Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Books as Art: Last Names M-R

This guide lists resources in Special Collections about the history of book creation, special binding and printing techniques, the development of illustrations, and artist's books.

M

Title: Tale of Genji Scroll 

Creator: Ivan I Morris, Murasaki Shikibu

Date: 1971

Publisher/Press: Tokyo, Palo Alto, Calif. Kodansha International

Call Number: Folio ND1059.6.G4 G413

Subject:

Description: Facsimile of a 12th century scroll, paper has embedded flowers, silver highlights, and other luxury features. Translation of Genji monogatari emaki. Facsimile reproduction of the existing fragments of the scroll. "The tale of Genji scroll is a free visual re-creation in which a number of isolated scenes from Murasaki's novel are represented."

Title: Migrant

Creator: Jose Manual Mateo (Author) and Javier Martinez Pedro (Illustrator)

Date: 2014

Publisher/Press: New York, NY : Abrams Books for Young Readers

Call Number: PQ7298.423.A85 M5413 2014

Subject: Juvenile works, fiction, emigration and immigration, bilingual books

Description: Originally published in Spanish: Mexico : Ediciones Tecolote, 2011, under the title Migrar. A continuous image by Javier Martínez Pedro is offset printed on both sides of two attached sheets, accompanied by a narrative by José Manuel Mateo in the original Spanish on one side, and translated into English by Emmy Smith Ready on the other. The attached sheets are gathered into an accordion fold, and attached to black cloth over boards on either side. A paper label is attached to the front board. Black ribbon closure. Issued with a printed sheet with publication information, blurb, and advertising information. "On a small plot of land in Mexico, a young boy and his sister run and play in the fields while their mother and father farm. All this changes, though, when the men of the village, including the boy's father, are forced to seek work north of the border, in the United States. Left alone with no way to make a living, the boy's mother decides that the family must make the dangerous journey across the border in search of both work and the boy's father"


Title: Notions

Creator: Bonnie Bernstein (Curator) Kevin McFadden (Editor)

Date: 2014

Publisher/Press: Charlottesville, Virginia : Virginia Arts of the Book Center

Call Number: N7433.3 .N678 2014

Subject: group work, sewing, clothing, workers, exploitation

Description: In creating the contents of this box, we decided we would create a story to convey some of our own notions about greed and the value of a human life, about women's changing roles at home and in the workplace and about the increasing distance between consumers and producers. ... We named our primary character Rosie ... Rosie, her sister Kate, niece Rose, grandniece Rachel, and great-grandniece Katya, and other associated with them are composites of other historical and invented characters. Notions is best read through the objects and the stories we've imagined that gather around them. It is framed like a quilt--an assemblage of many small pieces that stitched together tell a human story about workers here and elsewhere, now and in the past, who sew the clothes we wear. It is also an artists' book that expresses some of our own notions about how and why we make art, and how and why we use art to explore our humanity and comment on the human condition"


Title: Valhalla in the Smokies

Creator: Phillip Herbert Maxwell, and Edouard Evartt Exline

Date: 1938

Publisher/Press: Cleveland, O., G. A. Exline

Call Number: F443.G7 M3

Subject: smoky mountains, nature

Description: "This, the first edition ... is the result of the collaboration of Phillip Herbert Maxwell and Edouard Evartt Exline ... The edition is limited to 1000 numbered copies, the first 100 of which are autographed and bound in hand woven mountain cloth. Special Collections Rare Books copy 1 is no.8; Special Collections Rare Books copy 2 is no.70;

