e-Books available through the UT Libraries
Learning GIS using open source software : an applied guide for geo-spatial analysis by
This book introduces the usage, functionality, and application of data in geographic information systems (GIS) for geo-spatial analysis. It offers knowledge on GIS tools and techniques and explains how they can be applied in real-world project to architects and planners in the Indian and the Greater South Asian context using open-source software. The volume explains concepts on planning and architectural tasks, their data, methods and requirements followed, and includes GIS-related exercises on the same tasks. It takes the reader through the concepts of geo-spatial analysis and its referencing system while quoting examples from India. Further, the content of the book will help the planners involved in preparing GIS-based master planning for cities under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme (see Glossary for details). A practical guidebook providing a step-by-step guide to learn open source GIS, this book will be useful for students, scholars and professionals from the field of architecture and planning, geography and other spatial sciences, instructors of GIS courses on planning and architecture, urban and regional planners, transport planners, urban design, landscape architects, environmental planners, departments of town and country planning, and development authorities. It will also be useful for anyone interested in the geospatial analysis.
ISBN: 9781000478631Publication Date: 2021-12-07
Introduction to spatial data analysis : remote sensing and GIS with open source software by
This is a book about how ecologists can integrate remote sensing and GIS in their research. It will allow readers to get started with the application of remote sensing and to understand its potential and limitations. Using practical examples, the book covers all necessary steps from planning field campaigns to deriving ecologically relevant information through remote sensing and modelling of species distributions. An Introduction to Spatial Data Analysis introduces spatial data handling using the open source software Quantum GIS (QGIS). In addition, readers will be guided through their first steps in the R programming language. The authors explain the fundamentals of spatial data handling and analysis, empowering the reader to turn data acquired in the field into actual spatial data. Readers will learn to process and analyse spatial data of different types and interpret the data and results. After finishing this book, readers will be able to address questions such as "What is the distance to the border of the protected area?", "Which points are located close to a road?", "Which fraction of land cover types exist in my study area?" using different software and techniques. This book is for novice spatial data users and does not assume any prior knowledge of spatial data itself or practical experience working with such data sets. Readers will likely include student and professional ecologists, geographers and any environmental scientists or practitioners who need to collect, visualize and analyse spatial data. The software used is the widely applied open source scientific programs QGIS and R. All scripts and data sets used in the book will be provided online at book.ecosens.org. This book covers specific methods including: what to consider before collecting in situ data how to work with spatial data collected in situ the difference between raster and vector data how to acquire further vector and raster data how to create relevant environmental information how to combine and analyse in situ and remote sensing data how to create useful maps for field work and presentations how to use QGIS and R for spatial analysis how to develop analysis scripts
ISBN: 9781784272142Publication Date: 2020-09-14
Epidemiology and Geography : Principles, Methods and Tools of Spatial Analysis. by
Localization is involved everywhere in epidemiology: health phenomena often involve spatial relationships among individuals and risk factors related to geography and environment. Therefore, the use of localization in the analysis and comprehension of health phenomena is essential. This book describes the objectives, principles, methods and tools of spatial analysis and geographic information systems applied to the field of health, and more specifically to the study of the spatial distribution of disease and health-environment relationships. It is a practical introduction to spatial and spatio-temporal analysis for epidemiology and health geography, and takes an educational approach illustrated with real-world examples. Epidemiology and Geography presents a complete and straightforward overview of the use of spatial analysis in epidemiology for students, public health professionals, epidemiologists, health geographers and specialists in health-environment studies.
