e-Books available through the UT Libraries
Remote Sensing Applications in Environmental and Earth System Sciences by
Remote Sensing Applications in Environmental and Earth System Sciences is a contemporary, multi-disciplinary, multi-scaling, updated, and upgraded approach of applied remote sensing in the environment. The book begins with an overview of remote sensing technology, and then explains the types of data that can be used as well as the image processing and analysis methods that can be applied to each type of application through the use of case studies throughout. Includes a wide spectrum of environmental applications and issues Explains methodological image analysis and interpretation procedures for conducting a variety of environmental analyses Discusses the development of early warning systems Covers monitoring of the environment as a whole - atmosphere, land, and water Explores the latest remote sensing systems in environmental applications This book is an excellent resource for anyone who is interested in remote sensing technologies and their use in Earth systems, natural resources, and environmental science.
ISBN: 9781351680653Publication Date: 2021-05-11
Women and GIS, Volume 3, Champions of a sustainable world by
Impressive stories of women using geospatial technology to create sustainable solutions for problems the world faces. The third volume in the Women and GIS series shows how 31 diverse women in various STEAM fields discovered their passion, broke down barriers, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to advance their fields and improve the world. Sharing their experiences from childhood and throughout their careers, each woman reveals her journey in an inspiring recollection of the obstacles she has overcome, the knowledge she has gained along the way, and how tenacity and determination have helped her succeed. Each woman shares tips and words of wisdom that she's gained along the way, including: Priscilla Mbama Abasi: "Think big! Think about going to space, think about building things no one has seen before." Arianna Armelli: "If you are like me and crave the freedom to explore a path of the unknown, aka entrepreneurship, a career in STEM will foster the technical foundation to achieve those goals." Gabi Fleury: "The best advice I was given starting out was 'forge your own path.' Conservation isn't a structured, straight-line career, you can get into it in many ways. This is exciting, but it also can be really challenging, because you have to be flexible, innovative, and always on the lookout for the next opportunity." Healy Hamilton: "Success, to me, is a daily feeling that you are living true to your values, that you are meaningfully contributing to the world you want to create." Katharine Hayhoe: "While it's important to have people you respect and trust give you feedback at key points in your career, when it all comes down to it, you have to make the decisions that feel right for you, not the ones that necessarily look best on paper. You're the one who has to live with them." Featuring strong, persevering women from around the globe, the stories found in Women and GIS, Volume 3: Champions of a Sustainable World will inspire readers who are developing their own life stories to strive for success and achieve amazing accomplishments.
ISBN: 9781589486379Publication Date: 2021-06-22
Mapping, monitoring, and modeling land and water resources : advanced techniques using open source software by
The wide range of challenges in studying Earth system dynamics due to uncertainties in climate change and complex interference from human activities is creating difficulties in managing land and water resources and ensuring their sustainable use. Mapping, Monitoring, and Modeling Land and Water Resources brings together real-world case studies accurately surveyed and assessed through spatial modeling. The book focuses on the effectiveness of combining remote sensing, geographic information systems, and R. The use of open source software for different spatial modeling cases in various fields, along with the use of remote sensing and geographic information systems, will aid researchers, students, and practitioners to understand better the phenomena and the predictions by future analyses for problem-solving and decision-making.
ISBN: 9781003181293Publication Date: 2021-06-27
Fundamentals of Capturing and Processing Drone Imagery and Data by
Unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) are rapidly emerging as flexible platforms for capturing imagery and other data across the sciences. Many colleges and universities are developing courses on UAS-based data acquisition. Fundamentals of Capturing and Processing Drone Imagery and Data is a comprehensive, introductory text on how to use unmanned aircraft systems for data capture and analysis. It provides best practices for planning data capture missions and hands-on learning modules geared toward UAS data collection, processing, and applications. FEATURES Lays out a step-by-step approach to identify relevant tools and methods for UAS data/image acquisition and processing. Provides practical hands-on knowledge with visual interpretation, well-organized and designed for a typical 16-week UAS course offered on college and university campuses. Suitable for all levels of readers and does not require prior knowledge of UAS, remote sensing, digital image processing, or geospatial analytics. Includes real-world environmental applications along with data interpretations and software used; exercises in chapters 8 through 19 have support materials for free download. Combines the expertise of a wide range of UAS researchers and practitioners across the geospatial sciences. This book provides a general introduction to drones along with a series of hands-on exercises that students and researchers can engage with to learn to integrate drone data into real-world applications. No prior background in remote sensing, GIS, or drone knowledge is needed to use this book. Readers will learn to process different types of UAS imagery for applications (such as precision agriculture, forestry, urban landscapes) and apply this knowledge in environmental monitoring and land-use studies.
ISBN: 9780429283239Publication Date: 2021-07-27
Global Navigation Satellite System Monitoring of the Atmosphere by
Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) monitoring of the atmosphere is an interdisciplinary topic: a collaboration between geodetic and atmospheric communities. As such, this topic requires sufficient basic knowledge about both GNSS and the atmosphere. Global Navigation Satellite System Monitoring of the Atmosphere begins by introducing GNSS, its components, and signals. It then explains the basics of the atmosphere, starting from the ionosphere to the troposphere. The GNSS tropospheric monitoring is separated for application in numerical weather prediction and nowcasting. Further chapters focus on the application of GNSS for monitoring the climate as well as soil moisture. Finally, the book concludes by discussing GNSS processing along with introducing the latest developments and applications for using atmospheric data to provide precise real-time GNSS products. Explains the basics of GNSS positioning and signals Includes the state of the art in GNSS observations of the atmosphere and hydrosphere Presents the basics of numerical weather prediction and analysis
ISBN: 9780128191538Publication Date: 2021-09-11
Women and GIS. Vol. 2, Stars of spatial science by
Foreword by Jane Goodall Thirty inspiring stories of diverse women using geospatial technology to advance science and help resolve important issues facing the world. Like the first volume, Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science tells how 30 women in many different STEM fields applied themselves, overcame obstacles, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique life path and of the perseverance, dedication, and hard work it takes to achieve success. This book includes multicultural women at various points in their careers such as: Barbara Ryan -- Dedicated to open spatial data for everyone Cecille Blake -- Growing GIS capacity in Jamaica and for North and South American countries Rhiannan Price -- Advocating to make a difference for vulnerable populations Verónica Vélez -- Fighting for social and racial justice in education Tanya Harrison -- Bringing Mars to the masses From planetary scientists to civil engineers, entrepreneurs to urban planners, the strong, passionate women in Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science serve as guiding stars to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and to inspire their potential to meaningful achievements.
ISBN: 1589485947Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Maps for time travelers : how archaeologists use technology to bring us closer to the past by
Popular culture is rife with movies, books, and television shows that address our collective curiosity about what the world was like long ago. From historical dramas to science fiction tales of time travel, audiences love stories that reimagine the world before our time. But what if there were a field that, through the advancements in technology, could bring us closer to the past than ever before? Written by a preeminent expert in geospatial archaeology, Maps for Time Travelers is a guide to how technology is revolutionizing the way archaeologists study and reconstruct humanity's distant past. From satellite imagery to 3D modeling, today archaeologists are answering questions about human history that could previously only be imagined. As archaeologists create a better and more complete picture of the past, they sometimes find that truth is stranger than fiction.
