e-Books available through the UT Libraries
Fieldwork Handbook: a Practical Guide on the Go by
Make your work in the field more efficient and productive with the how-to of location intelligence. A biologist in a rain forest making observations on indigenous frogs, an engineer maintaining utility equipment, or a citizen scientist taking water samples from a creek are all doing fieldwork. Their work is anchored by location. No matter what electronic tools they take into the field, they all take a notebook or a guidebook. As you head into the field along with all your equipment, be sure to include this practical fieldwork guide. Fieldwork Handbook gives you tips, best practices, and activities that make your work in the field more productive and successful. No matter how you use location intelligence in the field, you can up your game with this book and improve your experience. Covering preparation, equipment, workflows, and data, this book will teach you how to Organize and reconcile field data Effectively coordinate and dispatch field resources Refine fieldwork workflows Sync the office with the field Author and Esri product engineer Marika Vertzonis learned about geospatial technology in the field, and she knows what you need to know. This handbook is your friend in the field.
ISBN: 9781589487178Publication Date: 2024-03-05
Urban Food Mapping: Making Visible the Edible City by
With cities becoming so vast, so entangled and perhaps so critically unsustainable, there is an urgent need for clarity around the subject of how we feed ourselves as an urban species. Urban food mapping becomes the tool to investigate the spatial relationships, gaps, scales and systems that underlie and generate what, where and how we eat, highlighting current and potential ways to (re)connect with our diet, ourselves and our environments. Richly explored, using over 200 mapping images in 25 selected chapters, this book identifies urban food mapping as a distinct activity and area of research that enables a more nuanced way of understanding the multiple issues facing contemporary urbanism and the manyfold roles food spaces play within it. The authors of this multidisciplinary volume extend their approaches to place making, storytelling, in-depth observation and imagining liveable futures and engagement around food systems, thereby providing a comprehensive picture of our daily food flows and intrastructures. Their images and essays combine theoretical, methodological and practical analysis and applications to examine food through innovative map-making that empowers communities and inspires food planning authorities. This first book to systematise urban food mapping showcases and bridges disciplinary boundaries to make theoretical concepts as well as practical experiences and issues accessible and attractive to a wide audience, from the activist to the academic, the professional and the amateur. It will be of interest to those involved in the all-important work around food cultures, food security, urban agriculture, land rights, environmental planning and design who wish to create a more beautiful, equitable and sustainable urban environment.
ISBN: 9781003818052Publication Date: 2024-03-11
Handbook of Geospatial Approaches to Sustainable Cities by
This comprehensive handbook presents the current state of knowledge on geospatial technologies, techniques, and methods that are imperative for providing solutions to sustainable cities. It addresses the role of geospatial big data and AI techniques and how they are applied when analyzing the sustainability of urban development, land use, urban planning, and resource management, as well as monitoring the impact urbanization has on the environment and the ecosystem. Taking an interdisciplinary approach to sustainable cities, and with contributions from renowned experts around the world, this holistic handbook is a toolbox for geospatial, urban, and sustainability professionals, the artificial intelligence community, and those who work in related fields. Features: Explores cutting-edge geospatial and AI techniques in support of efficient, resilient, digital, and smart cities Bridges urban science and sustainability science via geospatial methods Contributes to the efforts of GEO by addressing and exemplifying pertinent societal benefit areas and engagement priorities Includes 16 case studies with a broad geographic scope that integrate societal needs with technological advances Draws expertise in geospatial technology, big data, and artificial intelligence from leading experts in the world This book is intended for researchers and scientists interested in learning techniques in GeoAI, including the technologies for collecting, analyzing, managing, processing, and visualizing geospatial datasets.
ISBN: 9781032154817Publication Date: 2024-05-01
Earth Observation in Urban Monitoring: Techniques and Challanges by
Earth Observation in Urban Monitoring: Techniques and Challenges presents the latest techniques of remote sensing in urban monitoring, along with methods for quantitative and qualitative assessment using state-of-the-art Earth observation technologies. The book details the advances of remote sensing technologies in urban environmental monitoring for a range of practical and research applications, Earth observation datasets, remote sensing of environmental considerations, geostatistical techniques and resilience perspectives. Chapters cover sensor applications, urban growth modelling, SAR applications, surveying techniques, satellite time series analysis and a variety of other remote sensing technologies for urban monitoring. Each chapter includes detailed case studies at a variety of scales and from a variety of geographies, offering up-to-date, global, urban monitoring methodologies for researchers, scientists and academics in remote sensing, geospatial research, environmental science and sustainability. Focuses on a variety of interdisciplinary applications using Earth observation data, GIS and soft computing techniques to address various challenges in urban monitoring Provides numerous case studies at a variety of scales, from local to global, to aid readers in implementing urban monitoring techniques at any level Includes theoretical and applied research contributions along with background information on the use of concurrent technologies in the disciplines of urban studies
ISBN: 9780323957960Publication Date: 2023-11-09
Collaborative Cities: Mapping Solutions to Wicked Problems by
Dynamic problems require dynamic collaboration and technology. Our communities today face difficult issues--such as climate change, access to health care, and homelessness--which are tangled, complicated, and constantly evolving. Coined "wicked problems" more than 40 years ago by the University of California's professors Horst Rittel and C. West Churchman, these issues exceed the capacity of any one sector, instead demanding the kind of creative thinking, democratized engagement, and integrated action that come from government, nonprofits, businesses, and citizens working in concert. These different stakeholders, however, don't always agree on the best approach, strategy, or goals. But their commonality in driving social outcomes relies on place: where problems are happening, where people need assistance and help defining the issues. Maps combine complex and relational information that can be visualized and analyzed to deal with these issues. When used with technological developments in data analytics, visualization, connectivity, and the Internet of Things (IoT), mapping can promote effective cross-sector collaboration. Written for citizens and city leaders, Collaborative Cities: Mapping Solutions to Wicked Problems guides readers into using location intelligence to derive public value from action. Co-authors Stephen Goldsmith (former mayor of Indianapolis and deputy mayor of New York) and Kate Markin Coleman (former executive vice president for branding and strategy at the YMCA) use their combined years of experience to analyze the best civic examples of geospatial technology working across cross-sector networks. Divided into eight chapters, Collaborative Cities addresses the formation, operation, and adaptation of cross-sector collaborations, including five chapters dedicated to specific wicked problems such as public safety, homelessness, and sustainability. Starting with Collaborative Cities, government officials, nonprofit leaders, and citizens alike who are acting for social value can learn how to use a geospatial approach to improve insight, trust, and the efficacy of their combined efforts to solve wicked problems.
