Fieldwork Handbook: a Practical Guide on the Go by
Make your work in the field more efficient and productive with the how-to of location intelligence. A biologist in a rain forest making observations on indigenous frogs, an engineer maintaining utility equipment, or a citizen scientist taking water samples from a creek are all doing fieldwork. Their work is anchored by location. No matter what electronic tools they take into the field, they all take a notebook or a guidebook. As you head into the field along with all your equipment, be sure to include this practical fieldwork guide. Fieldwork Handbook gives you tips, best practices, and activities that make your work in the field more productive and successful. No matter how you use location intelligence in the field, you can up your game with this book and improve your experience. Covering preparation, equipment, workflows, and data, this book will teach you how to Organize and reconcile field data Effectively coordinate and dispatch field resources Refine fieldwork workflows Sync the office with the field Author and Esri product engineer Marika Vertzonis learned about geospatial technology in the field, and she knows what you need to know. This handbook is your friend in the field.
ArcGIS Pro 3. x Cookbook: Create, Manage, Analyze, Maintain, and Visualize Geospatial Data Using ArcGIS Pro by
Leverage the powerful tools in Esri's ArcGIS Pro to perform geospatial analysis Key Features Harness the power of ArcGIS Pro to build informative maps showcasing your GIS data Analyze geospatial data through proximity, spatial statistics, and hotspot analysis Increase data entry efficiency and quality with advanced geodatabase behavior Purchase of the print or Kindle book includes a free PDF eBook Book Description ArcGIS Pro, Esri's newest desktop GIS application, offers powerful tools for visualizing, maintaining, and analyzing data. This cookbook will help existing ArcMap users transition to ArcGIS Pro and teach new users how to utilize its GIS tools effectively. You'll learn how to create geodatabases, convert data formats, link tables from outside sources, edit 2D and 3D data, ensure data integrity with topology, and enable advanced geodatabase behavior. By the end, you'll be able to effectively use ArcGIS Pro as your primary desktop GIS application, maintaining, analyzing, and displaying data using common methods and tools. What you will learn Navigate the new ArcGIS Pro ribbon interface Create and publish 2D and 3D maps Edit data using standard tools and topology Link data together using joins, relates, and relationship classes Create a new geodatabase and validate data using domains, subtypes, attribute rules, and contingent values Convert data formats and project data to new coordinate systems Perform proximity analysis and map clusters with hotspot analysis Conduct advanced 3D analysis with 3D Analyst extension Who this book is for This book is for GIS professionals, architects, specialists, analysts, and technicians looking to learn how to use ArcGIS Pro and the powerful data editing, analysis, and creation tools it offers. Those who are just getting started with ArcGIS Pro and wish to expand their skills, as well as those who want to migrate to this platform will also find this book helpful. While some basic GIS experience is helpful, it's not a prerequisite. ]]>
Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 3. 2 by
Learn to use ArcGIS Pro confidently, quickly, and effectively with the newest edition in this best-selling series. Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 3.2 introduces readers to ArcGIS Pro, the world's most powerful desktop GIS. Geographic information system (GIS) software provides mapping and analytic capabilities that give people and organizations powerful location intelligence. Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 3.2 walks readers through exploring ArcGIS Online, using 3D GIS, building a geodatabase, creating maps for web and physical presentations, and more. With more than 300 full-color images, Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 3.2 clarifies complicated processes, such as developing a geoprocessing model, using Python to write a script tool, and creating space-time cubes for analysis in easy-to-follow workflows. Throughout the book, short sidebars about real-world GIS scenarios in specific industries help readers understand how ArcGIS Pro can be used widely to solve problems. At the end of each chapter, a summary and glossary help reinforce the skills learned. This edition has been completely updated for use with ArcGIS Pro 3.2. The Getting to Know series has been teaching readers about GIS for more than 20 years. Ideal for students, self-learners, and professionals who want to learn the premier GIS desktop application, Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 3.2 is a textbook and desk reference designed to show users how to use ArcGIS Pro successfully.
Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS Online by
Making interactive web maps has never been easier. Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS Online guides readers, step by step, through the process of creating maps that simplify location data and unlock spatial insights. In just a few clicks, you'll publish professional web maps that use smart, data-driven mapping styles and powerful analysis tools. These bite-sized chapters demonstrate how to create layers, build web maps, and showcase your location data in professional visualizations. Each chapter takes about 45 minutes to complete. Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS Online includes: Easy-to-understand, step-by-step tutorials Simple instructions with plenty of screenshots showing what to do Resources that provide readers with self-paced learning opportunities By the end of this book, you'll know: Smart mapping, blend modes, effects, setting visibility ranges, and other basic cartography techniques ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World, ArcGIS Notebooks, charts, forms, and data pipelines How to share your maps to the world Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS Online is perfect for students looking for a comprehensive guide to follow from beginning to end, professionals looking to learn specific skills, or those who want a single, reliable, comprehensive resource for learning how to create web maps. Make your own interactive web maps using the first book from Esri Press exclusively for ArcGIS Online.
Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro by
Unlock the power of Python in ArcGIS® Pro with this definitive, easy-to-follow guide designed for users with limited programming or scripting experience. Get started learning to write Python scripts to automate tasks in ArcGIS Pro with Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro. This book begins with the fundamentals of Python programming and then dives into how to write useful Python scripts that work with spatial data in ArcGIS Pro. You'll learn how to use geoprocessing tools; describe, create, and update data; and execute specialized tasks. With step-by-step instructions, practical examples, and insightful guidance, you'll be able to write scripts that will automate and improve your ArcGIS Pro workflows. This third edition has been revised for ArcGIS Pro 3.2 and Python 3.9.18 and includes updated images; a fully updated chapter 2; and expanded chapters 4, 8, 9, and 10. The key topics you will learn include: Python fundamentals Setting up a Python editor Automating geoprocessing tasks using ArcPy(tm) Exploring and manipulating spatial and tabular data Working with geometries using cursors Working with rasters and map algebra Map scripting Debugging and error handling Helpful points to remember, key terms, and review questions are included at the end of each chapter to reinforce your understanding of Python. Corresponding data and tutorials are available online. Whether you're new to Python or already have some experience, Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro is the go-to resource for learning the versatility of Python coding to solve problems and enhance productivity and efficiency in ArcGIS Pro.
Advanced Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro by
Tackle complex spatial data tasks effortlessly with this easy-to-follow guide to writing specialized Python scripts and developing tools for spatial data in ArcGIS® Pro. Advanced Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro follows up on the topics explained in Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro (Esri Press, 2024) and is now updated for ArcGIS Pro 3.2. Intended for users who have a good foundation in Python, this book explores how to develop scripts into tools and notebooks to share with others, use third-party packages, and learn other more specialized tasks. By the end of this book, you'll be confident in writing more advanced scripts, developing them into tools and notebooks, and sharing them with others. The key topics you will learn include: Creating custom functions and classes Writing specialized scripts using ArcPy(tm) Creating Python script tools and Python toolboxes Sharing scripts and tools Managing Python packages and environments Migrating scripts from Python 2 to 3 NumPy, Pandas, and Matplotlib Creating and using notebooks ArcGIS API for Python and Jupyter Notebook Helpful points to remember, key terms, and review questions are included at the end of each chapter to reinforce your understanding of Python. Companion data and tutorials are available online. Packed with advanced techniques and practical examples, Advanced Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro is perfect for more experienced ArcGIS Pro users who are looking to upgrade their Python skills and enhance their workflows.
GIS: an Introduction to Mapping Technologies by
The second edition of this introductory GIS textbook is thoroughly rewritten and updated to respond to the demand for critical engagement with technologies that address relevant issues across several disciplines preparing students for higher-level work in geotechnologies.
Designing Map Interfaces: Patterns for Building Effective Map Apps by
Create useful and usable map apps that your users will love. Turn your next map app project into a success with Designing Map Interfaces: Patterns for Building Effective Map Apps. Whether you're configuring an out-of-the-box solution, building an app using one of the readily available app builder tools, or working on a custom app project, this book will guide you toward developing more useful and usable apps. Current courses for application development focus on technology and architecture rather than the tenets of interface design. This book teaches GIS professionals, developers, and designers the principles and best practices that will help them create stunning consumer-grade apps. Designing Map Interfaces provides a language for planning and building map apps. The elements of this language are made up of user interface (UI) patterns. Each pattern describes a solution to an observed and recurring problem in UI design. This book explains when to use the pattern, why it is important, and what to consider--and in turn will help readers make educated decisions on what, why, when, and how to solve problems to make their apps work. Throughout the book, patterns are illustrated through real-world examples. Key topics include: getting started with design, selecting the right layout, interacting with the map, dealing with complex data, designing for mobile devices, building single-purpose apps, and common mistakes and how to avoid them. This book is aimed at anyone who configures (solution engineers, GIS professionals) or builds (developer community, designers) map apps, especially the fast-growing group of users who employ application builders and tools that create apps to publish their own data and maps on the web. Designing Map Interfaces fills the gap that documentation lacks--practical tips on how to assemble a meaningful UI. This book is the essential guide to designing map interfaces that are usable and efficient, and that look good in the process.