ISBN: 9780520972650Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Unmanned aerial remote sensing : UAS for environmental applications by
Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) are a rapidly evolving technology with an expanding array of diverse applications. In response to the continuing evolution of this technology, this book discusses unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) and similar systems, platforms and sensors, as well as exploring some of their environmental applications. It explains how they can be used for mapping, monitoring, and modeling a wide variety of different environmental aspects, and at the same time addresses some of the current constraints placed on realizing the potential use of the technology such as s flight duration and distance, safety, and the invasion of privacy etc. Features of the book: Provides necessary theoretical foundations for pertinent subject matter areas Introduces the role and value of UAVs for geographical data acquisition, and the ways to acquire and process the data Provides a synthesis of ongoing research and a focus on the use of technology for small-scale image and spatial data acquisition in an environmental context Written by experts of the technology who bring together UAS tools and resources for the environmental specialist Unmanned Aerial Remote Sensing: UAS for Environmental Applications is an excellent resource for any practitioner utilizing remote sensing and other geospatial technologies for environmental applications, such as conservation, research, and planning. Students and academics in information science, environment and natural resources, geosciences, and geography, will likewise find this comprehensive book a useful and informative resource.
ISBN: 9780429529344Publication Date: 2020-07-10
Introduction to spatial data analysis : remote sensing and GIS with open source software by
This is a book about how ecologists can integrate remote sensing and GIS in their research. It will allow readers to get started with the application of remote sensing and to understand its potential and limitations. Using practical examples, the book covers all necessary steps from planning field campaigns to deriving ecologically relevant information through remote sensing and modelling of species distributions. An Introduction to Spatial Data Analysis introduces spatial data handling using the open source software Quantum GIS (QGIS). In addition, readers will be guided through their first steps in the R programming language. The authors explain the fundamentals of spatial data handling and analysis, empowering the reader to turn data acquired in the field into actual spatial data. Readers will learn to process and analyse spatial data of different types and interpret the data and results. After finishing this book, readers will be able to address questions such as "What is the distance to the border of the protected area?", "Which points are located close to a road?", "Which fraction of land cover types exist in my study area?" using different software and techniques. This book is for novice spatial data users and does not assume any prior knowledge of spatial data itself or practical experience working with such data sets. Readers will likely include student and professional ecologists, geographers and any environmental scientists or practitioners who need to collect, visualize and analyse spatial data. The software used is the widely applied open source scientific programs QGIS and R. All scripts and data sets used in the book will be provided online at book.ecosens.org. This book covers specific methods including: what to consider before collecting in situ data how to work with spatial data collected in situ the difference between raster and vector data how to acquire further vector and raster data how to create relevant environmental information how to combine and analyse in situ and remote sensing data how to create useful maps for field work and presentations how to use QGIS and R for spatial analysis how to develop analysis scripts
ISBN: 9781784272142Publication Date: 2020-09-14
Unmanned Vehicle Systems for Geomatics : Towards Robotic Mapping. by
This book contributes to the transformative and revolutionary use of small, unmanned vehicle systems for three-dimensional geospatial data acquisition and mapping, which is considered to be a paradigm shift in the science and technology of geomatics. The book presents a systematic and comprehensive approach for the use of small mobile unmanned systems for robotic geomatics research and applications. Emphasis is placed on aerial unmanned mapping systems as aerial data collection provides better perspective and coverage of an area, and offers the ability for targeted coverage.
ISBN: 9781849951272Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Unmanned aerial vehicles : breakthroughs in research and practice by
First used in military applications, unmanned aerial vehicles are becoming an integral aspect of modern society and are expanding into the commercial, scientific, recreational, agricultural, and surveillance sectors. With the increasing use of these drones by government officials, business professionals, and civilians, more research is needed to understand their complexity both in design and function. Unmanned Aerial Vehicles: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice is a critical source of academic knowledge on the design, construction, and maintenance of drones, as well as their applications across all aspects of society. Highlighting a range of pertinent topics such as intelligent systems, artificial intelligence, and situation awareness, this publication is an ideal reference source for military consultants, military personnel, business professionals, operation managers, surveillance companies, agriculturalists, policymakers, government officials, law enforcement, IT professionals, academicians, researchers, and graduate-level students.
ISBN: 9781522583660Publication Date: 2019-05-03
Women and GIS : mapping their stories by
Twenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.
ISBN: 9781589485280Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Assessing the accuracy of remotely sensed data : principles and practices by
The past 10 years have brought amazing changes to the technologies used to turn remotely sensed data into maps. As a result, the principles and practices necessary for assessing the accuracy of those maps have also evolved and matured. This third edition of Assessing the Accuracy of Remotely Sensed Data: Principles and Practices is thoroughly updated and includes five new chapters. Now 15 chapters long, this text is the only one of its kind to provide geospatial analysts with the requisite considerations, tools, and theory necessary to conduct successful and efficient map accuracy assessments; and map users with the knowledge to fully understand the assessment process to ensure effective use of maps. See What's New in the Third Edition: All original chapters have been updated to include new standards, practices, and methodologies. A new chapter on planning accuracy assessments. A new chapter on assessing maps created using object-based technologies. Two case study chapters - one showcasing the assessment of maps created from traditional methods, and one on the assessment of object-based maps. Emphasis on considering and planning for positional accuracy in concert with thematic accuracy. An appendix containing the internationally recognized ASPRS Positional Accuracy Standards. A new final chapter summarizing the key concepts, considerations and lessons learned by the authors in their decades of implementing and evaluating accuracy assessments. Assessing map accuracy is complex; however, the discussions in this book, together with the many figures, tables, and case studies, clearly present the necessary concepts and considerations for conducting an assessment that is both is practical, statistically reliable, and achievable.
ISBN: 9780429629358Publication Date: 2019-08-08
Small-format aerial photography and UAS imagery : principles, techniques and geoscience applications by
Small Format Aerial Photography and UAS Imagery: Principles, Techniques and Geoscience Applications, Second Edition, provides basic and advanced principles and techniques for Small Format Aerial Photography (SFAP), focusing on manned and unmanned aerial systems, including drones, kites, blimps, powered paragliders, and fixed wing and copter SFAP. The authors focus on everything from digital image processing and interpretation of data, to travel and setup for the best result, making this a comprehensive guide for any user. Nine case studies in a variety of environments, including gullies, high altitudes, wetlands and recreational architecture are included to enhance learning. This new edition includes small unmanned aerial systems (UAS) and discusses changes in legal practices across the globe. In addition, the book presents the history of SFAP, providing background and context for new developments. Provides background and context for new developments in SFAP Covers the legal implications for small format aerial systems in different countries Discusses unmanned aerial systems (drones) and their applications Features new case studies for different applications, including vineyard monitoring and impacts of wind energy
ISBN: 9780128129432Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Applications of small unmanned aircraft systems : best practices and case studies by
Advances in high spatial resolution mapping capabilities and the new rules established by the Federal Aviation Administration in the United States for the operation of Small Unmanned Aircraft Systems (sUAS) have provided new opportunities to acquire aerial data at a lower cost and more safely versus other methods. A similar opening of the skies for sUAS applications is being allowed in countries across the world. Also, sUAS can access hazardous or inaccessible areas during disaster events and provide rapid response when needed. Applications of Small Unmanned Aircraft systems: Best Practices and Case Studies is the first book that brings together the best practices of sUAS applied to a broad range of issues in high spatial resolution mapping projects. Very few sUAS pilots have the knowledge of how the collected imagery is processed into value added mapping products that have commercial and/or academic import. Since the field of sUAS applications is just a few years old, this book covers the need for a compendium of case studies to guide the planning, data collection, and most importantly data processing and map error issues, with the range of sensors available to the user community. Written by experienced academics and professionals, this book serves as a guide on how to formulate sUAS based projects, from choice of a sUAS, flight planning for a particular application, sensors and data acquisition, data processing software, mapping software and use of the high spatial resolution maps produced for particular types of geospatial modeling. Features: Focus on sUAS based data acquisition and processing into map products Broad range of case studies by highly experienced academics Practical guidance on sUAS hardware, sensors, and software utilized Compilation of workflow insights from expert professors and professionals Relevant to academia, government, and industry Positional and thematic map accuracy, UAS curriculum development and workflow replicability issues This book would be an excellent text for upper-level undergraduate to graduate level sUAS mapping application courses. It is also invaluable as a reference for educators designing sUAS based curriculum as well as for potential sUAS users to assess the scope of mapping projects that can be done with this technology.