ISBN: 9781589485396Publication Date: 2022-01-11
Geographies of Digital Exclusion: Data and Inequality by
Today's urban environments are layered with data and algorithms that fundamentally shape how we perceive and move through space. But are our digitally dense environments continuing to amplify inequalities rather than alleviate them? This book looks at the key contours of information inequality, and who, what and where gets left out. Platforms like Google Maps and Wikipedia have become important gateways to understanding the world, and yet they are characterized by significant gaps and biases, often driven by processes of exclusion. As a result, their digital augmentations tend to be refractions rather than reflections: they highlight only some facets of the world at the expense of others. This doesn't mean that more equitable futures aren't possible. By outlining the mechanisms through which our digital and material worlds intersect, the authors conclude with a roadmap for what alternative digital geographies might look like.
ISBN: 9780745340180Publication Date: 2022-01-20
Designing Our Future: GIS for Architecture, Engineering, and Construction by
Learn how architecture, engineering, and construction (AEC) firms work to improve sustainability objectives and advance new ideas about creating more livable cities, workplaces, and campuses as they create greater operational efficiency. Location intelligence is changing how land development and large infrastructure projects take shape. From new residential construction to planning a modern urban experience to building a high-speed rail system, a geographic approach helps pave the way to better, more sustainable designs. In Designing Our Future: GIS for Architecture, Engineering & Construction, see how the AEC industry is implementing geographic information systems (GIS) to improve workflows, bring context to large undertakings, and increase collaboration between governments, contractors, partners, and the public. With GIS, architects, engineers, and construction professionals are discovering new efficiencies, gaining deeper insights about complex projects, and transforming the way they plan, design, build, and operate in the built and natural environments. In this collection of case studies and "how to" guidance, gain an overview of how GIS was used to: Reduce the carbon footprint and mitigate future climate-related damage from a cross-country, high-speed rail project in the US Document all above and below ground assets such as utility services, electric, gas, surface water and sewer drainage for a local transportation agency Plan maintenance for and respond to hazards from aging structures and vulnerable hillsides using drones in Japan Designing Our Future: GIS for Architecture, Engineering & Construction also includes a "next steps" section that provides ideas, strategies, tools, and actions to help jump-start your own use of GIS. A collection of online resources, including additional stories, videos, new ideas and concepts, and downloadable tools and content, complements this book.
ISBN: 9781589487239Publication Date: 2022-10-25
The Routledge Handbook of Landscape Architecture Education by
In this handbook, 60 authors, senior and junior educators, and researchers from six continents provide an overview of 200 years of landscape architectural education. They tell the stories of schools and people, of visions, and of experiments that constitute landscape architecture education heritage. Through taking an international perspective, the handbook centers inclusivity with an appreciation for how education develops in different political and societal contexts. Part I introduces the field of education history research, including research approaches and international research exchange. Spanning more than 100 years, Parts II and III investigate and compare early and recent histories of landscape architecture education in different countries and schools. In Part IV, the book offers new perspectives for landscape architecture education. Education research presents a substantial opportunity for challenging studies to increase the pedagogic and didactic, the academic and historic, and the disciplinary knowledge basis. Through a boundary-crossing approach, these studies about landscape architecture education provide a reference to teachers and students, policymakers, and administrators, who strive for innovative, holistic, and interdisciplinary practice.
ISBN: 9781003212645Publication Date: 2022-11-11
Resilient Communities Across Geographies by
What makes a community resilient? How do we ensure its sustainable future? Resilience--the unique ability to positively adapt to changing physical and social environments--is essential for populations of all sizes and locales in today's world of unexpected changes and increasing instances of environmental change. Communities around the globe possess unique combinations of culture, skills, and abilities in context of unique built and natural environments. Identifying and mapping community strengths and resources facilitates effective planning for where and how to focus and manage their unique cultures and characteristics. Resilient Communities across Geographies is a collection of case studies examining the application of geographic information systems (GIS) to environmental and socioeconomic challenges for analysis, planning, and, ultimately, more resilient communities. Each chapter discusses a spatially driven approach to challenges in geography, social sciences, landscape architecture, urban planning, environmental studies, sociology, economics, migration, community development, meteorology, oceanography, and other fields. Examples explore both the natural and cultural contexts of climate adaptation in built environments and cultural impacts in a diversity of communities. These include the Martu people of Australia, First Nation youth in Canada, and cultural diversity of indigenous Los Angeles to California farmworkers facing exposure to agricultural chemicals in their communities. Each example applies powerful GIS tools and analysis to document, support, and assess resilience across these unique geographies while recognizing the value and strength which lies in the diversity of the people who live there. The stories shared within Resilient Communities across Geographies help readers develop an expanded sense of the power of spatial thinking, local knowledge, and engagement to address the difficult problems we collectively face in various locales. Edited by the authors of GIS Research Methods with a foreword by Esri Chief Medical Officer Este Geraghty.
ISBN: 9781589484818Publication Date: 2021-01-19
Livable Streets 2. 0 by
Livable Streets 2.0 offers a thorough examination of the struggle between automobiles, residents, pedestrians and other users of streets, along with evidence-based, practical strategies for redesigning city street networks that support urban livability. In 1981, when Donald Appleyard's Livable Streets was published, it was globally recognized as a groundbreaking work, one of the most influential urban design books of its time. Unfortunately, he was killed a year later by a speeding drunk driver. This latest update, Livable Streets 2.0, revisited by his son Bruce, updates the topic with the latest research, new case studies, and best human-centered practices for creating more livable streets for all. It is essential reading for those who influence future directions in city and transportation planning, urban design, and community regeneration, and placemaking. Incorporates the most current empirical research on urban transportation and land use practices that support the need for more livable communities Includes recent case studies from around the world on successful projects, campaigns, programs, and other efforts Contains new coverage of vulnerable populations
ISBN: 9780128160299Publication Date: 2021-03-22
Advances in urban planning in developing nations : data analytics and technology by
This book studies the increasing use of data analytics and technology in urban planning and development in developing nations. It examines the application of urban science and engineering in different sectors of urban planning and looks at the challenges involved in planning 21st-century cities, especially in India. The volume analyzes various key themes such as auditory/visual sensing, network analysis and spatial planning, and decision-making and management in the planning process. It also studies the application of big data, geographic information systems, and information and communications technology in urban planning. Finally, it provides data-driven approaches toward holistic and optimal urban solutions for challenges in transportation planning, housing, and conservation of vulnerable urban zones like coastal areas and open spaces. Well supplemented with rigorous case studies, the book will be of interest to scholars and researchers of architecture, architectural and urban planning, and urban analytics. It will also be useful for professionals involved in smart city planning, planning authorities, urban scientists, and municipal and local bodies.