N

Title: Homage to Humanity

Creator: Jimmy Nelson, Donna Karan, Mundiya Kepanga

Date: 2018

Publisher/Press: New York : Rizzoli

Call Number: Oversize GN380 .N456 2018

Subject: Indigenous peoples

Description: Acclaimed British photographer Jimmy Nelson presents his latest collection of 400 evocative photographs revealing an inclusive look at the people and cultures of over thirty iconic tribes from around the world. From the Himalayas with the Laylap in Bhutan to the last hidden outposts of Africa with the Mundari in isolated South Sudan, these tribal cultures, many which have long been hidden from the world's eyes, are documented with an intimacy and knowledge that only Nelson can conjure. This new assemblage of voyages is accompanied by insightful, engaging interviews with tribe leaders, infographics on the locations and cultures of each destination, and a new mobile application that allows readers to view; film material, behind the scenes video, storytelling, and interviews from all the journeys--inviting readers on a journey to the remotest places on earth. Before They Pass Away II celebrates each tribe's distinct aesthetic cultural heritage and is a visual document, perhaps even the last record, that reminds us and future generations of the beauty and harmony of these tribes and the purity of their way of life. This unique volume--truly an invaluable time capsule of the last surviving tribes--is an essential for travel and photography enthusiasts. Nelson's large-plate field camera captures every minute detail, vivid colour, and dramatic light to produce awe-inspiring portraits of tribal members: from head-on shots, to visual narratives documenting quotidian life, rituals, and rites of passage, and striking pictures of marvellous and sometimes harsh landscapes. Comes with supplemental VR glasses and companion phone application that allow pages to become interactive with videos corresponding to the book's photographs.


Title: Spirit Land

Creator: Paul Nabhan, Kim Robert Stafford, Margaret Prentice, John Risseau

Date: 1996

Publisher/Press: Tempe, Ariz. : Cabbagehead Press ; Eugene, Or. : Margaret Prentice Studio

Call Number: Oversize N7433.3 .S64 1996

Subject: environment, endangered plants, western USA

Description: Tall and narrow, handmade paper, poems about Oregon and Arizona "[C]ollaboratively created and produced during the summer of 1996 ... for the Dieu Donné Papermill-sponsored 'Art of the Matter' paper collaboration symposium in October of 1996."--Colophon. Item consists of two sections. One section titled Spirit land : Arizona has the poem "Sonoran desert unfolding" by Gary Paul Nabhan with a partial list of endangered, threatened, and protected plants in Arizona. The other section titled: Spirit land : Oregon has the poem "Oregon reunion of the rare" by Kim Stafford with a list of endangered, threatened, and protected plants in Oregon. Made of four folded handmade sheets sewn together. Two sheets made by Margaret Prentice create the Oregon section. That paper contains fibers from various plants grown in Oregon. The other two sheets of paper made by John Risseeuw create the Arizona section. That paper contains fibers from various plants grown in Arizona. John Risseeuw made the portfolio-style paper wrapper from a mixture of Arizona and Oregon fibers plus soil and crushed shells.


Title: Enduring Ephemeral

Creator: Nguyễn Đức Diễm Quỳnh (Quynh Lam)

Date: 2016, 2006

Publisher/Press: Nguyen Duc Diem Quynh

Call Number: N7433.4.Q89 E63 2016

Subject: collective memory, vietnam

Description: "In this project, by revisiting the locations where the photographs were originally taken, and remarkably in some cases, speaking and recording testemonial from aging relatives who were in the images as children. The artist has attempted to match the photograph both in scale and perspective in effect placing her in the exact position of the photographer many years before. One can see the black & white original super imposed upon the current environment, and witness the transformation of landscape and time, and in many cases, importantly that which has not changed"

O

                            Title: Atlanta 1945+50

Creator: Ohtake, Shinro and Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games

Date: 1996

Publisher/Press: Atlanta, Georgia : Nexus Press

Call Number: N7433.4 .O415 A8 1996

Subject: People, Abstract Concepts, Collage, Photography

Description:  A bound collection of printed-out multimedia collages, overlayed with facsimiles of photographs, and an extra special small book hidden inside the pages.


 

Title: Ehon Tekagami

Creator: Ōoka Shunboku

Date: 1720 

Publisher/Press: Naniwa Osaka : Kōkidō

Call Number: Rare Books Reserve N7350 .N67

Subject: Japanese painting, chinese painting

Description: Japanese woodblock images, six volumes, an illustrated Book of Model Paintings

P

Title: Capital Arch

Creator: Tatiana Potts

Date: 2018

Publisher/Press: Maryville, Tennessee : Tatiana Potts

Call Number: N7433.4 .P68 C37 2018

Subject:

Description: "For the structural base of Capital Arch I used the Booklet fold then altered it and added different folds. Images were printed with silkscreen process. They are derivative from your another pieces that I use for the continuous development of my paper folded installation. They relate to space, architecture, sense of place, belonging, experiencing, and languages"--Artist's statement Special Collections copy is no. 1/10. Signed by author.