ISBN: 9780429520853Publication Date: 2019-10-18
Manual of Digital Earth by
This open access book offers a summary of the development of Digital Earth over the past twenty years. By reviewing the initial vision of Digital Earth, the evolution of that vision, the relevant key technologies, and the role of Digital Earth in helping people respond to global challenges, this publication reveals how and why Digital Earth is becoming vital for acquiring, processing, analysing and mining the rapidly growing volume of global data sets about the Earth. The main aspects of Digital Earth covered here include: Digital Earth platforms, remote sensing and navigation satellites, processing and visualizing geospatial information, geospatial information infrastructures, big data and cloud computing, transformation and zooming, artificial intelligence, Internet of Things, and social media. Moreover, the book covers in detail the multi-layered/multi-faceted roles of Digital Earth in response to sustainable development goals, climate changes, and mitigating disasters, the applications of Digital Earth (such as digital city and digital heritage), the citizen science in support of Digital Earth, the economic value of Digital Earth, and so on. This book also reviews the regional and national development of Digital Earth around the world, and discusses the role and effect of education and ethics. Lastly, it concludes with a summary of the challenges and forecasts the future trends of Digital Earth. By sharing case studies and a broad range of general and scientific insights into the science and technology of Digital Earth, this book offers an essential introduction for an ever-growing international audience.
ISBN: 9789813299146Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Basic Principles of Topography by
This book gives a comprehensive overview of all relevant elements in topography and their practical application. It elaborates on the classical representation of terrain on maps such as cartographic projections, together with their classification, scale, and geographical elements. It is richly illustrated with photographs, maps and figures, in which the theoretical explanations are clarified. Readers will become acquainted with the physical characteristics of the ground, i.e. tectonic and erosive shapes, the importance and classification of terrain, genetic (fluvial, abrasive, glacial, karst) and topographic types such as higher (mountains, hills, peaks) and lower terrain (valleys, fields). In addition, the book discusses cartometry and coordinate systems, orientation in space (geographic, topographic, tactical) including by means of maps, instruments and the night sky and elaborates new techniques and technologies such as aerial photogrammetric imagery, global navigation satellite systems and LiDAR. The book also includes methods for the practical execution of concrete measurement operations, such as determining position and movement on land with maps, compass and azimuth which makes it especially useful for practitioners and professionals, e.g., for landscape planning, military exercises, mountaineering, nature walks etc. As such it offers a valuable guide not only for undergraduate students but also for researchers in the fields of geography, geosciences, geodesy, ecology, forestry and related areas looking for an overview on topography. Uniquely, the book also features an extensive glossary of topographical terms.
ISBN: 9783319721477Publication Date: 2018
Topographic Laser Ranging and Scanning by
Topographic Laser Ranging and Scanning, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive discussion of topographic LiDAR principles, systems, data acquisition, and data processing techniques. This edition presents an introduction and summary of various LiDAR systems and their principles and addresses the operational principles of the different components and ranging methods of LiDAR systems. It discusses the subsequent geometric processing of LiDAR data, with particular attention to quality, accuracy, and meeting standards and addresses the theories and practices of information extraction from LiDAR data, including terrain surface generation, forest inventory, orthoimage generation, building reconstruction, and road extraction. Written by leaders in the field, this comprehensive compilation is a must-have reference book for senior undergraduate and graduate students majoring or working in diverse disciplines, such as geomatics, geodesy, natural resources, urban planning, computer vision, and computer graphics. It is also vital resource for researchers who are interested in developing new methods and need in-depth knowledge of laser scanning and data processing and other professionals may gain the same from the broad topics addressed in this book. New in the Second Edition: A comprehensive array of new laser ranging and scanning technologies. Developments in LiDAR data format and processing techniques. Regrouping of surface modeling, representations and reconstruction. Enhanced discussions on the principles and fundamentals beyond small-footprint pulsed laser systems and new application examples. Many new examples and illustrations.
ISBN: 9781351650427Publication Date: 2018-02-19
High spatial resolution remote sensing : data, analysis, and applications by
High spatial resolution remote sensing is an area of considerable current interest and builds on developments in object-based image analysis, commercial high-resolution satellite sensors, and UAVs. It captures more details through high and very high resolution images (10 to 100 cm/pixel). This unprecedented level of detail offers the potential extraction of a range of multi-resource management information, such as precision farming, invasive and endangered vegetative species delineation, forest gap sizes and distribution, locations of highly valued habitats, or sub-canopy topographic information. Information extracted in high spatial remote sensing data right after a devastating earthquake can help assess the damage to roads and buildings and aid in emergency planning for contact and evacuation. To effectively utilize information contained in high spatial resolution imagery, High Spatial Resolution Remote Sensing: Data, Analysis, and Applications addresses some key questions: What are the challenges of using new sensors and new platforms? What are the cutting-edge methods for fine-level information extraction from high spatial resolution images? How can high spatial resolution data improve the quantification and characterization of physical-environmental or human patterns and processes? The answers are built in three separate parts: (1) data acquisition and preprocessing, (2) algorithms and techniques, and (3) case studies and applications. They discuss the opportunities and challenges of using new sensors and platforms and high spatial resolution remote sensing data and recent developments with a focus on UAVs. This work addresses the issues related to high spatial image processing and introduces cutting-edge methods, summarizes state-of-the-art high spatial resolution applications, and demonstrates how high spatial resolution remote sensing can support the extraction of detailed information needed in different systems. Using various high spatial resolution data, the third part of this book covers a range of unique applications, from grasslands to wetlands, karst areas, and cherry orchard trees.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.4 .H53 2018ISBN: 9780429892998Publication Date: 2018-06-27
Image Processing and Data Analysis with ERDAS IMAGINE® by
Remotely sensed data, in the form of digital images captured from spaceborne and airborne platforms, provide a rich analytical and observational source of information about the current status, as well as changes occurring in, on, and around the Earth's surface. The data products, or simply images processed from these platforms, provide an additional advantage in that geographic areas or regions of interest can be revisited on a regular cycle. This revisit cycle allows geospatial analysts and natural resource managers to explore changing conditions over time. Image Processing and Data Analysis with ERDAS IMAGINE® explains the principles behind the processing of remotely sensed data in a simple, easy to understand, and "how-to" format. Organized as a step-by-step guide with exercises adapted from original research and using publicly available imagery, such as NASA Landsat, ESA Sentinel-2, Orthophotos, and others, this book gives readers the ability to quickly gain the practical experience needed to navigate the ERDAS IMAGINE® software as well as learn certain applications in Esri's ArcMap ArcGIS for Desktop software and Quantum the GIS (QGIS) open source applications package. It also helps readers to easily move beyond the information presented in this book and tackle more advanced skills. Written by two professors with long experience in remote sensing and image processing, this book is a useful guide and reference for both undergraduate and graduate students, researchers, instructors, managers, and agency professionals who are involved in the study of Earth systems and the environment.
