painting on wood, a 14 x 60 foot installation on the interior walls of Nexus Press"--Nexus publicity statement
Title: Messenger Boat
Creator: Wade Brickhouse
Date: 2015
Publisher/Press: Chattanooga, Tennessee : Wade Brickhouse
Call Number: N7433.4 .B7513 M47 2015
Subject: Boats, water, Artists' Books
Description: About this piece: Messenger Boat is exploration of an unbound book form. The pages/messages are hanging in order on cross members and are bound by the confines of the vessel much like a conventional book being bound by thread and covers. All construction and concepts by the artist. Materials: wood, paper, varnish. The messages written in black ink on paper hanging in order on cross members of the boat are quotes from literary works written by various authors with the sea-related theme.
Title: The Telephone Book: (with pearls)
Creator: John Baldessari
Date: 1988
Publisher/Press: Belgium : Imschoot, Uitgevers For IC
Call Number: N7433.4.B27 T4 1988
Subject: film stills, photography
Description: Collection of photographs with overlaying text
Title: Animal Mineral Vegetable VII
Creator: Alicia Bailey
Date: 2019
Publisher/Press: Aurora, Colorado : Alicia Bailey
Call Number: N7433.4.B25 A557 2019
Subject: flowers, butterflies, moths, specimens
Description: "The mica pages in this six-page book use mica that has been mined far below the surface. It has naturally occurring black marks that mimic gestural ink marks. Aside from the black markings it is exceptionally clear. The pages are round, trimmed at one edge to form a straight edge for binding with inclusions of snake shed, feathers, seeds, butterfly and moth specimens from an inherited archive, plant matter (leaves/needles/seeds) gathered during my outdoor adventures. Different from other books in the series, these pages are wrapped with Moriki paper instead of copper foil. The pages are bound across the spine with shaped basswood covers. The covers are adorned with stitched on ceramic beads over mica washers. Presented in a custom box with a cast acrylic platform, under which 12 shell are housed."
Title: Notions
Creator: Bonnie Bernstein (Curator) Kevin McFadden (Editor)
Date: 2014
Publisher/Press: Charlottesville, Virginia : Virginia Arts of the Book Center
Call Number: N7433.3 .N678 2014
Subject: group work, sewing, clothing, workers, exploitation
Description: In creating the contents of this box, we decided we would create a story to convey some of our own notions about greed and the value of a human life, about women's changing roles at home and in the workplace and about the increasing distance between consumers and producers. ... We named our primary character Rosie ... Rosie, her sister Kate, niece Rose, grandniece Rachel, and great-grandniece Katya, and other associated with them are composites of other historical and invented characters. Notions is best read through the objects and the stories we've imagined that gather around them. It is framed like a quilt--an assemblage of many small pieces that stitched together tell a human story about workers here and elsewhere, now and in the past, who sew the clothes we wear. It is also an artists' book that expresses some of our own notions about how and why we make art, and how and why we use art to explore our humanity and comment on the human condition"
Title: Pancha Tantra
Creator: Walton Ford, Bill Buford, Benedikt Taschen
Date: 2007
Publisher/Press: Hong Kong : Taschen
Call Number: Folio ND237 .F4915 P36 2007
Subject: animals, painting
Description: a bound collection of Walton Ford's watercolors
Title: Normative trope of polymorphous perversity
Creator: I. Rose and Judith Butler
Date: 1992
Publisher/Press: New York : IRD Production
Call Number: N7433.4.R67 N67 1992
Subject: gender identity, feminism
Description: Text excerpted from Gender trouble, feminism and the subversion of identity
Title: Selections from Elegy for Ira H.: [Exit from Appalachia]
Creator: Forrest B. Johnson, Frank Brannon
Date: 2014
Publisher/Press: Dillsboro, North Carolina : SpeakEasy Press
Call Number: PS3610 .O35 S45 2014
Subject: Southern Appalachia, poetry
Description: "Forrest Johnson will present 'An Elegy for Ira H./ [Exit from Appalachia]' a letterpress printed sculpture that is a collaboration between the poet and book artist, Frank Brannon, both of whom, although a generation apart, grew up along the eastern border of Tennessee and Kentucky. While recognizable as a 'book,' this piece does not follow the normal conventions of book format. Rather, it could be interpreted that the form evolved from intimacy with the text, the subject of the text, and knowledge of each other as artists. The shape reflects both the poem's invocation of water and also each artist's departures from ideas about the Appalachian region, those held by people within and those held by people outside it. The poems, selected from an unpublished manuscript 'Elegy for Ira H./[Exit from Appalachia],' explore ideas of regional memory, landscape, ancestry and problems of representation.
Title: Doom to Bloom.