Title: “King of Ice”

Creator: Sylvia Plath

Date: 1945

Publisher/Press: 

Call Number: PS3566 .L27 K56 1945

Subject:

Description: Written by Sylvia Plath in 1945, when she was 12 years old, this 10-line poem is "a hymn of praise to her unknown 'hero on skates' thought to have been a fellow school pupil in Massachusetts." -- The Telegraph, 5 June 2003. Hand-written in pencil on one sheet of lined tablet paper. Housed in a custom blue clamshell case with title, author, and date in gilt on spine. Gift of Patricia Cornwell.

Title: Migrant

Creator: Jose Manual Mateo (Author) and Javier Martinez Pedro (Illustrator)

Date: 2014

Publisher/Press: New York, NY : Abrams Books for Young Readers

Call Number: PQ7298.423.A85 M5413 2014

Subject: Juvenile works, fiction, emigration and immigration, bilingual books

Description: Originally published in Spanish: Mexico : Ediciones Tecolote, 2011, under the title Migrar. A continuous image by Javier Martínez Pedro is offset printed on both sides of two attached sheets, accompanied by a narrative by José Manuel Mateo in the original Spanish on one side, and translated into English by Emmy Smith Ready on the other. The attached sheets are gathered into an accordion fold, and attached to black cloth over boards on either side. A paper label is attached to the front board. Black ribbon closure. Issued with a printed sheet with publication information, blurb, and advertising information. "On a small plot of land in Mexico, a young boy and his sister run and play in the fields while their mother and father farm. All this changes, though, when the men of the village, including the boy's father, are forced to seek work north of the border, in the United States. Left alone with no way to make a living, the boy's mother decides that the family must make the dangerous journey across the border in search of both work and the boy's father"

                            Title: Spirit Land

Creator: Paul Nabhan, Kim Robert Stafford, Margaret Prentice, John Risseau

Date: 1996

Publisher/Press: Tempe, Ariz. : Cabbagehead Press ; Eugene, Or. : Margaret Prentice Studio

Call Number: Oversize N7433.3 .S64 1996

Subject: environment, endangered plants, western USA

Description: Tall and narrow, handmade paper, poems about Oregon and Arizona "[C]ollaboratively created and produced during the summer of 1996 ... for the Dieu Donné Papermill-sponsored 'Art of the Matter' paper collaboration symposium in October of 1996."--Colophon. Item consists of two sections. One section titled Spirit land : Arizona has the poem "Sonoran desert unfolding" by Gary Paul Nabhan with a partial list of endangered, threatened, and protected plants in Arizona. The other section titled: Spirit land : Oregon has the poem "Oregon reunion of the rare" by Kim Stafford with a list of endangered, threatened, and protected plants in Oregon. Made of four folded handmade sheets sewn together. Two sheets made by Margaret Prentice create the Oregon section. That paper contains fibers from various plants grown in Oregon. The other two sheets of paper made by John Risseeuw create the Arizona section. That paper contains fibers from various plants grown in Arizona. John Risseeuw made the portfolio-style paper wrapper from a mixture of Arizona and Oregon fibers plus soil and crushed shells.

R

Title: Boom!: A Summary of the Paper Landmine Print Project

Creator: Risseeuw, John

Date: 2011

Publisher/Press: Tempe, Ariz. : The Cabbagehead Press

Call Number: UG490 .R577 2011

Subject: Land Mines, Arizona

Description: "Boom! was printed on paper made by the artist from landmine victims' clothing, leftovers from previous landmine prints, and other fibers appropriate or useful. All papers contain shredded currency from the nations that produced or used landmines. Handset letterpress with various typefaces (largely Neuland, Beton Open, Alternate Gothic, Kabel, and Stymie), polymer relief plates, and other relief sufaces were printed on a Vandercook proof press. All the facts and information herein are those available at the time of production, mostly from the ICBL's Landmine Monitor"--Colophon. Of an edition of thirty this is 23. Signed by the artist. Accordion fold book, attached to front and end boards, printed on both sides.

Title: Choice histories, framing abortion : an artists book

Creator: RepoHistory

Date: 1992

Publisher/Press: New York, N.Y. : b RepoHistory

Call Number: N7433.4 .R48 C47 1992

Subject: Abortion, Reproductive Rights

Description: Bears bookplate of the Natalie Leach & James A. Haslam III Library Endowment. "This book has been produced in conjunction with the exhibition 'A New World Order: part one' guest curated by Connie Butler at Artists Space, June 11-July 11, 1992."