ISBN: 9781351980586Publication Date: 2018-10-03
Planetary Remote Sensing and Mapping by
The early 21st century marks a new era in space exploration. The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) of the United States, The European Space Agency (ESA), as well as space agencies of Japan, China, India, and other countries have sent their probes to the Moon, Mars, and other planets in the solar system. Planetary Remote Sensing and Mapping introduces original research and new developments in the areas of planetary remote sensing, photogrammetry, mapping, GIS, and planetary science resulting from the recent space exploration missions. Topics covered include: Reference systems of planetary bodies Planetary exploration missions and sensors Geometric information extraction from planetary remote sensing data Feature information extraction from planetary remote sensing data Planetary remote sensing data fusion Planetary data management and presentation Planetary Remote Sensing and Mapping will serve scientists and professionals working in the planetary remote sensing and mapping areas, as well as planetary probe designers, engineers, and planetary geologists and geophysicists. It also provides useful reading material for university teachers and students in the broader areas of remote sensing, photogrammetry, cartography, GIS, and geodesy.
ISBN: 9780429000515Publication Date: 2018-10-29
Integrating Scale in Remote Sensing and GIS by
Integrating Scale in Remote Sensing and GIS serves as the most comprehensive documentation of the scientific and methodological advances that have taken place in integrating scale and remote sensing data. This work addresses the invariants of scale, the ability to change scale, measures of the impact of scale, scale as a parameter in process models, and the implementation of multiscale approaches as methods and techniques for integrating multiple kinds of remote sensing data collected at varying spatial, temporal, and radiometric scales. Researchers, instructors, and students alike will benefit from a guide that has been pragmatically divided into four thematic groups: scale issues and multiple scaling; physical scale as applied to natural resources; urban scale; and human health/social scale. Teeming with insights that elucidate the significance of scale as a foundation for geographic analysis, this book is a vital resource to those seriously involved in the field of GIScience.
ISBN: 9781482218275Publication Date: 2017-01-06
Surveying Instruments and Technology by
With the advent of GPS/GNSS satellite navigation systems and Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS) surveying profession is nowadays facing its transformative stage. Written by a team of surveying experts, Surveyor's Instruments and Technology gives surveying students and practitioners profound understanding of how surveying instruments are designed and operating based on surveying instrument functionality. The book includes the required basic knowledge of accurate measurements of distances and angles from theoretical principles to advanced optical, mechanical, electronic and software components for comparative analysis. Readers are presented with basic elements of UAS systems, practical interpretation techniques, sensor components, and operating platforms. Appropriate for surveying courses at all levels, this guide helps students and practitioners alike to understand what is behind the buttons of surveying instruments of all kinds when considering practical project implementations.
ISBN: 9781498762380Publication Date: 2017-06-12
The 3-D Global Spatial Data Model : Principles and Applications, Second Edition by
Traditional methods for handling spatial data are encumbered by the assumption of separate origins for horizontal and vertical measurements, but modern measurement systems operate in a 3-D spatial environment. The 3-D Global Spatial Data Model:Principles and Applications, Second Editionmaintains a new model for handling digital spatial data, the global spatial data model or GSDM. The GSDM preserves the integrity of three-dimensional spatial data while also providing additional benefits such as simpler equations, worldwide standardization, and the ability to track spatial data accuracy with greater specificity and convenience. This second edition expands to new topics that satisfy a growing need in the GIS, professional surveyor, machine control, and Big Data communities while continuing to embrace the earth center fixed coordinate system as the fundamental point of origin of one, two, and three-dimensional data sets. Ideal for both beginner and advanced levels, this book also provides guidance and insight on how to link to the data collected and stored in legacy systems.
ISBN: 9781498722179Publication Date: 2017-07-28
The ArcGIS imagery book : new view, new vision by
Explore how imagery and remote sensing power modern GIS. With The ArcGIS Imagery Book, you will roll up your sleeves and quickly begin putting imagery to smarter, more skillful use with your GIS. Even armchair geographers will appreciate this book and its electronic companion www.thearcgisimagerybook.com for the wealth of gorgeous, inspiring, and occasionally troubling images and links to powerful web apps and maps that weave interesting stories about our planet and the issues we face. Appropriate for those very familiar with geographic information systems and those who have never heard of the term.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .A745 2016ISBN: 1589484622Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Instructional Guide for the ArcGIS Imagery Book by
This companion textbook to The ArcGIS Imagery Book: New View, New Vision (Esri Press, 2016) builds on the foundational concepts laid out in The ArcGIS Imagery Book. Whether you are a self-learner, currently teaching, or are planning to teach GIS, this guide provides the materials to develop and apply ArcGIS Imagery tools and concepts. Using The ArcGIS Imagery Book's structure as a starting point, each chapter provides students and teachers with activities, resources, lessons and data that reflect the interaction between components of ArcGIS Online, as well as GIS applications for publishing to the web and mobile devices. A combination of scenario driven and skill-based lessons (including many that don't require downloading any software), not only offer practice in the use of these tools but also inspire a deeper understanding of the potential and power of Web GIS. Includes downloadable instructor resources.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .K4755 2017ISBN: 1589485068Publication Date: 2017-10-30
LiDAR Remote Sensing and Applications by
Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate students in the fields of geography, forestry, ecology, geographic information science, remote sensing, and photogrammetric engineering, LiDAR Remote Sensing and Applications expertly joins LiDAR principles, data processing basics, applications, and hands-on practices in one comprehensive source. The LiDAR data within this book is collected from 27 areas in the United States, Brazil, Canada, Ghana, and Haiti and includes 183 figures created to introduce the concepts, methods, and applications in a clear context. It provides 11 step-by-step projects predominately based on Esri's ArcGIS software to support seamless integration of LiDAR products and other GIS data. The first six projects are for basic LiDAR data visualization and processing and the other five cover more advanced topics: from mapping gaps in mangrove forests in Everglades National Park, Florida to generating trend surfaces for rock layers in Raplee Ridge, Utah. Features Offers a comprehensive overview of LiDAR technology with numerous applications in geography, forestry and earth science Gives necessary theoretical foundations from all pertinent subject matter areas Uses case studies and best practices to point readers to tools and resources Provides a synthesis of ongoing research in the area of LiDAR remote sensing technology Includes carefully selected illustrations and data from the authors' research projects Before every project in the book, a link is provided for users to download data
ISBN: 9781351233330Publication Date: 2017-12-12
Image Processing and GIS for Remote Sensing by
Following the successful publication of the 1st edition in 2009, the 2nd edition maintains its aim to provide an application-driven package of essential techniques in image processing and GIS, together with case studies for demonstration and guidance in remote sensing applications. The book therefore has a "3 in 1" structure which pinpoints the intersection between these three individual disciplines and successfully draws them together in a balanced and comprehensive manner. The book conveys in-depth knowledge of image processing and GIS techniques in an accessible and comprehensive manner, with clear explanations and conceptual illustrations used throughout to enhance student learning. The understanding of key concepts is always emphasised with minimal assumption of prior mathematical experience. The book is heavily based on the authors' own research. Many of the author-designed image processing techniques are popular around the world. For instance, the SFIM technique has long been adopted by ASTRIUM for mass-production of their standard "Pan-sharpen" imagery data. The new edition also includes a completely new chapter on subpixel technology and new case studies, based on their recent research.
