e-books available through the UT Libraries
Women and GIS, Volume 3, Champions of a sustainable world by
Impressive stories of women using geospatial technology to create sustainable solutions for problems the world faces. The third volume in the Women and GIS series shows how 31 diverse women in various STEAM fields discovered their passion, broke down barriers, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to advance their fields and improve the world. Sharing their experiences from childhood and throughout their careers, each woman reveals her journey in an inspiring recollection of the obstacles she has overcome, the knowledge she has gained along the way, and how tenacity and determination have helped her succeed. Each woman shares tips and words of wisdom that she's gained along the way, including: Priscilla Mbama Abasi: "Think big! Think about going to space, think about building things no one has seen before." Arianna Armelli: "If you are like me and crave the freedom to explore a path of the unknown, aka entrepreneurship, a career in STEM will foster the technical foundation to achieve those goals." Gabi Fleury: "The best advice I was given starting out was 'forge your own path.' Conservation isn't a structured, straight-line career, you can get into it in many ways. This is exciting, but it also can be really challenging, because you have to be flexible, innovative, and always on the lookout for the next opportunity." Healy Hamilton: "Success, to me, is a daily feeling that you are living true to your values, that you are meaningfully contributing to the world you want to create." Katharine Hayhoe: "While it's important to have people you respect and trust give you feedback at key points in your career, when it all comes down to it, you have to make the decisions that feel right for you, not the ones that necessarily look best on paper. You're the one who has to live with them." Featuring strong, persevering women from around the globe, the stories found in Women and GIS, Volume 3: Champions of a Sustainable World will inspire readers who are developing their own life stories to strive for success and achieve amazing accomplishments.
ISBN: 9781589486379Publication Date: 2021-06-22
GIS for science : maps for saving the planet by
GIS for Science: Maps for Saving the Planet, Volume 3, highlights real-world examples of scientists creating maps about saving life on Earth and preserving biodiversity. With Earth and the natural world at risk from various forces, geographic information system (GIS) mapping is essential for driving scientifically conscious decision-making about how to protect life on Earth. In volume 3 of GIS for Science, explore a collection of maps from scientists working to save the planet through documenting and protecting its biodiversity. In this volume, learn how GIS and data mapping are used in tandem with global satellite observation forestry marine policy artificial intelligence conservation biology, and environmental education to help preserve and chronicle life on Earth. This volume also spotlights important global action initiatives incorporating conservation, including Half-Earth, 30 x 30, AI for Earth, the Blue Nature Alliance, and the Sustainable Development Solutions Network. The stories presented in this third volume are ideal for the professional scientist and conservationist and anyone interested in the intersection of technology and the conservation of nature. The book's contributors include scientists who are applying geographic data gathered from the full spectrum of remote sensing and on-site technologies. The maps and data are brought to life using ArcGIS® software and other spatial data science tools that support research, collaboration, spatial analysis, and science communication across many locations and within diverse communities. The stories shared in this book and its companion website present inspirational ideas so that GIS users and scientists can work toward preserving biodiversity and saving planet Earth before time runs out.
ISBN: 9781589486713Publication Date: 2021-11-23
Spatial Computing by
An accessible guide to the ideas and technologies underlying such applications as GPS, Google Maps, Pokémon Go, ride-sharing, driverless cars, and drone surveillance. Billions of people around the globe use various applications of spatial computing daily--by using a ride-sharing app, GPS, the e911 system, social media check-ins, even Pokémon Go. Scientists and researchers use spatial computing to track diseases, map the bottom of the oceans, chart the behavior of endangered species, and create election maps in real time. Drones and driverless cars use a variety of spatial computing technologies. Spatial computing works by understanding the physical world, knowing and communicating our relation to places in that world, and navigating through those places. It has changed our lives and infrastructures profoundly, marking a significant shift in how we make our way in the world. This volume in the MIT Essential Knowledge series explains the technologies and ideas behind spatial computing. The book offers accessible descriptions of GPS and location-based services, including the use of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and RFID for position determination out of satellite range; remote sensing, which uses satellite and aerial platforms to monitor such varied phenomena as global food production, the effects of climate change, and subsurface natural resources on other planets; geographic information systems (GIS), which store, analyze, and visualize spatial data; spatial databases, which store multiple forms of spatial data; and spatial statistics and spatial data science, used to analyze location-related data.