Computational Methods and GIS Applications in Social Sciences by
This textbook integrates GIS, spatial analysis, and computational methods for solving real-world problems in various policy-relevant social science applications. Thoroughly updated, the third edition showcases the best practices of computational spatial social science and includes numerous case studies with step-by-step instructions in ArcGIS Pro and open-source platform KNIME. Readers sharpen their GIS skills by applying GIS techniques in detecting crime hotspots, measuring accessibility of primary care physicians, forecasting the impact of hospital closures on local community, or siting the best locations for business. FEATURES Fully updated using the latest version of ArcGIS Pro and open-source platform KNIME Features two brand-new chapters on agent-based modeling and big data analytics Provides newly automated tools for regionalization, functional region delineation, accessibility measures, planning for maximum equality in accessibility, and agent-based crime simulation Includes many compelling examples and real-world case studies related to social science, urban planning, and public policy Provides a website for downloading data and programs for implementing all case studies included in the book and the KNIME lab manual Intended for students taking upper-level undergraduate and graduate-level courses in quantitative geography, spatial analysis, and GIS applications, as well as researchers and professionals in fields such as geography, city and regional planning, crime analysis, public health, and public administration.
Computational Methods and GIS Applications in Social Sciences: Lab Manual by
"A companion to the third edition of the textbook Computational Methods and GIS Applications in Social Sciences, this lab manual uses an open-source platform, KNIME to illustrate a step-by-step implementation of each case study in the book. KNIME is a workflow-based platform supporting visual programming and multiple scripting language such as R, Python, and Java. The intuitive, structural workflow helps students understand the methodology of each case study and enables them to easily replicate, transplant and expand the workflow for further exploration with new data or models. Advanced users of spatial analysis can also use this as a reference for GIS automation"-- Provided by publisher.
Introduction to Human Geography Using ArcGIS Online by
Human geography, taught with live, interactive maps and data for a unique geographic perspective. The essential concepts and theories of human geography are brought to life thanks to the innovative integration of modern web maps. Introduction to Human Geography Using ArcGIS Online, second edition, explains topics such as migration, race and ethnicity, food and agriculture, manufacturing and services, urban geography, and cultural geography. Unlike traditional textbooks, this book approaches geography through the use of ArcGIS® Online and provides exercises for interacting with, analyzing, and creating maps. ArcGIS Online is a browser-based geographic information system (GIS) that allows users to explore thousands of geographic datasets and interactive maps. Students using this book use live data and maps to ground their understanding of how the world is organized and how human and physical features interact to create unique places and regions. Each chapter includes ArcGIS Online exercises that reinforce geographic concepts. This second edition features updated maps, figures, and charts reflecting the latest data and includes new text on contemporary issues, from race, ethnicity, and political geography to pollution and climate change. Designed for undergraduate college and AP high school students, Introduction to Human Geography Using ArcGIS Online, second edition, uses the latest geospatial data and web-based technology to teach critical thinking and evaluate the diversity of people within their environments and their global impact.
Spatial Statistics Illustrated by
Spatial statistics empowers you to go beyond visual analysis to answer questions confidently and make data-driven decisions. Thanks to the data and computational power now at our fingertips, data science is in every aspect of our lives. But with so many algorithms and buzzwords floating around, where do you start to solve complex problems or figure out where to go next? There has never been a more exciting time to learn about spatial statistics. Spatial statistics uses an aspect of geography that helps you quantify patterns and relationships so that you can feel confident in your analysis. Spatial Statistics Illustrated is an introductory book for learning the concepts behind the powerful spatial statistics tools in ArcGIS. With approachable explanations and uncomplicated drawings, Spatial Statistics Illustrated gives readers an accessible understanding of some of the most widely used spatial statistics methods, including how they work and when to use them. In a friendly, conversational tone, the authors share techniques that can help you explore your data in meaningful ways; quantify patterns and relationships; understand trends, and make informed, impactful decisions. This book has something for everyone analyzing data, including: seasoned data scientists looking to explore the value that spatial analysis offers GIS analysts looking to expand their spatial statistics skill set new GIS users discovering the value of spatial statistics Spatial Statistics Illustrated is a perfect complement to more traditional, technical statistics and spatial statistics texts and is also ideal as supplemental reading for academic courses. Based on the popular series of Spatial Statistics workshops presented by the authors at the annual Esri User Conference, Spatial Statistics Illustrated welcomes readers into the unparalleled world of spatial statistics.
Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS Pro by
Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS® Pro introduces the most important skills you need to get up and running with geographic information systems (GIS). With its location data advantage, geographic information system (GIS) software is a tool to help with key projects, decisions, and problems. But how do you start using GIS in your projects? If you need a fast track to using this valuable tool, learn and get experience with Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS Pro. With this book, you can start using ArcGIS Pro quickly and successfully. Easy-to-understand, step-by-step exercises Conversational, upbeat language with lots of illustrations and tips Interesting user stories covering how GIS is applied in many situations Exercises for working with spatial data, creating maps, and doing basic analysis This handy resource with easy to follow, how-to steps will help you build your skill set to become adept at understanding and using ArcGIS Pro.
GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Pro 3. 1 by
This classic ArcGIS® exercise book has been revised and streamlined to help you learn the latest ArcGIS Pro tools and workflows. GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Pro 3.1 is the book of choice for classrooms and self-learners seeking to develop their expertise with Esri's premier desktop geographic information system (GIS) technology--no prior experience is necessary. This fifth edition, revised for ArcGIS Pro 3.1, features new datasets, exercises, and instructional text guiding you step by step through the latest tools and workflows. The book explains core skills through progressive learning, and its examples use current, real-world scenarios as you learn to make maps and find, create, and analyze spatial data while using ArcGIS Pro and ArcGIS Online. You will also: share your work in ArcGIS StoryMaps℠ and visualize your data in ArcGIS Dashboards create simple expressions in SQL and Python learn how to use street networks for routing learn how to analyze satellite imagery to provide intelligence learn to turn maps into animations Both authors, Carnegie Mellon educators Kristen Kurland and Wil Gorr, integrate methods from their own teaching experiences into this book and their other books from Esri Press, including the GIS Tutorial 1-3 series, GIS Tutorial for Crime Analysis, and GIS Tutorial for Health. Downloadable video lectures and teaching slides that complement this book are also available.
Learning Geospatial Analysis with Python: Unleash the Power of Python 3 with Practical Techniques for Learning GIS and Remote Sensing by
Harness the powerful Python programming language to navigate the realms of geographic information systems, remote sensing, topography, and more, while embracing a guiding framework for effective geospatial analysis Key Features Create GIS solutions using the new features introduced in Python 3.10 Explore a range of GIS tools and libraries, including PostGIS, QGIS, and PROJ Identify the tools and resources that best align with your specific needs Purchase of the print or Kindle book includes a free PDF eBook Book Description Geospatial analysis is used in almost every domain you can think of, including defense, farming, and even medicine. In this special 10th anniversary edition, you'll embark on an exhilarating geospatial analysis adventure using Python.This fourth edition starts with the fundamental concepts, enhancing your expertise in geospatial analysis processes with the help of illustrations, basic formulas, and pseudocode for real-world applications. As you progress, you'll explore the vast and intricate geospatial technology ecosystem, featuring thousands of software libraries and packages, each offering unique capabilities and insights. This book also explores practical Python GIS geospatial applications, remote sensing data, elevation data, and the dynamic world of geospatial modeling. It emphasizes the predictive and decision-making potential of geospatial technology, allowing you to visualize complex natural world concepts, such as environmental conservation, urban planning, and disaster management to make informed choices. You'll also learn how to leverage Python to process real-time data and create valuable information products.By the end of this book, you'll have acquired the knowledge and techniques needed to build a complete geospatial application that can generate a report and can be further customized for different purposes. What you will learn Automate geospatial analysis workflows using Python Understand the different formats in which geospatial data is available Unleash geospatial tech tools to create stunning visualizations Create thematic maps with Python tools such as PyShp, OGR, and the Python Imaging Library Build a geospatial Python toolbox for analysis and application development Unlock remote sensing secrets, detect changes, and process imagery Leverage ChatGPT for solving Python geospatial solutions Apply geospatial analysis to real-time data tracking and storm chasing Who this book is for This book is for Python developers, researchers, or analysts who want to perform geospatial modeling and GIS analysis with Python. Basic knowledge of digital mapping and analysis using Python or other scripting languages will be helpful. ]]>
GIS Jump Start for Health Professionals by
Now, more than ever, professionals can benefit from the power of location data, maps, and analytics in healthcare. Health professionals see the importance of the who, what, when, and where of data analytics. The "where" adds a crucial element because good healthcare begins locally and understanding the impacts of place leads to better health. Health professionals recognize the insights gained from visualizing and analyzing location data. Maps, dashboards, apps, and charts can serve as location analytic tools to quantify problems, make predictions, improve operations, assess infrastructure, and make better decisions overall. GIS Jump Start for Health Professionals is a concise workbook that introduces location analytics available in geographic information systems (GIS) to health professionals, medical students, residents, fellows, nursing students, medical researchers, and others interested in health IT and informatics, health-care administration, and health policy. GIS Jump Start for Health Professionals provides hands-on tutorials that introduce the ArcGIS tools and shows how to use web-based data, storytelling apps, and much more. The book includes concepts and short video lectures to improve learning outcomes. Focused lessons get health professionals up and running quickly and experiencing first hand the value of location data, maps, and analytics. Written by Kristen S. Kurland, an award-winning professor at Carnegie Mellon University and co-creator of the GIS Tutorial series, this book can be used as a short course or incorporated into another course. It is also valuable to self-learners who want location technology experience.