ISBN: 9781118724170Publication Date: 2016-01-04
Principles of Applied Remote Sensing by
This textbook is one of the first to explain the fundamentals and applications of remote sensing at both undergraduate and graduate levels. Topics include definitions and a brief history of payloads and platforms, data acquisition and specifications, image processing techniques, data integration and spatial modeling, and a range of applications covering terrestrial, atmospheric, oceanographic and planetary disciplines. The policy and law issues of remote sensing and the future trends on the horizon are also covered. Remote sensing is an exciting, dynamic technology that is transforming the Earth sciences - terrestrial, atmospheric, and marine - as well as the practices of agriculture, disaster response, engineering, natural resources, providing evidence in legal cases and documented humanitarian crises, and many other fields. Increasingly, understanding of these techniques will be central to a number of disciplines, particularly as the technology advances.
ISBN: 9783319225609Publication Date: 2016-01-04
Understanding Earth Observation : The Electromagnetic Foundation of Remote Sensing by
This volume addresses the physical foundation of remote sensing. The basic grounds are presented in close association with the kinds of environmental targets to monitor and with the observing techniques. The book aims at plugging the quite large gap between the thorough and quantitative description of electromagnetic waves interacting with the Earth's environment and the user applications of Earth observation. It is intended for scientifically literate students and professionals who plan to gain a first understanding of remote sensing data and of their information content.
ISBN: 9783319256337Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Earth Science Satellite Applications : Current and Future Prospects by
The combined observational power of the multiple earth observing satellites is currently not being harnessed holistically to produce more durable societal benefits. We are not able to take complete advantage of the prolific amount of scientific output and remote sensing data that are emerging rapidly from satellite missions and convert them quickly into decision-making products for users. The current application framework we have appears to be an analog one lacking the absorption bandwidth required to handle scientific research and the voluminous (petabyte-scale) satellite data. This book will tackle this question: "How do we change this course and take full advantage of satellite observational capability for a more sustainable, happier and safer future in the coming decades?"
ISBN: 9783319334387Publication Date: 2016-05-21
Geoinformatics by
This book is an attempt to bring the different fields of Geoinformatics under one fold to help the novices in getting the subject matter at one place. The book includes Plane Surveying, Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing,Geographic Information System (GIS), and Global Positioning System (GPS). The subject matter emphasizes on the basic concepts and practices in use. The book has six sections as below:Section I introduces the Geoinformatics as a whole in the perspective of surveying as it has unlimited fields of applications. Section II provides basic concepts of errors in Plane Surveying, techniques of making linear and angular measurements for producing topographic maps of areas of moderate extents. Section III deals with Photogrammetry and technique of measurements on aerial photographs to produce topographic maps. Section IV is devoted to Remote Sensing, principle of this technique, and its application. It also presents various remote sensing missions launched, and the technique of image interpretation and digital image processing. Section V discusses the Geographic Information System (GIS) and its application, data models used in GIS, and how various spatial entities are related to each other in GIS environment through topology. Section VI is on Global Positioning System (GPS) which now finds its use in our day-today life. It is a technology for gathering (x, y, z) coordinates of points anywhere on the globe at any time making use of artificial satellites devoted to GPS. This section explains principle of working of GPS and its use in surveying.
ISBN: 9781781830253Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Digital Photogrammetry : A Practical Course by
The fourth edition is again an "all-in-one" combination of basic theory and practical exercises with software and data available from the Springer server. Potential readers / users are students of Photogrammetry, Geodesy, Geography and other sciences, but also all who are interested in this topic. No prior knowledge is necessary, except the handling of standard PCs. Theory is presented true to the motto "as little as possible, but as much as necessary". The main part of the book contains several tutorials. In increasing complexity, accompanied by texts explaining further theory, the reader can proceed step by step through the particular working parts. All intermediate as well as the final results are discussed with reference to accuracy and error handling, and included in the data sets to provide controls. Most of the standard work in Digital Photogrammetry is shown and trained, for example scanning, image orientation, stereo plotting, aerial triangulation measurement (manual and automatic), block adjustment, automatic creation of surface models via image matching, creation of ortho images and mosaics, and others. Examples of both aerial and close-range photogrammetry present the power of this kind of measurement techniques. 3-D images can be viewed with the accompanying 3-D glasses. During the time since the last edition, the software development went on, and therefore it was necessary to adopt the text to the actual program versions which were also tested to work properly under MS Windows 10. Few options which are obsolete nowadays were removed, some new options were added, the handling of the software was simplified in several places, and so on. For the use of own images taken with a custom digital camera, a new chapter offers an easy way of lens calibration and explains how to get good results with a minimum of work. The software is not limited to the example data included but may be used for personal projects. Part of the book comprises a complete description of the software.
ISBN: 9783662504635Publication Date: 2016-07-21
GIS Technology Applications in Environmental and Earth Sciences by
This book starts with an overview of GIS technology, what GIS technology is, what it can do, what software products are available, etc. Then, throughout the book, the author explains with many case studies, programs, maps, graphics, and 3D models how GIS and other related technologies can be used to automate mapping processes, collect, process, edit, store, manage, and share datasets, statistically analyze data, model, and visualize large datasets to understand patterns, trends, and relationships to make educated decisions. This book is an excellent resource for anyone who is interested in GIS and related technologies, geology, natural resource, and environmental science.
ISBN: 9781498776059Publication Date: 2016-09-19
Practical Handbook of Remote Sensing by
A Beginner's Guide to the World of Satellite DataOver a thousand active satellites are in orbit around the Earth with applications including navigation, the transmission of data and satellite remote sensing; a space-based technology providing data accessible to everyone. The Practical Handbook of Remote Sensing offers a complete understanding of th
ISBN: 9780429157615Publication Date: 2015-10-28An introduction to Geoinformatics by Provides theoretical and practice-based knowledge about essential elements of Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing, GPS and GIS Each chapter includes Suggestions for Further Reading and Frequently Asked Question.Lucid presentation supported by line diagrams and illustrations Simplified and illustrated narration ideal for students of Geoinformatics, environment studies, geology, and geography and professionals pursuing GPS and GIS A systematic approach to the subject coupled with lucid narration and suitable illustrations, An ntroduction to Geoinformatics willbe invaluable for students pursuing various courses on Geoinformatics, environment studies, geology, and geography and will prove useful and handy for professionals pursuing GPS and GIS.
ISBN: 1259058468Publication Date: 2014
Open Source Geospatial Tools : Applications in Earth Observation by
This book focuses on the use of open source software for geospatial analysis. It demonstrates the effectiveness of the command line interface for handling both vector, raster and 3D geospatial data. Appropriate open-source tools for data processing are clearly explained and discusses how they can be used to solve everyday tasks. A series of fully worked case studies are presented including vector spatial analysis, remote sensing data analysis, landcover classification and LiDAR processing. A hands-on introduction to the application programming interface (API) of GDAL/OGR in Python/C++ is provided for readers who want to extend existing tools and/or develop their own software.