ISBN: 9780262356800Publication Date: 2020-01-24
Introduction to Web Mapping by
A web map is an interactive display of geographic information, in the form of a web page, that you can use to tell stories and answer questions. Web maps have numerous advantages over traditional mapping techniques, such as the ability to display up-to-date or even real-time information, easy distribution to end users, and highly customized interactive content. Introduction to Web Mapping teaches you how to develop online interactive web maps and web mapping applications, using standard web technologies: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. The core technologies are introduced in Chapters 1-5, focusing on the specific aspects which are most relevant to web mapping. Chapters 6-13 then implement the material and demonstrate key concepts for building and publishing interactive web maps. The book: Gives an introduction to fundamental web technologies: HTML, CSS and JavaScript Covers Leaflet, the popular open-source JavaScript library for building web maps Describes the GeoJSON vector layer format and the Ajax technique for loading data Shows how spatial database APIs, such as the CARTO platform, can be combined with a web map to query and display large amounts of data Introduces client-side geoprocessing with the Turf.js JavaScript library, for applying spatial operators in the browser Demonstrates a complex web mapping application for collecting crowdsourced data, combining Leaflet, CARTO and the Leaflet.draw plugin Goes over 69 complete code examples and includes 9 solved exercises for building web maps and web pages (downloadable code is provided in the online supplement) The book is intended for beginners with no background in web technologies or programming. Nevertheless, some prior experience with computers and programming is beneficial. The book can be used for self-study, or as a textbook in a standard undergraduate "Web mapping" course in a Geography department, intended for students specializing in Geographic Information Systems (GIS).
ISBN: 9781000768848Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Women and GIS. Vol. 2, Stars of spatial science by
Foreword by Jane Goodall Thirty inspiring stories of diverse women using geospatial technology to advance science and help resolve important issues facing the world. Like the first volume, Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science tells how 30 women in many different STEM fields applied themselves, overcame obstacles, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique life path and of the perseverance, dedication, and hard work it takes to achieve success. This book includes multicultural women at various points in their careers such as: Barbara Ryan -- Dedicated to open spatial data for everyone Cecille Blake -- Growing GIS capacity in Jamaica and for North and South American countries Rhiannan Price -- Advocating to make a difference for vulnerable populations Verónica Vélez -- Fighting for social and racial justice in education Tanya Harrison -- Bringing Mars to the masses From planetary scientists to civil engineers, entrepreneurs to urban planners, the strong, passionate women in Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science serve as guiding stars to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and to inspire their potential to meaningful achievements.
ISBN: 1589485947Publication Date: 2020-04-21
GIS : research methods by
This book provides a non-technical overview of the science and tools behind geographic information systems and geographic information science for researchers, students and academics who do not have a GIS or Geography background. The book covers the history of GIS, from John Snow's Cholera map (1854) right up to today's software and data and cutting-edge analysis techniques. Bearman goes on to cover how to find, use and evaluate the latest data sets to critiquing existing maps, highlighting limitations and common mistakes. A variety of different GIS methods including Google Maps, GPS, big data, context and choropleth maps are discussed and the pros and cons of each are highlighted allowing you to choose the appropriate method or piece of software for your own research. This is the ideal book for anyone thinking about using GIS in their own research.
ISBN: 9781350129566Publication Date: 2020-12-10
GIS for science : applying mapping and spatial analytics. Volume 2 by
Merging the rigor of the scientific method with the technologies of GIS GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 brings to life a continuing collection of current, real-world examples of scientists using geographic information systems (GIS) and spatial data science to expand our understand of the world. Co-edited by Esri Chief Scientist Dawn Wright and Esri Technology Writer and Information Designer Christian Harder and with a foreword by Pulitzer Prize winner Jared Diamond, these case studies are part of a global effort to find ways to sustain a livable environment for all life on this planet. The contributors of GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 represent a cross section of scientists who employ data gathered from satellites, aircraft, ships, drones, and myriad other remote-sensing and on-site technologies. This collected data is brought to life with GIS and the broader realm of spatial data science to study a range of issues relevant to our understanding of planet Earth--including epidemiology in light of the COVID-19 pandemic; sustainable precision agriculture; predicting geological processes below the surface of the earth; leveraging GIS near-realtime disaster response, recovery, resilience and reporting; the latest innovations in monitoring air quality; and more. Their stories also show in very practical terms how ArcGIS software and the ArcGIS Online cloud-based system work as a comprehensive geospatial platform to support research, collaboration, spatial analysis, and science communication across many settings and communities. A rich supplementary web site--gisforscience.com--includes actual data along with additional maps, videos, web apps, story maps, workflows and snippets of computer code, including Python notebooks, for readers curious to learn more. Written for professional scientists, the swelling ranks of citizen scientists, and anyone interested in science and geography, GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 offers wonderful examples of our impulse to dream, discover, and understand, as coupled with the rigor and discipline of the scientific method and the foundation of geography. See how scientists from a variety of disciplines are solving some of the world's most pressing problems using geographic information systems--GIS.