ISBN: 9781003091370Publication Date: 2021-05-26
Guide to Chicago's Twenty-First-Century Architecture by
Exploring a new century of architecture in the Windy City Chicago's wealth of architectural treasures makes it one of the world's majestic cityscapes. Published in collaboration with the Chicago Architecture Center, this easy-to-use guide invites you to discover the new era of twenty-first-century architecture in the Windy City via two hundred architecturally significant buildings and spaces in the city and suburbs. Features include: Entries organized by neighborhood Maps with easy-to-locate landmarks and mass transit options Background on each entry, including the design architect, name and address, description, and other essential information Sidebars on additional sites and projects A detailed supplemental section with a glossary, selected bibliography, and indexes by architect, building name, and building type Up-to-date and illustrated with almost four hundred color photos, the Guide to Chicago's Twenty-First-Century Architecture takes travelers and locals on a journey into an ever-changing architectural mecca.
ISBN: 9780252052620Publication Date: 2021-06-08
Building a smarter community : GIS for state and local government by
Provide open data, balance decisions and initiatives, and create equitable policies. Smart communities don't wait for someone to deem them smart; they take action. State and local governments worldwide have taken that first step using geographic information system (GIS) technology. Applying GIS to planning and urban design, public works operations, and racial equity and social justice has helped meet citizens' needs and improve government operations. And with advancements in smart technology, location intelligence for state and local governments is not just for GIS specialists. More informed, data-driven decisions lead to improved outcomes that can be shared and replicated in other communities, helping citizens and government collaborate for the common good. Building a Smarter Community: GIS for State and Local Government shows how government leaders in cities, counties, and states have applied GIS for improved planning, operations, and civic inclusion. In this collection of case studies and guidance to get started, learn how GIS: Helped planners visualize affordable housing patterns in Honolulu, Hawaii Radically changed stormwater management practices in Salinas County, California Improved easy access to city data, initiatives, and services in Coral Gables, Florida Supported minority-owned business during the COVID pandemic in San Rafael, California Web apps, GIS hubs and dashboards, and other GIS solutions help state and local governments develop a deeper understanding of the communities they serve within a real-world context. Sections on getting started with GIS provide helpful ideas, strategies, tools, and actions and a collection of online resources to jump-start your use of GIS for state and local government. Discover how GIS and location intelligence support state and local government decisions and citizen participation in Building a Smarter Community.
ISBN: 1589486846Publication Date: 2021-06-29
Protecting the places we love : conservation strategies for entrusted lands and parks by
Protecting special places in danger of being changed forever requires urgent action. It's time for bold conservation strategies to boost land protection around the world. Bold conservation goals require strategic action. In Protecting the Places We Love: Conservation Strategies for Entrusted Lands and Parks, conservationist and geospatial designer Breece Robertson applies her conservation experience, real-world examples, and myriad resources to deliver a vision for success and clear guidance for conservation groups large and small to achieve their goals. The goals of these strategies are familiar: support species, habitats, and natural resources and healthy, livable communities that are climate resilient and socially cohesive, all without high costs. Robertson's tools, many of them free, feel quickly accessible, effective, and adaptable to a new or existing conservation strategy. Readers finish this book feeling confident about integrating existing practices with geospatial data and modern applications. With the smart analysis and targeted action explained in Protecting the Places We Love, readers will better identify places needing protection and better understand how to maximize partnerships, inspire, educate, and engage communities and donors, and produce better results. See the vision and learn to: create maps that tell compelling stories to stakeholders and the public analyze park system equity and access and show the economic benefits map, model, and analyze land characteristics to enhance biodiversity, connectivity, and climate resilience use maps and data to gain insights for fundraising, program initiatives, policy, advocacy, finances, and marketing. Protecting the Places We Love is perfect for citizens, and for conservation advocates and professionals at small to medium-sized land trusts, conservation organizations, and park agencies. Examples from land protection organizations all over the globe provide field-tested approaches to improve strategic effectiveness. Robertson provides a vision, strategies, and resources that can take your conservation efforts to the next level.
ISBN: 9781589486164Publication Date: 2021-07-06
Fundamentals of Capturing and Processing Drone Imagery and Data by
Unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) are rapidly emerging as flexible platforms for capturing imagery and other data across the sciences. Many colleges and universities are developing courses on UAS-based data acquisition. Fundamentals of Capturing and Processing Drone Imagery and Data is a comprehensive, introductory text on how to use unmanned aircraft systems for data capture and analysis. It provides best practices for planning data capture missions and hands-on learning modules geared toward UAS data collection, processing, and applications. FEATURES Lays out a step-by-step approach to identify relevant tools and methods for UAS data/image acquisition and processing. Provides practical hands-on knowledge with visual interpretation, well-organized and designed for a typical 16-week UAS course offered on college and university campuses. Suitable for all levels of readers and does not require prior knowledge of UAS, remote sensing, digital image processing, or geospatial analytics. Includes real-world environmental applications along with data interpretations and software used; exercises in chapters 8 through 19 have support materials for free download. Combines the expertise of a wide range of UAS researchers and practitioners across the geospatial sciences. This book provides a general introduction to drones along with a series of hands-on exercises that students and researchers can engage with to learn to integrate drone data into real-world applications. No prior background in remote sensing, GIS, or drone knowledge is needed to use this book. Readers will learn to process different types of UAS imagery for applications (such as precision agriculture, forestry, urban landscapes) and apply this knowledge in environmental monitoring and land-use studies.
ISBN: 9780429283239Publication Date: 2021-07-27
Learning GIS using open source software : an applied guide for geo-spatial analysis by
This book introduces the usage, functionality, and application of data in geographic information systems (GIS) for geo-spatial analysis. It offers knowledge on GIS tools and techniques and explains how they can be applied in real-world project to architects and planners in the Indian and the Greater South Asian context using open-source software. The volume explains concepts on planning and architectural tasks, their data, methods and requirements followed, and includes GIS-related exercises on the same tasks. It takes the reader through the concepts of geo-spatial analysis and its referencing system while quoting examples from India. Further, the content of the book will help the planners involved in preparing GIS-based master planning for cities under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme (see Glossary for details). A practical guidebook providing a step-by-step guide to learn open source GIS, this book will be useful for students, scholars and professionals from the field of architecture and planning, geography and other spatial sciences, instructors of GIS courses on planning and architecture, urban and regional planners, transport planners, urban design, landscape architects, environmental planners, departments of town and country planning, and development authorities. It will also be useful for anyone interested in the geospatial analysis.