ISBN: 9783319018249Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Landsat and beyond : sustaining and enhancing the nation's land imaging program by
In 1972 NASA launched the Earth Resources Technology Satellite (ETRS), now known as Landsat 1, and on February 11, 2013 launched Landsat 8. Currently the United States has collected 40 continuous years of satellite records of land remote sensing data from satellites similar to these. Even though this data is valuable to improving many different aspects of the country such as agriculture, homeland security, and disaster mitigation; the availability of this data for planning our nation\'s future is at risk. Thus, the Department of the Interior\'s (DOI\'s) U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) requested that the National Research Council\'s (NRC\'s) Committee on Implementation of a Sustained Land Imaging Program review the needs and opportunities necessary for the development of a national space-based operational land imaging capability. The committee was specifically tasked with several objectives including identifying stakeholders and their data needs and providing recommendations to facilitate the transition from NASA\'s research-based series of satellites to a sustained USGS land imaging program. Landsat and Beyond: Sustaining and Enhancing the Nation's Land Imaging Program is the result of the committee\'s investigation. This investigation included meetings with stakeholders such as the DOI, NASA, NOAA, and commercial data providers. The report includes the committee\'s recommendations, information about different aspects of the program, and a section dedicated to future opportunities.
ISBN: 9780309290012Publication Date: 2014-01-03
Elements of Photogrammetry with Application in GIS by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive guide to photogrammetry--fully updated Thoroughly revised to cover the latest technological advances in the field, Elements of Photogrammetry with Applications in GIS, Fourth Edition, provides complete details on the foundational principles of photogrammetry as well as important advanced concepts. Significant changes in the instruments and procedures used in modern photogrammetry, including laser scanning, are discussed. Example problems clarify computational procedures and extensive photographs and diagrams illustrate the material presented in this comprehensive resource. Coverage includes: Principles of photography and imaging Cameras and other imaging devices Image measurements and refinements Object space coordinate systems Vertical photographs Stereoscopic viewing Stereoscopic parallax Stereoscopic plotting instruments Laser scanning systems Elementary methods of planimetric mapping for GIS Titled and oblique photographs Introduction to analytical photogrammetry Topographic mapping and spatial data collection Fundamental principles of digital image processing Photogrammetric applications in GIS Control for aerial photogrammetry Aerotriangulation Project planning Terrestrial and close-range photogrammetry
ISBN: 9780071761123Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Remote Sensing Imagery by
Dedicated to remote sensing images, from their acquisition to their use in various applications, this book covers the global lifecycle of images, including sensors and acquisition systems, applications such as movement monitoring or data assimilation, and image and data processing. It is organized in three main parts. The first part presents technological information about remote sensing (choice of satellite orbit and sensors) and elements of physics related to sensing (optics and microwave propagation). The second part presents image processing algorithms and their specificities for radar or optical, multi and hyper-spectral images. The final part is devoted to applications: change detection and analysis of time series, elevation measurement, displacement measurement and data assimilation. Offering a comprehensive survey of the domain of remote sensing imagery with a multi-disciplinary approach, this book is suitable for graduate students and engineers, with backgrounds either in computer science and applied math (signal and image processing) or geo-physics. About the Authors Florence Tupin is Professor at Telecom ParisTech, France. Her research interests include remote sensing imagery, image analysis and interpretation, three-dimensional reconstruction, and synthetic aperture radar, especially for urban remote sensing applications. Jordi Inglada works at the Centre National d'Études Spatiales (French Space Agency), Toulouse, France, in the field of remote sensing image processing at the CESBIO laboratory. He is in charge of the development of image processing algorithms for the operational exploitation of Earth observation images, mainly in the field of multi-temporal image analysis for land use and cover change. Jean-Marie Nicolas is Professor at Telecom ParisTech in the Signal and Imaging department. His research interests include the modeling and processing of synthetic aperture radar images.
ISBN: 9781118898963Publication Date: 2014-02-19
Remote sensing in action : the curious case of Sherlock Holmes and Albert Einstein by
This title questions a basic assumption of the scientific method - that new theories or experimental results are communicated effectively by traditional methods (e.g., presentations at professional meetings or publication in a journal) - and suggests that the scientific method needs to be applied to the scientific method itself to find out if other styles of communication might work better. In an entertaining format, the book uses the fictional characters created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to unravel and explain the historical underpinnings of remote sensing.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.4 .R63 2014ISBN: 1560803134Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Remote Sensing for Geoscientists: Image Analysis and Integration by
This third edition of the bestselling "Remote Sensing for Geologists: A Guide to Image Interpretation "is now titled Remote Sensing for Geoscientists: Image Analysis and Integration. The title change reflects that this edition applies to a broad spectrum of geosciences, not just geology; stresses that remote sensing has become more than photointerpretation; and emphasizes integration of multiple remote sensing technologies to solve Earth science problems. The text reviews systems and applications, explains what to look for when analyzing imagery, and provides abundant case histories to illustrate the integration and application of these tools. See What s New in the Second Edition: Broader coverage to include integration of multiple remote sensing technologies Expanded with significant new illustrations in color and reviews of new satellites and sensors Analysis of imagery for geobotanical remote sensing, remote geochemistry, modern analogs to ancient environments, and astrogeology The book covers how to initiate a project, including determining the objective, choosingthe right tools, and selecting imagery. It describes techniques used in geologic mapping and mineral and hydrocarbon exploration, image analysis used in mine development and petroleum exploitation, site evaluation, groundwaterdevelopment, surface water monitoring, geothermal resource exploitation, and logistics. It also demonstrates how imageryis used to establish environmental baselines; monitor land, air, and water quality; maphazards; and determine the effects of global warming. The many examples of geologic mapping on other planets and the moon highlight how to analyze planetary surface processes, map stratigraphy, and locate resources. The book then examines remote sensing and the public, geographic information systems and Google Earth, and how imagery is used by the media, in the legal system, in public relations, and by individuals. Readers should come away with a good understanding of what is involved in image analysis and interpretation and should be ableto recognize and identify geologic features of interest. Having read this book, they should be able to effectively use imagery in petroleum, mining, groundwater, surface water, engineering, and environmental projects."
ISBN: 1306085918Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Sky Alert! : When Satellites Fail by
"Sky Alert! What Happens When Satellites Fail" explores for the first time what our modern world would be like if we were suddenly to lose most, if not all, of our space assets. The author demonstrates humankind's dependence on space satellites and show what might happen to various aspects of our economy, defense, and daily lives if they were suddenly destroyed. The book opens with a consideration of how our space assets might be lost in the first place: through orbital debris, war, and solar storms. The author then looks at what would happen if our satellites were lost, including the effect on weather forecasting, and the Global Positioning System, explaining GPS in detail and its importance to the military, including spy satellites and military reconnaissance, commerce, civilians, communications and remote sensing - both resource monitoring and locating and environmental monitoring and science. The effects of losing such assets as the International Space Station as well as such research satellites as the Hubble Space Telescope or the Chandra X-Ray Observatory are also considered. Part III of the book looks at how we can protect our satellites, preparing for the worst, reducing the growth and amount of orbital debris, preventing acts of war in space and hardening against space radiation. The book ends on an optimistic note: most spacefaring nations are now working together to develop new technologies to reduce the threat posed by orbital debris and in-space nuclear detonations and treaties exist to limit the development and use of weapons in space. Finally, it is hoped that it will not be long before we will be able to better predict and take precautions against solar storms. The global economy has now become so dependent upon satellites that their loss would be devastating - to the economy, to national security, and potentially, to the day-to-day survival of those who live in the world's most advanced economies.