Mapping by design : a guide to ArcGIS maps for Adobe creative cloud by
Create visual and geospatial stories that blend map science and map design. To make aesthetically pleasing, informative maps, mapmakers and graphic designers have historically used time-consuming tasks and workflows as part of the job. But what if you could get to the aesthetic design of your mapping projects much sooner with access to accurate, detailed map layers and powerful mapping tools that could enhance your story? Enter ArcGIS® Maps for Adobe® Creative Cloud®, the mapping extension that connects Adobe® Illustrator® to the power of ArcGIS, Esri's geospatial software. Mapping by Design: A Guide to ArcGIS Maps for Adobe Creative Cloud is the guidebook for making effective maps using Maps for Adobe Creative Cloud. Learn how to create compelling visual stories with maps following comprehensive tutorials designed to navigate readers through common mapmaking workflows. Key topics include: Learning the user interface components of Maps for Adobe Creative Cloud Creating maps following common workflows Performing custom geo-analyses Using automated custom symbology and map elements Integrating Maps for Adobe Creative Cloud into your ArcGIS Pro cartographic workflows By connecting Illustrator to ArcGIS Online, this extension gives designers the power to create maps by providing easy access to authoritative digital maps and map layers. In Maps for Adobe Creative Cloud, this seamless connection means that you can add these digital map layers, perform many map enhancements and geo-analytical functions, and then download your maps as well-organized, ready-to-design files in Illustrator. Further, Maps for Adobe Creative Cloud allows ArcGIS Pro users to open their maps and layouts in Illustrator and continue adding and analyzing map data and layers. Whether you are a creative seeking to make beautiful maps with a familiar graphic design application or a GIS Professional who wants to learn the ArcGIS Pro-to-Illustrator integration workflow, Mapping by Design serves as a practical guide for all mapmakers.
Archaeological 3D GIS by
Archaeological 3D GIS provides archaeologists with a guide to explore and understand the unprecedented opportunities for collecting, visualising, and analysing archaeological datasets in three dimensions. With platforms allowing archaeologists to link, query, and analyse in a virtual, georeferenced space information collected by different specialists, the book highlights how it is possible to re-think aspects of theory and practice which relate to GIS. It explores which questions can be addressed in such a new environment and how they are going to impact the way we interpret the past. By using material from several international case studies such as Pompeii, Çatalhöyük, as well as prehistoric and protohistoric sites in Southern Scandinavia, this book discusses the use of the third dimension in support of archaeological practice. This book will be essential for researchers and scholars who focus on archaeology and spatial analysis, and is designed and structured to serve as a textbook for GIS and digital archaeology courses. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Python for ArcGIS Pro: Automate Cartography and Data Analysis Using ArcPY, ArcGIS API for Python, Notebooks, and Pandas by
Extend your ArcGIS expertise by unlocking the world of Python programming. A fully hands-on guide that takes you through exercise after exercise using real data and real problems. NOTE: This book is compatible with ArcGIS Pro 2.9. Key Features: Learn the core components of the two Python modules for ArcGIS: ArcPy and ArcGIS API for PythonUse ArcPy, pandas, NumPy, and ArcGIS in ArcGIS Pro Notebooks to manage and analyze geospatial data at scaleIntegrate with ArcGIS Online using Python to publish and manage data Book Description: Integrating Python into your day-to-day ArcGIS work is highly recommended when dealing with large amounts of geospatial data. Python for ArcGIS Pro aims to help you get your work done faster, with greater repeatability and higher confidence in your results. Starting from programming basics and building in complexity, two experienced ArcGIS professionals-turned-Python programmers teach you how to incorporate scripting at each step: automating the production of maps for print, managing data between ArcGIS Pro and ArcGIS Online, creating custom script tools for sharing, and then running data analysis and visualization on top of the ArcGIS geospatial library, all using Python. You'll use ArcGIS Pro Notebooks to explore and analyze geospatial data, and write data engineering scripts to manage ongoing data processing and data transfers. This exercise-based book also includes three rich real-world case studies, giving you an opportunity to apply and extend the concepts you studied earlier. Irrespective of your expertise level with Esri software or the Python language, you'll benefit from this book's hands-on approach, which takes you through the major uses of Python for ArcGIS Pro to boost your ArcGIS productivity. What You Will Learn: Automate map production to make and edit maps at scale, cutting down on repetitive tasksPublish map layer data to ArcGIS OnlineAutomate data updates using the ArcPy Data Access module and cursorsTurn your scripts into script tools for ArcGIS ProLearn how to manage data on ArcGIS OnlineQuery, edit, and append to feature layers and create symbology with renderers and colorizersApply pandas and NumPy to raster and vector analysisLearn new tricks to manage data for entire cities or large companies Who this book is for: This book is ideal for anyone looking to add Python to their ArcGIS Pro workflows, even if you have no prior experience with programming. This includes ArcGIS professionals, intermediate ArcGIS Pro users, ArcGIS Pro power users, students, and people who want to move from being a GIS Technician to GIS Analyst; GIS Analyst to GIS Programmer; or GIS Developer/Programmer to a GIS Architect. Basic familiarity with geospatial/GIS syntax, ArcGIS, and data science (pandas) is helpful, though not necessary.
Getting to Know Web GIS by
Get the latest information about online GIS using ArcGIS® apps and functionality. Capabilities of Web GIS keep expanding, and Getting to Know Web GIS, fifth edition, describes some of the most cutting-edge and exciting innovations. From publishing data as services and configuring engaging web and mobile apps to automation, scripting, and real-world applications, this book shares how to use the most current software and apps for using ArcGIS in the cloud. In the newest edition of Getting to Know Web GIS, you can work with the latest releases of ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS StoryMaps℠, and ArcGIS mobile apps. You can experience ArcGIS Experience Builder, ArcGIS Field Maps, ArcGIS Instant Apps, ArcGIS Image for ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS Mission, and the latest advances in artificial intelligence, virtual reality, and tools for spatial data science. No programming is required, but you can learn more about Web GIS programming in this book using JavaScript, webhooks, and ArcGIS Arcade. Use the fifth edition to: improve your online visual storytelling, work with 2D smart mapping and 3D web scenes, create informative web experiences and dashboards, support field operations and data collection using mobile apps, use new data science tools for spatial analysis and geoprocessing, detect objects using deep learning packages, program a triggered notification using a visual interface, and more. GIS expert, instructor, and author Pinde Fu provides lecture slides and additional resources in an online story using ArcGIS StoryMaps. Today's modern GIS is Web GIS--get onboard with one of the most interesting and creative areas of GIS.
Python for Geospatial Data Analysis: Theory, Tools, and Practice for Location Intelligence by
In spatial data science, things in closer proximity to one another likely have more in common than things that are farther apart. With this practical book, geospatial professionals, data scientists, business analysts, geographers, geologists, and others familiar with data analysis and visualization will learn the fundamentals of spatial data analysis to gain a deeper understanding of their data questions. Author Bonny P. McClain demonstrates why detecting and quantifying patterns in geospatial data is vital. Both proprietary and open source platforms allow you to process and visualize spatial information. This book is for people familiar with data analysis or visualization who are eager to explore geospatial integration with Python. This book helps you: Understand the importance of applying spatial relationships in data science Select and apply data layering of both raster and vector graphics Apply location data to leverage spatial analytics Design informative and accurate maps Automate geographic data with Python scripts Explore Python packages for additional functionality Work with atypical data types such as polygons, shape files, and projections Understand the graphical syntax of spatial data science to stimulate curiosity
Geospatial Information Handbook for Water Resources and Watershed Management, Volume I, Fundamentals and Analyses by
Volume I of Geospatial Information Handbook for Water Resources and Watershed Management discusses fundamental characteristics, measurements and analyses of water features and watersheds including lakes and reservoirs, rivers and streams, and coasts and estuaries. It presents contemporary knowledge on Geospatial Technology (GT) supported functional analyses of water runoff, storage and balance, flooding and floodplains, water quality, soils and moisture, climate vulnerabilities and ecosystem services. Captures advanced Geospatial Technologies (GT) addressing a wide range of water issues. Provides real world applications and Case Studies using advanced spectral and spatial sensors combined with geospatially facilitated water process models. Details applications of ArcInfo/ArcGIS, Google Earth Engine and other systems using advanced remote sensors including hyperspectral ER2 AVIRIS, Sentinel-1 and -2, MODIS, Landsat 7 ETM+, Landsat 8 OLI and TIPS, SAR radar and thermal imaging. Global in coverage with applications contributed by more than 170 authors with lifelong expertise in water sciences and engineering. This handbook is a wide ranging and contemporary reference of advanced geospatial techniques used in numerous practical applications at local and regional scale, and an in-depth resource for professionals and the water research community worldwide.