ISBN: 9781000478631Publication Date: 2021-12-07
AutoCAD 2021 3D Modelling by
This book provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models, working with cameras and lights, assigning materials to objects, rendering, and printing. Unlike many AutoCAD competitors, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application. Use the companion CD to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures including color. AutoCAD 2021 3D Modelingincludes 50 "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2021. FEATURES * Provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models in both metric and imperial units * CD can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color
ISBN: 9781683925231Publication Date: 2020-03-17
AutoCAD 2021 Beginning and Intermediate by
This book is the most comprehensive book you will find on AutoCAD 2021 - 2DDrafting. Covering all of the 2D concepts, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editingtools for this popular application. Use the companion disc to set up drawingexercises and projects and see all of the book's figures in color. AutoCAD2021 Beginning and Intermediateincludes over 100 exercises or"mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actualplotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of threeprojects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, withoutoverlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2021. FEATURES: Covers only the basics and uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application CD can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color Helps you to prepare for the AutoCAD Certified Professional exam
ISBN: 9781683925200Publication Date: 2020-03-27
The international geodesign collaboration : changing geography by design by
The world faces challenges that supersede and ignore national and regional boundaries and cannot be solved by a single individual, nation, science, or profession. Preparing for the outcomes of population growth and rising global temperatures requires multidisciplinary approaches and collaboration amoung all the stakeholders. Global social and environmental issues will increasingly become multiregional and multinational, and we therefore will need to plan in what should become one language. The language of geodesign. In The International Geodesign Collaboration: Changing Geography by Design, editors Thomas Fisher, Brian Orland, and Carl Steinitz introduce you to a geodesign approach that allows multiple disciplinary teams to collaborate and design at geographic scale using geographic information systems (GIS) and design tools to explore alternative future scenarios. Learn The International Geodesign Collaboration workflow for addressing the complex global challenges when working on widely diverse, multidisciplinary projects. Explore the potential futures of 51 university project areas around the world. The International Geodesign Collaboration: Changing Geography by Design shows how researchers, scientists, designers, and students, can use geodesign principles to work together through analysis, technology, and collaboration.
ISBN: 9781589486133Publication Date: 2020-04-14
Drone futures : UAS in landscape and urban design by
Drone Futures explores new paradigms in Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) in landscape and urban design. UAS or drones can be deployed with direct application to the built environment; this book explores the myriad of contemporary and future possibilities of the design medium, its aesthetic, mapping agency, AI, mobility and contribution to smart cities. Drones present innovative possibilities, operating in a 'hover space' between human scales of landscape observation and light aircraft providing a unique resolution of space. This book shows how UAS can be utilised to provide new perspectives on spatial layout, landscape and urban conditions, data capture for construction monitoring and simulation of design proposals. Author Paul Cureton examines both the philosophical use of these tools and practical steps for implementation by designers. Illustrated in full colour throughout, Drone Futures discusses UAS and their connectivity to other design technologies and processes, including mapping and photogrammetry, AR/VR, drone AI and drones for construction and fabrication, new mobilities, smart cities and city information models (CIMs). It is specifically geared towards professionals seeking to understand UAS applications and future development and students seeking an understanding of the role of drones and airspace in the built environment and its powerful geographic imaginary. With international contributions, multidisciplinary sources and case studies, Drone Futures examines new powers of flight for visualising, interpreting and presenting landscapes and urban spaces of tomorrow.
ISBN: 9781351212991Publication Date: 2020-07-29
Underground cities : mapping the tunnels, transits and networks underneath our feet by
Drawing on geography, cartography and historical oddities, Mark Ovenden explores what the city looks like from the bottom up. Surprising you with facts and exposing the strange beauty of our underneath realms, Underground Cities teaches us all, just how much goes on beneath our feet.
ISBN: 9781781318935Publication Date: 2020-09-22
Urban high-resolution remote sensing : algorithms and modeling by
With urbanization as a global phenomenon, there is a need for data and information about these terrains. Urban remote sensing techniques provide critical physical input and intelligence for preparing base maps, formulating planning proposals, and monitoring implementations. Likewise these methodologies help with understanding the biophysical properties, patterns, and process of urban landscapes, as well as mapping and monitoring urban land cover and spatial extent. Advanced sensor technologies and image processing methodologies such as deep learning, data mining, etc., facilitate the wide applications of remote sensing technology in urban areas. This book presents advanced image processing methods and algorithms focused on three very important roots of urban remote sensing: 3D urban modelling using different remotely sensed data, urban orthophotomap generation, and urban feature extraction, which are also today's real challenges in high resolution remote sensing. Data generated by remote sensing, with its repetitive and synoptic viewing and multispectral capabilities, constitutes a powerful tool for mapping and monitoring emerging changes in the city's urban core, as well as in peripheral areas. Features: Provides advances in emerging methods and algorithms in image processing and technology Uses algorithms and methodologies for handling high-resolution imagery from a ground sampling distance (GSD) less than 1.0 meter Focuses on 3D urban modelling, orthorectification methodologies, and urban feature extraction algorithms from high-resolution remotely sensed imagery Demonstrates how to apply up-to-date techniques to the problems identified and how to analyze research results Presents methods and algorithms for monitoring, analyzing, and modeling urban growth, urban planning, and socio-economic developments In this book, readers are provided with valuable research studies and applications-oriented chapters in areas such as urban trees, soil moisture mapping, city transportation, urban remote sensing big data, etc.
ISBN: 9781000287691Publication Date: 2020-12-21
GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management by
GIS is used today to better understand and solve urban problems. GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management: A Global Perspective, explores and illustrates the capacity that geo-information and GIS have to inform practitioners and other participants in the processes of the planning and management of urban regions. The first part of the book addresses the concept of sustainable urban development, its different frameworks, the many ways of measuring sustainability, and its value in the urban policy arena. The second part discusses how urban planning can shape our cities, examines various spatial configurations of cities, the spread of activities, and the demands placed on different functions to achieve strategic objective. It further focuses on the recognition that urban dwellers are increasingly under threat from natural hazards and climate change. Written by authors with expertise on the applications of geo-information in urban management, this book showcases the importance of GIS in better understanding current urban challenges and provides new insights on how to apply GIS in urban planning. It illustrates through real world cases the use of GIS in analyzing and evaluating the position of disadvantaged groups and areas in cities and provides clear examples of applied GIS in urban sustainability and urban resilience. The idea of sustainable development is still very much central in the new development agenda of the United Nations, and in that sense, it is of particular importance for students from both the Global South and Global North. Professionals, researchers, and students alike will find this book to be an invaluable resource for understanding and solving problems relating to sustainable urban planning and management.