ISBN: 9781461418306Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Research Methods in Remote Sensing by
This book introduces the overall concepts of research methods in Remote Sensing. It also addresses the entire research framework, ranging from ontology to documentation. As such, it covers the theory while providing a solid basis for engaging in concrete research activities. It is not intended as a textbook on remote sensing; rather, it offers guidance to those conducting research by examining philosophical and other issues that are generally not covered by textbooks. Various stages of research are discussed in detail, including illustrative discussions and helpful references. The topics considered in this book cover a part of the research methodologies explored in Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programs. The book's physical format has been kept to a compact, handy minimum in order to maximize its accessibility and readability for a broad range of researchers in the field of remote sensing.
ISBN: 9789400765948Publication Date: 2013-04-15
Satellite imagery : from acquisition principles to processing of optical images for observing the Earth by
This book was written for students and engineers wishing to understand the basic principles behind the acquisition of optical imagery for Earth observation and the ways in which the quality of the images can be optimised.
Intended both for designers and downstream users, the book begins with a detailed explanation of the physical principles involved when a satellite acquires an optical image and then goes on to discuss image processing and its limits as well as the ultimate performance obtained.
It also covers in depth the problems to be solved when designing and dimensioning observation systems so that the reader can become familiar with the various processes implemented for acquiring an optical image.
The book describes a very wide range of subjects from fundamental physics (radiation, electronics, optics) to applied mathematics (frequency analysis), geometry and technological issues.
It draws on work done over many years by engineers from CNES (the French Space Agency), the IGN (the French National Geographic Institute) and ONERA (the French Aerospace Laboratory) in the field of satellite optical imagery.
ISBN: 2364930367Publication Date: 2012
High Resolution Optical Satellite Imagery by
This is a comprehensive guide to the characteristics and use of high resolution optical images from satellite-borne sensors, concentrating on sensors designed for mapping. It considers in detail the SPOT series of satellites and sensors with a ground sample distance (GSD) of less than 15m, operational since SPOT 1 and particularly the commercial sensors launched since 1999 with GSD of less than 1m. The book explains the way in which high resolution imagery is obtained and the issues which surround its collection and use. It deals progressively with the fundamentals of mapping from imagery, followed by the key features in the design of sensors and methods of data storage and transmission, including data compression. Subsequent chapters cover the sensors, calibration, sensor models and the methods of determining the orientation elements and extracting coordinates from the images. Rigorous orientation, use of rational polynomial coefficients (RPCs) and approximate methods are covered. Results from tests showing the accuracy which can be obtained, generation of digital elevations models, their accuracy and the production of orthoimages are included, as are image processing and data fusion. Finally, future missions and the issues which face further development are discussed. High Resolution Optical Satellite Imagery is written by a team of acknowledged international experts and is the only comprehensive text on the subject.
ISBN: 9781849950466Publication Date: 2012-01-01
An Introduction to Contemporary Remote Sensing by
A PRACTICAL, FULL-COLOR GUIDE TO REMOTE SENSING Written by an internationally renowned expert in the field, An Introduction to Contemporary Remote Sensing introduces the latest developments in remote sensing and imaging science. This book covers basic principles and discusses essential technologies, such as aerial photography, radar, Lidar (light detection and ranging), photogrammetry, satellites, thermal radiation, and much more. Full-color images illustrate the concepts presented, and review questions at the end of each chapter help reinforce learning. This detailed resource provides the solid foundation in remote sensing required for developing diverse geospatial applications. Coverage includes: Geographic information system (GIS) Global positioning system (GPS), mobile mapping, and Google Earth Electromagnetic radiation principles Characteristics of remotely sensed data Spatial, spectral, radiometric, and temporal resolution Aerial photo interpretation Photogrammetry Remote sensors Earth observation satellites Digital image analysis Thermal remote sensing Active remote sensing
ISBN: 9780071740111Publication Date: 2012-02-09
Remote sensing of land use and land cover : principles and applications by
Filling the need for a comprehensive book that covers both theory and application, Remote Sensing of Land Use and Land Cover: Principles and Applications provides a synopsis of how remote sensing can be used for land-cover characterization, mapping, and monitoring from the local to the global scale. With contributions by leading scientists from around the world, this well-structured volume offers an international perspective on the science, technologies, applications, and future needs of remote sensing of land cover and land use. After an overview of the key concepts and history of land-use and land-cover mapping, the book discusses the relationship between land cover and land use and addresses the land-cover classification system. It then presents state-of-the-art methods and techniques in data acquisition, preprocessing, image interpretation, and accuracy assessment for land-use and land-cover characterization and mapping. Case studies from around the world illustrate land-cover applications at global, continental, and national scales. These examples use multiple data sources and provide in-depth understanding of land cover and land-cover dynamics in multiple spatial, thematic, and temporal resolutions. Looking to the future, the book also identifies new frontiers in land-cover mapping and forecasting. The availability and accessibility of accurate and timely land-cover data sets play an important role in many global change studies, highlighting the need for better land-use and land-cover change information at multiple scales. A synthesis of current knowledge in remote sensing of land-use and land-cover science, this book promotes more effective use of Earth observation data and technology to assess, monitor, and manage land resources.
ISBN: 1420070754Publication Date: 2012-05-02
Remote Sensing Digital Image Analysis : An Introduction by
Remote Sensing Digital Image Analysis provides the non-specialist with an introduction to quantitative evaluation of satellite and aircraft derived remotely retrieved data. Since the first edition of the book there have been significant developments in the algorithms used for the processing and analysis of remote sensing imagery; nevertheless many of the fundamentals have substantially remained the same. This new edition presents material that has retained value since those early days, along with new techniques that can be incorporated into an operational framework for the analysis of remote sensing data. The book is designed as a teaching text for the senior undergraduate and postgraduate student, and as a fundamental treatment for those engaged in research using digital image processing in remote sensing. The presentation level is for the mathematical non-specialist. Since the very great number of operational users of remote sensing come from the earth sciences communities, the text is pitched at a level commensurate with their background. Each chapter covers the pros and cons of digital remotely sensed data, without detailed mathematical treatment of computer based algorithms, but in a manner conductive to an understanding of their capabilities and limitations. Problems conclude each chapter.
ISBN: 9783642300622Publication Date: 2012-09-13
Foliage penetration radar : detection and characterization of objects under trees by
This book covers all aspects of foliage penetration (FOPEN) radar, concentrating on both airborne military radar systems as well as earth resource mapping radars. It is the first concise and thorough treatment of FOPEN, covering the results of a decade-long investment by DARPA in characterizing foliage and earth surface with ultrawideband UHF and VHF synthetic aperture radar (SAR). Comparisons of the technologies for radar design and signal processing are presented, as are specific design approaches for transmitter design for operation in a dense radio frequency spectrum. Adaptive processing to remove the effects of radio and television signals from the system are also covered. In 10 years, FOPEN systems will find use in crop monitoring, land mine remediation, and creating digital maps under trees. This book will be the foundation for continued research for years to come both for radar and systems engineers in defense and earth resources companies. Government researchers, program managers and planners who have an interest in the unique capabilities of this radar technology, as well as university staff and faculty teaching radar and signal processing will find this book a critical part of their learning for years to come.
