Instruction Librarian
When using resources from Internet-5W's
When using resources from the Internet, it is important to keep these questions in mind to ensure it will meet your teacher's standards.
Who: Who authored your resource; are they an expert?
What: What is the information being conveyed in your resource?
When: When was the information last updated -- Important! It needs to be recent unless you are doing historical research.
Why: For what purpose was the information published-- are there any biases?
Where: Where was the information published? In a book or an educational website?
(Credit to UT Libraries, Learning & Engagement)
Databases at UTK
REMEMBER: You need to be on campus AND have a Guest account assigned to you to gain access UT's databases if not on a high school visit, so make good use of your time!
General Resources:
- Academic Search Premier [UT CAMPUS ONLY]Multi-disciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- Credo Reference [UT CAMPUS ONLY]Various subject encyclopedias and handbooks. Provides great background information.
- Google Scholar [ALL USERS]Searches thousands of citations but may not provide full-text access to all of them, and may not review credibility.
- JSTOR [UT CAMPUS ONLY]Collection of selected scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
For English:
- Literature Resource Center [UT CAMPUS ONLY]Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
For Science:
- Pubmed [ALL USERS]Premier source of biomedical information with free article recommendations and related data.
For History:
- Proquest Historical Newspapers [UT CAMPUS ONLY]Full text page and article images from many historical newspapers for analyzing primary source material.