ISBN: 9781138505551Publication Date: 2019-01-09
The city in geography : renaturing the built environment by
Monumental in scale and epic in development, cities have become the most visible and significant symbol of human progress. The geography on and around which they are constructed, however, has come to be viewed merely in terms of its resources and is often laid to waste once its assets have been stripped. The City in Geography is an urban exploration through this phenomenon, from settlement to city through physical geography, which reveals an incremental progression of removing terrain, topography and geography from the built environment, ushering in and advancing global destruction and instability. This book explains how the fall of geography in relationship to human survival has come through the loss of contact between urban dwellers and physical terrain, and details the radical rethinking required to remedy the separations between the city, its inhabitants and the landscape upon which it was built.
ISBN: 9781315628080Publication Date: 2019-03-15
Mapping landscapes in transformation : multidisciplinary methods for historical analysis by
The development of historical geographical information systems (HGIS) and other methods from the digital humanities have revolutionised historical research on cultural landscapes. One of today's major challenges, however, concerns the concepts and tools to be deployed for mapping processes of transformation--that is, interpreting and imagining the relational complexity of urban and rural landscapes, both in space and in time, at micro- and macro-scale. The opening up of increasingly diverse collections of source material, often incomplete and difficult to interpret, has led to methodologically innovative experiments. Mapping Landscapes in Transformation gathers experts from different disciplines, active in the fields of historical geography, urban and landscape history, and heritage conservation. They are specialised in a wide variety of space-time contexts, including regions within Europe, Asia, and the Americas, and periods from antiquity to the 21st century. Contributors: Karl Beelen (Karlsruhe IT), John Bintliff (Leiden University / Edinburgh University), Bieke Cattoor (TU Delft), Jill Desimini (Harvard University), Cecilia Furlan (TU Delft / KU Leuven), Ian Gregory and Christopher Donaldson (Lancaster University), Joanna Taylor (University of Manchester), Piraye Hacigüzeller, Frank Vermeulen and Devi Taelman (Ghent University), Ralf Vandam and Jeroen Poblome (KU Leuven), Reinout Klaarenbeek (KU Leuven), Sanne Maekelberg (KU Leuven), Steffen Nijhuis (TU Delft), Cristina Purcar (TU Cluj-Napoca), Changxue Shu (KU Leuven, FWO), Bram Vannieuwenhuyze (University of Amsterdam), May Yuan and Arloo McKee (University of Texas, Dallas) Ebook available in Open Access. This publication is GPRC-labeled (Guaranteed Peer Review Content).
ISBN: 9789462701731Publication Date: 2019-09-15
Manual of Digital Earth by
This open access book offers a summary of the development of Digital Earth over the past twenty years. By reviewing the initial vision of Digital Earth, the evolution of that vision, the relevant key technologies, and the role of Digital Earth in helping people respond to global challenges, this publication reveals how and why Digital Earth is becoming vital for acquiring, processing, analysing and mining the rapidly growing volume of global data sets about the Earth. The main aspects of Digital Earth covered here include: Digital Earth platforms, remote sensing and navigation satellites, processing and visualizing geospatial information, geospatial information infrastructures, big data and cloud computing, transformation and zooming, artificial intelligence, Internet of Things, and social media. Moreover, the book covers in detail the multi-layered/multi-faceted roles of Digital Earth in response to sustainable development goals, climate changes, and mitigating disasters, the applications of Digital Earth (such as digital city and digital heritage), the citizen science in support of Digital Earth, the economic value of Digital Earth, and so on. This book also reviews the regional and national development of Digital Earth around the world, and discusses the role and effect of education and ethics. Lastly, it concludes with a summary of the challenges and forecasts the future trends of Digital Earth. By sharing case studies and a broad range of general and scientific insights into the science and technology of Digital Earth, this book offers an essential introduction for an ever-growing international audience.
ISBN: 9789813299146Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Urban Remote Sensing by
Urban Remote Sensing, Second Edition assembles a team of professional experts to provide a much-needed update on the applications of remote sensing technology to urban and suburban areas. This book reflects new developments in spaceborne and airborne sensors, image processing methods and techniques, and wider applications of urban remote sensing to meet societal and economic challenges. In various sections of the book the authors address methods for upscaling urban feature extraction to the global scale, new methods in mapping and detecting urban landscape features and structures, and mapping and monitoring urbanization in developing countries. Additionally, readers are provided with valuable case studies such as the HEAT (Heat Energy Assessment Technologies) project in Calgary, Canada and the use of VHR (very high resolution) satellite monitoring in Salzburg, Austria to tackle challenges of urban green planning. Features Explores the most up-to-date developments in the field of urban remote sensing Integrates both technical and practical aspects covering all different topics of global urban growth issues Provides new and updated contributions addressing data mining of remotely sensed big data, recent urban studies on a global scale, accuracy assessment and validation, and new technical challenges Examines various applications of urban remote sensing in support of urban planning, environmental management, and sustainable urban development Authors are renowned figures in the field of remote sensing
ISBN: 9780429888540Publication Date: 2018-02-20
AutoCAD 2019 3D Modeling by
This book provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models, working with cameras and lights, assigning materials to objects, rendering, and printing. Unlike many AutoCAD competitors, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application. Use the companion CD to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures including color. AutoCAD 2019 3DModelingincludes 50 "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2019. Features: * Covers 3D solid modeling, 3D surface modeling, working with cameras/lighting, rendering and imaging, dimensioning and drafting, and model interchange * Includes 50 "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) * Provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models in both metric and imperial units * Companion disc can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color * Written by an AutoDesk® Approved Instructor and Certified AutoDesk AutoCAD Master The companion files include (files are also available for downloading from the publisher): --Drawing Exercises and Projects --Solutions to Exercises and Projects --All Images from the Text eBook Customers:Companion files are available for downloading with order number/proof of purchase by writing to the publisher at info@merclearning.com.