ISBN: 9781613531358Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Computer processing of remotely-sensed images : an introduction by
This fourth and full colour edition updates and expands a widely-used textbook aimed at advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses in remote sensing and GIS in Geography, Geology and Earth/Environmental Science departments. Existing material has been brought up to date and new material has been added. In particular, a new chapter, exploring the two-way links between remote sensing and environmental GIS, has been added. New and updated material includes: A website at www.wiley.com/go/mather4 that provides access to an updated and expanded version of the MIPS image processing software for Microsoft Windows, PowerPoint slideshows of the figures from each chapter, and case studies, including full data sets, Includes new chapter on Remote Sensing and Environmental GIS that provides insights into the ways in which remotely-sensed data can be used synergistically with other spatial data sets, including hydrogeological and archaeological applications, New section on image processing from a computer science perspective presented in a non-technical way, including some remarks on statistics, New material on image transforms, including the analysis of temporal change and data fusion techniques, New material on image classification including decision trees, support vector machines and independent components analysis, and Now in full colour throughout. This book provides the material required for a single semester course in Environmental Remote Sensing plus additional, more advanced, reading for students specialising in some aspect of the subject. It is written largely in non-technical language yet it provides insights into more advanced topics that some may consider too difficult for a non-mathematician to understand. The case studies available from the website are fully-documented research projects complete with original data sets. For readers who do not have access to commercial image processing software, MIPS provides a licence-free, intuitive and comprehensive alternative.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.4 .M38 2011ISBN: 9780470742396Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Geoinformatics in Applied Geomorphology by
With recent innovations in the arena of remote sensing and geographic information systems, the use of geoinformatics in applied geomorphology is receiving more attention than ever. Geoinformatics in Applied Geomorphology examines how modern concepts, technologies, and methods in geoinformatics can be used to solve a wide variety of applied geomorph
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GB406 .G37 2011ISBN: 9780429062841Publication Date: 2011-06-06
Imagery: GIS Best Practices by
The availability and resolution of remotely sensed imagery from earth-orbiting satellites and airborne, hydrographic, and terrestrial sensors have grown dramatically. While this data is potentially valuable to many different types of organizations, they must fi nd a way to manage it while addressing problems related to data latency, accuracy, and format interoperability.GIS provides a standards-based framework to manage data and mitigate these issues. With GIS, you canIntegrate disparate data sources and manage large raster catalogs to provide enterprise accessibility.Promote interoperability.Perform dynamic server-side image processing from native data sources to minimize data latency.
Publication Date: 2010
Remote Sensing Tools for Exploration : Observing and Interpreting the Electromagnetic Spectrum by
Remote Sensing from a New Perspective The idea for this book began many years ago, when I was asked to teach a course on remote sensing. Not long before that time, I had been part of the effort to develop the first database for planetary data with a common digital array format and interactive processing capabilities to correlate those data easily: the lunar consortium. All the available lunar remote sensing data were included, orbital and ground-based, ranging across the entire electromagnetic spectrum. I had used this powerful tool extensively, and, in that spirit, I was determined to create a course which covered the entire spectrum and a variety of targets. As I looked around for the equivalent of a textbook, which I was willing to pull together from several sources, I realized that available material was very heavily focused on the visual and near visual spectrum and on the Earth as a target. Even The Surveillant Science, edited by Edward Holz and published in 1973, which broke new ground in having diverse articles on most of the spectrum when it was created, focused entirely on the Earth. My personal favorite, the exceedingly well written book on remote sensing by Floyd Sabins first published in 1978, covered the visual, infrared, and microwave portions of the spectrum beautifully but focused on the Earth as well. Unhindered, I developed what I called 'packets' of material for each part of the spectrum.
ISBN: 9781441968302Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Geospatial Technology for Earth Observation by
Earth Observation interacts with space, remote sensing, communication, and information technologies, and plays an increasingly significant role in Earth related scientific studies, resource management, homeland security, topographic mapping, and development of a healthy, sustainable environment and community. Geospatial Technology for Earth Observation provides an in-depth and broad collection of recent progress in Earth observation. Contributed by leading experts in this field, the book covers satellite, airborne and ground remote sensing systems and system integration, sensor orientation, remote sensing physics, image classification and analysis, information extraction, geospatial service, and various application topics, including cadastral mapping, land use change evaluation, water environment monitoring, flood mapping, and decision making support. Geospatial Technology for Earth Observation serves as a valuable training source for researchers, developers, and practitioners in geospatial science and technology industry. It is also suitable as a reference book for upper level college students and graduate students in geospatial technology, geosciences, resource management, and informatics.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .G478 2009ISBN: 9781441900500Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Basics of Geomatics by
Geomatics is a neologism, the use of which is becoming increasingly widespread, even if it is not still universally accepted. It includes several disciplines and te- niques for the study of the Earth's surface and its environments, and computer science plays a decisive role. A more meaningful and appropriate expression is G- spatial Information or GeoInformation. Geo-spatial Information embeds topography in its more modern forms (measurements with electronic instrumentation, sophisticated techniques of data analysis and network compensation, global satellite positioning techniques, laser scanning, etc.), analytical and digital photogrammetry, satellite and airborne remote sensing, numerical cartography, geographical information systems, decision support systems, WebGIS, etc. These specialized elds are intimately interrelated in terms of both the basic science and the results pursued: rigid separation does not allow us to discover several common aspects and the fundamental importance assumed in a search for solutions in the complex survey context. The objective pursued by Mario A. Gomarasca, one that is only apparently modest, is to publish an integrated text on the surveying theme, containing simple and comprehensible concepts relevant to experts in Geo-spatial Information and/or speci cally in one of the disciplines that compose it. At the same time, the book is rigorous and synthetic, describing with precision the main instruments and methods connected to the multiple techniques available today.
ISBN: 9781402090141Publication Date: 2009-09-18
Manual of aerial survey : primary data acquisition by
The first step in mapping, GIS, and remote sensing is data acquisition. A multidisciplinary effort, data acquisition involves aviation, navigation, photography, both film and digital cameras, GPS systems, ground control, photogrammetry, and computerized systems. Above all else, successful data acquisition requires a full working knowledge of modern techniques and technologies. Manual of Aerial Survey: Primary Data Acquisition is the second edition of what has become the definitive reference for aerial surveying. Eminently practical and authored by professionals with more than 90 years of combined experience in the field, this text covers all the essentials of aerial photography, with particular emphasis on the survey aspects of the subject. Using a fresh approach and a minimum of mathematics, the authors take you from basic camera requirements, film types, and processing, to step by step guidelines for mission planning and operational procedures. Their topics include differential GPS systems, survey flight management systems, modern film survey cameras, digital cameras, and laser profilers. Other leading-edge topics include laser profilers, airborne laser mapping, satellite systems, and soft-copy photogrammetry using desktop computer systems, film scanners, and digital camera inputs. Military reconnaissance, aerial archaeology, remote sensing, surveillance, and a myriad of commercial and industrial applications all depend on aerial data acquisition. Designed to give fast answers to questions on aerial photography, Manual of Aerial Survey offers an expert, efficient introduction to the field and brings you quickly up to date on equipment and techniques.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TR810 .R37 2002ISBN: 0849316006Publication Date: 2002-11-06