The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 2: Spatial Measurements and Statistics by
Learn how to get better answers in map analysis when you use spatial measurements and statistics. Spatial measurements and statistics give you a powerful way to analyze geospatial data, but you don't need to understand complex mathematical theories to apply statistical tools and get meaningful results in your projects. The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 2: Spatial Measurements and Statistics, second edition, builds on Volume 1 by taking you to the next step of GIS analysis. Learn to answer such questions as, how are features distributed? What is the pattern created by a set of features? Where can clusters be found? This book introduces readers to basic statistical concepts and some of the most common spatial statistics tasks: measuring distributions, identifying patterns and clusters, and analyzing relationships. Updated with the latest and most useful software tools and revised explanations, each chapter in The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 2 is organized to answer basic questions about the topic. Explore how spatial statistical tools can be applied in a range of disciplines, from public health to habitat conservation. Learn how to quantify patterns beyond visualizing them in maps. Examine spatial clusters through an updated chapter on identifying clusters. Use The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 2, second edition, to understand the statistical methods and tools that can move your work past mapping and visualization to more quantitative statistical assessment.
UNDERSTANDING CRIME : analyzing the geography of crime by
The definitive guide to analysis techniques for examining the geography of crime Understanding Crime: Analyzing the Geography of Crime delves into both theory and technique to explain the geographic analysis of crime. Intended as a comprehensive resource and textbook, this book breaks down old, new, and complex approaches to make crime analysis more accessible for readers wanting to improve their own understanding of crime. Through detailed descriptions, explanations, and illustrations of geographic analysis techniques, Understanding Crime examines spatial and temporal patterns of crime, the use of spatial data in the analysis of crime, and methods for evaluating the impact of geographically targeted interventions. Topics include: Hot spot analysis, using cluster analysis techniques Temporal analysis, including techniques for examining the stability of crime patterns Analysis of repeat and near repeat victimization Analysis of persistent and emerging patterns of crime Spatial regression analysis, including geographically weighted regression Determining crime risk, and where crime is likely to happen Performing robust evaluation and applying techniques that determine whether an intervention worked Every chapter begins with key learning points and ends with a summary and references. "Thought boxes" with useful information for understanding a theoretical principle or a technical matter are included throughout the book. Written by world-renowned crime science expert Dr. Spencer Chainey and designed for both students and practitioners of all levels, Understanding Crime is a vital reference that will support you in your spatial analysis of crime and ultimately in making better recommendations for improving your community.
Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop 10. 8 by
Want to get up and running with ArcGIS® Desktop? Start here. Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop 10.8, sixth edition, is the classic textbook that introduces readers to the features and tools of ArcGIS Desktop, specifically ArcMapTM, the popular professional geographic information system (GIS) application from Esri. Rooted in the science of geography, GIS is a framework for gathering, managing, and analyzing data using map visualizations and location intelligence. GIS and ArcGIS have become essential to thousands of businesses and organizations. Through hands-on exercises, readers get a comprehensive introduction to the features and tools of ArcMap. Discover, use, make, and share maps with meaningful content. Learn how to build geodatabases, query data, analyze geospatial data, and more. Now in its sixth iteration, this edition of Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 has been updated to teach and function with the most current version of the software, ArcGIS Desktop 10.8.x. Data for completing the exercises and a 180-day free trial of ArcGIS Desktop are available for download. Explore why Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 is a top-selling choice for classroom use, independent study, and as a reference for students and professionals alike.
Delivering water and power : GIS for utilities by
Learn how others modernize workflows, create actionable data, reduce costs, and prepare for new challenges. Location is at the core of many utilities' daily and long-term planning, but it's about more than making a map. It's improving the reliability of your water and energy infrastructure by reducing service interruptions. It's using data analysis to make informed operational decisions, both in the office and in the field. It's strengthening your network safety and security while increasing customer satisfaction. With advancements in smart technologies, location intelligence for utilities management is not just for GIS specialists. In Delivering Water and Power: GIS for Utilities, see how public and private utilities around the world have implemented geographic information systems (GIS) to visualize and analyze data for situational awareness, operational efficiency, and asset management. In this collection of case studies and "how to" guidance, gain an overview of how GIS was used to: Protect customers in Denver through an innovative lead reduction program Streamline asset inspections in the UK Improve emergency response efforts in Puerto Rico Increase solar energy potential and adoption in Dubai Through web apps, online maps, dashboards, and other GIS solutions, utility professionals develop a deeper understanding of network maintenance and performance within a real-world context, increasing operational flexibility, creating a safer environment for workers, and raising customer satisfaction. Discover how GIS and location intelligence modernize utility infrastructure and operations for improved service delivery and management with Delivering Water and Power: Applying GIS for Utilities.
Dealing with disasters : GIS for emergency management by
Discover a modern approach to understanding threats and hazards that are more complex, costly, and devastating than ever before. Agencies around the world rely on geographic information systems (GIS) every day to plan for and mitigate complicated threats and hazards and coordinate emergency response and recovery efforts. Location intelligence provides the kind of deep, real-time data insights needed for managers, directors, and other decision-makers to analyze risk, gain situational awareness, and manage tomorrow's emergencies. Dealing with Disasters: GIS for Emergency Management explores a collection of real-life case studies about emergency management agencies successfully using GIS for real and potential hazards. Chapters are laid out to explore three primary areas of disaster management: Preparedness: To effectively reduce risks, emergency management professionals must incorporate real-time data, big data, and other critical data feeds into their analysis. Learn how organizations spanning from Arizona to Taiwan use data-driven insights to effectively prepare for worst-case scenarios. Response: Emergency management professionals must become more agile and informed at all points during response efforts. Find out how the US National Park Service, the Puerto Rico Emergency Operations Center, and others have successfully responded to growing threats that require agility and effective communication to save lives and property. Recovery: Recovery efforts can take years, and it's critical to avoid missteps that delay progress. See how tools like drones help refugees; imagery helps insurance companies; and maps help post-tornado efforts while aiding in prioritizing work and delivering on every recovery dollar invested in a community. Each of the three themed parts also includes a "how to get started" section that provides ideas, strategies, tools, and actions to help jump-start your own use of GIS for emergency management, and an index organized by disaster type allows you to quickly learn or refresh yourself on GIS implementation. A collection of online resources, including additional stories, videos, new ideas and concepts, and downloadable tools and content, complements this book. Use Dealing with Disasters: GIS for Emergency Management as a guide for strategizing against and surviving the emergencies that befall communities. Introduction by Martin O'Malley, former governor of Maryland, former mayor of Baltimore, and author of Smarter Government: How to Govern for Results in the Information Age (Esri Press, 2019).
GIS Tutorial for Health for ArcGIS Desktop 10. 8 by
Knowing how technology can improve health research and health-care management applications has never been more important. Geographic information systems (GIS) can provide health and human services professionals with the analysis and insights to make impactful, informed decisions about health care, health policy, and public health. Doing so starts with learning ArcGIS, the popular professional GIS application from Esri, using GIS Tutorial for Health for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8. A workbook for learning the basics of ArcGIS within a health context, GIS Tutorial for Health for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 introduces you to preparing, visualizing, and analyzing health data. Using a hands-on approach with real-world health-care scenarios that simulate how to develop and manage a GIS health project, the included exercises guide you to solve health problems using ArcGIS Desktop, specifically ArcMap. You will learn: the basics of mapmaking and how to use spatial and tabular data how to design maps for a health study how to apply spatial analysis tools for health studies and more. This sixth edition of GIS Tutorial for Health also includes updates for use with ArcGIS Desktop 10.8, an introduction to ArcGIS Online, and an international context using international health data. Written by the authors of the popular GIS Tutorial series, GIS Tutorial for Health for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 incorporates proven teaching methods in detailed exercises, "Your Turn" sections, and homework assignments. Suitable as both a computer lab textbook and for self-study, this book will give health management students and practitioners, health-care managers, IT specialists, and researchers the understanding and skill set to apply GIS to work in the health field. Note: Esri Press e-books do not include 180-day trial software. Instead, you can download the ArcGIS Trial at http://www.esri.com/arcgis/trial.
Building a smarter community : GIS for state and local government by
Provide open data, balance decisions and initiatives, and create equitable policies. Smart communities don't wait for someone to deem them smart; they take action. State and local governments worldwide have taken that first step using geographic information system (GIS) technology. Applying GIS to planning and urban design, public works operations, and racial equity and social justice has helped meet citizens' needs and improve government operations. And with advancements in smart technology, location intelligence for state and local governments is not just for GIS specialists. More informed, data-driven decisions lead to improved outcomes that can be shared and replicated in other communities, helping citizens and government collaborate for the common good. Building a Smarter Community: GIS for State and Local Government shows how government leaders in cities, counties, and states have applied GIS for improved planning, operations, and civic inclusion. In this collection of case studies and guidance to get started, learn how GIS: Helped planners visualize affordable housing patterns in Honolulu, Hawaii Radically changed stormwater management practices in Salinas County, California Improved easy access to city data, initiatives, and services in Coral Gables, Florida Supported minority-owned business during the COVID pandemic in San Rafael, California Web apps, GIS hubs and dashboards, and other GIS solutions help state and local governments develop a deeper understanding of the communities they serve within a real-world context. Sections on getting started with GIS provide helpful ideas, strategies, tools, and actions and a collection of online resources to jump-start your use of GIS for state and local government. Discover how GIS and location intelligence support state and local government decisions and citizen participation in Building a Smarter Community.