Creator: Robert Frost, Ann & Joseph Blumenthal
Date: 1950
Publisher/Press: New York : Spiral Press
Call Number: PS3511 .R94 D6 1950
Subject: holiday greeting cards, wood engraving
Description: wood engravings by Fritz Eichenberg. Issued as holiday greetings from Ann & Joseph Blumenthal, December 1950
Title: The Jolly Beggars: A Cantata
Creator: Robert Burns
Date: 1963
Publisher/Press: Northampton : Gehenna Press
Call Number: PR4311 .A1 1963
Subject: music, handmade paper
Description: handmade paper, red print headings and colophon, music tucked into back pocket "Three hundred copies of this book have been printed at the Gehenna Press in Northampton. Harold McGrath was the pressman. The text has been set in Monotype Bembo and is printed on Amalfi, a hand-made Italian paper. The wood-engraved portrait by Gillian Lewis has been printed from the block. The work finished during the month of June 1963 This is copy "
C
Title: Poems. Selections; Float
Creator: Anne Carson
Date: 2016
Publisher/Press: New York : Alfred A. Knopf
Call Number: PS3553.A7667 A6 2016
Subject: Poetry, chapbooks
Description: By chance the cycladic people -- Candor -- Cassandra float can -- Contempts: a study of profit and nonprofit in Homer, Moravia and Godard -- The designated mourner by Wally Shawn, final production, NYC, June 2013 -- Eras of Yves Klein -- Good dog I, II, and III -- How to like "If I told him: a completed portrait of Picasso" by Gertrude Stein -- L.A. -- Maintenance -- Merry Christmas from Hegel -- Nelligan: some poems translated from the French -- 108 (flotage) -- Performance notes -- Pinplay: a version of Euripides' Bacchae -- Possessive used as drink (me): a lecture on pronouns in the form of 15 sonnets -- Powerless structures fig. 11 (Sanne) -- Pronoun envy -- Stacks -- Uncle falling: a pair of lyric lectures with shared chorus -- Variations on the right to remain silent -- Wildly constant -- Zeusbits.
Title: La prose du transsibérien et de la petite jehanne de France
Creator: Blaise Cendrars, Miriam Cendrars, Sonia Delaunay
Date: 2011
Publisher/Press: Paris : PUF : Fondation Martin Bodmer
Call Number: PQ2605.455 P76 2011
Subject: Artists' Books facsimile
Description: Poem by Cendrars about a journey through Russia on the Trans-Siberian Express in 1905, during the first Russian Revolution, with print by Delaunay. Text printed in several colors & typefaces, with stenciled cubist illustrations & water-color washes. Accompanying booklet is a facsim. reprint of original limited ed. of 150 copies (Paris : Editions des Hommes Nouveaux, 1913). Based on No. 11.
Title: The New Colossus, Emma Lazarus
Creator: Lucy Childs (artist), Emma Lazarus
Date: 2019
Publisher/Press: Lucy Childs
Call Number: N7433.4.C45 E66 2019
Subject: Immigrants and Immigration
Description: "The poem "The New Colossus" was written by Emma Lazarus in 1883. It is a poem of welcome to newcomers looking for safety and a home. People have migrated forever, to a different town, city, or country, with the hope for a new life. This poem gives voice to the universal need for shelter and security, whether metaphoric or real."
Title: Nox
Creator: Anne Carson
Date: 2010
Publisher/Press: New York : New Directions
Call Number: PS3553 .A7667 N69 2010
Subject: loss, epitaphs, family
Description: facsimile of a book the author created in response to her brother's death, incorporating an elegy by Catullus Presents a facsimile of a book the author created after the death of her brother, and includes poetry, family photographs, letters, and sketches that deal with coming to terms with the loss.
Title: Creator: James Cutbush, John Bidwell, Henry Morris, and Bird & Bull Press
Date: 1990
Publisher/Press: New Castle, DE : Oak Knoll Books
Call Number: TS1095.U6 C84 1990
Subject: Papermaking in America, handmade paper
Description: Of 180 copies, 10, numbered A-J, include original specimens of Gilpin and Robeson handmade papers; 35 copies, numbered 1-35 include a specimen of Robeson handmade paper. This copy is No. 30.
Bound in grey paper boards printed in red; red cloth shelfback with grey leather label stamped in gold. In large (34 x 22 cm.) red cloth-covered box with specimen in pocket.
Title: View, We dream the answers before we ask the questions
Creator: Julie Chen
Date: 2006
Publisher/Press: Berkeley : Flying Fish Press
Call Number: N7433.4.C436 V54 2006
Subject: dreams, moveable books
Description: Includes two volumes, 16 x 9 cm., in a cloth-covered box. Vol. I is in an accordion-fold format with eleven openings, each of which opens to letterpress text on strips of gray paper over translucent blue paper. Vol. II is printed on double leaves, the text is read through cut-outs in the illustrated pages. When turned on its side, the box opens to reveal a three-dimensional scene of a tree-filled island. Issued in a cloth-covered box with a magnetic clasp.
D
Title: La prose du transsibérien et de la petite jehanne de France
Creator: Blaise Cendrars, Miriam Cendrars, Sonia Delaunay
Date: 2011
Publisher/Press: Paris : PUF : Fondation Martin Bodmer
Call Number: PQ2605.455 P76 2011
Subject: Artists' Books facsimile
Description: Poem by Cendrars about a journey through Russia on the Trans-Siberian Express in 1905, during the first Russian Revolution, with print by Delaunay. Text printed in several colors & typefaces, with stenciled cubist illustrations & water-color washes. Accompanying booklet is a facsim. reprint of original limited ed. of 150 copies (Paris : Editions des Hommes Nouveaux, 1913). Based on No. 11.