ISBN: 9781589485877Publication Date: 2020-12-22
Women and GIS : mapping their stories by
Now available in a special hardcover edition with a dust jacket Twenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership, and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.
ISBN: 9781589485280Publication Date: 2019-06-04
GIS for surface water : using the national hydrography dataset by
GIS for Surface Water: Using the National Hydrography Dataset enables scientists, managers, and students to understand the complexities of the vital surface waters of the United States. It triggers exploration and analysis by combining the ready-to-use powers of a comprehensive database of the nation's waters and the ArcGIS® platform for geographic data analysis and mapping. This book explains how the water that exists on the landscape has been translated into a computer database, and how data about the water, such as chemistry and fish habitat, is linked to this database. Elevation data is also incorporated to produce watersheds at the micro and macro levels. This information, along with climatic data, leads to the creation of water flow and velocity estimates for every segment in the 7.5-million-mile drainage network in the United States. With the development of this complete water information system, the reader is poised to generate new knowledge of the behavior of surface water systems. Application of the ArcGIS suite of geographic and network analysis tools makes the science of surface water come to life. GIS for Surface Water vividly demonstrates how the vast capabilities of ArcGIS can be easily applied to the National Hydrography Dataset and companion Watershed Boundary Dataset to reveal the intricate properties of complex water networks. A variety of GIS operations are made simpler through the use of ArcGIS. You will be able to input the National Hydrography Dataset in your GIS and trace the path of water within minutes. With just a little more effort, you will be able to create enlightening flow-volume maps showing how much water flows through any given river system. By following basic principles outlined in the book, you will discover that these methods also apply to the science of surface-water systems for any nation. User stories by experienced water analysts arte also included to help buoy your knowledge of GIS for surface water.
Call Number: Hodges LIbrary Stacks G70.215.U6 S56 2018ISBN: 9781589484795Publication Date: 2018-06-22
GIS: an Introduction to Mapping Technologies by
Over the past few decades the world has been organized through the growth and integration of geographic information systems (GIS) across public and private sector industries, agencies, and organizations. This has happened in a technological context that includes the widespread deployment of multiple digital mobile technologies, digital wireless communication networks, positioning, navigation and mapping services, and cloud-based computing, spawning new ways of imagining, creating, and consuming geospatial information and analytics. GIS: An Introduction to Mapping Technologies is written with the detached voices of practitioner scholars who draw on a diverse set of experiences and education, with a shared view of GIS that is grounded in the analysis of scale-diverse contexts emphasizing cities and their social and environmental geographies. GIS is presented as a critical toolset that allows analysts to focus on urban social and environmental sustainability. The book opens with chapters that explore foundational techniques of mapping, data acquisition and field data collection using GNSS, georeferencing, spatial analysis, thematic mapping, and data models. It explores web GIS and open source GIS making geospatial technology available to many who would not be able to access it otherwise. Also, the book covers in depth the integration of remote sensing into GIS, Health GIS, Digital Humanities GIS, and the increased use of GIS in diverse types of organizations. Active learning is emphasized with ArcGIS Desktop lab activities integrated into most of the chapters. Written by experienced authors from the Department of Geography at DePaul University in Chicago, this textbook is a great introduction to GIS for a diverse range of undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals who are concerned with urbanization, economic justice, and environmental sustainability.