Modern Policing Using ArcGIS Pro by
An essential tool for crime analysts looking to enhance the quality and efficiency of their crime mapping using ArcGIS Pro. Modern Policing Using ArcGIS Pro is an easy-to-use hands-on guide for crime analysts of any skill level. Crime mapping and spatial analysis play a key role in a variety of day-to-day police functions, and with ArcGIS Pro, crime analysts can enhance the efficiency of their workflow and the quality of their crime-mapping products. Designed to be immediately useful and practical for all users, Modern Policing's scaffolded approach allows users to incrementally develop their skills. Real-world case studies from crime analysts and applied research projects demonstrate the spatial analysis techniques necessary to support evidence-based policing. The findings of these case studies are discussed via research and crime analysis highlights, with self-guided exercises that walk the user through the steps of performing the analysis. Key topics include: Geoprocessing and filtering data Identifying hot spots Using spatial statistics for predictive analysis Automating tasks Using ArcGIS Pro for problem analysis, crime analysts can create crime prevention strategies, measure program outputs to gauge program implementation, and conduct evaluations to determine whether crime control strategies are having the desired impact. Covering strategic analysis, predictive analysis, workflow automation and more, Modern Policing Using ArcGIS Pro is essential for crime analysts looking to bring value to their agencies' operations through crime and data analysis.
GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Pro 2. 8 by
Learn the latest ArcGIS® Pro tools and workflows with this popular book! Updated for the latest version of ArcGIS Pro, GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Pro 2.8 is the book of choice for classrooms and self-learners seeking to begin or grow their expertise using Esri's premier desktop geographic information system (GIS) technology. This fourth edition features newly revised geocoding workflows. Students will find simplified steps and figures that match the 2.8 interface. When finished, readers will have learned how to make maps; find, create and analyze data; and manage operational systems while using ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS StoryMaps℠, ArcGIS Dashboards, ArcGIS Collector, and more. Free downloadable video lectures and lecture slides boost learning outcomes. Additional instructor resources augment instruction. Since 2005, Carnegie Mellon educators Kristen Kurland and Wil Gorr have been sharing what works in their own teaching experiences. Their other titles include, GIS Tutorial for Crime Analysis, GIS Tutorial for Health, and GIS Jumpstart for Health Professionals.
GIS for science : maps for saving the planet by
GIS for Science: Maps for Saving the Planet, Volume 3, highlights real-world examples of scientists creating maps about saving life on Earth and preserving biodiversity. With Earth and the natural world at risk from various forces, geographic information system (GIS) mapping is essential for driving scientifically conscious decision-making about how to protect life on Earth. In volume 3 of GIS for Science, explore a collection of maps from scientists working to save the planet through documenting and protecting its biodiversity. In this volume, learn how GIS and data mapping are used in tandem with global satellite observation forestry marine policy artificial intelligence conservation biology, and environmental education to help preserve and chronicle life on Earth. This volume also spotlights important global action initiatives incorporating conservation, including Half-Earth, 30 x 30, AI for Earth, the Blue Nature Alliance, and the Sustainable Development Solutions Network. The stories presented in this third volume are ideal for the professional scientist and conservationist and anyone interested in the intersection of technology and the conservation of nature. The book's contributors include scientists who are applying geographic data gathered from the full spectrum of remote sensing and on-site technologies. The maps and data are brought to life using ArcGIS® software and other spatial data science tools that support research, collaboration, spatial analysis, and science communication across many locations and within diverse communities. The stories shared in this book and its companion website present inspirational ideas so that GIS users and scientists can work toward preserving biodiversity and saving planet Earth before time runs out.
Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 2. 8 by
Learn the latest version of ArcGIS Pro with the newest edition of this bestselling series. Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 2.8 introduces the tools and functions of ArcGIS Pro, the powerful desktop GIS application. Geographic information system (GIS) software is making a huge impact in businesses and organizations with mapping and analytic capabilities. Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 2.8 uses practical project workflows to teach best practices to readers of all skill levels. Readers will explore data visualizations, build a geodatabase, discover 3D GIS, create maps for web and physical presentations, and more. With more than 300 full-color images, Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 2.8 clarifies complicated processes such as developing a geoprocessing model, using Python to write a script tool, and creating space-time cubes for analysis. Throughout the book, short sidebars about real-world GIS scenarios in specific industries help readers understand how ArcGIS Pro can be applied widely to solve problems. At the end of each chapter, a summary and glossary help reinforce the skills learned. This edition has been completely updated for use with ArcGIS Pro 2.8. Other updates include new chapters on ArcGIS Online and geocoding. The Getting to Know series has been teaching readers about GIS for more than twenty years. Ideal for students, self-learners, and professionals who want to learn the premier GIS desktop application, Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro 2.8 is a textbook and desk reference designed to show users how they can use ArcGIS Pro successfully on their own.
The Esri guide to GIS analysis. Volume 1, Geographic patterns and relationships by
Do more with your GIS and understand the foundation of spatial analysis: geographic patterns and relationships. A geographic information system (GIS) enables so much more than mapping. A GIS inherently enables spatial analysis that can give you a better understanding of your geographic data. GIS analysis reveals answers to questions like: Where is it? Where's the most and least? How much is where? What's inside? What's nearby? What's changed? But how do you get started? The second edition of The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1 shows you how and more. With easier to read maps and text, The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1, second edition, updates a classic text and teaches foundational spatial analysis patterns that provides geographic insights. Learn the basic concepts of spatial analysis and GIS. Build on that understanding with essential map-building skills to unveil and display patterns and relationships. The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1, second edition, also includes a guide to online lessons that reinforce the concepts and demonstrate GIS application. Written for both new and experienced GIS users using an easy to follow format, the second edition of The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1 helps you build a foundation of the basic tasks needed to handle a wide range of analysis applications and prepares you for more advanced GIS skills.
Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro by
The definitive, easy-to-follow guide to writing Python code with spatial data in ArcGIS Pro, whether you're new to programming or not. Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro starts with the fundamentals of Python programming and then dives into how to write useful Python scripts that work with spatial data in ArcGIS Pro. Learn how to execute geoprocessing tools, describe, create and update data, as well as execute a number of specialized tasks. See how to write simple, custom scripts that will automate your ArcGIS Pro workflows. Some of the key topics you will learn include: Python fundamentals Setting up a Python editor Automating geoprocessing tasks using ArcPy Exploring and manipulating spatial and tabular data Working with geometries using cursors Working with rasters and map algebra Map scripting Debugging and error handling Helpful "points to remember," key terms, and review questions are included at the end of each chapter to reinforce your understanding of Python. Corresponding data and exercises are available online. Whether you want to learn Python or already have some experience, Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro is the comprehensive, hands-on book for learning the versatility of Python coding as an approach to solving problems and increasing your productivity in ArcGIS Pro. Follow the step-by-step instruction and common workflow guidance for automating tasks and scripting with Python. Don't forget to also check out Esri Press's other Python title: Advanced Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro (9781589486188)
Advanced Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro by
Ready for something more complex? An easy-to-follow guide to writing specialized Python scripts and developing tools for spatial data in ArcGIS Pro. Advanced Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro builds on Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro (Esri Press, 2020). Learn how to create a geoprocessing tool out of your script and automate tasks in ArcGIS Pro, how to share your tools with others, as well as master a number of more specialized tasks. Some of the key topics you will learn include: Writing specialized scripts using ArcPy Creating Python script tools Writing Python toolboxes Sharing scripts and tools Managing Python packages and environments Creating custom functions and classes Migrating scripts and tools from ArcGIS Desktop to ArcGIS Pro NumPy, Pandas, and Matplotlib ArcGIS API for Python and Jupyter Notebook Helpful "points to remember," key terms, and review questions are included at the end of each chapter to reinforce your understanding of Python. Companion data and exercises are available online. Advanced Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro is perfect for more experienced developers who are looking to upgrade their skills. Don't forget to also check out Esri Press's other Python title: Python Scripting for ArcGIS Pro (9781589484993)
Getting to Know Web GIS by
Learn state-of-the-art skills to build compelling, useful, and fun Web GIS apps easily, with no programming experience required. Building on the foundation of the previous three editions, Getting to Know Web GIS, fourth edition, features the latest advances in Esri's entire Web GIS platform, from the cloud server side to the client side. Discover and apply what's new in ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS Enterprise, Map Viewer, Esri StoryMaps, Web AppBuilder, Survey123, and more. Learn about recent Web GIS products such as ArcGIS Experience Builder, ArcGIS Indoors, and ArcGIS QuickCapture. Understand updates in mobile GIS such as ArcGIS Collector and AuGeo, and then build your own web apps. Further your knowledge and skills with detailed sections and chapters on ArcGIS Dashboards, ArcGIS Analytics for the Internet of Things (Iot), online spatial analysis, ArcGIS Notebooks, image services, 3D web scenes, ArcGIS API for JavaScript, and best practices in Web GIS. Follow extended discussions about artificial intelligence, machine learning, deep learning, augmented reality (AR), virtual reality (VR), and IoT in the context of Web GIS. Each chapter is written for immediate productivity with a good balance of principles and hands-on exercises and includes: A conceptual discussion section to give you the big picture and principles, A detailed tutorial section with step-by-step instructions, A Q/A section to answer common questions, An assignment section to reinforce your comprehension, and A list of resources with more information. Ideal for classroom lab work and on-the-job training for GIS students, instructors, GIS analysts, managers, web developers, and other professionals, Getting to Know Web GIS, fourth edition, uses a holistic approach to systematically teach the breadth of the Esri Geospatial Cloud. To download the instructor slides, tutorial data, and assignment data, visit https://go.esri.com/gtkwebgis4.