Title: The Buddha Scroll
Creator: Ding, Guanpeng
Date: 1999 (18th-century facsimile)
Publisher/Press: Boston : Shambhala ; New York : Distributed in the U.S. by Random House
Call Number: ND1049 .T556 A66
Subject: Buddhist painting, religion, Chinese painting
Description: Accordion-folded scroll with sketches and some Chinese calligraphy
Title: Innovative Printmaking on Handmade Paper
Creator: Eric Denker, Durgin Micheal, Field Dorthy
Date: 2003
Publisher/Press: Washington, D.C. : Hand Papermaking
Call Number: TS1124.5 .D46 2003
Subject: papermaking
Description: 20 specimens of handmade paper in folders that include information about the artists. Contains a text volume (55 p.; 28 cm.) plus 20 specimens of handmade paper, averaging 24 x 20 cm., mounted in white paper folders with letterpress identifying each artist. Text volume contains artists' statements and biographical data.
Title: A Gil Blas in California.
Creator: Alexandre Dumas, Marguerite Eyer Wilbur
Date: 1933
Publisher/Press: Los Angeles : The Primavera Press
Call Number: F865 .D882
Subject: California gold discovery
Description: small engravings at chapter heads
Title: S. (Ship of Theseus)
Creator: J.J. Abrams & Doug Dorst
Date: 2013
Publisher/Press: New York, N.Y. : Mulholland Books/Little, Brown and Company, Hachette Book Group
Call Number: PS3601.B7367 S47 2013
Subject: marginalia, libraries, sea stories
Description: Alternate title: Ship of Theseus. A story told through marginalia and associated items held throughout the book. "A young woman picks up a book left behind by a stranger. Inside it are his margin notes, which reveal a reader entranced by the story and by its mysterious author. She responds with notes of her own, leaving the book for the stranger, and so begins an unlikely conversation that plunges them both into the unknown. The book: Ship of Theseus, the final novel by a prolific but enigmatic writer named V.M. Straka, in which a man with no past is shanghaied onto a strange ship with a monstrous crew and launched onto a disorienting and perilous journey. The writer: Straka, the incendiary and secretive subject of one of the world's greatest mysteries, a revolutionary about whom the world knows nothing apart from the words he wrote and the rumors that swirl around him. The readers: Jennifer and Eric, a college senior and a disgraced grad student, both facing crucial decisions about who they are, who they might become, and how much they're willing to trust another person with their passions, hurts, and fears."
E
Title: Valhalla in the Smokies
Creator: Phillip Herbert Maxwell, and Edouard Evartt Exline
Date: 1938
Publisher/Press: Cleveland, O., G. A. Exline
Call Number: F443.G7 M3
Subject: smoky mountains, nature
Description: "This, the first edition ... is the result of the collaboration of Phillip Herbert Maxwell and Edouard Evartt Exline ... The edition is limited to 1000 numbered copies, the first 100 of which are autographed and bound in hand woven mountain cloth. Special Collections Rare Books copy 1 is no.8; Special Collections Rare Books copy 2 is no.70;
Title: Desire and the importance of failure: lo spirito della storia naturale
Creator: Shelagh Keeley, Debra Esch
Date: 1996
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Ga. : Nexus Press
Call Number: Oversize N7433.4 .K436 D4 1996
Subject: Atlanta, Olympic Games, poems
Description: Illustrations of transitions and containers, accompanied by a poem by Debra Esch. Produced alongside the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games.
F
Title: Genetics Lesson
Creator: Ann Fessler
Date: 1992
Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press
Call Number: N7433.4 .F47 A4 1992
Subject: Science in art, adoption
Description: Colorful folding pages bound in hardcover depict a short story of familiar faces with a theme in genetics.
Title: Doom to Bloom.
Creator: Robert Frost, Ann & Joseph Blumenthal
Date: 1950
Publisher/Press: New York : Spiral Press
Call Number: PS3511 .R94 D6 1950
Subject: holiday greeting cards, wood engraving
Description: wood engravings by Fritz Eichenberg. Issued as holiday greetings from Ann & Joseph Blumenthal, December 1950
Title: Innovative Printmaking on Handmade Paper
Creator: Eric Denker, Durgin Micheal, Field Dorthy
Date: 2003
Publisher/Press: Washington, D.C. : Hand Papermaking
Call Number: TS1124.5 .D46 2003
Subject: papermaking
Description: 20 specimens of handmade paper in folders that include information about the artists. Contains a text volume (55 p.; 28 cm.) plus 20 specimens of handmade paper, averaging 24 x 20 cm., mounted in white paper folders with letterpress identifying each artist. Text volume contains artists' statements and biographical data.
Title: Pancha Tantra
Creator: Walton Ford, Bill Buford, Benedikt Taschen
Date: 2007
Publisher/Press: Hong Kong : Taschen
Call Number: Folio ND237 .F4915 P36 2007
Subject: animals, painting
Description: a bound collection of Walton Ford's watercolors
Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.