Skip to main content

Books as Art: Home

This guide lists resources in Special Collections about the history of book creation, special binding and printing techniques, the development of illustrations, and artist's books.

Getting Started: Special Collections

Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. This research guide identifies books held by Special Collections that discuss or feature characteristics of artistic interest, such as bindings, paper types, techniques for illustration, and artists' books.

This guide is not a comprehensive list, but strives to present a wide sample of the varieties within the format known as book.  To find more information about Special Collections or books as art:

General Information

In addition to searching for "artists' books" (use quotes so you don't get records with only one or the other word), you can try typography, woodcuts, bookbinding, colophon (information at the back of a book, especially one that doesn't have a title page), "book history," "book art," and letterpress.  Another tactic is to search by publisher's name, because some publishers specialize in this type of work.

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website