Learning ArcGIS Pro 2 : a beginner's guide to creating 2D and 3D maps and editing geospatial data with ArcGIS Pro by
Create 2D maps and 3D scenes, analyze GIS data, and share your results with the GIS community using the latest ArcGIS Pro 2 features Key Features Get up to speed with the new ribbon-based user interface, projects, models, and common workflows in ArcGIS Pro 2 Learn how to visualize, maintain, and analyze GIS data Automate analysis and processes with ModelBuilder and Python scripts Book Description Armed with powerful tools to visualize, maintain, and analyze data, ArcGIS Pro 2 is Esri's newest desktop geographic information system (GIS) application that uses the modern ribbon interface and a 64-bit processor to make using GIS faster and more efficient. This second edition of Learning ArcGIS Pro will show you how you can use this powerful desktop GIS application to create maps, perform spatial analysis, and maintain data. The book begins by showing you how to install ArcGIS and listing the software and hardware prerequisites. You'll then understand the concept of named user licensing and learn how to navigate the new ribbon interface to leverage the power of ArcGIS Pro for managing geospatial data. Once you've got to grips with the new interface, you'll build your first GIS project and understand how to use the different project resources available. The book shows you how to create 2D and 3D maps by adding layers and setting and managing the symbology and labeling. You'll also discover how to use the analysis tool to visualize geospatial data. In later chapters, you'll be introduced to Arcade, the new lightweight expression language for ArcGIS, and then advance to creating complex labels using Arcade expressions. Finally, you'll use Python scripts to automate and standardize tasks and models in ArcGIS Pro. By the end of this ArcGIS Pro book, you'll have developed the core skills needed for using ArcGIS Pro 2.x competently. What you will learn Navigate the user interface to create maps, perform analysis, and manage data Display data based on discrete attribute values or range of values Label features on a GIS map based on one or more attributes using Arcade Create map books using the map series functionality Share ArcGIS Pro maps, projects, and data with other GIS community members Explore the most used geoprocessing tools for performing spatial analysis Create Tasks based on common workflows to standardize processes Automate processes using ModelBuilder and Python scripts Who this book is for If you want to learn ArcGIS Pro to create maps and, edit and analyze geospatial data, this ArcGIS book is for you. No knowledge of GIS fundamentals or experience with any GIS tool or ArcGIS software suite is required. Basic Windows skills, such as navigating and file management, are all you need.
GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Desktop 10. 8 by
Updated for use with ArcGIS® Desktop 10.8 GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 is the updated replacement for GIS Tutorial 1: Basic Workbook, 10.3 Edition, a classic textbook for teaching ArcGIS® Desktop. GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 teaches the fundamentals of using ArcGIS Desktop, the popular professional geographic information systems (GIS) application from Esri. Rooted in the science of geography, GIS is a framework for gathering, managing, and analyzing data using map visualizations and location intelligence. GIS and ArcGIS have become the mainstay of many businesses, organizations, and institutions. Updated with new images and simplified steps for using the latest version of the software, GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 introduces readers to the tools and functionality of ArcGIS Desktop 10.8. Learn how to use ArcMap and ArcCatalog to make maps, work with spatial data, and analyze spatial data for proximity analysis and site suitability analysis. Gain hands-on experience using ArcGIS 3D Analyst(tm), ArcGIS Spatial Analyst(tm), and ArcGIS Network Analyst(tm) extensions, as well as ArcGIS Online and other software products. Each chapter is designed from decades of GIS teaching experience by authors Wilpen L. Gorr (ret.) and Kristen S. Kurland, professors at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Incorporating proven teaching methods in detailed exercises, "Your Turn" sections, and homework assignments, this book is suited to learning GIS in the classroom or by self-learners. Data for completing the exercises is available for free download. Renewing a proven standard: GIS Tutorial for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 helps users explore GIS concepts, apply ArcGIS software, and gain GIS skills, regardless of learning style.
GIS for science : applying mapping and spatial analytics. Volume 2 by
Merging the rigor of the scientific method with the technologies of GIS GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 brings to life a continuing collection of current, real-world examples of scientists using geographic information systems (GIS) and spatial data science to expand our understand of the world. Co-edited by Esri Chief Scientist Dawn Wright and Esri Technology Writer and Information Designer Christian Harder and with a foreword by Pulitzer Prize winner Jared Diamond, these case studies are part of a global effort to find ways to sustain a livable environment for all life on this planet. The contributors of GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 represent a cross section of scientists who employ data gathered from satellites, aircraft, ships, drones, and myriad other remote-sensing and on-site technologies. This collected data is brought to life with GIS and the broader realm of spatial data science to study a range of issues relevant to our understanding of planet Earth--including epidemiology in light of the COVID-19 pandemic; sustainable precision agriculture; predicting geological processes below the surface of the earth; leveraging GIS near-realtime disaster response, recovery, resilience and reporting; the latest innovations in monitoring air quality; and more. Their stories also show in very practical terms how ArcGIS software and the ArcGIS Online cloud-based system work as a comprehensive geospatial platform to support research, collaboration, spatial analysis, and science communication across many settings and communities. A rich supplementary web site--gisforscience.com--includes actual data along with additional maps, videos, web apps, story maps, workflows and snippets of computer code, including Python notebooks, for readers curious to learn more. Written for professional scientists, the swelling ranks of citizen scientists, and anyone interested in science and geography, GIS for Science: Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics, Volume 2 offers wonderful examples of our impulse to dream, discover, and understand, as coupled with the rigor and discipline of the scientific method and the foundation of geography. See how scientists from a variety of disciplines are solving some of the world's most pressing problems using geographic information systems--GIS.
Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro by
In the tradition of the best-selling Getting to Know series, Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro, second edition teaches new and existing GIS users how to get started solving problems by visualizing, querying, creating, editing, analyzing, and presenting geospatial data in both 2D and 3D environments using ArcGIS Pro. This book teaches the basic functions and capabilities of ArcGIS Pro through practical project workflows and shows how to be productive with this essential component of the ArcGIS platform. The second edition has been updated for ArcGIS Pro 2.3.
Introduction to human geography : using ArcGIS online by
Applying new skills to established topics, this is how you want to examine human geography. Introduction to Human Geography Using ArcGIS Online combines a comprehensive examination of human geography with engaging activities using the ArcGIS Online service. Birth rates are higher in one country than another. Why? Are there patterns? Are there correlations? Introduction to Human Geography Using ArcGIS Online readers are doers, using sophisticated software to actively explore, analyze, and answer these questions and many more. ArcGIS Online exercises in each chapter dig into those numbers and their spatial relationships, enhancing students' grasp of geographic concepts. Instructors tailor classroom examples and homework assignments to local geography. Introduction to Human Geography Using ArcGIS Online bridges classroom lecture and live, current, interactive data for reinforced learning and a hybridized teaching approach. Human geography, meet The Science of Where(tm).
Esri ArcGIS Desktop Professional Certification Study Guide by
Ready to show what you know as a professional ArcGIS Desktop user? The Esri ArcGIS Desktop Professional Certification Study Guide prepares candidates taking the latest (10.5) ArcGIS Desktop Professional Certification exam. Chapters parallel exam sections and combine GIS concepts with practical applications. Following a three-part structure, prepare with topics in the ArcGIS documentation that candidates need to know for the exam, practice with included assignments or with links to continually updated online resources, then finish by checking your skills against a list of tasks that candidates should be able to perform. The Esri ArcGIS Desktop Professional Certification Study Guide is your complete, consolidated resource to confidently master the ArcGIS Desktop Professional Certification exam.
GIS for Science, Volume 1, Applying Mapping and Spatial Analytics by
GIS for Science presents a collection of real-world stories about modern science and a cadre of scientists who use mapping and spatial analytics to expand their understanding of the world. The accounts in this book are written for a broad audience including professional scientists, the swelling ranks of citizen scientists, and people generally interested in science and geography. Scientific data are brought to life with GIS technology to study a range of issues relevant to the functioning of planet Earth in a natural sense as well as the impacts of human activity. In a race against the clock, the scientists profiled in this volume are using remote sensing, web maps within a geospatial cloud, Esri StoryMaps, and spatial analysis to document and solve an array of issues with a geographic dimension, ranging from climate change, natural disasters, and loss of biodiversity, to homelessness, loss of green infrastructure, and resource shortages. These stories present geospatial ideas and inspiration that readers can apply across many disciplines, making this volume relevant to a diverse scientific audience. See how scientists working on the world's most pressing problems apply geographic information systems--GIS.
The ArcGIS book : 10 big ideas about applying the science of where by
This is your learn-by-doing guide into ArcGIS, the powerful mapping and analysis system created by the geospatial pioneers at Esri. It's not just something you read, but something you do. < The ArcGIS Book: 10 Big Ideas about Applying The Science of Where and its companion website provide access to hundreds of live maps from the worldwide ArcGIS user community. Each big idea in the title is a chapter in the book about the ways that GIS technology can unlock your data to reveal deeper insights and a better understanding of virtually any problem with a geographic dimension. Visit the book website and click on any map to start exploring and learning. Then enable your own free Learn ArcGIS account to create beautiful story maps, mobile apps, web maps, and 3D scenes that you can share online. Each chapter concludes with a hands-on lesson from the Learn ArcGIS catalog--authentic GIS activities based on real-world problem solving and data. Get your free account and see this book come alive at: www.TheArcGISBook.com
Instructional Guide for the ArcGIS Book by
Whether you’re a self-learner, currently teaching, or planning to teach GIS, the second edition of Instructional Guide for The ArcGIS Book provides materials to develop and apply ArcGIS tools and concepts to the classroom. This companion textbook to The ArcGIS Book: 10 Big Ideas about Applying the Science of Where (Esri Press, 2017) builds on that information. Each chapter provides students and teachers with activities, resources, lessons, and data that reflect the interaction between components of ArcGIS Online, as well as GIS applications for publishing to the Web and on mobile devices. A combination of scenario-driven and skill-based lessons, it not only offers practice in the use of these tools but also inspires a deeper understanding of the potential and power of Web GIS.