ISBN: 9781683921783Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Tangible Modeling with Open Source GIS by
This book provides an overview of the latest developments in the fast growing field of tangible user interfaces. It presents a new type of modeling environment where the users interact with geospatial data and simulations using 3D physical landscape model coupled with 3D rendering engine. Multiple users can modify the physical model, while it is being scanned, providing input for geospatial analysis and simulations. The results are then visualized by projecting images or animations back on the physical model while photorealistic renderings of human views are displayed on a computer screen or in a virtual reality headset. New techniques and software which couple the hardware set-up with open source GRASS GIS and Blender rendering engine, make the system instantly applicable to a wide range of applications in geoscience education, landscape design, computer games, stakeholder engagement, and many others. This second edition introduces a new more powerful version of the tangible modeling environment with multiple types of interaction, including polymeric sand molding, placement of markers, and delineation of areas using colored felt patches. Chapters on coupling tangible interaction with 3D rendering engine and immersive virtual environment, and a case study integrating the tools presented throughout this book, demonstrate the second generation of the system - Immersive Tangible Landscape - that enhances the modeling and design process through interactive rendering of modeled landscape. This book explains main components of Immersive Tangible Landscape System, and provides the basic workflows for running the applications. The fundamentals of the system are followed by series of example applications in geomorphometry, hydrology, coastal and fluvial flooding, fire spread, landscape and park design, solar energy, trail planning, and others. Graduate and undergraduate students and educators in geospatial science, earth science, landscape architecture, computer graphics and games, natural resources and many others disciplines, will find this book useful as a reference or secondary textbook. Researchers who want to build and further develop the system will most likely be the core audience, but also anybody interested in geospatial modeling applications (hazard risk management, hydrology, solar energy, coastal and fluvial flooding, fire spread, landscape and park design) will want to purchase this book.
ISBN: 9783319893020Publication Date: 2018-05-24
AutoCAD 2019 Beginning and Intermediate by
This book is the most comprehensive book you will find on AutoCAD 2019 - 2D Drafting. Covering all of the 2D concepts, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application. Use the companion disc to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures in color. AutoCAD 2019 Beginning and Intermediateincludes over 100 exercises or "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of three projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2019. Features: * Designed for novice users of AutoCAD 2019. Most useful for "teach yourself" or instructor-led AutoCAD training in Level 1 or 2. No previous CAD experience is required * New chapter on the "Drawing Compare" function * Companion files featuring drawings, practice and finished plots, 4-color figures, etc. * Includes over 100 "mini-workshops" and hundreds of figures that complete small projects * Uses both English and metric units in examples, exercises, projects, and descriptions * Covers three full projects (metric and imperial) for architectural and mechanical designs * Helps you to prepare for the AutoCAD Certified Professional exam * Exercises and instructor's resources available for use as a textbook
ISBN: 9781683921769Publication Date: 2018-06-04
Re-mapping archaeology : critical perspectives, alternative mappings by
Maps have always been a fundamental tool in archaeological practice, and their prominence and variety have increased along with a growing range of digital technologies used to collect, visualise, query and analyse spatial data. However, unlike in other disciplines, the development of archaeological cartographical critique has been surprisingly slow; a missed opportunity given that archaeology, with its vast and multifaceted experience with space and maps, can significantly contribute to the field of critical mapping. Re-mapping Archaeology thinks through cartographic challenges in archaeology and critiques the existing mapping traditions used in the social sciences and humanities, especially since the 1990s. It provides a unique archaeological perspective on cartographic theory and innovatively pulls together a wide range of mapping practices applicable to archaeology and other disciplines. This volume will be suitable for undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well as for established researchers in archaeology, geography, anthropology, history, landscape studies, ethnology and sociology.
ISBN: 9781351267724Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Chasing the city : models for extra-urban investigations by
Historically, many architects, planners, and urban designers solicit idealistic depictions of a controllable urban environment made from highly regulated geometrical organizations and systematically defined processes. Rather than working as urban "designers" who set out to control and implant external processes, we shift our approach to that of urban "detectives," who set out to chase the city. Charged with approaching the city more responsively, we investigate what we do not know, allowing the city to direct our work. As urban detectives, we have the ability to interrogate and respond to the elaborate patterns emerging from self-generated, internalized urban interactions. Chasing the City asks what are the current design trends shaping how we, first, understand the cities of today to, then, produce informed decisions on the continuously undefined evolving city of tomorrow. Intentionally, the work here does not adhere to rudimentary notions of supposed singularities or rely upon past generations of idealistic utopian models. Rather, Chasing the City delineates current models of urban investigation that seek to respond to the nature of cities and develop heretofore-urban strategies as concurrently negotiated future urbanism. This edited volume provides a collection of innovative design research projects based on shared notions of Chasing the City through three bodies of strategic frameworks: (1) Mapping, (2) Resource, and (3) Typology. This structure ultimately allows readers, as fellow urban detectives, access to exploratory tools and methods of detection that accumulate from our environs, both practical and projective in our chase of the city.
ISBN: 9780815384885Publication Date: 2018-10-12
Research Companion to Landscape Architecture by
The Routledge Research Companion to Landscape Architecture considers landscape architecture's increasingly important cultural, aesthetic, and ecological role. The volume reflects topical concerns in theoretical, historical, philosophical, and practice-related research in landscape architecture - research that reflects our relationship with what has traditionally been called 'nature'. It does so at a time when questions about the use of global resources and understanding the links between human and non-human worlds are more crucial than ever.　 The twenty-five chapters of this edited collection bring together significant positions in current landscape architecture research under five broad themes - History, Sites and Heritage, City and Nature, Ethics and Sustainability, Knowledge and Practice - supplemented with a discussion of landscape architecture education. Prominent as well as up-and-coming contributors from landscape architecture and adjacent fields including Tom Avermaete, Peter Carl, Gareth Doherty, Ottmar Ette, Matthew Gandy, Christophe Girot, Anne Whiston Spirn, Ian H. Thompson and Jane Wolff seek to widen, fuel, and frame critical discussion in this growing area. A significant contribution to landscape architecture research, this book will be beneficial not only to students and academics in landscape architecture, but also to scholars in related fields such as history, architecture, and social studies.
ISBN: 9781472484680Publication Date: 2018-11-06
Visualizing the Street: New Practices of Documenting, Navigating and Imagining the City by
From user-generated images of streets to professional architectural renderings, and from digital maps and drone footages to representations of invisible digital ecologies, this collection of essays analyses the emergent practices of visualizing the street. Today, advancements in digital technologies of the image have given rise to the production and dissemination of imagery of streets and urban realities in multiple forms. The ubiquitous presence of digital visualizations has in turn created new forms of urban practice and modes of spatial encounter. Everyone who carries a smartphone not only plays an increasingly significant role in the production, editing and circulation of images of the street, but also relies on those images to experience urban worlds and to navigate in them. Such entangled forms of image-making and image-sharing have constructed new imaginaries of the street and have had a significant impact on theways in which contemporary and future streets are understood, imagined, documented, navigated, mediated and visualized.Visualizing the Street investigates the social and cultural significance of these new developments at the intersection of visual culture and urban space. The interdisciplinary essays provide new concepts, theories and research methods that combine close analyses of street images and imaginaries with the study of the practices of their production and circulation. The book covers a wide range of visible and invisible geographies -- From Hong Kong's streets to Rio's favelas, from Sydney's suburbs to London's street markets, and from Damascus' war-torn streets to Istanbul's sidewalks -- and engages with multiple ways in which visualizations of the street function to document street protests and urban change, to build imaginaries of urban communities and alternate worlds, and to help navigate streetscapes.