ISBN: 1498740235Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Basic GIS Coordinates by
Coordinates are integral building tools for GIS, cartography, surveying and are vital to the many applications we use today such as smart phones, car navigation systems and driverless cars. Basic GIS Coordinates, Third Edition grants readers with a solid understanding of coordinates and coordinate systems and how they operate as well as valuable insight into what causes them to malfunction. This practical and comprehensive guide lays out the foundation of a coordinate system and the implications behind building it as it elaborates on heights, two coordinate systems, and the rectangular system.The previous editions described horizontal and vertical datums such as the North American Datum 1983 (NAD 83) and the North American Vertical Datum 1988 (NAVD 88). Both will be replaced in 2022 or thereabouts. The National Geodetic Survey (NGS) plans to replace NAD83 with a new semi-dynamic terrestrial reference frame for North America and a new vertical datum will replace NAVD88. The foundation of the new vertical datum will be a temporally tracked gravimetric geoid. The interim period is intended to smooth the transition to the new paradigm and this new edition explores the changes and provides assistance in understanding them.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA116 .V36 2017ISBN: 9781498774635Publication Date: 2017-07-06
Geographic Information : Organization, Access, and Use by
The history and future of geographic information (GI) in the context of big data creates new avenues of concern over its organization, access and use. In this book the authors explore both the background and present challenges facing the preservation of GI, focusing on the roles of librarians, archivists, data scientists, and other information professionals in the creation of GI records for its organization, access, and use.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B57 2016ISBN: 9783319227894Publication Date: 2016-11-02
Map use : reading, analysis, interpretation by
Map Use: Reading, Analysis, Interpretation, eigth edition is a comprehensive, foundational textbook designed for the college curriculum. Now updated with a new section on map interpretation, Map Use provides students with the knowledge and skills to read and understand maps, and offers professional cartographers a thorough reference resource. Nearly 600 full-color maps, photographs, and graphs illustrate the concepts behind communicating with maps, while Powerpoint slides (available through the book resource page at esripress.esri.com/bookresources) further support use of the text in the classroom. The book renders basic cartographic principles accessible to all, from students of cartography and map design to those without a formal education in geography. Accommodating new developments in GPS and geographic information system technology, this newest edition could serve as an introductory GIS text as well.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA105.3 .M83 2016ISBN: 9781589484429Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Geographic Information Science and Systems by
Effective use of today?s powerful GIS technology requiresan understanding of the science of problem-solving that underpinsit. Since the first edition published over a decade ago, this bookhas led the way, with its focus on the scientific principles thatsupport GIS usage. It has also provided thorough, upto- datecoverage of GIS procedures, techniques and public policyapplications. This unique combination of science, technology andpractical problem solving has made this book a best-seller across abroad spectrum of disciplines. This fully updated 4th editioncontinues to deliver on these strengths.
ISBN: 9781118676950Publication Date: 2015-03-09
GIS research methods : incorporating spatial perspectives by
Few if any books have been written about social science research methods and GIS in an ArcGIS environment. This books claims that niche.
ISBN: 9781589484047Publication Date: 2015-03-30
GIS Dictionary by Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Geography and geographers : Anglo-American human geography since 1945 by
Geography and Geographers continues to be the most comprehensive and up-to-date overview of human geography available. It provides a survey of the major debates, key thinkers and schools of thought in the English-speaking world, setting them within the context of economic, social, cultural, political and intellectual changes. It is essential reading for all undergraduate geography students. It draws on a wide reading of the geographical literature and addresses the ways geography and its history are understood and the debates among geographers regarding what the discipline should study and how. This extensively updated seventh edition offers a thoroughly contemporary perspective on human geography for new and more experienced students alike.
ISBN: 9781134065875Publication Date: 2015-12-22
Designing better maps : a guide for GIS users by
Designing Better Maps: A Guide for GIS Users, second edition, is a comprehensive guide to creating maps that communicate effectively. In Designing Better Maps, renowned cartographer Cynthia A. Brewer guides readers through the basics of good cartography, including layout design, scales, projections, color selection, font choices, and symbol placement. Designing Better Maps also describes the author's ColorBrewer application, an online color selection tool. The second edition includes a new chapter on map publishing.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA105.3 .B74 2016ISBN: 9781589484405Publication Date: 2015-12-28
Geodesy : Introduction to Geodetic Datum and Geodetic Systems by
Geodetic datum (including coordinate datum, height datum, depth datum, gravimetry datum) and geodetic systems (including geodetic coordinate system, plane coordinate system, height system, gravimetry system) are the common foundations for every aspect of geomatics. This course book focuses on geodetic datum and geodetic systems, and describes the basic theories, techniques, methods of geodesy. The main themes include: the various techniques of geodetic data acquisition, geodetic datum and geodetic control networks, geoid and height systems, reference ellipsoid and geodetic coordinate systems, Gaussian projection and Gaussian plan coordinates and the establishment of geodetic coordinate systems. The framework of this book is based on several decades of lecture noted and the contents are developed systematically for a complete introduction to the geodetic foundations of geomatics.
