Research Guides: Copy of Political Science: Data Archives (US & International)

Data Archives - US

AARP: AgeSource and Age Stats Worldwide
These two databases have been created by AARP to facilitate the international exchange of policy and program-relevant information in aging. AgeSource Worldwide℠ identifies several hundred information resources in some 25 countries which are significant either in size or in their unique coverage of particular aging-related issues. The resources include, among others, clearinghouses, libraries, databases, training modules, major reports, and Web metasites. More about AgeSource Worldwide℠ AgeStats Worldwide℠ provides access to comparative statistical data that compare the situation of older adults across countries or regions around a variety of issues areas. The most recent data and projections as far ahead as 2060 are provided where available.
Center for Effective Government
Our mission is two-pronged: Enhance public understanding and appreciation of what government does and how it operates in all of our communications.Protect core governing processes from undue influence by special interests, through analysis, advocacy, and strategic partnerships inside and outside of Washington.
Congressional Bills Project
This public resource provides information about more than 400,000 bills introduced in the U.S. Congress, currently 1947-2008, along with extensive information about each bill's progress and sponsor. It is used by researchers to study legislative institutions and behavior; by policy experts to study issue attention in Congress; and even by citizens studying their family histories (the dataset provides the only digitized records of tens of thousands of private bills introduced between 1947 and 1972).
Congressional Research Services Reports
This collection has ceased, but the archive Archived since: Jun, 2008 through 2014
Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a "think tank" that provides research reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. However, the Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, nor are they released to the public via the Federal Library Depository Program (FDLP). There are several organizations that collect and give access to subsets of published CRS Reports. This collection attempts to bring all CRS Reports together in one place.
Congressional Timeline
The Congressional Timeline, developed and maintained by The Dirksen Congressional Center, arrays more than 900 of the nation's laws on a timeline beginning with the first Congress in 1789 and continuing to the present. A second timeline "band" depicts major political events as context for Congress's law-making.
Data Archive - University of Wisconsin
The central depository of data collections of the social science research community at the University of Wisconsin. Is possible to download data for secondary analysis
Dirksen Center
Mission Statement: Our mission is to help people better understand the U.S. Congress, its people, its processes, and the public policies it produces.
Diversity Data
The diversitydata.org project identifies metropolitan area indicators of diversity, opportunity, quality of life and health for various racial and ethnic population groups. This website is available to a wide variety of potential users interested in describing, profiling and ranking U.S. metro areas in terms of quality of life. The indicators provide a scorecard on diversity and opportunity, and allow researchers, policymakers and community advocates to compare metro areas and to help them advocate for policy action and social change.
Economic Policy Institute
About EPI. The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions. EPI believes every working person deserves a good job with fair pay, affordable health care, and retirement security. To achieve this goal, EPI conducts research and analysis on the economic status of working America. EPI proposes public policies that protect and improve the economic conditions of low- and middle-income workers and assesses policies with respect to how they affect those workers.
Federation of American Scientist Secrecy blog
Issues covered include: government secrecy; nuclear weapons; nuclear & radiological terrorism; nonproliferation and counter proliferation; biological, chemical and other non-nuclear threats; energy, environment, and resources
Fedstats
Links to statistical information compiled by more than 70 agencies of the U.S. Government
Freedom of Information Act Archive
Freedom of Information (FOIA) Collected by: Stanford University, Social Sciences Resource Group Archived since: Dec, 2007 Description: Collection of sites that deal with Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests and documents. This includes government sites that receive and distribute FOIA documents as well as non-profit organizations and government watchdogs that request large numbers of FOIA documents on specific topics like national security and civil rights.
Godort Wiki
This project is called State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States. Our original aim was to only include items produced by governmental agencies in the fifty states that were also databases. Since the project got underway in June 2007, a number of people have submitted resources, that while useful, fell outside the scope of this project. Either they weren't really databases or they were not published by a governmental entity belonging to a given state. But they are useful and so we're loath to just throw them away.
Google Patent Search
This is a google search that only searches for patents.
GovPulse
About GovPulse: The Federal Register was created to inform citizens of their rights and obligations, document the actions of Federal agencies, and to provide a forum for public participation in the democratic process. Additionally it provides access to a wide range of Federal benefits and opportunities for funding. Gob Pulse allows easy searching of the Federal Register
GovTrack.US
Track bills in Congress, your representative’s voting records, upcoming committee meetings, and get alerts by email.
Legislative Explorer
A one of a kind interactive visualization that allows anyone to explore actual patterns of lawmaking in Congress. Get the ‘big picture’
Compare the bills and resolutions introduced by Senators and Representatives and follow their progress from the beginning to the end of a two year Congress. Dive deeper Filter by topic, type of legislation, chamber, party, member, or even search for a specific bill.
LegiStorm
LegiStorm launched in September 2006 to bring valuable information about the people of Congress to the public. We became widely known by being the only online source for staff salaries, financial disclosures, trips, gifts and earmarks. We’ve expanded our offerings to include the most accurate and up-to-date contact information and the most detailed intelligence on Hill staffers available. Based on Capitol Hill, LegiStorm separates itself from other congressional information providers by the depth and quality of our research about the staff that are so critical to decision-making on Capitol Hill.
Local Socioeconomic Data
Coming Soon. Local Labs is making difficult to navigate socioeconomic data practically accessible and easily navigable. The data include: Search by city or zip code among other options. The data include average unemployment, work, education level and other descriptive data.
Maplight.org
MapLight is a nonpartisan research organization that reveals money’s influence on politics. We research and compile data about the sources of campaign contributions in U.S. presidential, congressional, state, and local ballot and candidate elections. We provide journalists and citizens with transparency tools that connect data on campaign contributions, politicians, legislative votes, industries, companies, and more to show patterns of influence never before possible to see. These tools allow users to gain unique insights into how campaign contributions affect policy so they can draw their own conclusions about how money influences our political system.
National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
Open Congress
The Sunlight Foundation is now the sole operator of OpenCongress. This site will continue to be a comprehensive, nonpartisan source for what's happening in the United States Congress.
Open Secrets
OpenSecrets.org is your nonpartisan guide to money's influence on U.S. elections and public policy. Whether you're a voter, journalist, activist, student or interested citizen, use our free site to shine light on your government.
Oversight.io
Searching 16,200 reports from various inspectors general in the US federal government. Most every piece of the US federal government has an office called the Inspector General (IG). IG are charged with keeping their part of the government honest and efficient through strong, independent oversight.
Policy Agendas Project
The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War.
Public Resource
A 501C3 private organization.The specific purpose of this corporation is to create, architect, design, implement, operate and maintain public works projects on the Internet for Educational, Charitable, and Scientific Purposes to the benefit of the general public and the public interest; to increase and diffuse knowledge about the Internet in its broadest sense; to promote and facilitate the expansion, development, and growth of the public infrastructure of the Internet by any means consistent with the public interest through other activities, including, but not limited to, publications, meetings, conferences, training, educational seminars, and the issuance of grants and other financial support to educational institutions, foundations and other organizations exclusively for Educational, Charitable, and Scientific Purposes.
Quandl
Quandl is a Data Platform
We host data from hundreds of publishers on a single easy-to-use website. We make it easy for data users to get the data they need in the format they want.Our mission is to make all the numerical data in the world available on this website. We enable our users to get the precise data they need, in the exact format they want.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike. From research libraries to classrooms to government agencies to corporations to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer helps the public engage with society and science.
Stats America
The goal of StatsAmerica is to provide actionable data for economic developers to use in site requests, developing metrics, grant writing and strategic planning.
Supreme Court Database
The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 and 2013 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
Taxpayers for Common Sense
Founded in 1995, Taxpayers for Common Sense is a 501(c)(3) nonpartisan budget watchdog that serves as an independent voice for American taxpayers. Our mission is to ensure that the federal government spends taxpayer dollars responsibly and operates within its means.
Washington Watch.com
WashingtonWatch.com delivers the numbers behind proposed legislation and regulation. WashingtonWatch.com takes the perspective of individual citizens: An increased tax is treated as a “cost” because it takes money from people and businesses. Government spending also “costs” money because it moves money out of the public treasury we all own. “Savings” occur when spending cuts keep money in the public treasury and tax cuts return money to the public. The figures on WashingtonWatch.com reveal the relative size and significance of proposals, but they are not perfect predictions and they do not tell you everything you should know.
Harvard/MIT Data Center
The principal distributor of quantitative social science data for Harvard and MIT