ISBN: 9048535018Publication Date: 2018-12-17
Basics CAD by
Computer aided design (CAD) is the rendering of architectural drawings using the computer, which today plays a central role in almost all architectural firms. This volume explains the principles and fundamentals of CAD and provides the student with a simple and easily understandable path to using the computer as a tool and medium.Subjects: The architectural design in dialogue with the computer; An introduction to working with software and hardware; Practical, user-oriented explanations of CAD functions; Digital visualization; Interfaces and data processing.
ISBN: 3035612749Publication Date: 2017-05-22
The Application of Airborne Lidar Data in the Modelling of 3D Urban Landscape Ecology by
Compared with traditional remote sensing technologies, airborne Lidar data can provide researchers with additional 3D positional information, which is a key factor for advanced urban research, and particularly that of urban landscape ecology. Therefore, the need for applying Lidar data to a variety of disciplines is rapidly growing. However, the lack of remote sensing background makes the wider use of Lidar data highly difficult for scholars from other disciplines. In contrast to the majority of Lidar-related books that focus on sophisticated principles and general applications of Lidar data, this book provides the reader with a feasible framework for applying airborne Lidar data to urban research. In addition to providing a general introduction to the subject, this book explains in detail a series of case studies to demonstrate how these theoretical models can be employed to address practical urban issues. As such, this book not only provides Lidar scholars with a series of specifically designed research methods, but will also serve to inspire scholars from other disciplines, such as geographers, urban planners, ecologists, and decision-makers, with a complete framework of potential application fields.
ISBN: 1443899860Publication Date: 2016
America’s Most Sustainable Cities and Regions : Surviving the 21st Century Megatrends by
This book takes you on a unique journey through American history, taking time to consider the forces that shaped the development of various cities and regions, and arrives at an unexpected conclusion regarding sustainability. From the American Dream to globalization to the digital and information revolutions, we assume that humans have taken control of our collective destinies in spite of potholes in the road such as the Great Recession of 2007-2009. However, these attitudes were formed during a unique 100-year period of human history in which a large but finite supply of fossil fuels was tapped to feed our economic and innovation engine. Today, at the peak of the Oil Age, the horizon looks different. Cities such as Los Angeles, Phoenix and Las Vegas are situated where water and other vital ecological services are scarce, and the enormous flows of resources and energy that were needed to create the megalopolises of the 20th century will prove unsustainable. Climate change is a reality, and regional impacts will become increasingly severe. Economies such as Las Vegas, which are dependent on discretionary income and buffeted by climate change, are already suffering the fate of the proverbial canary in the coal mine. Finite resources will mean profound changes for society in general and the energy-intensive lifestyles of the US and Canada in particular. But not all regions are equally vulnerable to these 21st-century megatrends. Are you ready to look beyond "America's Most Livable Cities" to the critical factors that will determine the sustainability of your municipality and region? Find out where your city or region ranks according to the forces that will impact our lives in the next years and decades. Find out how: ·resource availability and ecological services shaped the modern landscape ·emerging megatrends will make cities and regions more or less livable in the new century ·your city or region ranks on a "sustainability" map of the United States ·urban metabolism puts large cities at particular risk ·sustainability factors will favor economic solutions at a local, rather than global, level ·these principles apply to industrial economies and countries globally. This book should be cited as follows: J. Day, C. Hall, E. Roy, M. Moersbaecher, C. D'Elia, D. Pimentel, and A. Yanez. 2016. America's most sustainable cities and regions: Surviving the 21st century megatrends. Springer, New York. 348 p.
ISBN: 9781493932436Publication Date: 2016-01-23
Modernizing American land records : order upon chaos by
Modernizing American Land Records: Order upon Chaos presents a design for a modern American Land Records System (ALRS) that provides material about both the nature and extent of land interests. This book discusses the history of American land concepts, land governance, and land records systems and their use. These institutional aspects are considered along with the nature and extent of location-oriented land data systems such as geographic and land information systems (GIS/LIS). The institutional and technical aspects are brought together in the design of a modern ALRS that is consistent with current attitudes, practices, and technological development.
ISBN: 9781589483958Publication Date: 2014
Landscape architecture : an introduction by
Aimed at prospective and new students, this book gives a comprehensive introduction to the nature and practise of landscape architecture, the professional skills required and the latest developments. After discussing the history of the profession, the book explains the design process through principles such as hierarchy, human scale, unity, harmony, asymmetry, color, form, and texture. It looks at how design is represented through both drawing and modeling, and through digital techniques such as CAD and the use of GIS (Geographic Information Systems). This is followed by an examination of project management and landscape management techniques. Finally, the book explores educational and employment opportunities and the future of the profession in the context of climate change and sustainability. Illustrated with international examples of completed projects,Landscape Architecture provides an invaluable, one-stop resource for anyone considering studying or a career in this field.
ISBN: 9781780672700Publication Date: 2014-03-18
3D modeling of buildings : outstanding sites by
Conventional topographic databases, obtained by capture on aerial or spatial images provide a simplified 3D modeling of our urban environment, answering the needs of numerous applications (development, risk prevention, mobility management, etc.). However, when we have to represent and analyze more complex sites (monuments, civil engineering works, archeological sites, etc.), these models no longer suffice and other acquisition and processing means have to be implemented. This book focuses on the study of adapted lifting means for "notable buildings". The methods tackled in this book cover lasergrammetry and the current techniques of dense correlation based on images using conventional photogrammetry.