ISBN: 9783642412455Publication Date: 2014-05-23
Map Projections : Cartographic Information Systems by
In the context of Geographical Information Systems (GIS) the book offers a timely review of Map Projections. The first chapters are of foundational type. We introduce the mapping from a left Riemann manifold to a right one specified as conformal, equiaerial and equidistant, perspective and geodetic. In particular, the mapping from a Riemann manifold to a Euclidean manifold ("plane") and the design of various coordinate systems are reviewed . A speciality is the treatment of surfaces of Gaussian curvature zero. The largest part is devoted to the mapping the sphere and the ellipsoid-of-revolution to tangential plane, cylinder and cone (pseudo-cone) using the polar aspect, transverse as well as oblique aspect. Various Geodetic Mappings as well as the Datum Problem are reviewed. In the first extension we introduce optimal map projections by variational calculus for the sphere, respectively the ellipsoid generating harmonic maps. The second extension reviews alternative maps for structures , namely torus (pneu), hyperboloid (cooling tower), paraboloid (parabolic mirror), onion shape (church tower) as well as clothoid (Hight Speed Railways) used in Project Surveying. Third, we present the Datum Transformation described by the Conformal Group C10 (3) in a threedimensional Euclidean space , a ten parameter conformal transformation. It leaves infinitesimal angles and distance ratios equivariant. Numerical examples from classical and new map projections as well as twelve appendices document the Wonderful World of Map Projections.
ISBN: 9783642364945Publication Date: 2014-09-11
Lining up data in ArcGIS : a guide to map projections by
"Lining Up Data in ArcGIS: A Guide to Map Projections is an easy-to-navigate troubleshooting reference for any GIS user with the common problem of data misalignment. Complete with full-color maps and diagrams, this book presents practical techniques on how to identify data projections, create custom projections to align data, and solve common data alignment problems. The second edition is compatible with ArcGIS 10.1 and includes new sections on aligning CAD data and appropriate use of the web Mercator projection. This book will benefit new and experienced GIS users alike"
ISBN: 9781589483439Publication Date: 2013
Thinking about GIS : geographic information system planning for managers by
Thinking About GIS: Geographic Information System Planning for Managers presents a planning model for designing data and technology systems that will meet any organization's specific needs. Designed for two primary audiences, senior managers who oversee information technologies and technical specialists responsible for system design, this book provides a common platform on which to conduct GIS planning. The fifth edition reflects the latest trends in geospatial technology and includes updated case studies.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .T66 2013ISBN: 9781589483521Publication Date: 2013
Introducing geographic information systems with ArcGIS: a workbook approach to learning GIS by
An integrated approach that combines essential GIS background with a practical workbook on applying the principles in ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGISintegrates a broad introduction to GIS with a software-specific workbook for Esri's ArcGIS. Where most courses make do using two separate texts, one covering GIS and another the software, this book enables students and instructors to use a single text with an integrated approach covering both in one volume with a common vocabulary and instructional style. This revised edition focuses on the latest software updates--ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1. In addition to its already successful coverage, the book allows students to experience publishing maps on the Internet through new exercises, and introduces the idea of programming in the language Esri has chosen for applications (i.e., Python). A DVD is packaged with the book, as in prior editions, containing data for working out all of the exercises. This complete, user-friendly coursebook: Is updated for the latest ArcGIS releases--ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Introduces the central concepts of GIS and topics needed to understand spatial information analysis Provides a considerable ability to operate important tools in ArcGIS Demonstrates new capabilities of ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Provides a basis for the advanced study of GIS and the study of the newly emerging field of GIScience Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS, Third Edition is the ideal guide for undergraduate students taking courses such as Introduction to GIS, Fundamentals of GIS, and Introduction to ArcGIS Desktop. It is also an important guide for professionals looking to update their skills for ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1.