Mapping with ArcGIS Pro : Design accurate and user-friendly maps to share the story of your data by
ArcGIS Pro is a geographic information system for working with maps and geographic information. Mapping with ArcGIS Pro will help readers create visually stunning maps that increase the legibility of the stories being mapped and introduce visual and design concepts into a traditionally scientific, data-driven process.
ArcGIS Pro 2.x Cookbook : Create, manage, and share geographic maps, data, and analytical models using ArcGIS Pro. by
Creating and Sharing Maps and Data using ArcGIS Pro Key Features Leverage the power of ArcGIS to build beautiful 2D and 3D maps. Work with ArcGIS to analyze and process data. Extend the power of ArcGIS to ArcGIS Online to create and edit content. Book Description ArcGIS is Esri's catalog of GIS applications with powerful tools for visualizing, maintaining, and analyzing data. ArcGIS makes use of the modern ribbon interface and 64-bit processing to increase the speed and efficiency of using GIS. It allows users to create amazing maps in both 2D and 3D quickly and easily. If you want to gain a thorough understanding of the various data formats that can be used in ArcGIS Pro and shared via ArcGIS Online, then this book is for you. Beginning with a refresher on ArcGIS Pro and how to work with projects, this book will quickly take you through recipes about using various data formats supported by the tool. You will learn the limits of each format, such as Shapefiles, Geodatabase, and CAD files, and learn how to link tables from outside sources to existing GIS data to expand the amount of data that can be used in ArcGIS. You'll learn methods for editing 2D and 3D data using ArcGIS Pro and how topology can be used to ensure data integrity. Lastly the book will show you how data and maps can be shared via ArcGIS Online and used with web and mobile applications. What you will learn Edit data using standard tools and topology Convert and link data together using joins and relates Create and share data using Projections and Coordinate Systems Access and collect data in the field using ArcGIS Collector Perform proximity analysis and map clusters with hotspot analysis Use the 3D Analyst Extension and perform advanced 3D analysis Share maps and data using ArcGIS Online via web and mobile apps Who this book is for GIS developers who are comfortable using ArcGIS, and are looking to increase their capabilities and skills, will find this book useful.
GIS for surface water : using the national hydrography dataset by
GIS for Surface Water: Using the National Hydrography Dataset enables scientists, managers, and students to understand the complexities of the vital surface waters of the United States. It triggers exploration and analysis by combining the ready-to-use powers of a comprehensive database of the nation's waters and the ArcGIS® platform for geographic data analysis and mapping. This book explains how the water that exists on the landscape has been translated into a computer database, and how data about the water, such as chemistry and fish habitat, is linked to this database. Elevation data is also incorporated to produce watersheds at the micro and macro levels. This information, along with climatic data, leads to the creation of water flow and velocity estimates for every segment in the 7.5-million-mile drainage network in the United States. With the development of this complete water information system, the reader is poised to generate new knowledge of the behavior of surface water systems. Application of the ArcGIS suite of geographic and network analysis tools makes the science of surface water come to life. GIS for Surface Water vividly demonstrates how the vast capabilities of ArcGIS can be easily applied to the National Hydrography Dataset and companion Watershed Boundary Dataset to reveal the intricate properties of complex water networks. A variety of GIS operations are made simpler through the use of ArcGIS. You will be able to input the National Hydrography Dataset in your GIS and trace the path of water within minutes. With just a little more effort, you will be able to create enlightening flow-volume maps showing how much water flows through any given river system. By following basic principles outlined in the book, you will discover that these methods also apply to the science of surface-water systems for any nation. User stories by experienced water analysts arte also included to help buoy your knowledge of GIS for surface water.
Introduction to GIS Programming and Fundamentals with Python and ArcGIS® by
Combining GIS concepts and fundamental spatial thinking methodology with real programming examples, this book introduces popular Python-based tools and their application to solving real-world problems. It elucidates the programming constructs of Python with its high-level toolkits and demonstrates its integration with ArcGIS Theory. Filled with hands-on computer exercises in a logical learning workflow this book promotes increased interactivity between instructors and students while also benefiting professionals in the field with vital knowledge to sharpen their programming skills. Readers receive expert guidance on modules, package management, and handling shapefile formats needed to build their own mini-GIS. Comprehensive and engaging commentary, robust contents, accompanying datasets, and classroom-tested exercises are all housed here to permit users to become competitive in the GIS/IT job market and industry.
Spatial analytics with ArcGIS: use the spatial statistics tools provided by ArcGIS and build your own to perform complex geographic analysis by
Pattern Analysis and cluster mapping made easyAbout This Book* Analyze patterns, clusters, and spatial relationships using ArcGIS tools* Get up to speed in R programming to create custom tools for analysis* Sift through tons of crime and real estate data and analyze it using the tools built in the bookWho This Book Is ForThis book is for ArcGIS developers who want to perform complex geographic analysis through the use of spatial statistics tools including ArcGIS and R. No knowledge of R is assumed.What You Will Learn* Get to know how to measure geographic distributions* Perform clustering analysis including hot spot and outlier analysis* Conduct data conversion tasks using the Utilities toolset* Understand how to use the tools provided by the Mapping Clusters toolset in the Spatial Statistics Toolbox* Get to grips with the basics of R for performing spatial statistical programming* Create custom ArcGIS tools with R and ArcGIS Bridge* Understand the application of Spatial Statistics tools and the R programming language through case studiesIn DetailSpatial statistics has the potential to provide insight that is not otherwise available through traditional GIS tools. This book is designed to introduce you to the use of spatial statistics so you can solve complex geographic analysis.The book begins by introducing you to the many spatial statistics tools available in ArcGIS. You will learn how to analyze patterns, map clusters, and model spatial relationships with these tools. Further on, you will explore how to extend the spatial statistics tools currently available in ArcGIS, and use the R programming language to create custom tools in ArcGIS through the ArcGIS Bridge using real-world examples.At the end of the book, you will be presented with two exciting case studies where you will be able to practically apply all your learning to analyze and gain insights into real estate data.Style and approachFilled with live examples that you can code along with, this book will show you different methods and techniques to effectively analyze spatial data with ArcGIS and the R language. The exciting case studies at the end will help you immediately put your learning to practice.
The ArcGIS imagery book : new view, new vision by
Explore how imagery and remote sensing power modern GIS. With The ArcGIS Imagery Book, you will roll up your sleeves and quickly begin putting imagery to smarter, more skillful use with your GIS. Even armchair geographers will appreciate this book and its electronic companion www.thearcgisimagerybook.com for the wealth of gorgeous, inspiring, and occasionally troubling images and links to powerful web apps and maps that weave interesting stories about our planet and the issues we face. Appropriate for those very familiar with geographic information systems and those who have never heard of the term.
Instructional Guide for the ArcGIS Imagery Book by
This companion textbook to The ArcGIS Imagery Book: New View, New Vision (Esri Press, 2016) builds on the foundational concepts laid out in The ArcGIS Imagery Book. Whether you are a self-learner, currently teaching, or are planning to teach GIS, this guide provides the materials to develop and apply ArcGIS Imagery tools and concepts. Using The ArcGIS Imagery Book's structure as a starting point, each chapter provides students and teachers with activities, resources, lessons and data that reflect the interaction between components of ArcGIS Online, as well as GIS applications for publishing to the web and mobile devices. A combination of scenario driven and skill-based lessons (including many that don't require downloading any software), not only offer practice in the use of these tools but also inspire a deeper understanding of the potential and power of Web GIS. Includes downloadable instructor resources.
Risk terrain modeling : crime prediction and risk reduction by
Imagine using an evidence-based risk management model that enables researchers and practitioners alike to analyze the spatial dynamics of crime, allocate resources, and implement custom crime and risk reduction strategies that are transparent, measurable, and effective. Risk Terrain Modeling (RTM) diagnoses the spatial attractors of criminal behavior and makes accurate forecasts of where crime will occur at the microlevel. RTM informs decisions about how the combined factors that contribute to criminal behavior can be targeted, connections to crime can be monitored, spatial vulnerabilities can be assessed, and actions can be taken to reduce worst effects. As a diagnostic method, RTM offers a statistically valid way to identify vulnerable places. To learn more, visit http://www.riskterrainmodeling.com and begin using RTM with the many free tutorials and resources.