ISBN: 9781118648896Publication Date: 2014-07-22
Mapping decline : St. Louis and the fate of the American city by
Once a thriving metropolis on the banks of the Mississippi, St. Louis, Missouri, is now a ghostly landscape of vacant houses, boarded-up storefronts, and abandoned factories. The Gateway City is, by any measure, one of the most depopulated, deindustrialized, and deeply segregated examples of American urban decay. "Not a typical city," as one observer noted in the late 1970s, "but, like a Eugene O'Neill play, it shows a general condition in a stark and dramatic form." Mapping Decline examines the causes and consequences of St. Louis's urban crisis. It traces the complicity of private real estate restrictions, local planning and zoning, and federal housing policies in the "white flight" of people and wealth from the central city. And it traces the inadequacy--and often sheer folly--of a generation of urban renewal, in which even programs and resources aimed at eradicating blight in the city ended up encouraging flight to the suburbs. The urban crisis, as this study of St. Louis makes clear, is not just a consequence of economic and demographic change; it is also the most profound political failure of our recent history. Mapping Decline is the first history of a modern American city to combine extensive local archival research with the latest geographic information system (GIS) digital mapping techniques. More than 75 full-color maps--rendered from census data, archival sources, case law, and local planning and property records--illustrate, in often stark and dramatic ways, the still-unfolding political history of our neglected cities.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks HN80.S2 G67 2008ISBN: 9780812291506Publication Date: 2014-09-12
Geodesign by Integrating Design and Geospatial Sciences by
In Europe, the emerging discipline of geodesign was earmarked by the first Geodesign Summit held in 2013 at the GeoFort, the Netherlands. Here researchers and practitionersnbsp;from 28 different countries gathered to exchange ideas on how to merge the spatial sciences and design worlds.nbsp;This book brings together experiences from this international group of spatial planners, architects, landscape designers, archaeologists, and geospatial scientists to explorenbsp;the notion ofnbsp;'Geodesign thinking', wherebynbsp;spatial technologies (such as integrated 3D modelling, network analysis, visualization tools, and information dashboards) are used to answer 'what if' questions to design alternatives on aspects like urban visibility, flood risks, sustainability, economic development, heritagenbsp;appreciation and public engagement.nbsp;The book offers a single source of geodesign theory from a European perspective by first introducing the geodesign framework, thennbsp;exploring various case studies on solving complex, dynamic, and multi-stakeholder design challenges.nbsp;This book will appeal to practitioners and researchers alike who are eagernbsp;to bring design analysis, intelligent planning, and consensus building to a whole new level.nbsp;
ISBN: 9783319082998Publication Date: 2014-11-24
Planning and Place in the City : Mapping Place Identity by
Under the influence of globalization, the centres of many cities in the industrialised world are losing their place identity, the set of cultural markers that define a city's uniqueness and make it instantly recognisable. A key task for planners and residents, working together, is to preserve that unique sense of place without making the city a parody of itself. In Planning and Place in the City, Marichela Sepe explores the preservation, reconstruction and enhancement of cultural heritage and place identity. She outlines the history of the concept of placemaking, and sets out the range of different methods of analysis and assessment that are used to help pin down the nature of place identity. This book also uses the author's own survey-based method called PlaceMaker to detect elements that do not feature in traditional mapping and identifies appropriate planning interventions. Case studies investigate cities in Europe, North America and Asia, which demonstrate how surveys and interviews can be used to draw up an analytical map of place identity. This investigative work is a crucial step in identifying cultural elements which will influence what planning decisions should be taken in the future. The maps aim to establish a dialogue with local residents and support planners and administrators in making sustainable changes. The case studies are amply illustrated with survey data sheets, photos, and coloured maps. Innovative and broad-based, Planning and Place in the Citynbsp;lays out an approach to the identification and preservation of place and cultural heritage suitable for students, academics and professionals alike.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks NA9053.H76 S47 2013ISBN: 9781135123796Publication Date: 2013-03-05
Geospatial Techniques in Urban Planning by
This work presents cases studies of applications of Geotechnology such as Geography Information Systems, virtual reality and cellular automaton and multi-agent systems in the field of urban planning and design.These are joint research presentations with students and colleagues from Kanazawa University. All these case studies are about application in Japanese or Chinese cities, which are on-field examples reflecting the enormous spread of geo-computation technology. Nevertheless, the concepts have wide applicability to other contexts. The works can be classified into three types of Geotechnological applications at different levels of urban spaces, which are relevant to different kinds of urban planning and development projects. The book is comprised of three parts: Part 1: Geosimulation and land use plan Part 2: Geo Visualization and urban design Part 3: Geography information system and planning support
ISBN: 9783642135590Publication Date: 2012-01-06
Mapping Controversies in Architecture by
This book tackles a number of challenging questions: How can we conceptualize architectural objects and practices without falling into the divides architecture/society, nature/culture, materiality/meaning? How can we prevent these abstractions from continuing to blind architectural theory? What is the alternative to critical architecture?It places architecture at the intersection of the human and the nonhuman, the particular and the general. It allows its networks to be re-established and to run between local and global, social and technical. Mapping controversies can be extrapolated to a wide range of complex phenomena of hybrid nature
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks NA2750 .Y35 2012ISBN: 9781409426691Publication Date: 2012-04-28
Landscape: Pattern, Perception and Process by
Landscapes develop and evolve through an interacting series of processes ¿ climatic, geological, ecological and cultural ¿ over varying periods of time. These processes shape the structure and character of the landscapes which we experience. Over time, distinctive patterns emerge ¿ ranging in scale from the distribution of small plants to the sculptured sides of a huge canyon. Our perception of these patterns goes beyond just their visual appreciation ¿ beautiful though they may be ¿ into a richer understanding of how we experience our environment. By understanding this complex pattern¿process interaction we can obtain a deeper awareness of landscape and our place in it ¿ as inhabitants and as shapers. The book explores the nature of patterns and ways of classifying them before studying the nature of perception (primarily visual but including other senses), then proceeds to relate this perception to aesthetics and from there to the design process. From this point the main driving processes in landscape are introduced alongside the resulting patterns, these being climatic, landform, ecosystem and cultural aspects. It is this integrative approach of looking at landscape as a kind of self-organising system, overlaid by conscious human planning activities and the unity of pattern and process, which makes this book unique. Landscape draws from a wide range of neighbouring disciplines, of which the landscape planner or designer needs to be aware, but which are often taught as distinct elements. Bell binds these fundamentals together, which enables the landscape to be ¿read¿, and this reading to be used as the basis for planning and design. This second edition updates and refreshes the original material with added sections and new photos, particularly making use of the developments in satellite photography. Featuring full colour throughout, this textbook is ideal for anyone studying landscape architecture or any of the disciplines which intersect with the landscape, and which affect it.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks SB472.45 .B46 2012ISBN: 9780415608367Publication Date: 2012-08-30
GIS for Urban and Regional Planning by
Planners require solutions that address day-to-day work needs while also fostering the ability to effectively predict and respond to chronic urban problems and future market fluctuation. The success of planners in combating chronic urban problems is largely determined by their ability to utilize effective tools and planning support systems that allow them to make informed decisions based on actionable intelligence. Today, planners utilize GIS around the world in a variety of applications. The following articles illustrate how GIS is being used as a platform to help planners reach their goals of creating livable communities and improving the overall quality of life while protecting the environment and promoting economic development. GIS tools can provide the necessary planning platform for visualization, modeling, analysis, and collaboration.
Publication Date: 2011