ISBN: 9781118159804Publication Date: 2013-04-15
The GIS guide to public domain data by
The GIS Guide to Public Domain Data gives users of geographic information systems (GIS) relevant information about the sources and quality of available public domain spatial data. Readers will understand how to find, evaluate, and analyze data to solve location-based problems. This guide covers practical issues such as copyrights, cloud computing, online data portals, volunteered geographic information, and international data. Supplementary exercises are available online to help put the concepts into practice. Students, researchers, and professionals will find The GIS Guide to Public Domain Data a useful desk companion to help them navigate the world of spatial data in the public domain.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217 .G46 K47 2012ISBN: 9781589483170Publication Date: 2012
What is GIS? by Publication Date: 2012
Human Geography : The Basics by
Human Geography: The Basics is a concise introduction to the study of the role that humankind plays in shaping the world around us. Whether it's environmental concerns, the cities we live in or the globalization of the economy, these are issues which affect us all. This book introduces these topics and more including: global environment issues and development cities, firms and regions migration, immigration and asylum landscape, culture and identity travel, mobility and tourism agriculture and food. Featuring an overview of theory, end of chapter summaries, case study boxes, further reading lists and a glossary, this book is the ideal introduction for anybody new to the study of human geography.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GF41 .J65 2012ISBN: 9781136307195Publication Date: 2012-08-21
Mapping : A Critical Introduction to Cartography and GIS by
Mapping: A Critical Introduction to Cartography and GIS is an introduction to the critical issues surrounding mapping and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) across a wide range of disciplines for the non-specialist reader. Examines the key influences Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and cartography have on the study of geography and other related disciplines Represents the first in-depth summary of the "new cartography" that has appeared since the early 1990s Provides an explanation of what this new critical cartography is, why it is important, and how it is relevant to a broad, interdisciplinary set of readers Presents theoretical discussion supplemented with real-world case studies Brings together both a technical understanding of GIS and mapping as well as sensitivity to the importance of theory
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA102.4.E4 C73 2010ISBN: 9781444356731Publication Date: 2011-09-09
Encyclopedia of Geography Terms, Themes, and Concepts by
This text provides an essential reference handbook for students of geography and related social sciences. * Contains more than 30 illustrations, comprising images, maps, charts and graphs * Features sidebars that highlight and explain specific topics or provide biographical sketches of key figures in the history of geographic thought * Detailed entries cover the most essential concepts of geography as an academic discipline
ISBN: 9781598842951Publication Date: 2011-10-17
21st Century Geography: a Reference Handbook by
Via approximately 80 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on geography will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail, or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.Features & Benefits:Curricular-driven to provide students with initial footholds on topics of interest in writing research term papers, in preparing for GREs, in consulting to determine directions to take in pursuing a senior thesis, graduate degree, etc.Comprehensive to offer full coverage of major subthemes and subfields within the discipline of geography, including regional geography, physical geography, global change, human and cultural geography, economic geography and locational analysis, political geography, geospatial technology, cartography, spatial thinking, research methodology, geographical education, and more.Uniform in chapter structure to make it easy for students to locate key information, with a more-or-less common chapter format of Introduction, Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, Bibliography & Suggestions for Further Reading, and Cross References.Available in print and electronic formats to provide students with convenient, easy access.
ISBN: 9781412974646Publication Date: 2011-10-20
Manual of Geospatial Science and Technology by
Following in the tradition of its popular predecessor, the Manual of Geospatial Science and Technology, Second Edition continues to be the authoritative volume that covers all aspects of the field, both basic and applied, and includes a focus on initiating, planning, and managing GIS projects. This comprehensive resource, which contains contributio
ISBN: 9781420087345Publication Date: 2010-03-05
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS by
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS is a concise overview of the fundamental ideas that inform geographic information science. It provides detailed descriptions of the concepts and techniques that anyone using GIS software must fully understand to analyse spatial data. Short and clearly focussed chapters provide explanations of: spatial relationships and spatial data the creation of digital data, the use and access of existing data, the combination of data the use of modelling techniques and the essential functions of map algebra spatial statistics and spatial analysis geocomputation - including discussion of neural networks, cellular automata, and agent-based modelling Illustrated throughout with explanatory figures, the text also includes a glossary, cross referenced to discussion in the text. Written very much from a user's perspective, Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS is highly readable refresher course for intermediate level students and practitioners of GIS in the social and the natural sciences.
ISBN: 1849206511Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Datums and map projections for remote sensing, GIS, and surveying by
A practical guide to coordinate reference systems, Datums and Map Projections: For Remote Sensing, GIS and Surveying has become a key book for many students and professionals around the world. While retaining the benefits of the first edition - clear presentation assuming no prior knowledge, a problem-solving approach, practical examples and the combination of GPS-derived data from other sources - the rewritten and expanded second edition includes a revised structure that better groups common themes, greater scope and coverage of all possible types of coordinate reference systems, more examples and case studies from around the world, terminology of the ISO 1911, and color illustrations.
ISBN: 9781420070415Publication Date: 2008-05-14