                            Title: Spirit Land

Creator: Paul Nabhan, Kim Robert Stafford, Margaret Prentice, John Risseau

Date: 1996

Publisher/Press: Tempe, Ariz. : Cabbagehead Press ; Eugene, Or. : Margaret Prentice Studio

Call Number: Oversize N7433.3 .S64 1996

Subject: environment, endangered plants, western USA

Description: Tall and narrow, handmade paper, poems about Oregon and Arizona "[C]ollaboratively created and produced during the summer of 1996 ... for the Dieu Donné Papermill-sponsored 'Art of the Matter' paper collaboration symposium in October of 1996."--Colophon. Item consists of two sections. One section titled Spirit land : Arizona has the poem "Sonoran desert unfolding" by Gary Paul Nabhan with a partial list of endangered, threatened, and protected plants in Arizona. The other section titled: Spirit land : Oregon has the poem "Oregon reunion of the rare" by Kim Stafford with a list of endangered, threatened, and protected plants in Oregon. Made of four folded handmade sheets sewn together. Two sheets made by Margaret Prentice create the Oregon section. That paper contains fibers from various plants grown in Oregon. The other two sheets of paper made by John Risseeuw create the Arizona section. That paper contains fibers from various plants grown in Arizona. John Risseeuw made the portfolio-style paper wrapper from a mixture of Arizona and Oregon fibers plus soil and crushed shells.

Title: Normative trope of polymorphous perversity

Creator: I. Rose and Judith Butler

Date: 1992

Publisher/Press: New York : IRD Production

Call Number: N7433.4.R67 N67 1992

Subject: gender identity, feminism

Description: Text excerpted from Gender trouble, feminism and the subversion of identity


Title: TM /

Creator: John Risseeuw

Date: 1999

Publisher/Press: Cabbagehead Press

Call Number: N7433.4 .R596 T62 1999

Subject:

Description: To honor Thelonius Monk, uncut pages show how folded sheets correspond to pages. signed by John Risseau

Title: I'm Fairly Sorry, Says Peter Reel

Creator: Peter Reel

Date: 1932

Publisher/Press: Beverly Hills, Shoestring Press

Call Number: PS3535 .E33812 1932

Subject:

Description: poems and woodblock prints by Bobrick

Title: Prose works

Creator: Rainer Maria Rilke

Date: 1947

Publisher/Press: Cummington, Mass. : Cummington Press

Call Number: PT2635.I65 A2526 1947

Subject:

Description: "Translated by Carl Niemeyer from volume four of the Gesammelte Werke of Rainer Maria Rilke ... With woodcuts by Wightman Williams"--Page [1]. "Four of these translations appeared initially as Primal sound & other prose pieces, illustrated with wood-engravings by Paul Wieghardt and printed in 1943"--Preliminary p. [1]. "From the woodblocks cut by Wightman Williams and types composed by Harry Duncan, two hundred seventy one copies are by them printed and numbered as follows: I through VI, each with an original drawing tipped in, on Curfew paper and vii through xxxvii on Tunbridge paper being colored by hand, 1 through 203 on Van Gelder Oxhead paper, and 204 through 234, in wrappers, on various papers. This copy is 117"

Title: Everything Bagel

Creator: Rare Book School, Printmaking Workshop

Date: 2019

Publisher/Press: New York, N.Y. : Blackburn Printmaking Workshop

Call Number: F128.35 .E84 2019

Subject: zines, new york, artists books

Description: Zine created by the members of Rare Book School "History of Artists' Books Since 1950" class, at the Blackburn Printmaking Workshop, June 27, 2019. Contributors: Keelin Burrows, Annie Thompson, Katie Garth, Christine DeZelar-Tiedman, Marsha Taichman, Elizabeth Cruces, Stefanie Hilles, Szilvia Szmuk-Tanenbaum, Kristine Greive, John Shoesmith, Emily Hernandez, Allison McKittrick, Heeva Kadivar. Course instructor: Tony White.

                            Title: This House of Havoc

Creator: Carl Purington Rollins, American Institute of Graphic Arts

Date: 1941

Publisher/Press: New York : Institute Headquarters, American Institute of Graphic Arts

Call Number: BJ1595 .R64

Subject:

Description: printed on handmade paper and bound with a tied cord by the Press of the Wooly Whale on the occasion of C.P. Rollins receiving the Medal of the American Institute of Graphic Arts in 1941.

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5PM. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials.
865-974-4480
Website