Map use : reading, analysis, interpretation by
Map Use: Reading, Analysis, Interpretation, eigth edition is a comprehensive, foundational textbook designed for the college curriculum. Now updated with a new section on map interpretation, Map Use provides students with the knowledge and skills to read and understand maps, and offers professional cartographers a thorough reference resource. Nearly 600 full-color maps, photographs, and graphs illustrate the concepts behind communicating with maps, while Powerpoint slides (available through the book resource page at esripress.esri.com/bookresources) further support use of the text in the classroom. The book renders basic cartographic principles accessible to all, from students of cartography and map design to those without a formal education in geography. Accommodating new developments in GPS and geographic information system technology, this newest edition could serve as an introductory GIS text as well.
ArcPy and ArcGIS, geospatial analysis with python : use the ArcPy module to automate the analysis and mapping of geospatial data in ArcGIS by
ArcGIS allows for complex analyses of geographic information. The ArcPy module is used to script these ArcGIS analyses, providing a productive way to perform geo-analyses and to automate map production.
This book will guide you from basic Python scripting to advanced ArcPy script tools. This book starts off with setting up your Python environment, demonstrates a complex ArcPy script tool with multiple iterations, illustrates data access module cursors, and explains how to use ArcPy Geometry classes. Then, you will learn how to output maps using ArcPy.Mapping, and how to create ArcGIS script tools.
With the help of this book, you will be able to create repeatable analyses reducing the time-consuming nature of GIS, making you into a GIS professional as powerful as a whole team.
ArcGIS for Desktop Cookbook by
ArcGIS for Desktop is one of the strongest components of the Esri ArcGIS platform. Users find it exciting because it has a lot of powerful tools and can work with a wide range of spatial data formats.
This book will make you a more effective and efficient GIS user by showing you how to use ArcGIS for Desktop to create your own geodatabase model and manage layers, symbols, and label styles. Furthermore it will help you learn how to create map documents, edit data in feature classes, find and fix topological errors, analyze surfaces, and most importantly create 3D representations, import and export several different data formats, and much more.
Developing Mobile Web Arcgis Applications by
This guide is invaluable to those just starting out with GIS development but will also benefit GIS professionals wishing to expand their development skills to include mobile apps.
Programming ArcGIS with Python cookbook : over 85 hands-on recipes to teach you how to automate your ArcGIS for Desktop geoprocessing tasks using Python by
Programming ArcGIS with Python Cookbook, Second Edition, is written for GIS professionals who wish to revolutionize their ArcGIS workflow with Python. Whether you are new to ArcGIS or a seasoned professional, you almost certainly spend time each day performing various geoprocessing tasks. This book will teach you how to use the Python programming language to automate these geoprocessing tasks and make you a more efficient and effective GIS professional.
ArcGIS by example : develop three engaging ArcGIS applications to address your real-world mapping scenarios by
Develop three engaging ArcGIS applications to address your real-world mapping scenariosAbout This Book- Design, build and run ArcGIS applications using ArcObjects SDK- Extend ArcGIS objects and use add -ins to deploy applications on top of ArcGIS- An example-centric practical guide to help you understand mapping scenarios with ArcGISWho This Book Is ForIf you are an application developer and wish to enhance your skills for the GIS domain with ArcGIS, then this book is for you. Previous experience with ArcGIS is not required.What You Will Learn- Use essential ArcGIS code to query geodatabases- Communicate with ArcGIS maps, with the help of critical designing and optimisation tips- Highlight and interact with objects on your map- Query ArcGIS geodatabases with related data to display your information on ArcGIS- Edit your underlying geodatabase- Explore strategies for the adaptation of various types of spatial analysis techniques into the GIS framework- Analyze tools for Geographical Information Systems and remote sensing- Experience ArcGIS's advanced tools for manipulation of shapefiles and geodatabasesIn DetailArcGIS is a geographic information system (GIS) for working with maps and geographic information. It is considered the turnkey solution to creating and sharing interactive maps. ArcGIS is designed to work the way you work. With nothing to install and set up, ArcGIS helps you make your work productive from day one.The book covers the design and development of three ArcGIS applications to guide the readers in crafting their own GIS solution as per their requirements. The book begins by giving you a refresher on the concepts of ArcGIS. Without wasting any time, you'll begin with developing your first ArcGIS application. You will be developing a cell tower analysis tool. Following this, you will be guided through mapping signal strength and real - time manoeuvring in your GIS system. You will then move on to the second application of the book: a restaurant mapping system. The application will allow tourists to browse restaurants on a map, according to their preferences. Next, you will learn how to work with reviews and ratings and also cover some of the advanced searching options offered by ArcGIS. You will then make use of advanced ArcObjects to develop your third application: an excavation planning manager. The book will conclude by teaching you how work out excavation cost calculations and also saving and retrieving your excavation designs.Style and approachThe book offers an enhanced way of learning ArcGIS, through the design and development of three applications throughout its length. In addition to this the book also covers features that you can add to your application as you develop each one covered in the book.
Designing better maps : a guide for GIS users by
Designing Better Maps: A Guide for GIS Users, second edition, is a comprehensive guide to creating maps that communicate effectively. In Designing Better Maps, renowned cartographer Cynthia A. Brewer guides readers through the basics of good cartography, including layout design, scales, projections, color selection, font choices, and symbol placement. Designing Better Maps also describes the author's ColorBrewer application, an online color selection tool. The second edition includes a new chapter on map publishing.
Python for ArcGIS by
This book introduces Python scripting for geographic information science (GIS) workflow optimization using ArcGIS. It builds essential programming skills for automating GIS analysis. Over 200 sample Python scripts and 175 classroom-tested exercises reinforce the learning objectives. Readers will learn to: * Write and run Python in the ArcGIS Python Window, the PythonWin IDE, and the PyScripter IDE * Work with Python syntax and data types * Call ArcToolbox tools, batch process GIS datasets, and manipulate map documents using the arcpy package * Read and modify proprietary and ASCII text GIS data * Parse HTML web pages and KML datasets * Create Web pages and fetch GIS data from Web sources. * Build user-interfaces with the native Python file dialog toolkit or the ArcGIS Script tools and PyToolboxes Python for ArcGIS is designed as a primary textbook for advanced-level students in GIS. Researchers, government specialists and professionals working in GIS will also find this book useful as a reference.
GeoLearning: Thoughts on Geography and Education by 
Learning ArcGIS geodatabases : an all-in-one start up kit to author, manage, and administer ArcGIS geodatabases by
ArcGIS is an industry standard for geospatial development and management. A geodatabase is the database used to store and manage the spatial data.
Learning ArcGIS Geodatabases offers a comprehensive working and practical experience for readers who are interested in knowing about ArcGIS. The initial chapters guide you through authoring geodatabases and creating a geodatabase schema and datasets. Then, the book focuses extensively on modeling and optimizing geodatabases.
Finally, you will be able to work comfortably with datasets, annotations, and relationship classes, making it easier to migrate from a legacy database to an ArcGIS geodatabase.
ArcGIS Online in Education by
These stories serve as powerful testimony for how learning with ArcGIS Online supports critical thinking, global awareness, information competency, communication, and collaboration. The stories describe innovative efforts of early adopters of ArcGIS Online in higher education to empower their students to learn in new ways. As Erich Fromm observed, “Creativity requires the courage to let go of certainties.” These educators let go of established practices to embrace the benefits of web GIS and engage students from a wide variety of backgrounds in mapping and spatial thinking.
Python Scripting for ArcGIS by
This book is a guide for experienced users of ArcGIS® Desktop to get started with Python scripting without needing previous programming experience. Experience with other scripting or programming languages (Perl, VBA, VB script, Java, C++) is helpful but not required. Readers are expected to have good general ArcGIS skills and a basic understanding of geoprocessing procedures. There are 14 chapters with corresponding exercises on an accompanying DVD. Also included is access to a 180-day trial of ArcGIS® 10.1 for Desktop.
Introducing geographic information systems with ArcGIS: a workbook approach to learning GIS by
An integrated approach that combines essential GIS background with a practical workbook on applying the principles in ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGISintegrates a broad introduction to GIS with a software-specific workbook for Esri's ArcGIS. Where most courses make do using two separate texts, one covering GIS and another the software, this book enables students and instructors to use a single text with an integrated approach covering both in one volume with a common vocabulary and instructional style. This revised edition focuses on the latest software updates--ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1. In addition to its already successful coverage, the book allows students to experience publishing maps on the Internet through new exercises, and introduces the idea of programming in the language Esri has chosen for applications (i.e., Python). A DVD is packaged with the book, as in prior editions, containing data for working out all of the exercises. This complete, user-friendly coursebook: Is updated for the latest ArcGIS releases--ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Introduces the central concepts of GIS and topics needed to understand spatial information analysis Provides a considerable ability to operate important tools in ArcGIS Demonstrates new capabilities of ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1 Provides a basis for the advanced study of GIS and the study of the newly emerging field of GIScience Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS, Third Edition is the ideal guide for undergraduate students taking courses such as Introduction to GIS, Fundamentals of GIS, and Introduction to ArcGIS Desktop. It is also an important guide for professionals looking to update their skills for ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1.
The Esri guide to GIS analysis. Volume 3, Modeling suitability, movement, and interaction by
The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 3: Modeling Suitability, Movement, and Interaction describes practical applications of modeling concepts in a geographic information system (GIS). This book shows readers how they can explore spatial interaction, site selection, routing, and scheduling, and explains how to best interpret the results of the analysis. With full-color maps and illustrations and sample applications, this book will help students studying GIS and professional GIS analysts better use models to evaluate locations and analyze movement.