ICPSR
Archive of political and social research data. Includes leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index of tables and full-text reports to statistical data produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Census Data
Population Reference Bureau
A "one-stop source" for U.S. Population data. Thirteen subject areas covered. Most of the data is from U.S. Census. Has a lot of charts and tables
Rand Corporation
Contains datasets, public use databases, and research tools covering law and business, health, education, and others
Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN)
" ... a university-based organization that creates demographic media, such as user guides, web sites, and hands-on classroom computer materials that make U.S. census data accessible to policymakers, educators, the media, and informed citizens"
UVA Library Geoportal
Discover, explore, and use collections of geospatial data from here at the UVA Library and around the world.

Data Archives - International

EIU Country Data
From the Economist Intelligence Unit – (UT Only) Contains a comprehensive database of economic indicators and forecasts. Data is usually from 1980 forward. Forecasts out 5 years. Also has regional data

GDF Online
Global Development Finance Online (UT Only) From the World Bank, provides access to debt and financial flows for 136 countries from 1970 forward

IDB International Data Base
(UT only) Contains demographic and socio-economic data for over 200 countries

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index to statistical data of all kinds from federal, state, private, and international sources. Links to full-text when available. Previously known as LexisNexis Statistical

SourceOECD
Online access to Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development); contains statistical data files

WDI
World Development Indicators Online 1960-2007, From the World Bank, provides development indicators, with time series for 208 countries from 1960 to 2007, where data is available

Subject Guide

Kris Bronstad

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

121 Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996

865 974 0939