Research Guides: Government Information: Federal, State & Local: Historical

Collections

ProQuest Congressional
American State Papers Online.
Select 'Advanced Search' Deselect all/Select Serial Set.
38vols. Storage Preservation J33
Storage Microfiche J 11.S3

Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
A searchable and browseable collection of U.S. congressional documents and debates, 1774-1875.
Wayback Machine
Archived Web pages from 1996 on Internet Archive.

Historic Documents
Resources for the United States and the world in government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
UT Libraries has access to 1972-2014 content.
If the content of a SAGE CQ Press article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Screen reader users should avoid using an iOS device on this website.

Army Heritage Collection Online
Search for personal papers, books and other materials.
Advisory Commission of Intergovernmental Relations (ACIR)
CIA FOIA
Search for declassified CIA documents.
National Transportation Library
The National Transportation Library (NTL) is a repository of U.S. DOT transportation information, serves as a portal transportation data, and provides library services to U.S. DOT employees. NTL’s mission is to maintain and facilitate access to statistical and other information needed for transportation decision-making at the Federal, State, and local levels and to coordinate with public and private transportation libraries and information providers to improve information sharing among the transportation community. Established in 1998 by the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21), NTL’s authorized role was expanded in 2012’s Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21).

Digital Collections

The Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
Contains the full text of numerous documents in law, history and diplomacy arranged by century.
Archive-It - Internet Archive
National Security Archive
Contains the full text of numerous documents in law, history and diplomacy arranged by century.

Retrospective Databases

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government covering the years 1895-2004.
ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive index to the U.S. Congress. Provides full-text of congressional publications including bills, laws, hearings, and more. Also includes members and committees information.

Retrospective Print Indexes

A Descriptive Catalog of the Government Publications of the United States, 1774-1881.
Poore, Benjamin P. Stacks Z1223.A1885d. 2 vols.
Catalog of the Public Documents of Congress and of all Departments of the
Government of the United States 1893-1938. Document Catalogue. Stacks Z1223.A13
Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1970.
(Lester) Ref. Z1223.Z7L45. 5 vols.
Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909. Ref. Z1223.A113
Search the Checklist online at the University of North Texas
Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government,
1881-1893.Ames, J.G. Storage Z1223.A 1881-93. 2 vols.
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976.
(Lester) Ref. Z1223.Z7L47. 16vols.
A good index for finding SuDocs numbers.
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government
Publications, 1900-1971. (Buchanan) Ref. Z1223.A18. 15 vols.
Public Documents of the First Fourteen Congresses, 1789-1817.
(Greely) Ref. Z1223.A1900a
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 1895-
     Storage Z1223.A8
     The major index to all U.S. government agency publications is
     arranged by agency and indexed by subject, keyword, title, and author.
     Historical indexes are available back to 1774.
Index to U.S. Government Periodicals 1970-1987
     Stacks Z1223.Z7I5
     Printed index that provides subject access to articles in U.S. government
     periodicals back to 1970. Check the online catalog for periodical holdings
     and locations.

Internet Archive Wayback Machine

Internet Archive Wayback Machine
Explore more than 916 billion web pages saved over time

Data.gov

Data.gov
The 16TB collection includes over 311,000 datasets harvested during 2024 and 2025, a complete archive of federal public datasets linked by data.gov. It will be updated daily as new datasets are added to data.gov.