ISBN: 9781119597445Publication Date: 2019-03-04
Hands-on geospatial analysis with R and QGIS : a beginner's guide to manipulating, managing, and analyzing spatial data using R and QGIS 3.2.2 by
Practical examples with real-world projects in GIS, Remote sensing, Geospatial data management and Analysis using the R programming language Key Features Understand the basics of R and QGIS to work with GIS and remote sensing data Learn to manage, manipulate, and analyze spatial data using R and QGIS Apply machine learning algorithms to geospatial data using R and QGIS Book Description Managing spatial data has always been challenging and it's getting more complex as the size of data increases. Spatial data is actually big data and you need different tools and techniques to work your way around to model and create different workflows. R and QGIS have powerful features that can make this job easier. This book is your companion for applying machine learning algorithms on GIS and remote sensing data. You'll start by gaining an understanding of the nature of spatial data and installing R and QGIS. Then, you'll learn how to use different R packages to import, export, and visualize data, before doing the same in QGIS. Screenshots are included to ease your understanding. Moving on, you'll learn about different aspects of managing and analyzing spatial data, before diving into advanced topics. You'll create powerful data visualizations using ggplot2, ggmap, raster, and other packages of R. You'll learn how to use QGIS 3.2.2 to visualize and manage (create, edit, and format) spatial data. Different types of spatial analysis are also covered using R. Finally, you'll work with landslide data from Bangladesh to create a landslide susceptibility map using different machine learning algorithms. By reading this book, you'll transition from being a beginner to an intermediate user of GIS and remote sensing data in no time. What you will learn Install R and QGIS Get familiar with the basics of R programming and QGIS Visualize quantitative and qualitative data to create maps Find out the basics of raster data and how to use them in R and QGIS Perform geoprocessing tasks and automate them using the graphical modeler of QGIS Apply different machine learning algorithms on satellite data for landslide susceptibility mapping and prediction Who this book is for This book is great for geographers, environmental scientists, statisticians, and every professional who deals with spatial data. If you want to learn how to handle GIS and remote sensing data, then this book is for you. Basic knowledge of R and QGIS would be helpful but is not necessary.
ISBN: 9781788991674Publication Date: 2018-11-30
GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management by
The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.tandfebooks.com/doi/view/10.1201/9781315146638, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 3.0 license. GIS is used today to better understand and solve urban problems. GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management: A Global Perspective, explores and illustrates the capacity that geo-information and GIS have to inform practitioners and other participants in the processes of the planning and management of urban regions. The first part of the book addresses the concept of sustainable urban development, its different frameworks, the many ways of measuring sustainability, and its value in the urban policy arena. The second part discusses how urban planning can shape our cities, examines various spatial configurations of cities, the spread of activities, and the demands placed on different functions to achieve strategic objective. It further focuses on the recognition that urban dwellers are increasingly under threat from natural hazards and climate change. Written by authors with expertise on the applications of geo-information in urban management, this book showcases the importance of GIS in better understanding current urban challenges and provides new insights on how to apply GIS in urban planning. It illustrates through real world cases the use of GIS in analyzing and evaluating the position of disadvantaged groups and areas in cities and provides clear examples of applied GIS in urban sustainability and urban resilience. The idea of sustainable development is still very much central in the new development agenda of the United Nations, and in that sense, it is of particular importance for students from both the Global South and Global North. Professionals, researchers, and students alike will find this book to be an invaluable resource for understanding and solving problems relating to sustainable urban planning and management.
ISBN: 1351379089Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Data Science for Dummies by
Discover how data science can help you gain in-depth insight into your business - the easy way! Jobs in data science abound, but few people have the data science skills needed to fill these increasingly important roles. Data Science For Dummies is the perfect starting point for IT professionals and students who want a quick primer on all areas of the expansive data science space. With a focus on business cases, the book explores topics in big data, data science, and data engineering, and how these three areas are combined to produce tremendous value. If you want to pick-up the skills you need to begin a new career or initiate a new project, reading this book will help you understand what technologies, programming languages, and mathematical methods on which to focus. While this book serves as a wildly fantastic guide through the broad, sometimes intimidating field of big data and data science, it is not an instruction manual for hands-on implementation. Here's what to expect: Provides a background in big data and data engineering before moving on to data science and how it's applied to generate value Includes coverage of big data frameworks like Hadoop, MapReduce, Spark, MPP platforms, and NoSQL Explains machine learning and many of its algorithms as well as artificial intelligence and the evolution of the Internet of Things Details data visualization techniques that can be used to showcase, summarize, and communicate the data insights you generate It's a big, big data world out there--let Data Science For Dummies help you harness its power and gain a competitive edge for your organization.
ISBN: 9781119327646Publication Date: 2017-02-21
QGIS Python programming cookbook : over 140 recipes to help you turn QGIS from a desktop GIS tool into a powerful automated geospatial framework by
If you are a geospatial analyst who wants to learn more about automating everyday GIS tasks or a programmer who is responsible for building GIS applications, this book is for you. The short, reusable recipes make concepts easy to understand. You can build larger applications that are easy to maintain when they are put together
ISBN: 9781783984992Publication Date: 2015-03-26
